Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Episode 3 of a 5-part game series set in Robert Kirkman’s universe. Treachery within the group leads to a devastating series of events. Will the tough choices you made in episodes one and two come back to haunt you or prove to be worthwhile decisions?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Aug 30, 2012
    96
    This, dear readers, is art, pure and simple. This is what the video game medium allows us to do. This is cinematic gaming at its absolute best-a direct, personal, jarring, dark narrative. Savor it while you can, before the zombie apocalypse brings an end to all things.
  2. This is more interactive adventure than traditional 'game', and a brilliant example of the benefits of narrative-driven gaming experiences. With a cast we're becoming more and more invested in, and scenarios of increasing moral complexity, the end of the world is fast becoming one of our favourite places to be.
  3. Sep 11, 2012
    90
    A long road Ahead continues the work of maturity that developers are giving to the series. If you love comics or TV series is a must-buy.
  4. Oct 2, 2012
    86
    The first sign of weakness in the otherwise excellent series. [Issue#223, p.87]
  5. Sep 17, 2012
    85
    As good as the previous ones, especially story-wise. I can't help feeling disappointed by the amount of glitches and badly executed lip syncs though.
  6. 85
    Even with a few minor technical issues, Long Road Ahead raises the bar for emotionally deep, thought-provoking narrative in a video game, and may be the best episode yet.
  7. Aug 29, 2012
    80
    Long Road Ahead is still fantastic, and it sets up the conclusion to this series nicely. Buying and playing this episode is a no-brainer (no pun intended).

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    I don't think any game has ever toyed with my emotions as much as this one has. You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll want to punch Lilly in her god damned face. Expand
  2. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Every episode is colossal compared to its preceding episode. And man.... this episode actually made me pause, to think and rethink my choices. The voice acting is top notch. The script is surprising and slick.
    Sprinkled with some fun easter eggs, and you might be seeing a GOTY edition!
    Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2012
    9
    It's brilliant, I'm not going to bother with my usual pandering, just buy the damn thing and get on with it. The characters, the narrative and the influence will deliver all the thrills and excitement of any of the best survival horror flicks you can think of; with the added bonus of putting you in charge of how it plays it. With controller firmly welded to my hands, I eagerly await the next episode. (So hurry it up, won't you?) Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2012
    8
    Long Road Ahead continues the amazing story of Lee and Clementine along with the remaining survivors from their group. This time after being attacked and having to move onto the road to survive tensions runs high and patience thin as its not the walkers or the bandits they need to beware, its themselves. A slower paced episode focused on character development and hard hitting emotion than the adrenaline fuelled thrill ride that was Episode 2: Starved For Help. TWD continues to surpass expectations even if this episode fell too empty and drawn out. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Apparently the game DOES get better each episode...but I still had major framerate issues and characters unintentionally (obv glitch) repeated themselves in the dialogue pretty noticably. That said I enjoyed this episode for being unpredictable. Still though it gets a 7/10. I played episode 3 4 and 5 within a few days of eachother unlike episode 1 and 2...check out the next review. Expand
  6. Aug 31, 2012
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this was the worst episode of the three that has been released so far. And I say that because in this episode they took away your options to choose, and change stuff. I had two totally different play-through and at the end of this episode there were almost no difference between them. No matter what you do, you can't save Carley/Doug who dies in a stupid and pointless way, nor Katja and Duck. This episode want to break our mind and heart and doing this by ruining the premise of the game, that your choices matters. Expand
  7. Sep 10, 2012
    0
    I have to give this a zero, it doesn't work for me. I downloaded episode 3, and ever since, the game tells me I need to purchase episode 1, even tho I already have the season pass and it lists episode 2 and 3 as purchased, which you can't even buy unless you have episode 1! telltale also has yet to respond to anything i've sent them in the past week, terrible customer service. Good for you if it works, but im pissed off. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews