User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 36
  2. Negative: 3 out of 36

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2014
    9
    Ghost Recon as always been an outsider for the more popular licences that are Call Of Duty or Battlefield, targeting the most hardcore gamers that seeks realism over Rambo's games (personally i like both styles). Advanced warfighter 2 is to Ghost Recon what Modern Warfare 1 is to Call of Duty an almost perfect tactical shooter that will serves as reference for all the future Ghost Recon.Ghost Recon as always been an outsider for the more popular licences that are Call Of Duty or Battlefield, targeting the most hardcore gamers that seeks realism over Rambo's games (personally i like both styles). Advanced warfighter 2 is to Ghost Recon what Modern Warfare 1 is to Call of Duty an almost perfect tactical shooter that will serves as reference for all the future Ghost Recon. The graphics were great (at the time), a compelling story, and everything players were wishing for a tactical shooter (from team management to the way your character moves).
    And it is a bit funny that as Call of Duty 4, the only cons are the difficulty (too easy even in the hardest mode) and a too short campaign (5-6 hours).
    Expand
  2. andrewl
    Jan 14, 2009
    4
    I'm not sure what it is about tom clancy games but i cant seem to enjoy them. i managed to sit through a few stages of ghost recon, it takes a while to ignore the un-godly mess of a HUD on the screen and the over-advanced controls for a 3rd person shooter. it makes up for it in challenging gameplay (what tom clancy games are easy, right?). comparing it to something like army of two, I'm not sure what it is about tom clancy games but i cant seem to enjoy them. i managed to sit through a few stages of ghost recon, it takes a while to ignore the un-godly mess of a HUD on the screen and the over-advanced controls for a 3rd person shooter. it makes up for it in challenging gameplay (what tom clancy games are easy, right?). comparing it to something like army of two, which is basically the same mechanics just much less complicated is why i dont fancy it. but by now its fairly obvious that when you buy a tom clancy game, expect to be lost in a wasteland of advanced commands and extreme combat gameplay. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2011
    1
    for some reason i am never able to get into tom clancy games not sure why i just cant. that being said just looking at this as a normal game i did not enjoy it at all and am glad i got it for free because if i paid for it that would have been a waste of money. the graphics are pretty good but the controls are very clunky and confusing and what is the point of a silencer if all the ennemiesfor some reason i am never able to get into tom clancy games not sure why i just cant. that being said just looking at this as a normal game i did not enjoy it at all and am glad i got it for free because if i paid for it that would have been a waste of money. the graphics are pretty good but the controls are very clunky and confusing and what is the point of a silencer if all the ennemies are allerted to your presence after every shot not exactly ghost recon now is it. stay away from this unless you are a tom clancy freak Expand
  4. [Anonymous]
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    Just read the reviews on the 360 version for the single player review both versions are basically identical. Now for the online side; being a veteran of both Rainbow Six and Resistance; Graw 2 is a superior online experience. The difference between the PS3 and the 360 version are very minimal, both have there pluses and minuses. The PS3 version looks slighter darker then the 360 version Just read the reviews on the 360 version for the single player review both versions are basically identical. Now for the online side; being a veteran of both Rainbow Six and Resistance; Graw 2 is a superior online experience. The difference between the PS3 and the 360 version are very minimal, both have there pluses and minuses. The PS3 version looks slighter darker then the 360 version but has better graphics in my opinion. As usual, being a UBISOFT game , there are some glitches. Occasionally you cannot here one of your teammates mic for a whole round, and people do drop off a match from time to time. But all in all it is an excellent online experience, it is a must buy for anyone who owns a PS3 or 360. Expand
  5. EricH.
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    Very intense action shooter that makes you feel like you are in a war situation. The gammeplay, weapon selection, multiplayer, and music is quite remarkable. It does start to get a little repetitive after awhile, and there are a few minor things that irk me throughout the campaign> But overall, this is a very solid title.
  6. MC
    Sep 13, 2007
    8
    Great game, must be played. Far superior to R6V imo.
  7. RodB.
    Sep 5, 2007
    9
    GRAW2 has a lot of the nice features of the old GR games that I have enjoyed so much...tactical maps (you can send your fire team or drone to points on the map and strategize), the ability to see what your fire team members see (through their camera in this case), and even a drone overhead. I also found out I can play the multi-player games solo (with a full screen). I am glad they made GRAW2 has a lot of the nice features of the old GR games that I have enjoyed so much...tactical maps (you can send your fire team or drone to points on the map and strategize), the ability to see what your fire team members see (through their camera in this case), and even a drone overhead. I also found out I can play the multi-player games solo (with a full screen). I am glad they made this possible. Graphics are very, very good. Buy it! Expand
  8. DazL
    Jun 24, 2008
    7
    Its a good game but lays deep in the shadow of CoD4.
  9. AdeolaOla
    Jun 8, 2008
    10
    Best ps3 game but here`s one thing, i have some stupid friends who see the game and say it sucks just because of the box art. BULLSHIT!!! I think people should actually PLAY games and not just judge them by looks. If anyone thinks this game is whack, they need to get a life.
  10. JayN.
    Aug 26, 2007
    9
    What makes the game great are already mentioned in the reviews and user comments. Could have been perfect but I hate the fact that you must wait for the multiplayer match to end before you can join or at least spectate. A lot of time is wasted by just waiting and looking at the lobby.
  11. E.S.
    Aug 26, 2007
    6
    The graphics are just great, and the way your teammates behave is pretty realistic. On the other hand, the tactical component is very high and you shouldn't expect easy shooting controls: don't start shooting if you don't have a good cover, as you will be dead in seconds. Aiming is difficult, as it is moving while shooting. So be prepared for this strategical component, as The graphics are just great, and the way your teammates behave is pretty realistic. On the other hand, the tactical component is very high and you shouldn't expect easy shooting controls: don't start shooting if you don't have a good cover, as you will be dead in seconds. Aiming is difficult, as it is moving while shooting. So be prepared for this strategical component, as shooting is not as fast paced and easy to control as it is in Resistance or Call of Duty, and you will enjoy this deep and difficult game. Expand
  12. DaveK.
    Jan 4, 2008
    9
    Singleplayer is good but online multiplayer definetly makes this game exceptional. Servers are quick and mostly clean and the maps make playing this game so much fun! If you think medal of honor 4 is fun you need to check this one out! ITS WAY BETTER.
  13. joshs
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    This is a great sequel to GRAW this game has great graphics, the explosions are very real your squad AI is much improved from the first you dont have to worry about your squad doing anything stupid like running in front of the crossfire this is Tom Clancy's best game the only problem is that the story moves so smoothly that you might not realize how far you've gotten and might This is a great sequel to GRAW this game has great graphics, the explosions are very real your squad AI is much improved from the first you dont have to worry about your squad doing anything stupid like running in front of the crossfire this is Tom Clancy's best game the only problem is that the story moves so smoothly that you might not realize how far you've gotten and might beat it before you know it, oh and the online play is not that bad either. Expand
  14. ChaseL
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    WOW. this is a classic tactical fps. good graphics and great gameplay. the AI is smart and so is your team, finally im not playing with a mentally retarded team, i feel like a real GHOST. mulitiplayer is good to.
  15. JeffA.
    Aug 23, 2007
    10
    The graphics, action and drama are so realistic that Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 is the yardstick by which other combat games will measure up to.
  16. OzzyK.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    This game has captured me! It really kicks butt over the other shooter games. It has good graphics, moreso the movements of the character are soo life like. The 3rd person play style i would say is one of the main reasons i love this game. One problem though is that the game end quite quickly.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Combines strategy and shooting to excellent effect. Not perfect, but it really feels like war. [Sept 2007, p.64]
  2. The only real letdown is that you're not really under any serious pressure - the threat of imminent death is an illusion. The spectacle is there: huge explosions, last-minute rescues and desperate stand-offs against impossible odds. But the enemy AI lacks aggression. [Sept 2007, p.100]
  3. 83
    If you own a PS3 and haven't played GRAW 2 before, you owe it to yourself to pick the title up. The controls are easy to get into, the graphics look great, and there's a load of multiplayer options. You're looking at a fun romp … through the horror of war.