User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 144

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 3, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game's going downhill since episode 2.
    While they say your choice matter, in fact, it does not. None of your actions really affects the gameplay, it only slightly affects dialogues you get.
    Also, killing most of the characters the player got attached to and replacing them with new ones does not do the game any good - the player's interest in the story dies along with those characters.
    The game has some bugs, as well, and while some bugs are just slightly annoying, other bugs just freezes the game.
    With all that being said, this episode not only the worst episode of all 3, it's mediocre game at best.
    Expand
  2. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gunfights, traitors, and insanty define this episode. The choices get alot harder as three characters you've known and loved (and one you REALLY wanted to strangle) are lost. One thing is for sure; things are not going to get any better. Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this was the worst episode of the three that has been released so far. And I say that because in this episode they took away your options to choose, and change stuff. I had two totally different play-through and at the end of this episode there were almost no difference between them. No matter what you do, you can't save Carley/Doug who dies in a stupid and pointless way, nor Katja and Duck. This episode want to break our mind and heart and doing this by ruining the premise of the game, that your choices matters. Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    2
    Honestly, I tried to come into this game with an open mind, but after playing it was largely disappointed. The biggest thing that Telltale games has promoted is that choice matters. Despite all the hype around this idea, the reality is choices do not matter in this game. You can make decisions that seem to affect things, but at the end of the day, all the players end up in the exactHonestly, I tried to come into this game with an open mind, but after playing it was largely disappointed. The biggest thing that Telltale games has promoted is that choice matters. Despite all the hype around this idea, the reality is choices do not matter in this game. You can make decisions that seem to affect things, but at the end of the day, all the players end up in the exact same place in the storyline. Had a lot of potential, failed to deliver. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2012
    4
    I agree with Skepticalguy90 and Lolomlas although I believe a 2 is a bit harsh. I give it a 4. The game was not as advertised, and the choices you make in the game change the dialogue only. Now, some things could come into play later, but it still is not enough to convince me that the game is tailored to how I play.
  6. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    I don't think any game has ever toyed with my emotions as much as this one has. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll want to punch Lilly in her god damned face.
  7. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    It's brilliant, I'm not going to bother with my usual pandering, just buy the damn thing and get on with it. The characters, the narrative and the influence will deliver all the thrills and excitement of any of the best survival horror flicks you can think of; with the added bonus of putting you in charge of how it plays it. With controller firmly welded to my hands, I eagerly await theIt's brilliant, I'm not going to bother with my usual pandering, just buy the damn thing and get on with it. The characters, the narrative and the influence will deliver all the thrills and excitement of any of the best survival horror flicks you can think of; with the added bonus of putting you in charge of how it plays it. With controller firmly welded to my hands, I eagerly await the next episode. (So hurry it up, won't you?) Expand
  8. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    it's another great and exciting episode as always, with more emotional events, and even HARDER choices to make, which makes me even more trusty for more. A few major hiccups happen here and there (bugs) such as sound problems at the start, and characters not showing up right, and freezing (1 time), and repeat of events (1 time), which unfortunately prevented this episode from getting a 9it's another great and exciting episode as always, with more emotional events, and even HARDER choices to make, which makes me even more trusty for more. A few major hiccups happen here and there (bugs) such as sound problems at the start, and characters not showing up right, and freezing (1 time), and repeat of events (1 time), which unfortunately prevented this episode from getting a 9 this time around in my book. Overall I still had a great time, and can't wait for the final 2 episodes. And again, I highly recommend getting the season pass for this game. It's well worth it than some retail games on the market right now. Expand
  9. Sep 10, 2012
    0
    I have to give this a zero, it doesn't work for me. I downloaded episode 3, and ever since, the game tells me I need to purchase episode 1, even tho I already have the season pass and it lists episode 2 and 3 as purchased, which you can't even buy unless you have episode 1! telltale also has yet to respond to anything i've sent them in the past week, terrible customer service. Good for youI have to give this a zero, it doesn't work for me. I downloaded episode 3, and ever since, the game tells me I need to purchase episode 1, even tho I already have the season pass and it lists episode 2 and 3 as purchased, which you can't even buy unless you have episode 1! telltale also has yet to respond to anything i've sent them in the past week, terrible customer service. Good for you if it works, but im pissed off. Expand
  10. Sep 5, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My feelings are so negative after playing through this episode. In general -despite the creators' promises- the main storyline has only one determined path, not really affected by decisions of the player itself. Moreover in Ep.3 IMHO the actual reason of writing off the half of the crew and replacing them by new ones is to discard all of our foregoing decisions which we made so far relating to these deceased mates.
    I'm dissapointed and feel myself cheated.
    Expand
  11. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    Long Road Ahead continues the amazing story of Lee and Clementine along with the remaining survivors from their group. This time after being attacked and having to move onto the road to survive tensions runs high and patience thin as its not the walkers or the bandits they need to beware, its themselves. A slower paced episode focused on character development and hard hitting emotion thanLong Road Ahead continues the amazing story of Lee and Clementine along with the remaining survivors from their group. This time after being attacked and having to move onto the road to survive tensions runs high and patience thin as its not the walkers or the bandits they need to beware, its themselves. A slower paced episode focused on character development and hard hitting emotion than the adrenaline fuelled thrill ride that was Episode 2: Starved For Help. TWD continues to surpass expectations even if this episode fell too empty and drawn out. Expand
  12. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    While the previous installments were both great, Long Road Ahead still manages to set the bar even higher. Despite one slightly frustrating shooting sequence and a slight setback due to a glitch, this episode is easily the best so far. It may not carry the same thrills as the previous, but instead forces you to accept the most tragic losses the group has witnessed, made only more painfulWhile the previous installments were both great, Long Road Ahead still manages to set the bar even higher. Despite one slightly frustrating shooting sequence and a slight setback due to a glitch, this episode is easily the best so far. It may not carry the same thrills as the previous, but instead forces you to accept the most tragic losses the group has witnessed, made only more painful by the fact that you're powerless to prevent them. And most important, it does an exceptional job of illustrating the effects that the bleak world is having on the survivors. If you haven't played these games yet, you're doing yourself a colossal disservice. Expand
  13. Aug 30, 2012
    9
    Call me crazy or weird but as I play these episodes I find myself caring more and more about these characters and their fates, and in this episode I watched a lot of the characters I cared about die which both shocked and saddened me. No other episode thus far has made me question the choices I've made as much as this one has, so much so that I need, not want, to see if I can changeCall me crazy or weird but as I play these episodes I find myself caring more and more about these characters and their fates, and in this episode I watched a lot of the characters I cared about die which both shocked and saddened me. No other episode thus far has made me question the choices I've made as much as this one has, so much so that I need, not want, to see if I can change characters fates or not. It's much more emotional than other episodes as it hits close to home a lot. Sadness, depression and fear are all throughout this episode, so much so in fact that whenever things start to look decent for the cast something comes along and makes things even worse for them. The gameplay has made a lot of improvements this go around, the puzzles have never been better and I believe there are more of them this time. Last episode was action packed, and while there is less action than last episode it's just as intense. I got in a gun fight with bandits, and smashed and shot the brains out of some zombies, oops I mean Walkers XD. As far as issues go it's got some weird glitches, and the occasionally goofy/bad voice acting, but even with these flaws Telltale has delivered another fantastic Walking Dead experience, and makes the wait for the next episode unbearable. Expand
  14. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's more of a filler episode but just because it's a filler episode that does not stop it from being emotionally heartbreaking for the gamer!

    Episode Two for me was too hard to beat and I had high expectations for Episode Three but I didn't bring my hopes up as to whether Telltale would meet them, and they did not but that's fine. Because the episode was still full of what I expected the game to have, it was emotionally wrecking and Duck died which was good because he was the only character I disliked.
    Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2012
    4
    I didnt like the 3rd epiosde of the walking dead. Whatever I picked, as i choice. It didnt matter. I wanted Carly to live and she got killed. I wanted to go with lilly in the RV and she left without me. I discovered that Ben was helping the outsiders. And I didnt have the option of pushing him off the train! This whole episode felt like it was just filler.
  16. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    Another really good episode in the series. This episode was good but not as good as episode two. A lot of revelations in this episode that change the direction the characters take. A few dry moments aside, the entire episode is pretty good.
  17. Sep 1, 2012
    9
    Things really went crazy in this episode. As food and paranoia becomes a serious issue, the people around you that you trust are now in a situation worse than ever before. Drama, death, chaos and unthinkable things will happen. This episode builds upon the two already amazing episodes before it. It tells a story that captured me and the characters around me made it feel almost real.Things really went crazy in this episode. As food and paranoia becomes a serious issue, the people around you that you trust are now in a situation worse than ever before. Drama, death, chaos and unthinkable things will happen. This episode builds upon the two already amazing episodes before it. It tells a story that captured me and the characters around me made it feel almost real. Telltale games have a masterpiece right here and it's getting better and better by each episode Expand
  18. Nov 21, 2012
    9
    A disturbing, yet amazing, episode. Stunning voice acting, amazing story. You just get more and more excited for the next episode. Amazing job, Tell Tale.
  19. Sep 5, 2012
    7
    Episode 3 has to be the most depressing of all so far. In the first and second episodes there was shocking moments but this was just sad. It was not a bad episode but not my favorite, it moved pretty fast for this type of game and most of the time you found yourself trying to keep up because a lot was happening very fast. It gave you a sense of little control in a group of people fallingEpisode 3 has to be the most depressing of all so far. In the first and second episodes there was shocking moments but this was just sad. It was not a bad episode but not my favorite, it moved pretty fast for this type of game and most of the time you found yourself trying to keep up because a lot was happening very fast. It gave you a sense of little control in a group of people falling apart and I think that was the intention. Over all i think it was a good episode and if you still haven't started playing now would be the time. Collapse
  20. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    Out of all of the games I have ever played, this game by far tops the list for the best story. Though the game is a bit linear, it doesn't make a difference because you are always wanting more and it just hooks you right in! Don't listen to the other reviews because most people do not understand that this game is supposed to look and play like it does, most of the bad reviews on here areOut of all of the games I have ever played, this game by far tops the list for the best story. Though the game is a bit linear, it doesn't make a difference because you are always wanting more and it just hooks you right in! Don't listen to the other reviews because most people do not understand that this game is supposed to look and play like it does, most of the bad reviews on here are because this game is a hit or a miss, though 99% of the time it is a hit! I give this game the title: BEST STORY EVER!!! Expand
  21. Sep 2, 2012
    9
    Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen.Honestly, if this doesn't deserve an almost perfect review, then I don't know what does. The story is literally incredible. Every 5 minutes something you completely don't expect happens. Everything is right. There's so much to write about the game, but simply put... it has to be the best I've ever played. If you expect to play this episode over two, maybe three days, it's not gonna happen. You're going to be glued to the seat until the very end. The only thing that stopped me from giving it 10/10 is the fact that it's so short. I easily could've been playing this for 6 hours non stop. Great overall. Expand
  22. Sep 9, 2012
    10
    Originality: This is where this game shines. The plot of this game is one of the most captivating plots that I have ever seen in any game and on any platform. The writing and story-telling in this game is nothing short of spectacular. I can not wait for the next episode. Flare/Appeal: Story-driven game. Point and click adventure. Overall: If you like story-driven games and don't muchOriginality: This is where this game shines. The plot of this game is one of the most captivating plots that I have ever seen in any game and on any platform. The writing and story-telling in this game is nothing short of spectacular. I can not wait for the next episode. Flare/Appeal: Story-driven game. Point and click adventure. Overall: If you like story-driven games and don't much care about quality game-play, this game is for you. This game is like an interactive TV series. I don't remember being this hooked to anything since the first season of "Lost." Expand
  23. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Every episode is colossal compared to its preceding episode. And man.... this episode actually made me pause, to think and rethink my choices. The voice acting is top notch. The script is surprising and slick.
    Sprinkled with some fun easter eggs, and you might be seeing a GOTY edition!
  24. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Apparently the game DOES get better each episode...but I still had major framerate issues and characters unintentionally (obv glitch) repeated themselves in the dialogue pretty noticably. That said I enjoyed this episode for being unpredictable. Still though it gets a 7/10. I played episode 3 4 and 5 within a few days of eachother unlike episode 1 and 2...check out the next review.
  25. Sep 5, 2012
    0
    Episode 3 has to be the most depressing of all so far. In the first and second episodes there was shocking moments but this was just sad. It was not a bad episode but not my favorite, it moved pretty fast for this type of game and most of the time you found yourself trying to keep up because a lot was happening very fast. It gave you a sense of little control in a group of people fallingEpisode 3 has to be the most depressing of all so far. In the first and second episodes there was shocking moments but this was just sad. It was not a bad episode but not my favorite, it moved pretty fast for this type of game and most of the time you found yourself trying to keep up because a lot was happening very fast. It gave you a sense of little control in a group of people falling apart and I think that was the intention. Over all i think it was a good episode and if you still haven't started playing now would be the time. Collapse
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    The first sign of weakness in the otherwise excellent series. [Issue#223, p.87]
  2. When we say "we", we mean "we" and not "you", because every player up until now has built up different relationships with different characters through the many choices they have had to make. This time your companionship will leave the motel by train. [October 2012, p.78]
  3. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    As good as the previous ones, especially story-wise. I can't help feeling disappointed by the amount of glitches and badly executed lip syncs though.