The Walking Dead: 400 Days Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join five new characters as they struggle to survive in The Walking Dead: 400 Days

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 2, 2013
    89
    The ending’s a bit too simple (Wait, if they’re hiding from people, why would they do that?) and I don’t love the characters like I loved Lee and Clem, but the action and drama show that Telltale still has it and isn’t satisfied to pump out exactly what the developers did last year.
  2. 86
    Should you pick up 400 Days? Yes! What are you, crazy!? This is a phenomenal new experiment in storytelling that redefines the types of stories that can be told in video games.
  3. Jul 3, 2013
    84
    400 Days is a nearly constructed collection of short stories that follow the macabre sentiment established by The Walking Dead. Will its cast be part of the eventual second season? Or is 400 Days merely intended to establish a mood and setting? Do the choices I made really matter in the grand scheme of Telltale’s story? I have no idea, and that's precisely what makes it so attractive and potentially valuable.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    As this DLC ups the shock factor, it makes it clear when season two rolls around that Telltale has no boundaries, and you should prepare your emotions accordingly.
  5. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Sep 27, 2013
    75
    You could see 400 Days as a great dessert after an exquisite meal. Or maybe as an appetizer for a second course, because we were left wanting much more, even though this DLC does not quite reach the same heights as the original series. [September p.90]
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    70
    The individual stories are crafted with the same level of care as the main series, but divorced from a larger, more personal tale, these scattershot scenes show their hand as unused B-sides. More ambitious, but less focused than Season One, 400 Days feels like its setting: a serviceable pit-stop on the way to a (hopefully) brighter future.
  7. Aug 18, 2013
    70
    If you go into 400 Days expecting the same intense, emotional, roller coaster of a ride that Season 1 produced then you could be disappointed. With characters leaving almost as quickly as they are introduced there’s no time to get any sort of attachment, particularly when playing as a different person in each chapter. Keep your expectations in check however and there’s still plenty to get out of 400 Days, with an ending that could tie into the next season, this is still a worthy chapter in the series.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 34
  2. Negative: 4 out of 34
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    This game picks up right where the 1 season left off for me-and that's with an amazing set of stories. I felt right into the game with theThis game picks up right where the 1 season left off for me-and that's with an amazing set of stories. I felt right into the game with the first story I chose. In this episode of 400 Days, you can choose which character story you want to start off with and go on from there. The comic book graphics seem to look even better than Season 1. And the control mechanics are the same as before. It was over before I started which wanted me begging for more. But, that's what I like about this Walking Dead game. It makes you anxious for the next episode to play. I loved everything about 400 Days and look forward to more episodes in the future. I give this episode a 10/10. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2013
    9
    I almost feel like I robbed Telltale when this is just £3.99. These 5 characters, as well as a few others, are very well presented. You get toI almost feel like I robbed Telltale when this is just £3.99. These 5 characters, as well as a few others, are very well presented. You get to know them, and the epilogue is a sign of what to expect in Season 2. A good one at that. The echoes of your choices from Season 1 will pan out here, which is really cool to see. I have good expectations from telltale for Season 2. 400 Days shows that even without Lee and Clem, they are still capable if delivering characters you can get emotionally attached as well as an intriguing, enticing story. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    A short but sweet episode to both hold us over to and get us pumped for season 2. You play through the story of several different charactersA short but sweet episode to both hold us over to and get us pumped for season 2. You play through the story of several different characters in any order you choose and make difficult decisions and face tense moments just like you did in season 1. The choices you make here will affect what happens in season two in ways not yet clear. I can't wait to see how they effect my experience, and if these new characters are the cast of season 2. One things for sure is that this episode gives the series even higher replay value, which is great for only $4.99. This episode is a lot of fun, and has gotten me even more pumped for season 2, but I can't help but wish this bonus episode was longer. But if you're a fan of TellTales fantastic The Walking Dead Game this is a must play. Skip it at your own risk. Expand
  4. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead 400 Days is another brilliant addition to the Walking Dead series from Telltale Games.Once again they have managed to createThe Walking Dead 400 Days is another brilliant addition to the Walking Dead series from Telltale Games.Once again they have managed to create brilliant characters and put them and the player into very tense but also very emotional situations.In this add on there are 5 characters each with a little story, whats brilliant about them is that they last about 15 minutes each and in that short time i cared for them and wanted to see them through their situation.This is because of various factors form the brilliant voice acting, well thought out situations but also the well thought out decisions you have to make.Ex. Kill a person as they tried to steal your groups supplies or let him go but run the risk of him coming back with his group and possibly killing you all.You feel the tension and stress while making this decision and thats what is brilliant about this game, it feels real!.Its only downfall is that not all of the stories have this affect others are not as strong in these terms and therefore feel inconsistent.But none the less 8.5/10 Expand
  5. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    You'd think 15 minutes for each story wouldn't be enough but damn they pulled it off.
    Due to the episodes length, you're thrown into
    You'd think 15 minutes for each story wouldn't be enough but damn they pulled it off.
    Due to the episodes length, you're thrown into situations much faster then in Season One and must act quickly. You won't fall in love with the characters like you did Lee and Clem but this DLC is done great and perfectly sets up for Season 2.
    Already regret some of the choices I made but wouldn't have done it any other way.
    Also just for the price its worth picking up.
    I love you TellTale.
    Expand
  6. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    It's good but I can't help but feel that it should have been more. The originals strengths remain; storytelling, voice-acting and difficultIt's good but I can't help but feel that it should have been more. The originals strengths remain; storytelling, voice-acting and difficult and satisfying decisions. It's nice to see that what you decide impacts the wrap-up at the end of this 1-2 hour experience but I can't help but feel that we should have gotten more time with each character. Don't get me wrong the characters are good (great in some cases) but without the long character development of the original title you don't care a tiny bit about them.
    But as a teaser for the next season, this game works for the most part. It provides some thrills and if these characters properly impact the impending story then it's completely fine. If only we had had a running time of twice what we got then this might have been the best thing I've ever bought for 5 bucks but it does fall a bit short of that, especially with the quality I've come to expect from this series.
    In any case, if you enjoyed the original then there is no reason why you shouldn't buy this instead of an ice-cream.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2013
    0
    What was the point of this? TWD was all about developing a personal connection to the characters. 400 Days is a measly 10 mins with 5What was the point of this? TWD was all about developing a personal connection to the characters. 400 Days is a measly 10 mins with 5 different characters and by the time the credits roll you don't give a damn about any of them. This was nothing but a Telltale Games money grab while people wait for Season 2. Absolutely pointless. 10/10 for Season One. A big fat ZERO for 400 days. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews