The Simpsons Game PlayStation 3

The Simpsons Game Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Simpsons Game features a hilarious, sprawling, and mind-busting storyline crafted by the TV show's Emmy Award-winning writers. The action-comedy also features the full cast of voice actors from the TV show who reprise their roles for the game. In The Simpsons Game, Homer, Marge, Bart,The Simpsons Game features a hilarious, sprawling, and mind-busting storyline crafted by the TV show's Emmy Award-winning writers. The action-comedy also features the full cast of voice actors from the TV show who reprise their roles for the game. In The Simpsons Game, Homer, Marge, Bart, and Lisa use exciting, all-new powers to save the world from rising chaos. To help the Simpsons, gamers at home must journey through all of Springfield (as well as vast worlds beyond!), vanquish an amazing array of villains, and fight their way through parodies of popular games. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Play UK
    82
    One of the more surprising games of the year - and the best Simpsons game to date. [Issue#160, p.92]
  2. If nothing else, this playful romp packs enough in-jokes for both Simpsons fans and gamers in general that it’s definitely worth playing through at least once.
  3. In the end, what you are presented with is a very solid Simpsons title. Its humor, as stated, goes beyond just pleasing regular and hardcore Simpsons fans. So aside from the camera, the game is just find-diddly-ine to go on out and pick up.
  4. Play Magazine
    75
    Untimately, though, The Simpsons lives and dies on the strength of its gameplay and here it doesn't particularly shine. [Nov 2007, p.64]
  5. The gameplay might not be anything special, but The Simpsons Game delivers more than enough laughs to make it worth a look.
  6. PSM3 Magazine UK
    70
    Flimsy platforming and lame combat, but so funny it's hard to care. Fans will go nuts. [Christmas 2007, p.70]
  7. games(TM)
    40
    The non-existent friendly AI combined with the relentless assault of dull attackers makes The Simpsons an almost depressing experience. It doesn’t feel quite right to be laughing when you’re not enjoying yourself. [Chrismas 2007, p.120]

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. JoeW.
    Jan 14, 2008
    9
    I love this game BUT I am a major Simpsons fan, if you have good knowledge of the show there will be alot of memorable moments and references I love this game BUT I am a major Simpsons fan, if you have good knowledge of the show there will be alot of memorable moments and references in this game and many fresh jokes. Alot of negative things were said about the camera but I think it works very well and free. A fun game with nice colourful graphics and a blast to play with a friend in co-op mode with good replay value. (Downloadable content may also be arriving for us Simpson fans). Expand
  2. Apr 18, 2011
    8
    This Is A Fun Game.. I Love Almost Everything About It.. BUT After 8 Or 9 Lev.. Its Really Hard... I Wish I Could Get Past It!
    Overall This Is
    This Is A Fun Game.. I Love Almost Everything About It.. BUT After 8 Or 9 Lev.. Its Really Hard... I Wish I Could Get Past It!
    Overall This Is A Fun, Funny, And Entertaining Game!
    Expand
  3. May 31, 2013
    8
    I am not a fan of The Simpsons show. I have only seen a few episodes in my life, but that's pretty much it. Having said that, I'm reallyI am not a fan of The Simpsons show. I have only seen a few episodes in my life, but that's pretty much it. Having said that, I'm really liking this game. My friend gave me this game after I gave him MK vs DC. I haven't finished it yet but so far its really funny and it really is fun. The puzzles are good and so are the graphics. If you're a fan of the show, I'm sure you'll like it way more than I do. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2011
    7
    This game has got alot of bad press in my opinion. It's not horrible by any means. It's got plenty of humor and charm and lots of gameThis game has got alot of bad press in my opinion. It's not horrible by any means. It's got plenty of humor and charm and lots of game references that I could appreciate.

    Graphics = Good cel shading and cut scene swap outs. Very nice visual style.


    Sounds = All the characters and voices from the show, dialog only gets old if you get stuck on the same part.


    Controls = Pretty simple and easy to use, learning everybody's weapon is the trick.


    Difficulty = Really hard at times because you're not shown what to do sometimes and you can get stuck. Once you figure out your path than it's not so bad.


    Playability = Easy to learn, good for adult and kid fans alike.


    Value = I wouldn't say a $60 game but used for say $20 or $25 it's worth it. If you're a big Simpsons fan this is a must.



    Overall value = If you've played any Simpson's game and wished it was better, than this is your game. Hasn't been one this fun since the old arcade. They even reference how bad their old games were.
    Expand
  5. Oct 21, 2011
    7
    I don't know why this game is getting negative reviews. The game is decent, especially for Simpsons fans. The world has been captured like itI don't know why this game is getting negative reviews. The game is decent, especially for Simpsons fans. The world has been captured like it never has been before and the voice acting is solid. Although repetitive gameplay and a not so lengthy game doesn't make this a must buy. But for Simpsons fans? Absolutely. Collapse
  6. Feb 16, 2016
    7
    The game features allot of the same humour that made me love The Simpsons in the first place. It delivers a funny experience while making youThe game features allot of the same humour that made me love The Simpsons in the first place. It delivers a funny experience while making you a part of Springfield first-hand. It's not the best Simpsons game (Hit and Run) but the only one that really made me feel like I was directly in an episode.

    The gameplay is difficult as the mechanics are broken. It's easy to see where the budget was spent. Had they worked on it it could've been a decent platformer as well. Instead we got this game which often gets frustrating due to the camera controls. It also feels like some of the drawing was rushed. The level design isn't even that well thought of either for the most part.

    That being said, if you're a Simpsons fan, seeing through these flaws will be fairly easy. If you don't like the Simpsons and are just looking for a platformer to play, move along.
    Expand
  7. ARonHubbard
    Nov 5, 2007
    1
    Camera: broken Controls: broken Price: broken Do not buy. Rent if you're bored.

See all 11 User Reviews