Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    90
    Telltale have proved yet again that they’re the big dog when it comes to licensed adventure games and emotionally-charged, gripping, character-driven narratives.
  2. 90
    Whether you're a Fables fan or not, you will love this superb adventure, which combines the best elements of film noir and the Brothers Grimm. Telltale Games has done it again.
  3. Oct 24, 2013
    90
    The Wolf Among Us is a shockingly superb followup from Telltale who could easily have rested on their laurels after being the critical darling of 2012. Snappy dialogue, an intriguing universe and pretty graphics have is earnestly awaiting part two.
  4. Oct 21, 2013
    90
    Marred only by an engine that’s really starting to show its age, The Wolf Among Us would’ve been interesting enough as a straight up crime thriller, but its literary basis makes it a completely different beast. With a story that’s as disturbing and shocking as it is gripping, Telltale Games’ first episode ends on such a cliff-hanger that we may need to go and buy the anthology of comics to tide us over until episode two.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Nov 11, 2013
    85
    Going off Faith we're in for a hell of a ride. Now more bourbon-fuelled piggies, please! [December 2013, p80]
  6. Oct 18, 2013
    85
    Telltale Games' take on werewolves, talking toads and fable's character is fantastic. The Wolf Among Us starts with a story driven episode who shows interesting characters, enjoying quick time events and an amazing art direction.
  7. Feb 6, 2014
    80
    Fans of Telltale’s knack for coming up with impactful character interaction will find Faith to be up to snuff and find plenty of excuses to replay while choosing a different approach.
  8. What we have then is a wonderfully strong start to what looks set to be another great Telltale episdoic. Smart, dark and stylish, and with plenty of intrigue as to where things go from here.
  9. 80
    The Wolf Among Us is an excellent visual novel with, I’m sorry to report, a maddening cliffhanger for episode 2.
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 131
  1. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Better than the Walking Dead. The Walking Dead and its pint sized protagonist (Clementine) gained mass appeal and rented a place in the heartsBetter than the Walking Dead. The Walking Dead and its pint sized protagonist (Clementine) gained mass appeal and rented a place in the hearts of gamers everywhere, however this love affair blinded many to the minor voice acting and gameplay flaws that it presented. These minor blemishes do not show up in the Wolf Among Us as Tell Tale seems to have perfected the formula with stellar voice acting and a perfect mix of narrative and action including an early fight sequence which closely resembled the opening fight sequence in the sleeper hit Heavy Rain. For a story involving fairy tale characters it is decidedly adult with mature language and mature themes, but this odd mixture of fairy tale and gritty adult themes plays out like a beautifully composed symphony of video game greatness. Tell Tale seems to have translated the wonderous world of Fable Comics and creator Bill Willingham's hit comic book series with flawless execution. Sadly The Wolf Among Us won't sell like The Walking dead sold, but it deserves to. Tell Tale has clearly perfected the genre which they created from a fledgling and admittedly unpolished Back To the Future series to what i believe is their magnum opus in The Wolf Among Us. You owe it to yourself as a gamer to at least try the demo and tell me it isn't great. 10/10 Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    The Wolf Among Us kicks off a great start to an interesting mystery. The atmosphere is very well done, the characters are well developed andThe Wolf Among Us kicks off a great start to an interesting mystery. The atmosphere is very well done, the characters are well developed and the action scenes are great also. I recommend this to anyone who liked Heavy Rain. Full Review »
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    10
    If The Walking Dead is the depressing, moving drama of Telltale Games, The Wolf Among Us is the policial with an 80's Vibe, and boy is itIf The Walking Dead is the depressing, moving drama of Telltale Games, The Wolf Among Us is the policial with an 80's Vibe, and boy is it good!
    I was never familiar with the Fables Comics until this game was released. The concept is interesting: The character from our favorite childhood stories live among the humans, in New York, disguised thanks to a potion called "Glamour". Bigby, or Big Bad Wolf, is the one that keeps the Fables from killing each other. And there you have it.
    Let's start right off the batch that If you are expecting to sob uncontrollably for hours while watching a father-daughter like relationship in the middle of a miserable world like in The Walking Dead, then this is not the game for you. But if you are willing to look this game as an only title, specially this first chapter, and just try it, you will want more. It is unpredictable, daunting, violent and, maybe just maybe, childhood-ruining (And that is a good thing). I think fans of the comic will be pretty happy with this game, and I will definitely consider reading "Fables" after playing this awesome first chapter of a new Telltale series, that smells GOTY already.
    AND THE GAME IS BEAUTIFUL. Against all odds, the colourful art-style mixed with the dark tone, a finally deserving framerate and comic book design make the game enjoyable to watch and feel. The character development, while short, really packs a punch, and after playing the episode twice, I find myself going back as every time I play again I find some little clues, and new suspicions.
    Anyway, all this greatness comes in a 2-hour episode, and I can't wait for the following ones. "Faith" is proof that Telltale is another company after The Walking Dead, and they want to receive more awards again.
    Full Review »