User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    The caddie pretty much does everything for you which if kind of boring, and when he is completely wrong i just feel like kicking off. also the putting is awkward and i much prefer the previous tiger woods i had 09
  2. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    Progression is awesome, comparative stats is cool too. Gameplay is really smooth and the level of control is great.
    Game is awesome on the PS3's Move. It's the only way I play the game. One of the coolest Move titles I've had a crack at.
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    0
    EA just love to tinker - don't they understand 'if it aint broke then don't fix it!'

    Online is so uninspiring and boring. What happened to the 10 second timer? What happened to the online points awarded/deducted for wins/losses? What happened to penalising players who quit?

    Bring back Tiger Woods 10 (unfortunately, online services for TW10 was terminated and shutdown on 11 August 2011).


    Luckily, I managed to play/trial this version for a month (activating and using the one-off one-time online access code which is another annoying feature rendering the game worthless to anyone else) before returning the game for a full money-back refund.

    My advice to lovers of Tiger Woods series (TW10 and previous releases) is like Tiger Woods and his professional career/ranking, this game is rapidly going one way - that is down and further down!
    Expand
  4. May 14, 2011
    9
    It's a great golf game , very enjoyable.....But like all EA's sport titles they are only really good value if you havent bought an incarnation for a year or two. If your the type of person who buys one or two games a year you'd be hard done by to buy this or indeed any of the NBA/NHL or Madden games. EA never fail to add new elements to the games & indeed improve the graphics but the upgrade is often minimal. Luckily I havent played a Tiger Woods game since 2002 and the last time I was really hooked was PGA tour gold 2 on the Mega Drive. Because of this I approached Tiger Woods as a noob. First the controls. Ok call me old fashioned but I dont like the stick swing system, it seems to vague and random so I opted for the 3 click swing. My theory 'if it aint broke dont fix it'....yes a clichet but one that works for me. Initially I found it hard to match up but then I realised it was hinged on not going over 100% power. Essentially if you control the power the speed bar and chance for precision is increased. The graphics are nice but not as beautiful as I expected to be honest. I guess I've been playing too much Hot pursuit and expect all EA's graphics to be of an equal standard. The sound effects are generic yet relaxing as is the new theme tune. Gone are the thumping 'cool' tracks and in are seemingly an in house chilled out tunes by Rob Warren and co. Ambient tunes for me were always a better choice , but I am becoming an old fogey and would choose this even when NOT whiling the hours away on the virtual tee with a pint of London Pride. The new caddy system is very helpful to newvies and even offers some good advice to more experienced players. He can be a tad repetitive and it does feel like cheating sometimes expecially when mates rely on him 100% of the time.....not that I'm bitter. I havent been online due to the PSN being down but I can say multiplayer with mates is a whole lot of fun. The gameplay itself is very fluid and there are plenty shot options to use. The Career mode is a great idea and actual makes you work toward a goal instead of throwing you in against Tiger Woods from day 1...a lesson Virtua Tennis could learn from. The game also embraces the much hyped PS Move! Alas I can't comment on how it works given as I havent got it , but I have heard through friends it is fun. Another pundit commented on how DLC is needed to play all the tournaments , indeed I agree this is outragous , but to me a casual gamer it's no biggie tbh. Overall its fun, relaxing, nice to look at and above all addictive. Call me old fashioned but even without the PSN its a great title to play with real mates and a couple of beers. I cant count how many days I've lloked forward after work to having a pint of bitter and playing a few rounds of this game. I'm not sure I'd recommend it if I had 2011 , but If you havent played a PGA game in a while it is recommended for sure. Expand
  5. May 12, 2011
    8
    Turns out miracles can happen. After years of EA routinely giving birth to Tigers with little new to report on or off the greens, this year's incarnation is teeming with fresh stuff. No, really. Golfing's biggest tournament for starters: the Masters finally debuts, with sexy new scanning tech making every last bush, tree and blade of 3D grass at Augusta look Frankie Sandford gorgeous, and a wealth of game modes built around it. (More on which in a sec.) Get down to playing and the inclusion of a caddie to advise on club selection and shots is smart and unobtrusive, while the ability to save mid-round is an enhancement the series has needed for years. Move functionality is also improved in vital areas like registering swing speed and the angle at which you strike the ball. (Playing Tiger 11 this way was exactly as fun as nine-ironing yourself in the head.) With or without Move (thanks, Bono) the Masters stuff is the meat of Woods 12. Using the competition's logos, photography and broadcast style (including its US commentator, Jim Nantz) makes every area of the game feel revamped, with career mode heavily tweaked along the same lines. Every step is now geared towards you competing for the green jacket, and it's been streamlined so you always know what your next move should be. There's also the option to replay each of Tiger's four past Masters wins hole-by-hole, competing against opponents' actual scores from those years. The removal of the Ryder Cup (which isn't being contested this year) is infuriating, but it wouldn't be Tiger without a tiny controversy to debate. Bottom line: this golfing great's finally close to its best again. Expand
  6. Apr 19, 2011
    7
    Not much to say. It's pretty much every other Tiger Wood's game but it does play very well in my opinion. If you have one from the last few years then the real reason to have this one is because of the inclusion of the Master's course. Otherwise it's hard to justify what is about $90 by the time you buy the DLC courses on a very similar game.
  7. Apr 7, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. That's not a bad game, there's not a lot of new features but if you bought it, you are good for a couple years.....Boycott the DLC, expensive and useless Expand
  8. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    I'm disappointed by the clumsy PS Move support, it had more potential given how fun previous versions were on the Wii but its controls are no where as well implemented. I will be trading this in for the Wii version soon. The graphics and courses are beautifully designed and if it didn't say it could support PS Move controls I would be scoring it higher because it's a good game and works great with the Dual-Shock controller and it that is your preferred control method you won't be disappointed. Though if you were hoping for a polished PS Move game this is a poor attempt. Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2011
    9
    I tend to purchase TW games every other year or every two years because the developers do not usually improve the graphics are make changes enough to justify purchase. TW 2012 however, has noticeable improvements in graphics and game play is more realistic. Putting now is much harder. I purchased the game via Amazon and got it for 47.00 so the price was reasonable. I rated this game a 9 instead of 10 because now the game requires purchase of more games as DLC. But I cannot punish developers for creative maneuvers to make money. I really like the new courses and the game is much more pleasing in course graphics (models are still looking lame however.) Expand
  10. Apr 1, 2011
    0
    My advice is boycott this game, the DLC it offers is nothing short of scandalous and offensive. Why should you pay your hard earned bucks for a game that punishes you for not buying DLC in the career mode!..courses that are in the career mode that are DLC need to be either bought or skipped and you get penalised for skipping too many events!..shame on you EA!...ok offer DLC but dont punish players in the game when they dont buy it!!...man im so angry! Expand
  11. Mar 31, 2011
    9
    I never quite followed the EA Tiger Woods Franchise, but with the Move Controllers I HAD to check it out. I really love this game! creating your golfer and swinging your way up to the top is a lot fun. The little challenges in between full games is a nice break. The variety and combination of clubs really good, as well as tuning each club to your likings! Hacking away online or offline with friends is also really fun. I recommend this game with the move controllers for a more fun experience! Expand
  12. Mar 16, 2012
    0
    The caddie pretty much does everything for you which if kind of boring, and when he is completely wrong i just feel like kicking off. also the putting is awkward and i much prefer the previous tiger woods i had 09
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Jun 8, 2011
    80
    Tiger Woods PGA Tour 12 provides features that won't be for everyone but is ultimately an enjoyable experience. If you haven't experienced the Tiger Woods franchise in a while, this is a great year to come back.
  2. The way the series approaches DLC will continue to divide; Tiger Woods 12 features 16 courses on the disc but a further 20 are already available as DLC... The game needs a course creator; it's a feature PC golf games had last century. [June 2011 p.78]
  3. May 8, 2011
    74
    Barely average update. [June 2011, p.82]