User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 76
  2. Negative: 12 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2014
    8
    I totally understand why rainbow six divide a lot of the players, but personally I love those tactical shooters all branded with Tom Clancy's seal. First to really experience Rainbow Six Vegas you have to play in the "realistic" mode (well you can find more realistic with ARMA or Operation Flashpoint), therefore if you don't like hard games I'd strongly advice to NOT play Rainbow Six VegasI totally understand why rainbow six divide a lot of the players, but personally I love those tactical shooters all branded with Tom Clancy's seal. First to really experience Rainbow Six Vegas you have to play in the "realistic" mode (well you can find more realistic with ARMA or Operation Flashpoint), therefore if you don't like hard games I'd strongly advice to NOT play Rainbow Six Vegas as the graphics and the story are not worthy of any financial investment.
    If you still interested then you must own this game, the gameplay is truly great, you have to think and act fast when you're under fire, your teammates and enemies AI are at the top.
    Rainbow Six Vegas isn't your perfect game, but it's a very enjoyable Tactical Shooter if you are an amateur of the genre or just want to try it , I recommend R6 Vegas if you've already done Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 (that have better story and graphics).
    Expand
  2. IanIrvin
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    As always ubisoft does an incredibly half assed port when compared to the original version (ubisoft is awsome at being the worst porter ever). While many reviewers are saying the PS3 version is the deffinitive one because of extra content, purly from a graphical standpoint the 360 is superior. To those that mentioned the "horrible graphics" I feel I should let you know that ubisoft hasAs always ubisoft does an incredibly half assed port when compared to the original version (ubisoft is awsome at being the worst porter ever). While many reviewers are saying the PS3 version is the deffinitive one because of extra content, purly from a graphical standpoint the 360 is superior. To those that mentioned the "horrible graphics" I feel I should let you know that ubisoft has confirmed that there is a problem with 1080i/1080p upscaling, YOU MUST DISSABLE 1080I/1080P IN ORDER FOR THIS GAME TO LOOK AT ALL GOOD.

    Just an FYI to owners of this game, 720p and lower are the only functional resolutions.

    Gameplay is solid and online play is fun, RSV is an awsome game even if it isn't quite as tactical as older RS games.
    Expand
  3. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    What an amazing game from Ubisoft Montreal again. With the new graphics and the gameplay this game take a view about the difficulty u need to be fast , intelligent and aim fast another master piece from Ubisoft

    bow to them
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had really big hopes for this game I've played the single player campaign and it's not good, very poor graphics and A.I. if you throw a grenade this one better fall close to an enemy and I mean close, on their pockets, to hurt them. It's a not a contest to see in which console a poor game looks better. The story makes no sense some times, let me elaborate, you are in Mexico fighting some sort of guerrilla and in a very bizarre way both your fully-equipped-bad-ass-expert-killing machines partners get kidnapped by a girl with no guns, you manage to escape and get rescued by another girl and then your superior tells you that you can't go back and rescue them instead you need to go to Vegas to fight more terrorists and that he feels that you may find your friends there! really?! To me this was a very GENERIC FPS it brings nothing new to the genre. Play it if you are curious about it that's all. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2011
    4
    I do not agree with the meta and user score here. Though I am not also tactical shooter fan but this game is very dull. Single player is really generic, you can also co-op the campaign with your friend but even that doesn't work so good. If friend dies, he will not spawn for long time, also if you both die you must watch lot of unskippable cutscenes. Also there is terrorist hunt, aI do not agree with the meta and user score here. Though I am not also tactical shooter fan but this game is very dull. Single player is really generic, you can also co-op the campaign with your friend but even that doesn't work so good. If friend dies, he will not spawn for long time, also if you both die you must watch lot of unskippable cutscenes. Also there is terrorist hunt, a survival or hunt them-type of game which is used in hundreds of titles before - nothing new here at all. Online lacks quality too. I liked the old Rainbow Six but here isn't anything interesting. Expand
  6. Ryencoke
    Jul 7, 2007
    5
    It's nothing compared to the 360 version by any means. Online is so much better for 360, as are the graphics.
  7. IanC.
    Jul 11, 2007
    4
    As a proud 'Microsoft fangirl', I'll happily whine loudly and proudly in anyone's face about how rubbish this is. And it is, let's not kind ourselves, especially when pooked at side by side with the 360 version. And you can't possibly take this release in isolation of any other next gen release, it's for the PS3 for goodness' sake, this is supposed As a proud 'Microsoft fangirl', I'll happily whine loudly and proudly in anyone's face about how rubbish this is. And it is, let's not kind ourselves, especially when pooked at side by side with the 360 version. And you can't possibly take this release in isolation of any other next gen release, it's for the PS3 for goodness' sake, this is supposed to be the killer hardward to end all debate, and we get a PS2 game? It looks terrible, plays OK, really glitchy, I hate it and don't know a single other PS3 owner who has this and hasn't been terribly disappointed. As for playability vs graphics, there's a point in saying that graphics don't make a game, but even so, sometimes you just can't get over it enough to leave it behind and enjoy yourself, especially when you've seen what could have been. The 360 version is hardly a masterpiece online, but ut plays brilliantly and so that's OK. But this version looks SO BAD that it just gets in the way of everything else. SO, defensive PS3 owners can take the **** all they like about whining fanwhatevers, but the truth is out there and unavoidable. Expand
  8. RodB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    I am giving this game a low score because honestly, I have PS2 games that have better looking graphics! I shouldn't have to make any changes to my hardware, like dumbing down my 1080 resolution for it to look good. Other games don't have that hang-up. If you want a good game, play Resistance, Oblivion or Ghost Recon AW2. They all have great graphics...right out of the box!
  9. Jan 31, 2011
    3
    Graphics look cutting edge for a 1996 desktop PC game. This is the only PS3 game that I have played that just isn't any fun. Luckily I bought it for $5 used.
  10. Apr 15, 2011
    4
    i did not like this game and i was just not able to get into it and gave up on the story after playing the first mission and was not impressed with the glitches and por sound quality which lagged behind the initial action. once i was finally able to get used to the controls (first game i had for PS3 and was not used to this style of control scheme) i played the terrorist mode and enjoyedi did not like this game and i was just not able to get into it and gave up on the story after playing the first mission and was not impressed with the glitches and por sound quality which lagged behind the initial action. once i was finally able to get used to the controls (first game i had for PS3 and was not used to this style of control scheme) i played the terrorist mode and enjoyed that for a couple play throughs but then got bored and seeing no more play time on it in the near future i traded it in. Expand
  11. MothraTheMoth
    Jul 4, 2007
    6
    Enemy bodies fade away as soon as you've shot them, the scenery graphics are laughably low-res and there's something wrong with the sound which means you can't always hear the dialogue. Sometimes the weapon sounds lag well behind your trigger pulls or have the wrong environmental effects applied to them (such as a muffled sound from an enemy weapon being fired in the same Enemy bodies fade away as soon as you've shot them, the scenery graphics are laughably low-res and there's something wrong with the sound which means you can't always hear the dialogue. Sometimes the weapon sounds lag well behind your trigger pulls or have the wrong environmental effects applied to them (such as a muffled sound from an enemy weapon being fired in the same room as you). If you're one of those FPS players that likes to invert the Y-Axis, then you will find the Six-Axis "snake camera" controls impossible to manage. You're better off using the right stick anyway. Also, you only have 4 controller configurations to choose from - you can't customise the controls at all. Finally, there's no proper online lobby system either. If you can get past all of that, then the core gameplay is quite good fun, but you're far better off playing the Xbox 360 version, which has none of the above problems. Expand
  12. MattC.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    The graphics definitely look a bit dated and are not of the same standard as RFOM or Motorstorm, but it still looks very respectable and the interesting Las Vegas environments coupled with brilliant ambient sounds, voice and sound effects creates an awesome gaming atmosphere. In any case games aren't just about good graphics and it's the tough yet rewarding gameplay that stands The graphics definitely look a bit dated and are not of the same standard as RFOM or Motorstorm, but it still looks very respectable and the interesting Las Vegas environments coupled with brilliant ambient sounds, voice and sound effects creates an awesome gaming atmosphere. In any case games aren't just about good graphics and it's the tough yet rewarding gameplay that stands out here. There is something truly satisfying about tactically commanding a situation and seeing it through and the excellent AI really helps the suspension of disbelief. A highly recommended must buy! Expand
  13. ZiftK.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    I just love how the 360 fans come on here and insult a good game, that they're essentially playing, and enjoying, but won't admit it's good because it's on another console. This is a great FPS game, where you'll find a lot of action. Ian C and ryencoke, I like the 360, but try and enjoy your game before you get the red rings of death, or it just eventually burn I just love how the 360 fans come on here and insult a good game, that they're essentially playing, and enjoying, but won't admit it's good because it's on another console. This is a great FPS game, where you'll find a lot of action. Ian C and ryencoke, I like the 360, but try and enjoy your game before you get the red rings of death, or it just eventually burn out on you, good thing you have extended warranty, you're going to have to use it, a lot. Expand
  14. JenL.
    Aug 9, 2007
    9
    You know what they say, 6th time's the charm! Rainbow 6 is a great game with a good amount of difficulty. It's probably the best showcase game for the PS3.
  15. A.T.
    Dec 20, 2007
    7
    Having defected from the 360 to the PS3 (9 broken consoles in 2 years is simply ridiculous) I was keen to try one of my old favourites on the new console and was pleasantly surprised by the conversion. The 360 owners claiming this looks worse than theirs are kidding themselves. R6V was never a particularly pretty game on the 360 and it still looks a bit sketchy and jaggy here. Less of the Having defected from the 360 to the PS3 (9 broken consoles in 2 years is simply ridiculous) I was keen to try one of my old favourites on the new console and was pleasantly surprised by the conversion. The 360 owners claiming this looks worse than theirs are kidding themselves. R6V was never a particularly pretty game on the 360 and it still looks a bit sketchy and jaggy here. Less of the Vaseline smeared screen look of the 360 but neither version can hold a candle to GRAW2 or COD4. Everything else, thankfully, also made the conversion across intact. Decent single player, if a bit too linear, and a superb online experience. I used to hold this up as being an 8 or 9 game but the appearance of COD4 has really made both versions look very old all of a sudden where GRAW2 is still fresh after a year of play. A solid game, but getting a bit past it now. Expand
  16. KarenP.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I played it and now i am addicted. Best game ever! Awesome graphics! Worth it for your ps3!
  17. [Anonymous]
    Jun 25, 2007
    7
    Another failed port by Ubisoft. Most of the great original Xbox 360 game is there, but the conversion to the PS3 has had it's bumps in both graphics, and controls. The Sixaxis just doesn't work as well with this shooter.
  18. DionysusJ.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Nothing brings me more joy than the crying and disillusion of Microsoft fangirls. Nearly every "professional" review has referenced the PS3 version as being the superior release; but here we are, listening to them whine like red-headed step children with skinned-knees -- complaining about graphics this and graphics that (most of them don't even own a Playstation 3). But then again, Nothing brings me more joy than the crying and disillusion of Microsoft fangirls. Nearly every "professional" review has referenced the PS3 version as being the superior release; but here we are, listening to them whine like red-headed step children with skinned-knees -- complaining about graphics this and graphics that (most of them don't even own a Playstation 3). But then again, I'd probably be upset too if I had to pay for additional maps. Don't let this nonsense turn you away from a great tactical game. Expand
  19. DanE.
    Jul 1, 2007
    6
    I've never played the 360 version but its gotta be better than this rubbish. The single player is awful and the online isn't as good as R:FOM. Shouldn't have wasted my money.
  20. Jomni
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Good enough. I'm not comparing to XBox version like most of the people here. Single player is nice with many paths to take (better map design than Resistance). Enemy AI is good and can out flank you if you're not careful. Multiplayer is decent though the interface can get cumbersome at times and I'm annoyed at lagging sound when there are too many headset users (must be my Good enough. I'm not comparing to XBox version like most of the people here. Single player is nice with many paths to take (better map design than Resistance). Enemy AI is good and can out flank you if you're not careful. Multiplayer is decent though the interface can get cumbersome at times and I'm annoyed at lagging sound when there are too many headset users (must be my connection though). COD3 and Resistance seems to have more efficient multiplayer. Graphics is ok but I still believe COD3 still has the best graphics among the PS3 shooters. Expand
  21. mhall
    Feb 2, 2008
    2
    I played this game for a few months, I don't care what anyone says no systems make this game appealing to the eyes. That besides the point, the list of over 200 glitches my clan and I found, mostly from a very poor port job, seems to dissatisfy me even more. But the killer of the whole thing is, ubisoft's hey screw them they paid for it and lets just ignore them and make a newI played this game for a few months, I don't care what anyone says no systems make this game appealing to the eyes. That besides the point, the list of over 200 glitches my clan and I found, mostly from a very poor port job, seems to dissatisfy me even more. But the killer of the whole thing is, ubisoft's hey screw them they paid for it and lets just ignore them and make a new rainbow six vegas and call it rainbow six vegas 2? that way they buy the game again and all we have to do is spend a day or 2 changing minor things in the storyline. Very not happy with this game, would have rated it a zero but it has a mute feature in the lobby which cod4 does not. Because of the horrible support, slow motion gameplay, bad graphics, 200+ glitches (231 to be exact), and lack of updates, i just unreserved my copy of haze (which is a whole differn't story), and put ubisoft titles on my do not buy list. Ok now that i am all mad all over again no longer rating it a 3. All these "professional" reviewers said all these good things about this game, makes me wonder if this was their first fps? i mean have they played anything halfway good? (any of the doom series, wolfenstein, resistance fall of man, turok?). Expand
  22. JohnO.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Everything is on par with the 360 with more maps and gamemodes than the 360 and it has better voice clarity on the mics. A must have for PS3 owners.
  23. IanI.
    Jun 27, 2007
    6
    Graphically its horrible when compared to the 360 version. The gameplay remains intact, but once again ubisoft fails on this port. It looks distinctly like a title for original xbox much like the F.E.A.R port. Wish I had gotten it on my 360.
  24. JeffA.
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    Ubisoft did a great job porting the game to the PS3. The graphics in the PS3 version are less blurry than in it's 360 counterpart. Characters, plot and controls are top notch. Just what is expected of a Tom Clancy game.
  25. mizikeyd
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    DUDE! this game rocks, ppl keep complain'n bout the graphics suckn, the reason it seems blurry is that u prob have it on 1080i when it needs to be runing on 720p or 1080p and it looks wicked folks! u should run all ur games at 720p in ur tv doesnt support 1080p full HD! wat ppl dont know is that 720p is a higher rez, 1080i is actually only 540 lines of rez rest if fake interlacedDUDE! this game rocks, ppl keep complain'n bout the graphics suckn, the reason it seems blurry is that u prob have it on 1080i when it needs to be runing on 720p or 1080p and it looks wicked folks! u should run all ur games at 720p in ur tv doesnt support 1080p full HD! wat ppl dont know is that 720p is a higher rez, 1080i is actually only 540 lines of rez rest if fake interlaced signal! it goes-
    480i- standard picture
    480p- enchanced hd
    1080i- interlaced(540 true lines of rez and 540 lines fake)
    720p-progressive(720 lines of rez)
    1080p-full hd(1080 lines of rez)

    So i hope tht helps u will see a big diff i promise!!!!
    Expand
  26. 54L
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    All I have to say is all the stuff you are reading from the Xbox players is just plain jealousy because they're upset they made the wrong decision when buying their platform. If you know anything about technology you know that the PS3 is way more powerful than the Xbox. Who wants a system where you have to download extra levels that come standard on the PS3? Vegas is awesome on the All I have to say is all the stuff you are reading from the Xbox players is just plain jealousy because they're upset they made the wrong decision when buying their platform. If you know anything about technology you know that the PS3 is way more powerful than the Xbox. Who wants a system where you have to download extra levels that come standard on the PS3? Vegas is awesome on the PS3, so don't listen to the upset Xbox owners. Expand
  27. DensyD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to the excitement of the scenes! The online play is WAY too cool, also.!!!! Expand
  28. Mar 25, 2014
    8
    This game was on sale on the PSN store, and so I bought it. Boy, this is one of the most challenging games I've ever played. Then again, this is my first R6 game, and I'm used to shooters like Call of Duty. The story is seemingly good. There were no subtitles to be enabled and it was difficult to hear dialogue due to gunfire and loud music (which can be adjusted). There's a twist towardsThis game was on sale on the PSN store, and so I bought it. Boy, this is one of the most challenging games I've ever played. Then again, this is my first R6 game, and I'm used to shooters like Call of Duty. The story is seemingly good. There were no subtitles to be enabled and it was difficult to hear dialogue due to gunfire and loud music (which can be adjusted). There's a twist towards the end but I did not really care because I wasn't paying attention (wish I was). But the gameplay is awesome and it really requires careful planning. It's possible to die in one shot, even on the easiest difficulty. There are still people playing this game online too. I found a full match at 1:00AM! Terrorist hunt is also fun. Haven't played coop yet, but the next time my friends come over to play, we're going to have a blast with 4 player split-screen coop. (Not many games nowadays have splitscreen anymore!). So, get this game, whether you are a fan of the series, love FPSes or coop games. I expect more from the upcoming R6 game, "Patriots". Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's more of a straightforward shooter, but it's still gorgeous and the best squad-based shooter for your money on the PS3.
  2. Overall, Rainbow Six: Vegas is pretty much a must buy tactical shooter for PS3 owners.
  3. The enthralling tactical shooter gameplay and adjustable difficulty make it an experience that can be enjoyed by all. Do not bet on black; do not bet on red... take sixty dollars of your hard earned cash and place it on the rainbow. To win. It’s a sure thing.