User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 263 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 263

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 3, 2014
    10
    I'm a huge fan of series and have played all the previous instalments (although I never finished Pandora Tomorrow). It's a shame Ironside is gone but the new guy does a good job. The story is another Splinter Cell escapade of terrorists wishing to bring down the Western World etc. The missions are memorable and lots of fun whilst being instantly replay-able. The gameplay combines theI'm a huge fan of series and have played all the previous instalments (although I never finished Pandora Tomorrow). It's a shame Ironside is gone but the new guy does a good job. The story is another Splinter Cell escapade of terrorists wishing to bring down the Western World etc. The missions are memorable and lots of fun whilst being instantly replay-able. The gameplay combines the precision of Chaos Theory with the speed of Conviction and it works wonderfully. I didn't overly enjoy Conviction but the changes they implemented in that game make total sense in Blacklist. Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2014
    3
    Pfffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffffft. Pffffffffffffffffffffffffft. The stealth genre may as well be dead.
  3. Oct 16, 2014
    10
    This is a masterpiece! Very well-made, very nice voice acting, graphics, sound, awesome gameplay and a really decent multiplayer, that isn't better because just a few people play nowadays. But the Campaing is 10/10, the co-op missions is really cool to play with a friend on a counch, and the Multiplayer I give a 9/10, as we don't have a 9.5, i will mark 10/10 to help the average user scoreThis is a masterpiece! Very well-made, very nice voice acting, graphics, sound, awesome gameplay and a really decent multiplayer, that isn't better because just a few people play nowadays. But the Campaing is 10/10, the co-op missions is really cool to play with a friend on a counch, and the Multiplayer I give a 9/10, as we don't have a 9.5, i will mark 10/10 to help the average user score because the dumb guys that give a zero without reason.

    Finally a good Splinter Cell, back to origins, I really enjoy this game. Buy It! hehe
    Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2014
    9
    A great entrant into the Splinter Cell universe. Yes, its a shame Michael Ironside has departed the role, but the replacement does a fine job. There is a bit of image tear, but one gets the feeling the game is graphically at the limits of "last gen" capability. Its hard to fault Blacklist. It's a realistic gritty action stealth title with major replayability. I'm not a fan of forcedA great entrant into the Splinter Cell universe. Yes, its a shame Michael Ironside has departed the role, but the replacement does a fine job. There is a bit of image tear, but one gets the feeling the game is graphically at the limits of "last gen" capability. Its hard to fault Blacklist. It's a realistic gritty action stealth title with major replayability. I'm not a fan of forced multiplayer with Briggs' 4E missions, and the rest of the 4E missions feel kinda tacked on and not overly relevant to the story of the Engineers. They do however help mix up pacing and gameplay. Blacklist is better than Double Agent and Conviction and honestly I cannot wait for the next instalment. 9/10 Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2014
    9
    This game rocks! I have played so so so many PS3 games and I'm close to making the switch to PS4. I thought that I had played every last (exceptional) PS3 game there was. Then I played this and I LOVE it! I can't believe it took me so long, because I love Ubisoft. If you like the stealth gameplay in Assassin's Creed and Watch Dogs, then you will love this game, because it has a lot of theThis game rocks! I have played so so so many PS3 games and I'm close to making the switch to PS4. I thought that I had played every last (exceptional) PS3 game there was. Then I played this and I LOVE it! I can't believe it took me so long, because I love Ubisoft. If you like the stealth gameplay in Assassin's Creed and Watch Dogs, then you will love this game, because it has a lot of the same gameplay elements. I usually only play open-world-sandbox games, so it takes a special kind of linear game to keep me interested. Ubisoft makes this game feel nonlinear in a way. With all of the side missions and collectibles. Each level is beautifully designed with several routes to take. I see a lot of replay value for me. --- I played one splitscreen coop game with my girl, and it was one of the funnest coop gameplay I've ever had. And I see us getting way better. Expand
  6. May 27, 2014
    8
    The game play is fantastic, graphics is excellent, treating your plane and upgrading it is a nice touch, also the side missions complete the main story and adds to it, but the co-op play is not something I like.
  7. Mar 11, 2014
    6
    Still playing, but it is a chore. Like other user have said, something is missing. The game is very beautiful, graphically. But it lacks substance. When I start playing it, felt like I was being guided through the scenario. Then, turned some information off. Reduced the feel of being a QTE game, but it still is. Sam Fisher is no longer your avatar, it's like B-spec from gran turismo, sortStill playing, but it is a chore. Like other user have said, something is missing. The game is very beautiful, graphically. But it lacks substance. When I start playing it, felt like I was being guided through the scenario. Then, turned some information off. Reduced the feel of being a QTE game, but it still is. Sam Fisher is no longer your avatar, it's like B-spec from gran turismo, sort of. You tell him how you want to play, but you don't play. And this game is part of what I'm sensing as a more mature orientation from Ubisoft, that ended it up being just boring. You can have some fun here, but it is no longer the great Sam Fisher from the Chaos Theory days. Haven't played Conviction, 'cause that was made an exclusive. It is better, to this day, to purchase the HD Collection. More fun guaranteed. Expand
  8. Jan 28, 2014
    6
    As a big fan of the Splinter Cell series, Blacklist was a huge disappointment for me. Not only have they taken away Michael Ironside, the voice actor for Sam that we know and love, but they removed almost all of the elements that in my opinion made Conviction the best in the series. The story is much much weaker and just about every time Sam opened his mouth i let out a big sigh ofAs a big fan of the Splinter Cell series, Blacklist was a huge disappointment for me. Not only have they taken away Michael Ironside, the voice actor for Sam that we know and love, but they removed almost all of the elements that in my opinion made Conviction the best in the series. The story is much much weaker and just about every time Sam opened his mouth i let out a big sigh of disappointment. Anyway, with all that being said I know many people may not think Blacklist is a bad game and its really not. It's just not the Splinter Cell game that I was hoping for. Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2014
    8
    New to the series, I did not know what to expect from Splinter Cell. What I received was a great third person stealth game with more than just a single player campaign. The main campaign is fun and the settings are varied and interesting. However, it is not the story that shines in Blacklist. It is the expansive co-op and multiplayer elements along with a campaign with great replayabilityNew to the series, I did not know what to expect from Splinter Cell. What I received was a great third person stealth game with more than just a single player campaign. The main campaign is fun and the settings are varied and interesting. However, it is not the story that shines in Blacklist. It is the expansive co-op and multiplayer elements along with a campaign with great replayability that make Blacklist a great game. Expand
  10. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    This is the best in the series since Chaos Theory,though the forced action is annoying.I was enjoying the side missions until I realised that they were way too few and far between.The story was a standard,boring and somewhat convoluted terrorism plot and therefore all too easily forgettable.(far,far too many games do the same thing) Nonetheless,I did enjoy it,despite the fact that theThis is the best in the series since Chaos Theory,though the forced action is annoying.I was enjoying the side missions until I realised that they were way too few and far between.The story was a standard,boring and somewhat convoluted terrorism plot and therefore all too easily forgettable.(far,far too many games do the same thing) Nonetheless,I did enjoy it,despite the fact that the Honey Badger seemed like the only useful rifle in the entire game.Also,I barely used the 'win' button but it did come in really handy once or twice so I didn't have an issue with it being in the game.All in all,Blacklist is a decent game but should really ditch the forced action crap. Expand
  11. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    Do not be persuaded by the pro-blacklist "stealth revisionists". Those who are willing to make compromises to prolong the life of the stealth genre, if it can even be called stealth in a few years. Revisionism is dangerous, our precious stealth genre will only detract more & more from stealth & water the genre down, turning into nothing but an action game with gadgets.

    The game's most
    Do not be persuaded by the pro-blacklist "stealth revisionists". Those who are willing to make compromises to prolong the life of the stealth genre, if it can even be called stealth in a few years. Revisionism is dangerous, our precious stealth genre will only detract more & more from stealth & water the genre down, turning into nothing but an action game with gadgets.

    The game's most disgusting feature is the "win" button, which lets the player kill every single thing in an area with the press of a button, usually without getting detected as well, the player even does this while running.

    As if that was not enough, the game adds in alternate pathways which lets the player avoid combat, which the game calls "Stealth" or "Ghost". Pure insult.

    Some people may argue that the game can be played like chaos theory or sar but when you look at it, any game can, & blacklist certainly wasn't designed to be played that way. Imagine trying to play a Call Of Duty game like Chaos Theory, sneaking around & knifing people in the back. It would not work at all.

    If you have any love for this series left, then please, do not purchase the game, don't encourage ubisoft to release more nonsense in the franchise. Air strike's, win buttons, & head on cover shooting has no place in Splinter Cell. Give this game a 0 & spread the message.
    Expand
  12. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    Brill game, the more I played it the more I liked it. Yes I'm a die hard splinter cell fan, I was a bit sceptical, but I had fun with it. Didn't much like the multiplayer and I preferred the rough manly voice of the old Sam.
  13. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Well as my first splinter cell I didn't really now what I was up for, but I have to compare it to the only MGS game I played through, the second. Very cinematic game with three distinct ways to play, completely stealthily to all-out attack mode. It is a testament to this game how well the developers have catered to all three game styles, slightly sacrificing the purity of the gameplayWell as my first splinter cell I didn't really now what I was up for, but I have to compare it to the only MGS game I played through, the second. Very cinematic game with three distinct ways to play, completely stealthily to all-out attack mode. It is a testament to this game how well the developers have catered to all three game styles, slightly sacrificing the purity of the gameplay experience. The plot is very straightforward and cinematic with the expected plot turns and the characters are all predictably goody-goody, while the acting and script, though thrilling in its déroulement is slightly uninspired.

    Back to the gameplay. I enjoyed Panther style the most.

    Can't say much about MP since I played and finished only SP, so my rating of 8.6 gets cut to an 8 (didn't round up)
    Expand
  14. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Sound: Bad voice acting, no more Ironside. I can’t get used to the new Sam it just doesn’t feel like
    Sam Fisher anymore. Grim sounds too Canadian, not sure what she’s supposed to be in the game. Enemy patrols sometimes continuously repeat the same thing over and over again based on a dog barking (when he’s sniffing the player out). No memorable themes except for when Sam is talking
    Sound: Bad voice acting, no more Ironside. I can’t get used to the new Sam it just doesn’t feel like
    Sam Fisher anymore. Grim sounds too Canadian, not sure what she’s supposed to be in the game. Enemy patrols sometimes continuously repeat the same thing over and over again based on a dog barking (when he’s sniffing the player out). No memorable themes except for when Sam is talking to Sarah on the phone, which is still out of place, because the game is not believable. 5.

    Graphics: The game has some good graphics although some of the character designs seem out of place. They look good with the new face capture but since when is Sam’s best buddy young? Vic looked older in Conviction; also Sam Fisher looks much different than in the previous installments, he looks much worse. The environments look amazing, and the lighting is near perfect, as well as the level design. 8.

    Gameplay: Amazing stealth game, this really brings back the old Chaos Theory feel. There’s some new equipment, and a load out that is free for the player to select based on how the player will execute the mission; Ghost, Assault, or Panther. There are different pathways throughout each level, and different ways of taking down the enemies. Best thing of all, the multiplayer! Spies VS Mercs are back. Spies VS Mercs feels more on rails but it still does an amazing job of actually giving the player a fun, and innovative gameplay. This is definitely a Splinter Cell game that will not disappoint on the gameplay aspect. 10.

    Story: The game doesn’t do a good job on presenting the new characters, and it seems all is just added on too quickly for how the series has progressed compared to the previous installments. Suddenly Sam somehow has a history with these characters. The games story is not memorable either, it’s your basic terrorist wanna be story. The best thing about this game’s story is that it feels like Mass Effect because Sam now has his own plane, and its explore-able in a similar fashion to Shepard’s Normandy (just not as big). With that said, the game did start off strong with the threat of the engineers, but it still felt like a typical 24 episode. Sam Fisher needs his own memorable story, something that helps him stand for himself. Double Agent did a good job of showing Sam’s character, and shocked even some fans like myself. Sam needs his story to be fresh and more about himself, like how Solid Snake/Big Boss has developed. Sorry about the rant but that’s the truth. This game has an average typical story. 7

    Replay Value: I gave a lot of categories negatives but still this game has great replay value. The co-op is fun, the single player is fun at least one play through, and the multiplayer can lead to endless great times. I can recommend this game to any stealth fan, and to Splinter Cell fans, even though there is some disappointment. 10.

    Overall Score: 8 out of 10.
    Expand
  15. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    The first Splinter Cell game I have ever played but it won't be the last. Haven't played much of campaign yet but so far so good. Interesting missions, wave missions were especially entertaining considering you can go about them stealthy or guns blazing. Lots of gadgets and guns for variety and the multiplayer is a welcome break from the Call of Duty crap. When they make one for PS4The first Splinter Cell game I have ever played but it won't be the last. Haven't played much of campaign yet but so far so good. Interesting missions, wave missions were especially entertaining considering you can go about them stealthy or guns blazing. Lots of gadgets and guns for variety and the multiplayer is a welcome break from the Call of Duty crap. When they make one for PS4 I'll be buying it. So far it has held my interest more than The Last of Us. Expand
  16. Add
    Oct 21, 2013
    3
    I just couldn't finish this game, its great and all but it has no meaning. No reason to keep going. It's missing something major there. Just not interested anymore. Last of us set a bar and this is not even close to it.
  17. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    A new twist on an old favorite. Love the new tweaks. The base being the airplane that could travel to wherever you needed it to be was awesome. Very low damage threshold made it challenging but fair
  18. Oct 8, 2013
    7
    This game is just good enough to be in the collection of any action or stealth fan. When Blacklist is firing on all cylinders it is a amazing game. Level design allows your choice of execution, which was lacking in recent past Splinter Cell's. However, you will send too much time in campaign with boring UAV strikes and long sections of platforming. The co-op and multiplayer are theThis game is just good enough to be in the collection of any action or stealth fan. When Blacklist is firing on all cylinders it is a amazing game. Level design allows your choice of execution, which was lacking in recent past Splinter Cell's. However, you will send too much time in campaign with boring UAV strikes and long sections of platforming. The co-op and multiplayer are the real stars of the game. Spies v Merc is great tension and co-op is satisfying when 2 people are mic'ed up. There is plenty of gadget and weapons to play with, and high scores to earn in 1 of 3 categories. You can even challenge your friends to high scores and speed runs. The biggest surprise of this game is all the replay value. Every mission has 3 side quests to complete for bonuses. If your on the fence, SC:BL is a great bargain bin find. Expand
  19. Sep 24, 2013
    8
    This game his fun. It has awesome levels. the combat works better than previous Splinter Cell games. The addition of customization and the new missions selection mechanic is great. But I have these pet peeves that ruin an otherwise great game; no Michael Ironside and the fact that it isn't like old Splinter Cell. I can't get over that, but I hope you can.
  20. Sep 23, 2013
    8
    This game was surprisingly good.After the disaster that was Splinter Cell Conviction it's good to see that theres stealth back in a stealth franchise. The story was kind of a let down and a bit predictable at times. Gameplay is good but if you get in a fire fight you're going to die which I like cause it forces you to stealth through it. Spie vs Mercs and the co-op is fun with just someThis game was surprisingly good.After the disaster that was Splinter Cell Conviction it's good to see that theres stealth back in a stealth franchise. The story was kind of a let down and a bit predictable at times. Gameplay is good but if you get in a fire fight you're going to die which I like cause it forces you to stealth through it. Spie vs Mercs and the co-op is fun with just some minor issues. In the game was good, no GOTY awardsl but it was fun. Expand
  21. Sep 21, 2013
    9
    after a conviction we cat a game where you can chose if you wont to play as conviction or chost non lethal or just assoult and this is fukking awsome whit easy gameplay you can mark and kill in motion this looks realy cool the story line is realy good nice charecters and solid voice acting you need to stop the blacklist with nice music and great stealh that is gone be a lot of fun theafter a conviction we cat a game where you can chose if you wont to play as conviction or chost non lethal or just assoult and this is fukking awsome whit easy gameplay you can mark and kill in motion this looks realy cool the story line is realy good nice charecters and solid voice acting you need to stop the blacklist with nice music and great stealh that is gone be a lot of fun the graphic on the other hand are a bit lame futher there is a nice custamasazation that gose realy deep and some nice side missions but the waves mode is realy stupid but futher a must own for sp fans and for stealth action fans Expand
  22. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    I found this game to be a refreshing return to the gameplay of the original games, with a few modern twists, such as the addition of the ratings system, which encourages stealthy play throughout.
  23. Sep 17, 2013
    8
    As someone new to this series I was expecting a fair bit. I had been told that it was "the ultimate stealth game". In some ways it lives up to this, it definitely made me feel like a badass spy plenty of the time, but there were also times I was left frustrated after carefully lining up the reticule on an enemy's head, ready to take them out when suddenly the shot would miss. I found thisAs someone new to this series I was expecting a fair bit. I had been told that it was "the ultimate stealth game". In some ways it lives up to this, it definitely made me feel like a badass spy plenty of the time, but there were also times I was left frustrated after carefully lining up the reticule on an enemy's head, ready to take them out when suddenly the shot would miss. I found this inaccurate reticule very annoying and found myself often using the mark and execute "win" button when taking out enemy's. unfortunately this game also had extremely sub par graphics, especially on faces which is pretty unacceptable for a game coming out at the end of this cycle of consoles. Despite these issues lots of the time I found myself feeling like a badass, shooting out the lights with my silenced pistol and then proceeding to take out everyone in the room without being noticed. This game also features a fantastic multiplayer with online and split screen co-op which allows for endless amounts of fun with friends along with spies vs mercs which provides plenty of tension. If you are looking for a great stealth game that makes you feel like a badass then this is one of the best you will find but don't be surprised if you find yourself frustrated sometimes! Expand
  24. Sep 16, 2013
    4
    A feeling that I had been deceived, like all the same, the gameplay is the same as the plot of America again under threat of bad Russian terrorists with caps earflaps balalaika behind, AK 47 in hand and vodka in a backpack that hangs on the bear, which can be more original. Personally, I did not see anything new, the only thing that saves the game cooperative.
  25. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    Not bad at all. When I first saw Splinter Cell Blacklist at E3 last year, I was really concerned of the series. Glad to see I was wrong about it, most of it atleast. Main problem I have is with Sam Fishers new voice. It's not bad per se but it feels weird having a new voice after 5 entries in the series. He is okay but not the iconic Michael Ironside memorable voice we were all lookingNot bad at all. When I first saw Splinter Cell Blacklist at E3 last year, I was really concerned of the series. Glad to see I was wrong about it, most of it atleast. Main problem I have is with Sam Fishers new voice. It's not bad per se but it feels weird having a new voice after 5 entries in the series. He is okay but not the iconic Michael Ironside memorable voice we were all looking for. I also noticed that he seem to be way too serious in this games. In Choas Theory, as an example, Sam Fisher made jokes when interoggating soldiers. "Mhmm...It looks like you forgot to shave this morning. Let me help you with that."

    No on to the postive aspects of Blacklist; The graphics look great. Although, there is often screen tearing during the cutsences. You can drag enemies around after knocking them out/killing them I believe they removed it in Conviction) The non-linear design of the single player. Hidden pathways which is a great way to have replay value. You can now customize sam fisher with armor gadgets etc. Also Spies vs Merc is fun, whether you play as a Spy or a mercenary.

    The cons of blacklist; the missing voice of Sam Fisher, they still did not bring back the interoggation option.'

    In my opinion, it is a step in the right direction for the splinter cell series. It's better than Conviction and is a must own for every stealth fan.
    Expand
  26. Sep 6, 2013
    4
    I liked Michael Ironside as the voice of Sam Fisher. So immediately from the start this game was on a downer as far as I was concerned. Not even sure what this is suppose to be, a reboot? Then what has happened to the gameplay? I can run up behind somebody and kill them, how is that stealth based? My noise doesn't matter now, yet I can utilise noise to distract people... don't get thatI liked Michael Ironside as the voice of Sam Fisher. So immediately from the start this game was on a downer as far as I was concerned. Not even sure what this is suppose to be, a reboot? Then what has happened to the gameplay? I can run up behind somebody and kill them, how is that stealth based? My noise doesn't matter now, yet I can utilise noise to distract people... don't get that at all. To be honest I have only done a few missions and ditched it. Especially as I had one mission that kept failing if I got discovered and restarted from the beginning, not a checkpoint half way through. It was annoying more than fun.

    Franchise is past it's sell by date to my mind. If you are going to mess with what has gone before, then do it better or don't bother. It would have been the ideal time to introduce a new character/hero, say goodbye to Sam (aka Michael Ironside) and introduce a new storyline, gadgets, gameplay (how about crawling with it being a stealth based game) and generally doing a proper reboot. Dull game so far, might come back to it one day ...but unlikely.
    Expand
  27. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    Ubi soft with the help of Tom Clancy's story telling create yet another great triple A title. Splinter Cell Black list. runs smoothly the enemy ai is for the most point some of the best available this gen. enemies react on the fly and once you're out of sight continue to search for you or decide to revert to there guard routes. Graphically the game game looks great the lighting shadowsUbi soft with the help of Tom Clancy's story telling create yet another great triple A title. Splinter Cell Black list. runs smoothly the enemy ai is for the most point some of the best available this gen. enemies react on the fly and once you're out of sight continue to search for you or decide to revert to there guard routes. Graphically the game game looks great the lighting shadows and everything else looks fine. So i wonder why some reviews slated the graphics. Each level of the campaign has multiple routes and multiple ways to play Full stealth panther ,a mix of stealth and assault, or all out assault. each play style gives you a score converted into money for upgrades after the stats screen of the completed mission. As well a a reasonable campaign there are co op missions or most can be done solo. and multi-player including classic modes and a few new modes. Everything is linked by the SMI comms screen on-board the paladin aircraft. Upgrades are many and varied armor/stealth suits, pistols rifles grenades smoke trackers and disruptors. some are for multi-player and some for the campaign that are unlocked by completing the varied co op missions. included is wave mode similar in ways to ghost recons legendary survive 50 waves mode. A classic in the making for old fans and new a like. recommended Expand
  28. Sep 2, 2013
    7
    The game is fantastic. Not an epic though. I liked it and I liked the game play. But I hated the quality.
    The game is full of glitches and bugs. Typical Ubisoft crap sense AC III. Even after 2 patches the game still suffer from annoying bugs.
    The game play is awesome. Cool weapons and upgrades. You get to upgrade whatever you want very early in the game. In fact you can upgrade your HQ
    The game is fantastic. Not an epic though. I liked it and I liked the game play. But I hated the quality.
    The game is full of glitches and bugs. Typical Ubisoft crap sense AC III. Even after 2 patches the game still suffer from annoying bugs.
    The game play is awesome. Cool weapons and upgrades. You get to upgrade whatever you want very early in the game. In fact you can upgrade your HQ once you got some money which you can earn very easily from MP sessions.
    Coop is cool if you played with cool players. You gut 4 missions which must be played with a team mate. All others can be done solo. which I really liked.
    The story is typical American fight against terrorist crap. But it's still fine.
    Here are my list of bugs which I found in one game play session:
    Am I the only one who gets tons of glitches/bugs?
    1) Abandoned City Coop mission on Realistic and Perfectionist difficulties glitches on last objective: After dying first time enemies stop spawning after first wave. Very very annoying to do all the missions to glitch at the end.
    2) Crossbow glitch. I'm sure I hit none heavy target with Sleeping Gas. Still he still standing shooting at me. It happens a lot.
    3) Swiss embassy laptop glitch: the laptop not spawn. I to abandon the mission then start again. Restart the missions didn't get it spawn.
    4) HVT bag and tag: during coop missions sometimes the player character just keep crouching over the HVT for couple of seconds then starts to capture. Actually I had to move the left stick. This very annoying as I get shot with another enemy because I'm slow.
    5) Some enemies directly get hostile when calling them for distraction. Although they were totally none suspicious when being distracted.
    6) Occasionally enemies be invincible you shoot at them and they don't die.

    This is 7 because Ubisoft quality doesn't deserve better than this.
    Expand
  29. Sep 2, 2013
    8
    I've never been much of a Splinter Cell fan. I played the first game and found it inferior to Metal Gear Solid. Well, several years have past, and Kojima has gone bat crazy, while this franchise had gotten a LOT better. For me, this is what Guns of the Patriots should have been.

    Overall, great game. Highly enjoyable for third-person stealth.
  30. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    three's such an immense range of customization and weaponry in this game at your disposal plus with an interesting storyline and fun side/coop missions which even tie in with the story as it unfolds was well worth the money to buy, only fault is few too many glitches which I experienced in coop mission's and in cut-scenes, also I found that you make way too much money too easily it wouldthree's such an immense range of customization and weaponry in this game at your disposal plus with an interesting storyline and fun side/coop missions which even tie in with the story as it unfolds was well worth the money to buy, only fault is few too many glitches which I experienced in coop mission's and in cut-scenes, also I found that you make way too much money too easily it would have been much better if you had to work a bit more to gain money I've already bought mostly everything including upgrades and I'm not even half way through the game. Expand
  31. Aug 27, 2013
    10
    this is easily the best ct i mean splinter cell game ever made. lol yes it is very similar to ct almost like a sequel to it. but that's good. very very very very good.
  32. Aug 27, 2013
    8
    Had a lot of fun with it! but it could have been better! The game's story had a lot of weakness points! And Sam's voice actor is not good as the previous one! beside these things, it was a great game!
  33. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    A good game, but the tradition of Metal Gear in style
    All the dead when pulled from the ground and hide them have no meaning!
    The story is good and the aircraft excellent and errands sweet in fees !
    by adil khojah
  34. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    Pros:Fisher,Majdid Sadiq,Story..
    Cons:Sarah Fisher,family love thing blablbla.... where shold i start? First of all Where is that scene form E3 demo where fisher have in enemy uniform and attack the arabian man and torture him? where is majdid sadiq? etc....Why delete that whole level for the final game release? why? its like far cry3 again E3 demo was better mimics for vaas and graphics
    Pros:Fisher,Majdid Sadiq,Story..
    Cons:Sarah Fisher,family love thing blablbla.... where shold i start? First of all Where is that scene form E3 demo where fisher have in enemy uniform and attack the arabian man and torture him? where is majdid sadiq? etc....Why delete that whole level for the final game release? why? its like far cry3 again E3 demo was better mimics for vaas and graphics too.Only 1 ending? Fisher looks like younger again and faster,stronger? younger voice but why? this is so lame! every new Splinter cell game fisher is more younger,stronger,lol This game is a big dissapontment...The best splinter cell was Double Agent.. Sarah fisher was good as dead...
    Expand
  35. Aug 24, 2013
    7
    I was ready to give this game a solid 8. The controls were tight, level design solid, enemy ai great, etc. Near the end of the game though, the game started freezing up really badly until the game was barely chugging through the action. Ive never played a game that has slowed down so bad that it almost broke the game. Its pretty disappointing that this happened more than a few timesI was ready to give this game a solid 8. The controls were tight, level design solid, enemy ai great, etc. Near the end of the game though, the game started freezing up really badly until the game was barely chugging through the action. Ive never played a game that has slowed down so bad that it almost broke the game. Its pretty disappointing that this happened more than a few times because this game otherwise is a solid title. Besides the story being generic and the horrible voice acting that grates on your ears, the gameplay was great and thats what matters I guess. Also the atmosphere was really well done for a Splinter Cell game. Wish it had a more exciting story though to give the game some suspense. You never really feel for your character or feel any suspense. Its just go here, do this, find this, find them, kill them.

    The multiplayer is where the game shines. Its kind of like hide and seek but with guns and its really fun. Both sides are equally fun. Looking forward to playing more soon. Overall, the game was a nice challenge to get though, but didn't have any WOW moments. And the framerate issues were really a bummer. Def. pick it up tho if you are a fan of the series or genre.
    Expand
  36. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    a true masterpiece, and return to actual stealth. blacklist has a great SP, which lets you ghost it thru, or blast your way thru it like a COD game. the side missions are really fun, the multiplayer is really great, with only a FEW things wrong with it. I have been playing this game since release, and have yet to even play anything else. the perfectionist mode, is a treat for the SC vets.a true masterpiece, and return to actual stealth. blacklist has a great SP, which lets you ghost it thru, or blast your way thru it like a COD game. the side missions are really fun, the multiplayer is really great, with only a FEW things wrong with it. I have been playing this game since release, and have yet to even play anything else. the perfectionist mode, is a treat for the SC vets. in this mode, Mark and execute is disabled(yay!), goggles cant see thru walls, you cant restock during missions, and its impossible to take down people with melee during combat. this makes you do actual strategizing, and I have not played any other difficulty since release. weather you are a SC vet, or new to the franchise, you will love this game. Expand
  37. Aug 21, 2013
    6
    Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory is not only my favorite Splinter Cell, but my favorite game of all time.
    When Splinter Cell: Conviction dropped, I felt heartbroken. I series that set out to be different from other war titles and become it's own enemy. Even worse, I had heard the news two years later that a sequel would be made without Michael Ironside as Sam Fisher.
    So, now it's out, and
    Splinter Cell: Chaos Theory is not only my favorite Splinter Cell, but my favorite game of all time.
    When Splinter Cell: Conviction dropped, I felt heartbroken. I series that set out to be different from other war titles and become it's own enemy. Even worse, I had heard the news two years later that a sequel would be made without Michael Ironside as Sam Fisher.

    So, now it's out, and what do I think? It's good. Surprisingly good. If not damn good. Hell, I even dig the new jaded, stern Sam voiced by Johnson. It fits well.

    The story itself is okay, and definitely not as good as the former titles. It's trying to hard to play it safe after the last disastrous that changed everything. But, it's not bad. The characters keep the story from falling apart and you remain interested throughout the game. Certainly not as good as say... Pandora Tomorrow's plot, but not bad. Just not excellent.

    But, importantly, the gameplay. This was what ultimately won me over. Instead of all the forced action in Conviction, I was actually able to go through a level in Blacklist without killing anyone, and best of all... it wasn't too easy. I felt pretty proud after I did it too, and others will as well. In the end, the game feels more like Chaos Theory with Convictions interface. It meshes perplexingly well.

    Multiplayer is back and it's refreshing. Co-op returns better than ever with tons of variety, but Spies Vs Mercs, a mode I've missed for years, also returns! Playing SvM was a blast, albeit a simplified one in comparison to the games that preceded it. Still, I'm glad it's back.

    Now, is it worth playing? Yeah, I'd say so. Splinter Cell fans of all breeds can get behind this title and have tons of fun, whether your a series veteran or you (unfortunately) started with Conviction.
    Expand
  38. Aug 21, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One great game! The whole Machinima team thinks you should bye this game, but we give this a 9/10! But you should so buy this amazing game, we love it and you will to! Expand
  39. Aug 20, 2013
    10
    As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful.As a die hard Splinter Cell fan, I was very skeptic about how this game would turn out to be honest. I bought it, but I still came to agree with myself that Ubisoft is just beating a dead horse. Boy, was I wrong. This is one of the most ambitious and one of the most, if not the best installment of the franchise. The visuals are superb; the shading, the lighting effects are just wonderful. The cinematic scenes, although not the best this year, are up to par with the gameplay graphics unlike with the previous installments. The game is quite lengthy too. The main campaign gives you tons of hours and even when you're done with it, you have a handful of side missions to complete. There are three different approaches; Ghost, Panther and Assault which add an amount of replay value. The plot is also great, featuring one of the most interesting and most diabolical villains in the history of this franchise. The voice acting in general is good. Although Eric Johnson never succeeds over Michael Ironside when comes to portraying Sam as he is supposed to be, he does manage to give us a depiction of a fearless leader and skilled tactician. Ubisoft also brought back the group dynamic atmosphere back from Chaos Theory. We have a better insight on Sam's new relationship with Grim, his best friend Vic, his daughter Sarah and his former nemesis Kobin. Briggs, the new character, serves as the rookie who often makes mistakes while Charlie serves as the group clown. The only major flaw I must point is the difficulty. The game's rookie, normal and realistic difficulty settings hold your hands up until the end. The perfectionist, although offers more challenge than the previous still doesn't bring back the challenge we in the legacy games.

    Overall, Blacklist is that kind of game that manages to please both; the fans and the gamers who play it for the first time. It's a definitely must buy.

    9.8/10.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Oct 8, 2013
    80
    Sam Fisher is officially back. Blacklist may suffer from a cliched story and some finicky controls, but this is still stealth at it's absolute finest.
  2. Oct 5, 2013
    82
    Blacklist suffers from the fact that it's way too tempting to shoot your way out of a tough situation. The incentive to sneak is mostly missing and the cramped level design doesn't help. Still, Blacklist has some pretty fun levels and nice free-form gameplay. [Sept 2013]
  3. Oct 4, 2013
    80
    It’s big, bold and a bit silly at times but for a silky action adventure that will give you more than you put in then you shouldn’t look much further.