Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    90
    The key word in the Thomas Was Alone for me is "was." I really hope more people find and download this gem, because it's totally worth the effort. In many ways it's a lot like a good book, where when you're done, you feel slightly alone having experienced it.
  2. May 1, 2013
    90
    While a few technical hiccups do occasionally spoil the party – there’s a touch of latency in the jumping controls and the odd little bug that makes matters a touch confusing – there’s so little to fault in Bithell’s striking debut. This is a game to admire, to enjoy and evangelise; a thoroughly English slice of indie magic that is every bit as accomplished as anything with a budget and a team. If this truly is the year of the indie, then long may it continue.
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    100
    Thomas Was Alone gives an all-encompassing experience that’s nestled inside a marvelously crafted world of stories, friends, and jumping.
  4. Apr 22, 2013
    90
    When the curtain finally closed on Thomas Was Alone, I couldn’t help but feel touched. Despite being two-dimensional in appearance, the game’s cast of characters exuded more personality and depth than that of some games propped up by millions of dollars of development funding.
  5. May 7, 2013
    90
    Thomas Was Alone is a minimalist platform about jumping and friendship, a gently challenging puzzle game and a perfect story that makes you care about characters that are nothing more than coloured rectangles. It's quite a masterpiece.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours. Each character gets their moment in the spotlight and I never felt robbed of anyone’s impact on the story. The in-game narrator and soundtrack help flesh out its perfect presentation and other games in this genre could learn a lot from it. Simple platforming and fun puzzles make sure you're never going to rage quit the game and miss something important to the story. This is the type of game that makes me proud to be a gamer. It makes me feel good that I can connect with a red rectangle named Thomas and cringe and cheer as his hopes and fears come true.  Thomas Was Alone is a story about friendship and adversity but I got something much deeper from it about human self-reflection and how people can connect with anything.  I realize now that Thomas was not alone, Thomas was with me. Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a superb game!! Interlocked with its intriguing story line is a phenomenal puzzle game that gets better every second. The game has a great twist and the character's are very interesting. This, tied in with the fantastic narrating makes for a beautiful game. Full Review »
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    1
    The only point this game gets from me is for narration; everything else is a bit empty.
    Puzzles are trivial and boring. Story is dull.
    As a
    whole, game made me feel like wasting time. Full Review »