Thomas Was Alone Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Thomas won't be entirely alone, he'll be joined throughout by the awesome Mr Danny Wallace (XFM, Yes Man and Assassin's Creed) who will be narrating his adventures.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Apr 4, 2014
    100
    Thomas Was Alone gives an all-encompassing experience that’s nestled inside a marvelously crafted world of stories, friends, and jumping.
  2. Apr 22, 2013
    90
    When the curtain finally closed on Thomas Was Alone, I couldn’t help but feel touched. Despite being two-dimensional in appearance, the game’s cast of characters exuded more personality and depth than that of some games propped up by millions of dollars of development funding.
  3. May 1, 2013
    90
    While a few technical hiccups do occasionally spoil the party – there’s a touch of latency in the jumping controls and the odd little bug that makes matters a touch confusing – there’s so little to fault in Bithell’s striking debut. This is a game to admire, to enjoy and evangelise; a thoroughly English slice of indie magic that is every bit as accomplished as anything with a budget and a team. If this truly is the year of the indie, then long may it continue.
  4. A winning piece of minimalist game design that manages to do a lot with a little in an industry which far too frequently achieves the exact opposite, and it deserves much praise for that.
  5. May 1, 2013
    80
    Admittedly, the platforming mechanics occasionally feel too simple for their own good, but the narrative and gameplay weave together so seamlessly that the game becomes greater than the sum of its parts. Its little blocks have heart, and that gave me a reason to see things through to the end.
  6. Apr 28, 2013
    80
    At its core, Thomas Was Alone is a celebration of the differences between people, and as a celebration its puzzles are far more concerned with offering a hurdle to overcome rather than obstacles to fail. It's a subtle difference, but an important one.
  7. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    It may add up to less than the sum of its parts but in terms of storytelling and presentation this indie favourite has much to teach mega budget retail games.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Apr 28, 2013
    10
    Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours.Thomas Was Alone is a must own for PS Vita and PS3 owners. Its price is small and the 100 levels will keep you engaged for about 4-5 hours. Each character gets their moment in the spotlight and I never felt robbed of anyone’s impact on the story. The in-game narrator and soundtrack help flesh out its perfect presentation and other games in this genre could learn a lot from it. Simple platforming and fun puzzles make sure you're never going to rage quit the game and miss something important to the story. This is the type of game that makes me proud to be a gamer. It makes me feel good that I can connect with a red rectangle named Thomas and cringe and cheer as his hopes and fears come true.  Thomas Was Alone is a story about friendship and adversity but I got something much deeper from it about human self-reflection and how people can connect with anything.  I realize now that Thomas was not alone, Thomas was with me. Expand
  2. May 28, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best puzzle games that I have ever played, defiantly on a par with Portal. The graphics in the game are so simple but yetThis is one of the best puzzle games that I have ever played, defiantly on a par with Portal. The graphics in the game are so simple but yet so detailed and beautiful as you look closer, squares are good in Minecraft and squares are also very good here. The game play is perfect the controls are brilliant and the levels are really fun and rewarding. The characters are great they almost have personalities even though they are squares. It is just great I could go on for a lot longer but you don't want to read it and I don't want to write it. Just buy it now. Collapse
  3. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    This game is a superb game!! Interlocked with its intriguing story line is a phenomenal puzzle game that gets better every second. The gameThis game is a superb game!! Interlocked with its intriguing story line is a phenomenal puzzle game that gets better every second. The game has a great twist and the character's are very interesting. This, tied in with the fantastic narrating makes for a beautiful game. Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2013
    8
    Simple and touch history, pleasant characters, good platformer and hilarious quotes, a well spend time to anyone looking relax, have fun andSimple and touch history, pleasant characters, good platformer and hilarious quotes, a well spend time to anyone looking relax, have fun and pass some time. Expand
  5. Apr 26, 2014
    8
    Its amazing how much character you could give blocks, I was absorbed in the simple puzzles combined with great narration. I recommend this toIts amazing how much character you could give blocks, I was absorbed in the simple puzzles combined with great narration. I recommend this to anyone bored with the norm in gaming and wants to try something truly unique. Expand
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    7
    In terms of storytelling telling and atmosphere Thomas Was Alone gets everything pretty much spot on, managing to create a memorable cast ofIn terms of storytelling telling and atmosphere Thomas Was Alone gets everything pretty much spot on, managing to create a memorable cast of characters from little more than squares and rectangles despite its minimalist approach.

    Unfortunately the gameplay itself, while competent, can't quite live up to the excellent presentation. I expect many will find it to be a little slow paced and its a shame that the puzzles never evolve to be as difficult, or indeed as clever, as the very best in the genre (such as Braid). It may not be a true classic but I'd recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit different.

    *Having played both the PS3 and Vita version I must say it suited the handheld better.
    Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2014
    0
    This game tries way too hard to be this cutesy quirky minimalist thing, giving its blocks (read: spoon-fed by the pretentious BritishThis game tries way too hard to be this cutesy quirky minimalist thing, giving its blocks (read: spoon-fed by the pretentious British narration) forced cutesy quirky personalities while you solve really tedious block puzzles. You have to individually get ALL the blocks to their destinations, meaning you'll retread the same ground over and over. I do not understand why critics seem to universally adore it—I actively hate this game. Expand

See all 14 User Reviews