Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six Vegas Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 73 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The stakes are high when the world's most elite counter-terrorism unit enters Las Vegas, where over 36.7 million men, women and children visit each year. "Sin City," the home of the famous Las Vegas Strip, flashy hotels, high-rolling casinos and world-famous celebrities, becomes the settingThe stakes are high when the world's most elite counter-terrorism unit enters Las Vegas, where over 36.7 million men, women and children visit each year. "Sin City," the home of the famous Las Vegas Strip, flashy hotels, high-rolling casinos and world-famous celebrities, becomes the setting for a terrorist threat of global proportions. What happens when one of the world's most famous cities is held hostage by terrorists? [Ubisoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. If you're a fan of the franchise, genre, or good games, you owe it to yourself to pick this game up.
  2. Once you get a game going, the online aspect of Vegas far and away shines as the biggest selling point, but there's no discounting the single-player game either -- even if the ending is a little blah. Better late than never, Vegas rocks.
  3. The number of options you have on how to tackle each situation makes for some great unscripted moments, and the visuals and sound help create an atmosphere that wouldn't be possible on older hardware.
  4. 87
    Vegas is very good, the only drawbacks coming from the slightly too short singleplayer campaign which can be dispatched in about 8-10 hours.
  5. 85
    It's solid, pretty good-looking, and packs a thoroughly decent single-player campaign, too.
  6. It may not have the best graphics or story, but it's still great because it shines in the area it really cares about - tactical realism.
  7. 70
    The gameplay feels as though it has mapped exceptionally well to the PS3's controller, unlike many other ports for the console. However, Rainbow Six has traditionally been a multiplayer-focused franchise, and it's here that the game disappoints.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. DensyD.
    Sep 28, 2007
    10
    What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with What a great game! I've avoided first person shooters since Quake 2 ate up my sophomore year of college, so I bought this game with trepedation... and have been absolutely enthralled with it! What fun! True, I've played on easy - and had a fun time - but it's a marvelous game, with beautiful graphics. I've jumped and dodged around my living room while playing due to the excitement of the scenes! The online play is WAY too cool, also.!!!! Expand
  2. KarenP.
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    I played it and now i am addicted. Best game ever! Awesome graphics! Worth it for your ps3!
  3. ZiftK.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    I just love how the 360 fans come on here and insult a good game, that they're essentially playing, and enjoying, but won't admit I just love how the 360 fans come on here and insult a good game, that they're essentially playing, and enjoying, but won't admit it's good because it's on another console. This is a great FPS game, where you'll find a lot of action. Ian C and ryencoke, I like the 360, but try and enjoy your game before you get the red rings of death, or it just eventually burn out on you, good thing you have extended warranty, you're going to have to use it, a lot. Expand
  4. JeffA.
    Jun 28, 2007
    8
    Ubisoft did a great job porting the game to the PS3. The graphics in the PS3 version are less blurry than in it's 360 counterpart. Ubisoft did a great job porting the game to the PS3. The graphics in the PS3 version are less blurry than in it's 360 counterpart. Characters, plot and controls are top notch. Just what is expected of a Tom Clancy game. Expand
  5. RodB.
    Sep 11, 2007
    6
    I am giving this game a low score because honestly, I have PS2 games that have better looking graphics! I shouldn't have to make any I am giving this game a low score because honestly, I have PS2 games that have better looking graphics! I shouldn't have to make any changes to my hardware, like dumbing down my 1080 resolution for it to look good. Other games don't have that hang-up. If you want a good game, play Resistance, Oblivion or Ghost Recon AW2. They all have great graphics...right out of the box! Expand
  6. IanI.
    Jun 27, 2007
    6
    Graphically its horrible when compared to the 360 version. The gameplay remains intact, but once again ubisoft fails on this port. It looks Graphically its horrible when compared to the 360 version. The gameplay remains intact, but once again ubisoft fails on this port. It looks distinctly like a title for original xbox much like the F.E.A.R port. Wish I had gotten it on my 360. Expand
  7. mhall
    Feb 2, 2008
    2
    I played this game for a few months, I don't care what anyone says no systems make this game appealing to the eyes. That besides theI played this game for a few months, I don't care what anyone says no systems make this game appealing to the eyes. That besides the point, the list of over 200 glitches my clan and I found, mostly from a very poor port job, seems to dissatisfy me even more. But the killer of the whole thing is, ubisoft's hey screw them they paid for it and lets just ignore them and make a new rainbow six vegas and call it rainbow six vegas 2? that way they buy the game again and all we have to do is spend a day or 2 changing minor things in the storyline. Very not happy with this game, would have rated it a zero but it has a mute feature in the lobby which cod4 does not. Because of the horrible support, slow motion gameplay, bad graphics, 200+ glitches (231 to be exact), and lack of updates, i just unreserved my copy of haze (which is a whole differn't story), and put ubisoft titles on my do not buy list. Ok now that i am all mad all over again no longer rating it a 3. All these "professional" reviewers said all these good things about this game, makes me wonder if this was their first fps? i mean have they played anything halfway good? (any of the doom series, wolfenstein, resistance fall of man, turok?). Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: "Splinter Cell Conviction" and Other Tom Clancy Games

    Ranked:
    Published: April 13, 2010
    How does the newest Splinter Cell game compare to previous titles in the series, and to other Tom Clancy games? Check out our rankings.