Turning Point: Fall of Liberty PlayStation 3

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 14 out of 31

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. HunterH.
    Mar 1, 2008
    5
    Perfect example of great concept/poor execution. The game suffers from being heavily scripted, which in of itself isn't always bad, but its just painfully obvious. It also is piss poor graphics, reminding of of Return to Castle Wolfenstein, which must be 5 years old by now at least, and the lack of 1080 output hurts as well. The developers missed out on a GREAT chance to have Perfect example of great concept/poor execution. The game suffers from being heavily scripted, which in of itself isn't always bad, but its just painfully obvious. It also is piss poor graphics, reminding of of Return to Castle Wolfenstein, which must be 5 years old by now at least, and the lack of 1080 output hurts as well. The developers missed out on a GREAT chance to have somewhat open ended street fighting on the streets of American cities, and instead decided to rush out a objective based funnel that probably skipped beta testing. Expand
  2. JonnyC.
    Mar 12, 2008
    4
    If the Nazis really did invade America, the first thing they would do is send the creators of this game to the gas chambers. This game has a great storyline, but it's way too short. Excellent background, but PS2 graphics. I'd rather be playing BLACK for the PS2. Good points: you get to spray bad guys with tommygun fire a la Hickey in "Last Man Standing", and cross-check Nazis in If the Nazis really did invade America, the first thing they would do is send the creators of this game to the gas chambers. This game has a great storyline, but it's way too short. Excellent background, but PS2 graphics. I'd rather be playing BLACK for the PS2. Good points: you get to spray bad guys with tommygun fire a la Hickey in "Last Man Standing", and cross-check Nazis in the teeth with their own machine guns, but I can't find too much more. Complaints: 1) Donkey-punching evil Nazis and tossing them out the window is hilarious. However, they make no sound and fall like stuffed crash-test dummies. Boring. Want some fun environmental kills? Buy THE PUNISHER. 2) When I kill someone, I don't want them to levitate in mid-air and hang there. What kind of a screwed-up glitch is that? 3) If a guy's hiding behind a table, and I blast him with a rocket launcher, what kind of material is the table made out of that it absorbs the blast completely and he emerges unscathed? Lousy destructability. 4) Really, really, STUPID AI. A couple of times I walked up to a guy to see if he was dead, and he was just prone, pointing his gun at the wall. 5) I'm guessing the blimps in this game are made out of the same material as the tables, because they are completely resistant to automatic weapons fire. It takes 6 rockets to take them out. On the other hand, I only need 3 rockets to waste a Panzer, or a frigging destroyer. Maybe if the Nazis went to Ikea and strapped dining room tables to the front of their armour, they'd have won this invasion. All in all, an abysmal failure. With games like Resistance, and even Turok, for crying out loud, this shouldn't have made it past the drawing table (no matter how heavily-armoured that table may have been). Expand
  3. MichelSabbagh
    May 22, 2008
    10
    Those who syas that this game is bad is a dumbass. This game is a must-have. The graphics are semi-stylized, semi-realistic and fits the game well. The grapple moves and the human shields are awesome and the story is also great. So, buy this game and without ANY complaint or kiss my fair butt!
  4. M.oe
    Mar 3, 2008
    2
    this game is problably the worst one i've played so far on my ps3 it is graphically reminiscent of a game known as "the great escape" if you find yourself in the position where your gonna binge buy this game rent it and spend that money on beer like I should have. I bought this gem a week ago on it's release date and it's not even trading in for 20 bucks save your money.
  5. ToeJ.
    Mar 8, 2008
    1
    This game blows! Dreamcast games were way better.
  6. BrianS.
    Feb 29, 2008
    2
    The game tries to be epic, yet i can't seem find it satisfying in any way. I was looking for a simple shooter, and instead found an unfinished product. The sounds is deafening, not because of the atmosphere created, but by improper output, often just cackling. Character models are poorly drawn, with horrible clipping problems. Controls are either too loose or too tight, no middle The game tries to be epic, yet i can't seem find it satisfying in any way. I was looking for a simple shooter, and instead found an unfinished product. The sounds is deafening, not because of the atmosphere created, but by improper output, often just cackling. Character models are poorly drawn, with horrible clipping problems. Controls are either too loose or too tight, no middle ground. Really wish I had just saved the money. Expand
  7. KennyL.
    Mar 18, 2008
    3
    Yea the game is not great. Its not even good. But I'll stop short of saying its horrible. Graphics are glitchy and the level design isnt good. The only thing i dont dislike about it is the sound and thats not saying much. Some people will like it but you should wait til it ends up in the bargain bin which wont be long.
  8. BrettNeff
    Apr 29, 2008
    2
    Giving this game a rating of 5 out of 10 is ridiculous! I was being very, very generous giving it a 2. The game was so dark that I had to completely turn up the brightness on my big screen TV to barely see the enemy, but it didn't keep them from blowing me away. The check points were too few and far between with no way to save progress without getting to a check point. The AI mightGiving this game a rating of 5 out of 10 is ridiculous! I was being very, very generous giving it a 2. The game was so dark that I had to completely turn up the brightness on my big screen TV to barely see the enemy, but it didn't keep them from blowing me away. The check points were too few and far between with no way to save progress without getting to a check point. The AI might not be the smartest I have seen, but they are much better shots. The aiming is clunky. The weapons don't carry over sop don't horde your ammo. There just isn't anything I can think of to say about this game that is positive. I was really looking forward to this game and what I thought was a great premise for an interesting game. I even preordered it thinking that there was no way that it could be a bad game. I WAS WRONG!!! Turning Point turned my stomach and is to date the only Playstation game I have ever played that I dreaded wasting my time playing it to completion It is also the only game I have owned that ever locked up my Playstation 3. This happened on four seperate occassions. Do yourself a favor and don't even consider this game for purchase or rent unless you feel like your life needs a large dose of disappointment. Expand
  9. Jul 25, 2011
    3
    A fantastic premise brought down by clunky controls, horrible graphics and bad gameplay, Turning Point is the epitome of a great idea mishandled. The idea that the US doesn't enter WWII and the Nazis take over Europe and eventually invade the US is actually pretty cool (albeit the reasoning is basically "Because Winston Churchill died before he was supposed too, which doesn't reallyA fantastic premise brought down by clunky controls, horrible graphics and bad gameplay, Turning Point is the epitome of a great idea mishandled. The idea that the US doesn't enter WWII and the Nazis take over Europe and eventually invade the US is actually pretty cool (albeit the reasoning is basically "Because Winston Churchill died before he was supposed too, which doesn't really explain how Pearl Harbor never happened). But the mechanics behind the game are just downright flawed, and the graphics make it look like a 2001 release. Please, stay away. Expand
  10. Aug 15, 2012
    3
    One of the worst games I've played game play and graphically..
    But the story was pretty solid..
    I'd only suggest this game if you see it for $5 and your just looking for something to do for one afternoon..
Metascore
42

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 19 out of 28
  1. A great premise poorly executed. We'd hoped for better, and this fails to deliver. [May 2008, p.68]
  2. The glitches and poor level design don’t quite ruin a game that should have been so much more than the sum of its parts. Still, there’s some fun to be had here with a weekend rental.
  3. Dumb AI, stupidly linear, crap guns... a disaster. [May 2008, p.79]