Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD returns to controllers and focuses on the satisfaction of linking sick tricks for maximum points.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. But even with a limited breadth of content, Tony Hawk HD manages to dish out more nostalgic fun for $15 than our last few retail purchases combined. [Oct 2012, p.83]
  2. Sep 12, 2012
    78
    Sweet presentation, solid gameplay, great game modes, and a hearty online section all help construct a must have for your "so bored, but not sure what to play" collection.
  3. Dec 26, 2012
    75
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD is a good, but not great, nostalgia trip for those who fell in love with the series when it debuted.
  4. Jul 30, 2012
    70
    Somehow, we expected more than these few levels and skaters mashed together. It just doesn't suffice to match the originals' quality. There are also a lot of glitches and controls that aren't as responsive as they should be.
  5. Sep 10, 2012
    70
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD does not fail or slam; the ride may become a little sketchy when its game engine jolts or stutters, but its core arcade gameplay is as fun and fluid today as it was in 1999.
  6. Believe it or not, but Tony Hawk used to be hip. Recent failures in the franchise have forced the king of skating to step down, so Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD takes you down memory lane to seven stages from a better time. [September 2012, p.86]
  7. Aug 26, 2012
    45
    Looks new and feels old, a game good in its own time but not in ours. Now it's starting to look as old and creaky as some of its skaters. [Oct 2012, p.102]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    9
    When this game first launched, I probably would've rated it a 5. But now that the controls are tighter, the glitches are fixed and DLC has been released, I can say that this game is worthy of being a THPS game. Definitely worth picking up if you were a fan of the series up until THPS 4. Expand
  2. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    I really enjoy this game I have owned every tony hawk game and I love being able to play tony hawk on my ps3 since there is no ps2 backwards compatibly on it. Sure this game has some funny glitch's and its not close to reality but that's the fun of Tony Hawk Game. Don't listen to people who say this game is crap it is not, if you have enjoyed any of the past Tony Hawk games you will enjoy this but please put into aspect that their is more DLC Coming to this game to make it bigger and better. some people complain about the sound track not being original but I don't care it sounds great to me and if your that much of a purist then use the Custom soundtrack feature in the game seesh.Sure its Missing Create-A-Skater & Create-A-Park and Split Screen Multiplayer but did you really expect that from a 15 Dollar Game? LOL, Collapse
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    9
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD isn't for everyone. For modern gamers, it's a pain to play. You have 10 goals in each of the 7 levels (an astonishingly small amount of levels, really.) to complete in a 2 minute run. But for those of us who grew up playing THPS2 religiously, this is the game for us. It omits every trick that came after THPS2, and this is the very first game post-Tony Hawk 2 to do that, and it's such a nostalgic, refreshing feeling to get your classic Tony Hawk combos down without the use of reverts, nail-the-trick, spine transfers, etc.

    Visually, the game looks great. I'm not sure why people are talking about "abysmal frame rates," because frankly, the only time I've noticed frame rate drops are when there are a lot of things going on. I.E., crates exploding in the Hangar level. The game runs smoothly, as far as I'm concerned. Those few and far between frame rate drops are totally forgivable considering the game as a whole runs smoothly, and the levels, pro skaters, textures, and small touches throughout the levels look amazing.

    The controls couldn't be more spot-on, especially with the Dualshock3. It feels EXACTLY like you're playing THPS2. The D-pad is perfect for this game, since Playstation is where the THPS series got its start. The one and only complaint I have control-wise is that the wallrides are finicky and unreliable. You have to hit them at the seemingly perfect angle to do them. But considering most of the goals in the levels (sans 2 or 3) don't require wallrides, this isn't a huge issue.

    The audio department is nothing to complain about. Skateboarding sounds like skateboarding. RoboModo took some of the most iconic songs from THPS1 and 2 and incorporated them into THPS HD. It's just too bad they didn't include all of the original songs. Half of the soundtrack is comprised of songs from the first 2 games, and the other half are new additions. Thankfully, these new songs fit well with the game's atmosphere and nostalgic feel. They don't sound like they were last minute additions. When you have an El-P track in your skateboarding game, you know you're doing something right in the sound department.

    Like I said in the beginning of this review, THPS HD isn't for everyone. If you want to, you can choose one pro skater and blast through the game in around 30 minutes to an hour. But that's not what this game is about. I've completed literally everything there is to do in this game with every character, so I do feel a bit more entitled to review this game more than certain others who pick it up, play it for 15 minutes and label it as a "this sucks" experience. The game is about completion. On top of the regular level objectives, you get a mode called PROjectives, which is basically the "hard mode" of the original game. And after completing this mode, you'll get the biggest sense of accomplishment considering it's tough as nails. A good, fair challenge for any gamer searching for one. But that seems to be the problem. These first 2 games were released over a decade ago, and it's hard not to say that games have gotten easier over the years. Too much hand holding, too much obvious paths, too much to get you to complete the game as quickly as possible. Not here, I say. If you want to REALLY complete this game, be prepared for one of the toughest gaming experiences you'll find all year.

    All in all, THPS HD isn't a perfect game. However, it IS a near perfect HD remake. A nostalgic romp through two of gaming's most important titles. The atmosphere, the pro skaters to play as (which look great, by the way), the old way of doing THPS tricks, nearly everything. The one complaint I have is the lack of levels. We're missing classic levels such as Burnside, Philly, and there are no secret levels to unlock, but DLC packs including levels will be available in the near future for purchase. I don't blame THPS HD itself for its mixed reactions, I blame gaming as a whole. Like I mentioned above, if games hadn't gotten easier over time, this game would be revered as one of the greats. Nothing with a major impact, story arc, or anything revolutionary. However, it sure is a lot of fun, and it sure is a good, tough challenge. Something that seems to be missing from any given game released in the past 5 years.
    Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    8
    Hope for a dying series.

    This is what Tony Hawk needs to be. Not all those other ones like Ride and whatever the other one with the board
    was. It takes what is great about Tony Hawk and thats it. Past levels from the good ole days. Not sure what else your expecting from it.

    Buy it, dont buy it. I know where I stand.
    Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2013
    7
    Graphics: The graphics are average, and could use improvement. 7.

    Sound: Some classic Tony Hawk soundtracks along with some new ones. A
    lot of original songs are still missing from the classic Tony Hawk games. If you're creating an HD remake a developer needs to bring back all of the great moments not some of them. 8.

    Gameplay: The game plays like the old classic Tony Hawk games (mainly the first one on PS), but some of the mechanics are broken. Such as grinding will sometimes glitch a player inside the ramp causing a bail. Other improvements in previous Tony Hawk game were not brought back to this game such as re-positioning the skater when flying off of a ramp, instead you always land on your head. Sometimes your manuals don't continuously continue causing the combo move to end, and it can be annoying when you're out of time in a session and want to continue your moves. Other than that this is still a good step forward, although only still an average one. 7.

    Story: N/A

    Replay Value: Great game, cheap price, good for fans of Tony Hawk games, but to new players I cannot recommend, try before buy if possible. 7.

    Overall Score: 7.3 out of 10.
    Expand
  6. May 19, 2014
    6
    every time i play this game for the first 20 minutes i have a blast i laugh at the stacks that make you fly in the air and several other bugs and it feels like a trip down memory lane but then that 20 minutes runs out and you end up getting really frustrated depending on your luck the game sometimes only plays two to three songs in a loop trying to do some of the challenges as well is depending on 40% skill 60% luck due to the bugs which it shouldn't over all its great in short bursts but after that you want to throw you ps3 out the window in frustration Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    2
    Ouch, I've been double stung by this game. I put many of the xbox versions flaws down to the controls and took a chance on the PS3 version due to the lack of a demo for it. Unbelievably this is actually worse than the xbox version. The framerate is abysmal at times, something that was not a problem on the xbox version and the sluggish control responses and general slowness persist. An absolutely horrible attempt at an HD remake. Expand

See all 11 User Reviews