User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 101
  2. Negative: 7 out of 101

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 13, 2010
    9
    The voice acting is superb, the environments, while they can glitch are beautiful and do immerse you, and the action itself is pretty intuitive and fun. It can be suprisingly hard sometimes, and does retain some re-playability to unlock everything. Multiplayer is very well done, so more people should head out and go play this!
  2. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    great one! I mean there really is a lack of transforming robot games on any console anywhere, so we Transformers fans have to take the experience where we can get it. This sounds quite worthy of my time.
    oh, found a transporter in france :)
    fun to watch: http://www.lookeen.net/de/352/allgemein/deutsch-e-postbrief-lookeen-stellt-sich-der-herausforderung/

    Again..This "review" seems to
    be Pro-Gobots. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    It is amazing not as much as Transformers Armada with he sand box exploring byt as similar controls and game play style. The multilayer is addictive but sadly ended when the big shot games came out right after it like black ops and halo reach. If it wasn't for those games the multilayer would be full right now but overall the game is amazing and the plot is excellent
  4. Jun 30, 2011
    10
    The greatest transformers game ever! This game was action packed from beginning to end with hours and hours of gameplay and the onlinemultiplayer was great until everybody stopped playing, my only problem with the game was the final battle against trypticon took mw forever because their were no heckpoints throughout the fight against him, but the ending ccredits were awesome. I always hate the ending credits of game because their boring and they take forever but with this game they were awesome with the transformers theme and the original g1 series graphics. All in all this game was no doubt a 10, great graphics, excellent gameplay, with exciting story, and nonstop action, this was the perfect transformers game Expand
  5. Jul 1, 2011
    9
    I just finished this game and it is near perfect! The best run and gun 3rd person shooter I've played in awhile. The enemies are varied, the 2 campaigns are equally fun, and if you like transformers you'll love the story. The ability to transform at almost any time during battles is a unique idea that works amazingly well and can help you in sticky situations. I fully recommend this game if you're looking for something quick and fun. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    War for Cybertron marks an evolution in the Transformers Video Game Series, a true work of originality and divine inspiration. Taking us back to the hallowed realms of Generation One Transformers, WfC's plot serves as a direct prequel to the original animated series, which I'm sure will make long-time fans **** in their limited edition Optimus Prime silk pyjamas, your standard fair, you spend six missions wrecking **** as the Decepticons, then six missions cleaning it up as the Autobots, the character designs and personalities are true to their G1 counterparts, which i'm sure everyone can appreciate. The gameplay is a significant step up from previous movie-based entries, the graphics are silky smooth and a joy to behold (particular props to the brilliant transformation animations) and the world of Cybertron is created with love, care and immense detail, the sleek, metallic structure of the world very rightly suited to subject-matter. The multiplayer does have more than your standard shooter, but won't have you coming back for long (COD, Halo, Assassin's Creed and Battlefield all trump it significantly). Overall, the best Transformers game ever made and one of the most fun i've had with a games campaign for a while now, but I sincerely hope they don't blow it with this coming sequel. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. loved transformers as a kid and still love em.. this is a game that youll not want to stop playing whatever ur playing, multiplayer or campaign. the classes to choose from the weapons and iconic characters-simply a bad ass game whichever side you choose- autobot or DECEPTICONS....but really go with decepticons for maximum destruction Expand
  8. Nov 4, 2013
    9
    The best transformers series of all time. Great story, good gameplay and also cool design for every character. This is an absolutely must have for all the gamers who love shooting games. So much better than my expectation!
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Dec 28, 2010
    75
    It's not bad, exactly, and a lot of people are going to have fun with it just by virtue of the fact that they get to play as an awesome Transformer. It's just not as good as it could be.
  2. It's not bad, exactly, and a lot of people are going to have fun with it just by virtue of the fact that they get to play as an awesome Transformer. It's just not as good as it could be.
  3. As a shooter, Transformers is purely about running and gunning, and the lack of strategy causes problems with difficulty-balancing.