Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas PlayStation 3

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 80
  2. Negative: 12 out of 80
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KarenP.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I played it and now i am addicted. Best game ever! Awesome graphics! Worth it for your ps3!
  2. JohnO.
    Jun 26, 2007
    10
    Everything is on par with the 360 with more maps and gamemodes than the 360 and it has better voice clarity on the mics. A must have for PS3 owners.
  3. mizikeyd
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    DUDE! this game rocks, ppl keep complain'n bout the graphics suckn, the reason it seems blurry is that u prob have it on 1080i when it needs to be runing on 720p or 1080p and it looks wicked folks! u should run all ur games at 720p in ur tv doesnt support 1080p full HD! wat ppl dont know is that 720p is a higher rez, 1080i is actually only 540 lines of rez rest if fake interlacedDUDE! this game rocks, ppl keep complain'n bout the graphics suckn, the reason it seems blurry is that u prob have it on 1080i when it needs to be runing on 720p or 1080p and it looks wicked folks! u should run all ur games at 720p in ur tv doesnt support 1080p full HD! wat ppl dont know is that 720p is a higher rez, 1080i is actually only 540 lines of rez rest if fake interlaced signal! it goes-
    480i- standard picture
    480p- enchanced hd
    1080i- interlaced(540 true lines of rez and 540 lines fake)
    720p-progressive(720 lines of rez)
    1080p-full hd(1080 lines of rez)

    So i hope tht helps u will see a big diff i promise!!!!
    Expand
  4. DensyD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to the excitement of the scenes! The online play is WAY too cool, also.!!!! Expand
  5. MattC.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    The graphics definitely look a bit dated and are not of the same standard as RFOM or Motorstorm, but it still looks very respectable and the interesting Las Vegas environments coupled with brilliant ambient sounds, voice and sound effects creates an awesome gaming atmosphere. In any case games aren't just about good graphics and it's the tough yet rewarding gameplay that stands The graphics definitely look a bit dated and are not of the same standard as RFOM or Motorstorm, but it still looks very respectable and the interesting Las Vegas environments coupled with brilliant ambient sounds, voice and sound effects creates an awesome gaming atmosphere. In any case games aren't just about good graphics and it's the tough yet rewarding gameplay that stands out here. There is something truly satisfying about tactically commanding a situation and seeing it through and the excellent AI really helps the suspension of disbelief. A highly recommended must buy! Expand
  6. ZiftK.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    I just love how the 360 fans come on here and insult a good game, that they're essentially playing, and enjoying, but won't admit it's good because it's on another console. This is a great FPS game, where you'll find a lot of action. Ian C and ryencoke, I like the 360, but try and enjoy your game before you get the red rings of death, or it just eventually burn I just love how the 360 fans come on here and insult a good game, that they're essentially playing, and enjoying, but won't admit it's good because it's on another console. This is a great FPS game, where you'll find a lot of action. Ian C and ryencoke, I like the 360, but try and enjoy your game before you get the red rings of death, or it just eventually burn out on you, good thing you have extended warranty, you're going to have to use it, a lot. Expand
  7. JenL.
    Aug 9, 2007
    9
    You know what they say, 6th time's the charm! Rainbow 6 is a great game with a good amount of difficulty. It's probably the best showcase game for the PS3.
  8. DionysusJ.
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    Nothing brings me more joy than the crying and disillusion of Microsoft fangirls. Nearly every "professional" review has referenced the PS3 version as being the superior release; but here we are, listening to them whine like red-headed step children with skinned-knees -- complaining about graphics this and graphics that (most of them don't even own a Playstation 3). But then again, Nothing brings me more joy than the crying and disillusion of Microsoft fangirls. Nearly every "professional" review has referenced the PS3 version as being the superior release; but here we are, listening to them whine like red-headed step children with skinned-knees -- complaining about graphics this and graphics that (most of them don't even own a Playstation 3). But then again, I'd probably be upset too if I had to pay for additional maps. Don't let this nonsense turn you away from a great tactical game. Expand
  9. 54L
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    All I have to say is all the stuff you are reading from the Xbox players is just plain jealousy because they're upset they made the wrong decision when buying their platform. If you know anything about technology you know that the PS3 is way more powerful than the Xbox. Who wants a system where you have to download extra levels that come standard on the PS3? Vegas is awesome on the All I have to say is all the stuff you are reading from the Xbox players is just plain jealousy because they're upset they made the wrong decision when buying their platform. If you know anything about technology you know that the PS3 is way more powerful than the Xbox. Who wants a system where you have to download extra levels that come standard on the PS3? Vegas is awesome on the PS3, so don't listen to the upset Xbox owners. Expand
  10. Oct 16, 2010
    9
    What an amazing game from Ubisoft Montreal again. With the new graphics and the gameplay this game take a view about the difficulty u need to be fast , intelligent and aim fast another master piece from Ubisoft

    bow to them
  11. IanIrvin
    Jul 23, 2007
    8
    As always ubisoft does an incredibly half assed port when compared to the original version (ubisoft is awsome at being the worst porter ever). While many reviewers are saying the PS3 version is the deffinitive one because of extra content, purly from a graphical standpoint the 360 is superior. To those that mentioned the "horrible graphics" I feel I should let you know that ubisoft hasAs always ubisoft does an incredibly half assed port when compared to the original version (ubisoft is awsome at being the worst porter ever). While many reviewers are saying the PS3 version is the deffinitive one because of extra content, purly from a graphical standpoint the 360 is superior. To those that mentioned the "horrible graphics" I feel I should let you know that ubisoft has confirmed that there is a problem with 1080i/1080p upscaling, YOU MUST DISSABLE 1080I/1080P IN ORDER FOR THIS GAME TO LOOK AT ALL GOOD.

    Just an FYI to owners of this game, 720p and lower are the only functional resolutions.

    Gameplay is solid and online play is fun, RSV is an awsome game even if it isn't quite as tactical as older RS games.
    Expand
  12. Jomni
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    Good enough. I'm not comparing to XBox version like most of the people here. Single player is nice with many paths to take (better map design than Resistance). Enemy AI is good and can out flank you if you're not careful. Multiplayer is decent though the interface can get cumbersome at times and I'm annoyed at lagging sound when there are too many headset users (must be my Good enough. I'm not comparing to XBox version like most of the people here. Single player is nice with many paths to take (better map design than Resistance). Enemy AI is good and can out flank you if you're not careful. Multiplayer is decent though the interface can get cumbersome at times and I'm annoyed at lagging sound when there are too many headset users (must be my connection though). COD3 and Resistance seems to have more efficient multiplayer. Graphics is ok but I still believe COD3 still has the best graphics among the PS3 shooters. Expand
  13. JeffA.
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    Ubisoft did a great job porting the game to the PS3. The graphics in the PS3 version are less blurry than in it's 360 counterpart. Characters, plot and controls are top notch. Just what is expected of a Tom Clancy game.
  14. Mar 25, 2014
    8
    This game was on sale on the PSN store, and so I bought it. Boy, this is one of the most challenging games I've ever played. Then again, this is my first R6 game, and I'm used to shooters like Call of Duty. The story is seemingly good. There were no subtitles to be enabled and it was difficult to hear dialogue due to gunfire and loud music (which can be adjusted). There's a twist towardsThis game was on sale on the PSN store, and so I bought it. Boy, this is one of the most challenging games I've ever played. Then again, this is my first R6 game, and I'm used to shooters like Call of Duty. The story is seemingly good. There were no subtitles to be enabled and it was difficult to hear dialogue due to gunfire and loud music (which can be adjusted). There's a twist towards the end but I did not really care because I wasn't paying attention (wish I was). But the gameplay is awesome and it really requires careful planning. It's possible to die in one shot, even on the easiest difficulty. There are still people playing this game online too. I found a full match at 1:00AM! Terrorist hunt is also fun. Haven't played coop yet, but the next time my friends come over to play, we're going to have a blast with 4 player split-screen coop. (Not many games nowadays have splitscreen anymore!). So, get this game, whether you are a fan of the series, love FPSes or coop games. I expect more from the upcoming R6 game, "Patriots". Expand
  15. Nov 27, 2014
    8
    I totally understand why rainbow six divide a lot of the players, but personally I love those tactical shooters all branded with Tom Clancy's seal. First to really experience Rainbow Six Vegas you have to play in the "realistic" mode (well you can find more realistic with ARMA or Operation Flashpoint), therefore if you don't like hard games I'd strongly advice to NOT play Rainbow Six VegasI totally understand why rainbow six divide a lot of the players, but personally I love those tactical shooters all branded with Tom Clancy's seal. First to really experience Rainbow Six Vegas you have to play in the "realistic" mode (well you can find more realistic with ARMA or Operation Flashpoint), therefore if you don't like hard games I'd strongly advice to NOT play Rainbow Six Vegas as the graphics and the story are not worthy of any financial investment.
    If you still interested then you must own this game, the gameplay is truly great, you have to think and act fast when you're under fire, your teammates and enemies AI are at the top.
    Rainbow Six Vegas isn't your perfect game, but it's a very enjoyable Tactical Shooter if you are an amateur of the genre or just want to try it , I recommend R6 Vegas if you've already done Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter 2 (that have better story and graphics).
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. It's more of a straightforward shooter, but it's still gorgeous and the best squad-based shooter for your money on the PS3.
  2. Overall, Rainbow Six: Vegas is pretty much a must buy tactical shooter for PS3 owners.
  3. The enthralling tactical shooter gameplay and adjustable difficulty make it an experience that can be enjoyed by all. Do not bet on black; do not bet on red... take sixty dollars of your hard earned cash and place it on the rainbow. To win. It’s a sure thing.