• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Sep 25, 2012
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 29, 2012
    10
    This is one of those rare gems that, for all its minor imperfections, is just so damn fun and unique that I can't help but love it and keep coming back for more. Descriptions really don't do this game justice, in fact, they might confuse you even more, but the core of the game is a survival action RPG - with animals. You roam the overgrown human-less city as one of many types of animals, fight and breed and equip them for better survival. There are unlockable story modes for different animals, but the real fun is in survival mode, where you see how far you can take a species up the ranks and brave all the other animals and environmental hazzards for generations. Chicks, dogs, bears, lions, elephans, cows, ostriches and many more.

    It's tough to rate a game that has nothing relatively close to compare it to, so I've based my rating on the fun factor and amount of content. You could make some minor improvements, but nothing worth up to 10% of the score, in my opinion - a perfect 10. Go play this game.
    Expand
  2. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    This game deserves respect, but why?While not having a spectacular graphics like any PS3 game what else calls me and caught my attention is to see how a simple game can be innovative and fun without having super graphics.Tokyo Jungle for me and for always going to be bizarre and weird but this game showed that we can have fun even without beautiful graphics 15 $ many well-spent.
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Tokyo Jungle delivers well on gameplay, replayability, and awkwardness. Tokyo Jungle will bring you hours of fun right from the start. Just right after the tutorial I started playing for over 3 hours! As awkward as the game is it really does a good job at it. You must hunt other animals, perform acts of cannibalism, mate, own territory, and avoid conflicts with animals stronger then you. A game like this is surely going to be avoided by many though due to it's strange aura but do NOT walk away! Tokyo Jungle will keep you in place to make sure you keep trying to unlock over the +50 different animals you can play as and it's strange story. Tokyo Jungle also offers split screen multiplayer for you and a friend to see who can dominate the jungles of Tokyo. Don't miss out on this marvelous game as you'll probably never see anything like it again. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best downloadable games available right now, and a must buy for PS3 owners. Don't let the games PS2 era graphics and limited number of modes make you avoid this downloadable gem. It's one of the most unique games to come out in a long time, downloadable or not. The game has two modes, survival and story. Survival mode gives you the whole city of Tokyo to explore and live in. In this mode you'll play as one of two classes of animals, predator and grazer. The predator class is stronger and you have to kill other animals to survive, and the grazer class has to find plants to eat and aren't much of fighters, but they're faster. You start off with only two playable animals, one for each class, and you unlock stronger ones by completing challenges in survival mode. In survival mode you'll have to search for food, avoid stronger animals, complete challenges, take over territories, and find a mate to "change generations" before your animal dies of old age. Alongside unlocking new animals completing challenges in survival mode grants you stat boosts that carry on to the next generation, and are just addictive and rewarding to complete. Survival mode is with out a doubt the best mode and will keep you coming back to get higher scores and unlock more content. The story mode puts you in the role of different animals and gives you certain goals to complete, and each of it's 14 chapters are unlocked by collecting archives, which give you the backstory, found in the survival mode. While the story mode is fun it's also where the majority of the games problems lie. From time to time it suffers from poor checkpoint placement, some trial and error levels, and times where the game gives you a false sense of freedom. Surprisingly these flaws don't detract from the experience at all. Tokyo Jungle is an absolute blast and one of the best games of this year downloadable or not. It's unique, fun, and all around outstanding. Every PS3 owner needs to play this, and with the price of only $15 you really have no excuse not to. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    I was really surprised by this game. Originally, everything I saw and read about it gave me the impression that it wasn't my type of game. I didn't like the graphics and the mechanics seemed simple and repetitive. In a way, this is still true but I found the addictive formula in the randomized challenges every time you start a new game (with saved previous accomplishments like unlocking other animals). Every animal has it's own strengths and weaknesses that really change the way you move around this image of future Tokyo. It's like a roguelike real-time animal sim. Although it's not perfect, I think it's a brilliant game because of the smaller details that make it well worth the money ($15 NA PSN). It just feels fun to play and there probably isn't any video or review that can really do it justice because it's a pretty unique and unexpected style of game. I know I won't be done with it until every animal is unlocked and even then, I will have plenty of reasons to go back thanks to the new challenges in each playthrough. It's not perfect, but I think it's an unique entertaining experience that any PS3 owner won't want to miss. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2012
    9
    I bought this game for 12.99 Euros and i must say that it is freaking awesome! There is some repetition the tutorial is just for show and the graphics are subpar, but, tokyo jungle is one of the most amazing arcade games ever. Can you really miss it and call yourself a gamer ? I will see you guys on the leaderboard.
    Top Pomeranian, out!
  7. Oct 5, 2012
    9
    Tokyo Jungle gets a 9 due to the fact that the producers took a risk and tried something new. A hunting survival game were you play not as a human hunter but an animal hunting for survival after humankind perished in an unknown disaster. you must eat other animals to survive and keep youre hunger meter up or you begin losing life. you must mark youre territory,find a mate ,reproduce, and move to the next generation. youre animals age, grow, die if you make a mistake. all the while opening up new areas of a devastated tokyo. With lots of challenges ,animals to unlock and custom items to find there is plenty to do in tokyo jungle. The basic premise is just to survive but the game is quite deep underneath the surface. Slightly confusing is how it works you must play a story mode chapter then go to survival mode to find 3 or 4 hidden data chips with the next story on. You then complete that survival mode to unlock the next chapter of the story. Survival mode is were the action is trying to live as many years and generations while breeding offspring can be incredibly challenging but fun there are leaderboards and co-op modes. A clever and novel idea this animal survival sim may be store title of the year Expand
  8. Oct 6, 2012
    9
    Great fun game. Simple though unique and unlike anything you've played before. The game is broken up into two different modes: Story and Survival. The main attraction: Survival, will have you playing as up to 80 different animal species. You run around in a somewhat large map with almost PS2 grade graphics and try to survive as long as you possibly can in a post-apocalyptic / return to the earth type setting; eating food, mating, dodging and fighting other animals etc. You do as well do challenges and pick up points from them along the way. Whence unlocking animals you use these points to buy them and unlock more animals. The game's graphics, as I had pointed out, are almost that of the 6th generation. Though you don't find yourself turned off by this considering what type of game we're talking about here. The presentation is slick and the sound is decent. All of the animals sound great though some will sound a tad too cute for it to be realistic. The only other mentionable flaw is that you will find some glitches here and their (for example there will be points where animals will run against a wall and you can't kill them). The Story mode is quite boring and for the most part acts as a tutorial. The game, as well, is quite replayable. The incentive comes in unlocking animals and you'll be doing plenty of that while enjoying yourself the time through. The game is quite challenging and all the mechanics work greatly. It's not the most realistic game though whence you find yourself into it you'll have a great time. On top of that all of the animals are well balanced and when they're not you spend some time with the ridiculous upgrades like shoes and hats and collars. It's a well balanced, scoreboard type game and I would recommend it to anyone into point scoring type games. The Japanese love these types and if you do as well I suggest you check out Tokyo Jungle. Expand
  9. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    Tokyo jungle is one of the the most straightforward, most unusual game i have ever played. I have always wondered why they hasn't a game company ever made an animal survival game where you were to be in the eyes of an animal that's trying to survive. This is the closest thing to it in a post-apocalyptic world. I liked the fact that you are not forced to choose one animal and that you are somewhat pushed into finishing certain conditions during the course of the years. This gives us a certain goal to work with to make the game more enjoyable. The result of finishing those conditions, you are able to unlock different outfits, animals, items etc to progress through the next survival game. I actually got interested with the story also even though collecting the files to unravel what happened to the human race was kind of repetitive and somewhat boring, It still was a blast to play through it. For the price i paid for the game i got 20-30 hours out of it. Most games nowadays are an easy 10 hour adventure and cost a mint. I hope to see more games like this by the same developers in the future. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 60
  2. Negative: 3 out of 60
  1. Nov 19, 2012
    72
    Tokyo Jungle is a great idea taken down by a dull and repetitive gameplay that shows its limits just after a couple of hours.
  2. Ever played as a zebra roaming the post-apocalyptic streets of Tokyo? And if you have, did that zebra wear a hat? It did? Now you're just being a smartass. Tokyo Jungle might just be the most the original game of the year. And the most addictive. [November 2012, p.92]
  3. 70
    Tokyo Jungle may feel more than bizarre but it's surprisingly playable – you can hardly find any other sandbox game where animals fight for survival in a post-apocalyptic environment. [Nov 2012]