Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas 2 PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 93
  2. Negative: 12 out of 93
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2014
    8
    This is a pure sequel, everything is pretty much the same that R6 Vegas 1 (with slightly better graphics), the story is pretty bad and sound quite unrealistic, it's a shame for a game that otherwise wants, and succeed, to make you feel like a true elite squad leader, with realistics gunfight, good team management and operational strategy. In fact the story is so bad i would say that youThis is a pure sequel, everything is pretty much the same that R6 Vegas 1 (with slightly better graphics), the story is pretty bad and sound quite unrealistic, it's a shame for a game that otherwise wants, and succeed, to make you feel like a true elite squad leader, with realistics gunfight, good team management and operational strategy. In fact the story is so bad i would say that you don't need to fulfill the first episode, if you want to experience a SWAT (well Rainbow in that case) look alike gameplay, you might as well do it with the nicest looking one, those R6 games definitely offer this nice feeling . Or even Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 if you're looking for good tactical shooters more than just SWAT look alike. Expand
  2. tobybrown
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    This game is so real that I'm turning into a republican. I
    love killing terrorists. It's the best part of my life, these
    days. Wake up, play some Vegas 2. Think about sex. Play more Vegas 2. Play more Vegas 2. Eat. No. Play more. And more. I think I'm going mad. Thanks Ubisoft.
  3. DaveLime
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    Absolutely fantastic - right from the start this is superb. They'd be crazy to change such a great formula and i'm perfectly happy to have more of the same - albeit with IMPROVED controls (ability to run, better ducking, improved control over team). Plus it's looking and sounding better than ever.
  4. AnonymousMC
    Mar 25, 2008
    9
    I
  5. AndrewH.
    Mar 20, 2008
    8
    Everything is great, but the friendly AI can mess up and make it easier to do the mission solo. The graphics are also sub par for this point in this generation of consoles.
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    This game is excellent, not a huge deviation from the original but if you loved the original you'll love this one. It's also perfect for getting away from the COD4 chaos for a while. Highly Recommended.
  7. KieranTC
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    Fantastic follow up to the first game, Vegas 1 fans won't be disappointed.
  8. JenniferC.
    Mar 20, 2008
    10
    Best co-op. My brother and I have played co-op together for many years, on many different games. Now that we
  9. Ryencoke
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    PS3 version is garbage compared to 360's. It only runs on 720p on PS3, and 1080p on 360. Online is garbage on PS3 (As usual). You want to actually play this game right? Get it on 360. Also, Anonymous, get a better internet connection if you can't connect to games.
  10. MelH.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    I can't believe it's finally out! you wouldn't believe what i had to go through to get this game. i have 2 gamestops in my town, the first one i called and they said it was ALREADY SOLD OUT! so i rushed to the second store and it was in stock, but there was a line out the freaking DOOR waiting to buy it. long story short, i paid somebody up front to buy the game for me. so I can't believe it's finally out! you wouldn't believe what i had to go through to get this game. i have 2 gamestops in my town, the first one i called and they said it was ALREADY SOLD OUT! so i rushed to the second store and it was in stock, but there was a line out the freaking DOOR waiting to buy it. long story short, i paid somebody up front to buy the game for me. so i paid the normal amount to get the game AND paid some guy $20 just do buy it for me!! anyhow, i have never been so pleased with a game in my life. it was hell getting it and i don't even care. best game of the year, probably best game of the last 2 or 3 years to be honest. Expand
  11. MasJ.
    Mar 27, 2008
    8
    R6V 1 was one of the best online games ever for FPS fans. This one maybe had too much to live up to after seeing COD4 but there are things that should have been fixed which weren't. Spawn camping is still possible, server connection drops, a bad lobby system where you spend half the time waiting for a game, and your so-called leet SWAT pro is still flagging around corners. There were R6V 1 was one of the best online games ever for FPS fans. This one maybe had too much to live up to after seeing COD4 but there are things that should have been fixed which weren't. Spawn camping is still possible, server connection drops, a bad lobby system where you spend half the time waiting for a game, and your so-called leet SWAT pro is still flagging around corners. There were cheaters in R6V 1 who had full armor with full mobility and bulletproof heads, can't tell yet whether the cheating has been fixed. Still, its a super fun multiplayer when it works so once a patch comes out it will be a 9/10 game. Expand
  12. IanR.
    May 26, 2008
    8
    I haven't played the first RSV but being a fan of the Splinter Cell series I bought this for my PS3. Playing this directly after playing COD4 I must admit, initially I was slightly disappointed, I think mainly because the controls weren't as fast and fluid as Call of Duty. After a few hours play my oppinion of the game improved, the co-op with the other members of the team is I haven't played the first RSV but being a fan of the Splinter Cell series I bought this for my PS3. Playing this directly after playing COD4 I must admit, initially I was slightly disappointed, I think mainly because the controls weren't as fast and fluid as Call of Duty. After a few hours play my oppinion of the game improved, the co-op with the other members of the team is great, the graphics are good and it's actually a pretty cool game, worth getting. Expand
  13. MsediW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    8
    This game is great, but a repeat of the first one. They could have added :Off line Versus' to make an improvement. The graphics are good as well but not to different from the first. Another improvement they could have made was the was the physics. I agree that they were good, but with the power of the PS3 and 360, they could have made them much better. Also the blood looks like This game is great, but a repeat of the first one. They could have added :Off line Versus' to make an improvement. The graphics are good as well but not to different from the first. Another improvement they could have made was the was the physics. I agree that they were good, but with the power of the PS3 and 360, they could have made them much better. Also the blood looks like paint. But in all sense this game is great. Expand
  14. ChelseaPierce
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Graphics much better this time around. Obviously a lot more work has been put into the look of the sequel to Vegas. The game looks quite a bit better in the single player story, but it
  15. BarryS.
    Mar 25, 2008
    10
    Go Team, Go! I
  16. Dec 9, 2010
    9
    I love this game. I got on Tuesday for Saint Nicholas Day (I'm German). I'm still in the campaign, and I enjoy it, but its basically just go in, Shoot Terrorists, go to the next room, shoot terrorists again. This doesn't really bother me because other good games have the same thing. The multilayer and terrorist hunt are enjoyable. There are some graphical problems in the game, such as theI love this game. I got on Tuesday for Saint Nicholas Day (I'm German). I'm still in the campaign, and I enjoy it, but its basically just go in, Shoot Terrorists, go to the next room, shoot terrorists again. This doesn't really bother me because other good games have the same thing. The multilayer and terrorist hunt are enjoyable. There are some graphical problems in the game, such as the game being unoptimized which causes frame rate lag. After playing for a while, my computer overheated in game. I restarted my computer, went back to the game to find out my Rank, and Equipment was gone. There goes my 3 days of playing down the garbage. Sad that Ubisoft refuses to update a great game. Expand
  17. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    This game was a pretty good game. Everything in the game are fine. The only two i hate about is that the ai is messed up. the graphic doesn't really look as good
  18. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    Great follow-up to r6v. r6v2 is better in some ways, and worse in others. The plot isn't nearly as put together as the first. The mechanics are just as good as the first, and the customization is ridiculously deep. Alot of weapons to choose from and the maps are all really good. They probably could have benefited from a few more months of polishing, but the game is awesome.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Edge Magazine
    70
    With "Denied Ops" dropping the Conflict ball and "Call Of Duty 4"’s snappy splendour drowning any tactical sense, it’s a likeable and distracting continuation, but one that won’t be difficult to usurp. [Apr 2008, p.90]
  2. Games Master UK
    84
    By coming at the city from a different angle and giving an extra richness to be the gameplay, the return to Vegas has been justified. [Apr 2008, p.62]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    If, like us, you found the first game a bit sticky and imprecise to play, you can rest easier with this sequel - this is a crisper experience. [Apr 2008, p.110]