Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. 80
    Toy Story 3 is an example of how to do a license right. With great cooperative play, a short, fun story mode, and an inventive new Toy Box mode, this is one game that's easy to recommend to anyone who games with family.
  2. This fun take on the Pixar movie has lots of entertaining content for younger players, but control issues and a lack of depth limit its appeal.
  3. Toy Story 3 ultimately succeeds in the same way that Pixar's films do--it's attractive to young people who get a great surface experience and for older audiences who appreciate extra layers of depth. [Aug 2010, p.107]
  4. With those missteps cast aside, Toy Story 3 is a rare treat that appreciates the fine line between play and playing, and hints at a future where movie tie-ins could actually be something to look forward to.
  5. Toy Story 3: The Video Game is a very interesting title. On one hand, the Story mode tries its best to deviate from the movie for a bit, and while it works, it barely raises the game beyond a decent rating. On the other hand, the open-world nature of the Toy Box feels so refreshing and fun that one wishes it were the entire focus of the game.
  6. It very easily could be the best game for youngsters I've ever played, and with my nephew I've played a decent number.
  7. 91
    Avalanche Studios has broken the movie-game stigma for me by releasing the awesome Toy Story 3.
  8. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    Toy Story 3: The Videogame is geared toward a young audience but it is also a funny game that can "catch" players that still like to be captured by this kind of atmosphere. The free roam section is also surprisingly funny and well executed.
  9. Toy Story 3 is not quite on par with the big boys as a hardcore adventure game. However, I can safely say that this is the best family movie tie-in game I have ever played-and I've played a lot of bad ones.
  10. Toy Story is a very good game, provided you are aiming for young kids.
  11. 85
    Toy Story 3 is a marvelous achievement in the world of licensed family games. I found myself more addicted to it than some of the more mainstream titles released lately. It appeals to anyone who enjoys solid gameplay, and especially those that have a love for Pixar's trilogy.
  12. Oct 28, 2010
    75
    While the story mode has its moments, the toy box offers ridiculous amounts of customization along with hours of varied open ended gameplay.
  13. Toy Story 3 is a great game for kids, fans of the movie and an good example of how to do a license right.
  14. Overall I was surprised that Toy Story 3 had turned out that well. It's a cute game for everyone und much better than other license games before.
  15. 70
    Toy Story 3 is a fun romp where you can set aside your inhibitions and play like you are a child again.
  16. Toy Story 3 is a game that can be played by any kind of gamer, from the most young to the lover of the Pixar saga. It's a complete journey in the new adventure of Woody and Co. Recommended!
  17. Toy Story 3 is a fun licensed game. It's never really excellent, but the overall experience is just fun thanks to the variation and co-op mode.
  18. A great tie-in and, much more importantly, a great game. Generous in terms of content and childish fun.
  19. Luckily, there's plenty more to do when you're bored of the main story. [Aug 2010, p.118]
  20. 80
    Got a kid who's into Toy Story? There's a lot here for them to sink their teeth into, and thankfully it's not all bad.
  21. A great game for kids and a good choice if you are one of those who are still feeling young. The Toy Box mode and its cooperative possibilities are enough to make you come back to a universe that anyone beyond 13 years old has forbidden access.
  22. We both agreed that what the game achieves for kids is the ability to transport them into the world of Woody and the gang. For adults, it's a venture back to their own childhood.
  23. 82
    Compared to its peers, Toy Story 3 is gameplay dynamite. [Issue#195, p.96]
  24. Toy Story 3 isn't the best game out there and is far from being flawless. However, in the realm of movie licensed titles and family games in general, this one deserves the opening of your wallet.
  25. Everything is competently implemented without excelling in any individual direction, but the combination and sheer variety of content and fan service has to be commended, and for once it's nice to play through a kids game that doesn't just shoehorn the cinematic action sequences into an average procession of linear levels.
  26. Compared to most other licensed games out there, Toy Story 3 doesn't have to feel ashamed. Quite the opposite in fact. Indeed it is not technically beyond reproach, most notably because of a few frame rate issues when playing with a friend, but overall the formula holds its ground OK. The two main modes of gameplay complete each other nicely, and even though it's supposed to target kids, most adult gamers could very well be surprised. It's rich enough and well designed, and even though it has some gameplay flaws as well, it's still a decent adaptation of the movie : something not so common after all.
  27. You can spend plenty of time doing a variety of things, and Avalanche does a good job of capturing the colorful hilarity of the film series. It feels like "Toy Story" and that's really all we require.
  28. Toy Box mode really made Toy Story 3: The Game top notch and without it this title would have been another cash grab to get kids to buy movie games.
  29. Combines glossy but vapid action with thoughtful sandboxing. [Sept 2010, p.94]
  30. Toy Story 3 is near perfect, delivering an opened ended, action packed game that can be enjoyed for hours on end.
  31. Despite the simplicity of the challenges and processes of interaction, Toy Story convinces in the empathy and voicing of the characters. For the children a small box of toys is always a party.
  32. Toy Story 3 isn't perfect, with some loose controls and a dull plotline to follow, seemingly more for the convention of having a plot in these games than anything else. The Toy Box mode adds a whole lot to the game, however, propelling it far beyond what a typical tie-in game offers.
  33. Thankfully, developer Avalanche gets it at least half right in Toy Story 3, an adventure that's of two minds on how to do a movie licensed game. [Aug 2010, p.86]
  34. 87
    The sheer imagination at work here, and the attention to detail in the presentation and sound of each location, was more than enough to win me over. Sure, the campaign only lasts a few hours, and yes I know that this is all pretty one dimensional gameplay, but in terms of pure fun I had a great time here.
  35. By now we've grown tired of handing out rock bottom grades to movie tie in games, but Toy Story 3 is luckily an exception. Aside from the drop in drop out co-op and great dialogue you'll have tons of hours of entertainment in the open playground mode Toy Box. A welcome surprise indeed.
  36. Toybox mode is where the game hits its peak, offering open-world style gameplay packed with mini challenges geared towards a generation of kids far too young to be powersliding buses through parked cars and prostitutes in Liberty City. [August 2010 p77]
  37. Toy Story 3 offers two separate takes on the game. One is the rather bland story driven journey, and the other is the amazing sandbox mode. The latter is where this game shines. It provides great fun and a fantastic playground for both kids and grown-ups.
  38. Toy Story 3 is a prime example of a film-tie in done right for once, that offers a compelling banquet of good clean fun.
  39. We are glad we can finally play a game Toy Story game; now all we have to do is wait for Toy Story 4. The move and the game.
  40. Toy Story 3 is a surprisingly enjoyable experience for gamers of all ages. You may just revisit your lost youth for a few hours in the story mode, and then go have some fun as an adult in the Toy Box.
  41. Even though the Story mode can be a bit too difficult at times, the Toy Box mode helps the game rise above the rest.
  42. Hugely enjoyable for the most part, Toy Story 3 can certainly be considered amongst the best of film to videogame tie-ins.
  43. 79
    This game follows the story of the movie, but it also has another part that will deliver the younger players a lot of fun. You can play in a world where you can manage your own village, build things and complete simple objectives. A pretty nice game that is a lot better than most of the games in this genre!
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Mar 24, 2011
    10
    I bought this for my two girls, 6 and 5, and they love it. It's easily their favorite game now. Lots for them to do in the open sand box world. The reason I give it a perfect score is because when I often help them at a certain point in their game, they have to scream to get their controller back. Great game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Wow for a kids game it packs allot of content no deep story though what did you expect? Loads of fun toy box is a blast! Toy story is no GOTY but its still a lot fun!!!!!!!!!!!! Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2010
    3
    Hmmm... well, graphics were ok, I guess. Aside from that it was probably the biggest letdown game of the year. Mafia II would be a close second, but that's another story. All you do is go around finding the "coins" of the game and throwing characters around. Yawn. I understand Toy Story is a kids thing but were they going for newborn babies or what??? Full Review »