Time and Eternity PlayStation 3

Time and Eternity Image
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 40 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 79 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Kamza, a vibrant kingdom located on a lush ocean island, is in the midst of a national event celebrating the upcoming marriage of their princess to a valiant knight. But when a group of assassins appears during the ceremony, this dream come true transforms into their worst nightmare. As theKamza, a vibrant kingdom located on a lush ocean island, is in the midst of a national event celebrating the upcoming marriage of their princess to a valiant knight. But when a group of assassins appears during the ceremony, this dream come true transforms into their worst nightmare. As the knight lays mortally wounded, the princess reveals her longhidden secret - there is a second soul living within her, and together they control the power to travel through time. But can they act quickly enough to reverse the course of history and find out what happened that fateful day? Only time will tell... Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 26 out of 40
  1. 75
    A trope-demolishing RPG that tries to be bold and creative by paying homage to 80s classic Japanese animation.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    58
    A so-so JRPG with neat ideas and a unique graphical conception but it also has lots of technical problems and annoying battles too.
  3. Aug 27, 2013
    50
    Time and Eternity, despite the promises, it's bland and uninspired. The game lacks everything that an RPG needs.
  4. Jul 30, 2013
    40
    Rather than the suave, impressive chat-up line it could so easily have been, Time and Eternity instead sashays up to feminism and blurts ‘I like your boobs’ like Seth Rogen’s menacing delivery in Donnie Darko. It could be a misjudged line but it’s not attractive and it’s not funny. It’s just plain creepy.
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    38
    Time & Eternity is by far one of the worst RPGs I have ever played, and even when accounting for different tastes, I cannot recommend it to anyone. At best, a select few may enjoy the game's sense of humor, but I'm convinced that the gameplay is so broken that almost anyone will regret purchasing this game.
  6. Aug 25, 2013
    30
    Time and Eternity's veneer is gorgeous, but style doesn't trump substance—and the substance here leaves a bad taste in my mouth. Toki and Towa may love Zach the Alleged Protagonist, but I sure don't.
  7. Jul 12, 2013
    0
    If you see this game on the shelf, don’t touch it, don’t even look at it. You would have much more fun spending your money on a dentist appointment.

See all 40 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 6 out of 19
  1. Jul 16, 2013
    10
    Well, I thought this game will be REALLY big disappoint For some fans it is. But is it the worst thing? (see Mindjack) No! It's not! I willWell, I thought this game will be REALLY big disappoint For some fans it is. But is it the worst thing? (see Mindjack) No! It's not! I will say one thing. Do you like japanese games? Do you enjoy it? Then, buy it! Now, later, but if you really into these games, you'll enjoy it. Haters, go home, you're drunk.
    PS. I like japanese games.
    Expand
  2. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    Time and Eternity is an great game but may not be for everyone. It is very different than what isout there in the JRPG market. There are someTime and Eternity is an great game but may not be for everyone. It is very different than what isout there in the JRPG market. There are some flaws with the game but not enough to not play it. The story line is very interesting once you get into it. It is worth a try for anime or JRPG fans, so don’t hesitate on this title. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2013
    8
    I sincerely fail to get all the hate with this game. It's certainly not NEARLY as bad as everyone makes it out to be. It sure isn't great, butI sincerely fail to get all the hate with this game. It's certainly not NEARLY as bad as everyone makes it out to be. It sure isn't great, but hey at least it tries out new things and takes more risks than I can count, which isn't something I can say for other JRPGs released this year (like "Tales of Xillia"). True, some of those risks don't pay off, but for the most part, "Time and Eternity" is a very enjoyable experience which should certainly be at least tried by all JRPG fans! Expand
  4. Apr 19, 2014
    6
    I love JRPGs so I was able to get some fun out of it. The game has big issues and you spend most of your time doing sides quests rather thanI love JRPGs so I was able to get some fun out of it. The game has big issues and you spend most of your time doing sides quests rather than progressing on a simple story which doesn't go very far. The saving grace in the story is how funny it is. The areas keep repeating so the game starts to look really dull despite the cool anime style. I enjoyed the game some what at first but the game becomes tedious later on. It's an alright game but any more than a 6 I think is been too kind. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2013
    6
    ImageEpoch intends to bring a bit of fresh to the JRPG scene by making Toki Towa in full anime style, and they did it right imho. TheImageEpoch intends to bring a bit of fresh to the JRPG scene by making Toki Towa in full anime style, and they did it right imho. The characters' animations may be somewhat repetitive, the art style is charming and looks like nothing you've ever seen. It's clear that Toki and Towa are the main attraction of this, so it's more than ever a matter of opinion. The humor is particular also, very ludicrous similarly to what you can see in actual anime (the clear source of inspiration again), while heavily leaning towards ecchi (including the illustrations that come together). But in the result, it's super effective and I had awesome laughs quite a couple of times. Be careful though because I don't know how well it can be transcribed in English!

    The first thing that falls into pieces pretty quickly is the gameplay. For starters, enemies of the same type do always the same actions in the same order. Consequently, you always attack them the same way, that is to say in the few openings they leave. Let's be absolutely clear about this, battles in Toki Towa are not repetitive, they're IDENTICAL. Skills are extremely unbalanced, since magic can OHKO most enemies and even 2HKO bosses up until the first half of the game. Physical attacks as well counter are then left unused because underpowered and imprecise. Time Magic is not really better the only useful one is the one that freezes your opponent. The others I still don't know what they are here for, except for the time-acceleration magic which is clearly here to kill you since you take damage anyway! If you add a not so engaging quest system and a insane surge in difficulty in the 3rd chapter, you realize that you need a great deal of patience to finish Toki Towa.

    On the graphics side and independently from design which I've already talked about Toki Towa is again fairly modest and it's clear that the company has privileged an economical development. Dongeons aren't that varied and backgrounds are as empty as Moon landscape, whilst suffering from framerate drops and clipping on the top of things! NPCs aren't fully animated or even displayed on the field... In short, Toki Towa is kind of halfway between JRPG and visual novel.

    It is therefore hard to recommend Toki Towa to regular JRPGs players. It is mostly destined to Japanese anime/games fans you are deep into ecchi design/visual novels. So if you've fallen in love with the art direction, Toki or Towa, you might try this out, but the risk of disillusionment remains high.
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2013
    3
    So I bought this game without the highest hopes. Although most JRPG's aren't great games, they are usually quite entertaining. This game rightSo I bought this game without the highest hopes. Although most JRPG's aren't great games, they are usually quite entertaining. This game right here was atrocious. I tried to like it it, I really did but I just couldn't.
    The graphics look great, and that's probably the strongest point of the game. Although the animation in itself was jarring and felt awkward, especially when moving through an area, Toki/Towa's running animation was just terrible.

    Another major letdown was the voiceovers, they seemed bland with no emotion. And the lip syncing was way off with the mouth visibly moving even though the voiceovers had finished. The gameplay itself was also very clunky and hard to use, pressing the dodge button didn't work more often then not, leaving it a gamble to try and dodge the attacks.

    The story wasn't great, but I wasn't expecting some grand epic amazing story when I started the game.
    All in all I give this game a three, it's not broken and it works, and I think that's the only thing it has going for it right now, so if your reading this, buy it at your own risk.
    Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2017
    0
    The biggest draw for this game, at least for me, was the concept of hand-drawn animations being used, even during the battle and "roaming"The biggest draw for this game, at least for me, was the concept of hand-drawn animations being used, even during the battle and "roaming" gameplay. In this aspect of the game, I was met with great disappointment, as the animations outside of cutscenes did not 'fit' well with the 3D backgrounds at all (those backgrounds themselves also looked very bad and poorly rendered), and at times they just looked downright terrible.

    However, I do not base my enjoyment of games on how they look. Unfortunately, I happened to find that the rest of this game is just as unappealing as its "graphics" are. But before I get into anything major I'd like to quickly address the voice work done for this game, since that also seems to be something worth taking note of on here. Now, keeping in mind that I personally had played it with English voices (and I have absolutely no intention of getting the game again to play with Japanese voices), the voice work was far from at least being average. It simply lacked the emotion and some of the characters just simply sounded "annoying," to put it simply. A couple characters were 'okay' to listen to, but it later got to a point where I had to mute the game because I just didn't want to hear much more of any of it. Speaking of muting it, the game's music was surprisingly good, but really nothing too memorable and something I would listen to a lot outside of the game (keeping in mind I also muted it, so I didn't listen to a lot of it in-game either). I'd consider the soundtrack to be the best thing about the game.

    Now for my personal worst thing about the game, the plot and the characters. Starting with the characters, all of them are essentially anime troupes. Really bad ones. Toki is a typical ditzy, generic, happy-go-lucky type of character, Towa is what I believe the 'anime world' refers to as "tsundere," consistently angry and the more 'tough' of the two. 'Zack' is essentially just a stupid pervert, no real redeeming qualities about his character. Any and all side characters in this game are a joke, literally. They're almost all there to make "jokes" and have "gags." Moving onto the story, it has a hint of originality, but that all is soon diminished by the snail's pace the game goes at, and how boring it becomes the further you go.

    And finally, for the gameplay itself: I wasn't fond of it. The battle system, similarly to the plot, went very slow, and to make it even worse most enemies seemed to block attacks, only making it feel even slower. The enemy encounters were also at random and I feel happened far too often. I think it would've benefitted them to put actual enemy models in the overworld, as it is far too desolate, empty, and just not pretty to look at otherwise (going back to the visuals a bit here). Side quests were boring as well, if I remember correctly most of them were simply pointless fetch quests and "kill X monster(s)".

    I will conclude here, because I do not feel that I have much more to say about my disdain for this game. Also, this review is all just my opinion, if you are interested in this game then I would suggest viewing gameplay and deciding for yourself whether or not this is the game for you (as evident by other reviews on here, there are people who actually really enjoyed it, I'd read from both viewpoints before deciding).

    - ChexMix
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews

Trailers