User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 70
  2. Negative: 6 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    8
    I really enjoyed this episode. The characters were all fully developed by this point and it had a ton of emotional moments that made me stop and think. The puzzles were also better developed as was the dialogue and character intereactions. ALSO! There were alot less framerate issues. YAY! They finally started to fix it! Now it's not perfect but it's a big improvement over the last 3 episodes. The transition to new scenes is also better handled in this episode. I felt emotions towards all the characters. Especially Clementine. I really wanted to protect her during this episode. It just had alot of emotional moments that made me extremely sad or thoughtful. The gameplay rly enhanced the emotion too in some parts example: the shovel (You won't know what I mean by that until you play it...or if you think you do you don't... trust me) Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2013
    10
    This episode was fantastic and even beat Episode Two. It had everything it needed for this game to come into it's climax. There's literally nothing bad about the game.

    I did have to restart it from scratch due to a bug that erased my ENTIRE game save, but the actual episode was class!
  3. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    A stunning episode, but let me get this straight: this episode is about zombie action, except the last ten minutes. But the way the episode ends, with no trailer, would make anyone nervous and excited to know what happens next.
  4. Oct 17, 2012
    7
    The Walking Dead: Episode 4-Around Every Corner is a good, filler episode. I only felt it was filler because some of the stuff that happens in the game doesn't really translate to the overall story. However, the last 15 minutes will definitely have you on the edge of your seat, and this episode is the most adventured filled one yet. The cliffhanger will definitely have you wanting Episode 5 coming out earlier. Expand
  5. Oct 17, 2012
    8
    Great episode. I liked being in a variety of settings and heavy situations, as well as many new characters. The zombie action was definitely high in this one. Huge set-up for the final chapter in the last few minutes... Going to be really sad to see this game come to an end.
  6. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    A lot of tough choices you have to take. And a lot more action than the previous episodes. But there are some few but long sequenses that I hated. But it's worth playing!
  7. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    It's not the weakest episode yet, I'd save that for the first episode. Not at enticing as the second and third episodes, but still a really good experience. Let's all remember the bar is set extremely high in this series, and I still hold it to be the best I've played this year so far. There is absolutely no reason to get this, even though it does more in the way of subtle character developement than "OH **** moments -- until' the end when the last episode is set up for pretty damn good. Giving this a 1 out of 10 is retarded, Briancl25. You know **** about gaming if you say this is 1 out of 10. Go play with you mom's keys. And I'm not just saying that because I like the game. A 6 out of 10 is completely alright. I don't agree, but there can be a case made for it. Expand
  8. Oct 11, 2012
    8
    Great episode!!! The story was great in this episode! I had a few scares as well! also I noticed techinically they improved the lighting visual effects. Walking dead the game is back! Cant wait till episode 5!!!
  9. Oct 10, 2012
    1
    This is easily the weakest episode so far. The only good parts are in the last 15 minutes. So if you want to play through two hours of nothing happening then enjoy. I would recommend waiting until episode 5 comes out and playing them together since you learn NOTHING new about the story. I was very disappointed. I had such high hopes, and then they threw in this filler episode to waste time. Boring! I kept expecting a big twist, but it never came. Everything was predictable and boring. Even when moments started to seem intense and got you wondering what was going to happen, it would be squashed a few seconds later with something boring. As I said before, wait until the last episode comes out and treat 4 & 5 as one "super" episode. This was a disgrace. Collapse
  10. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    Episode 4 is finally here! I love The Walking Dead game and each episode makes me even more excited to find out about the next. Episode 4 is another great episode, but I can't help but feel like it lacks the punch the other previous episodes have had. It's sets it up for some great and intense moments but ultimately fails to deliver. All the things they could have done to make the episode more intense they didn't focus on until the end or just didn't focus on them at all. There are however some extremely emotional moments, and moments that made me care more and more about Clementine and the rest of the cast. The action has had some much needed improvements and there's tones of awesome moments of Walker killing, but the puzzles seem to have taken a step back. Episode 3 had the best puzzles seen so far, but episode 4 only had one puzzle (that was mixed with a little stealth) that stood out as great. Those darn glitches that have plagued the other episodes are still here and are still annoying. For those who said episode 3 "removed player choice" will be happy to know this episode has a lot of decisions to make that actually matter and have serious consequences. While not the best episode it's still great and I did really enjoy it, and can't wait to see what the next episode brings. Expand
  11. Oct 9, 2012
    6
    It's another great episode feel with heart felt moments, and dark/intense/ hard decision making. It's unfortunate though, that you're starting to see the predictable holes showing up at the end, which was my biggest fear from the start. I'm still hoping for the best though for episode 5.
  12. Oct 10, 2012
    0
    This is easily the weakest episode so far. The only good parts are in the last 15 minutes. So if you want to play through two hours of nothing happening then enjoy. I would recommend waiting until episode 5 comes out and playing them together since you learn NOTHING new about the story. I was very disappointed. I had such high hopes, and then they threw in this filler episode to waste time. Boring! I kept expecting a big twist, but it never came. Everything was predictable and boring. Even when moments started to seem intense and got you wondering what was going to happen, it would be squashed a few seconds later with something boring. As I said before, wait until the last episode comes out and treat 4 & 5 as one "super" episode. This was a disgrace. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. With only one further episode to come, you feel like the gravity of your decisions is magnified given what's sure to be a blockbuster finale. [Christmas 2012, p.109]
  2. Oct 24, 2012
    85
    As if you need further proof that episodic games can enhance the experience in terms of dramatic and narrative value. I can't wait for the finale.
  3. Oct 22, 2012
    90
    The fourth episode of Telltale's The Walking Dead game series delivers in the same way the others did: telling a great, emotional story and offering the player some really tough choices along the way. If you've enjoyed the previous outings, you shouldn't allow yourself to miss out on this one.