UFC Undisputed 2009 PlayStation 3

Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 58 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 58
  2. Negative: 0 out of 58
Buy On
  1. 100
    UFC 2009 Undisputed does have a couple of issues that keep it from being a MMA-fan's dream come true but it is still a tremendous title that will make any fan of the sport proud.
  2. 100
    This is easily the most satisfying and wildly entertaining one-on-one brawler I’ve played on a console.
  3. This is the best brawler I have played in years, and Fight Night Round 4 is going to have to do something truly special to take this one's championship belt.
  4. Yuke’s hard work has paid off in spades with UFC 2009: Undisputed. While the game may have taken more time than some fans would have liked to hit shelves, the wait was worth it as they delivered a top-shelf game in every area that counts and provided an amazing base that they can build upon in the future.
  5. Lastly, UFC 2009 Undisputed is a very decent fighter with a huge amount of soul in terms of gameplay, graphics and sound.
  6. The best thing that Yuke's has made in years. It's stylish, fresh and deeply engaging. It is, in short, a bruising powerhouse of a game.
  7. In a game like this, all of the authentic looks and sounds will do you no good if there's no fun to be had in the actual fighting, and luckily UFC 2009 has done a great job.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    90
    It's a great example of how sports games should be done - both as a simulation that teases ever greater skill from all comers, and as a service to fans. [June 2009, p.88]
  9. I am not a big fan of the UFC. Sure, I’ve seen a few matches here and there, but I don’t really follow the sport devoutly. I guess wrestling is more my cup of tea. Now, that said, I have to admit I love this game. UFC 2009 Undisputed takes all the things that makes the UFC sport electrifying for fans, and puts it into a cohesive and realistic game experience.
  10. 90
    Undisputed includes all the main MMA disciplines and fighters, along with a career mode that I can't stop playing. That's enough to keep even the most critical fans happy.
  11. 90
    After years of not seeing a UFC game, it was well worth the wait.
  12. 90
    Undisputed is gorgeous to look at, it’s incredibly deep, and it’s one of the most addictive fighters we’ve played in ages. Yuke’s deserves high praise, and that is exactly what we intend to give it.
  13. Great graphics, tight controls, plenty of fighters and a great online community make for a game with great lasting appeal.
  14. Beneath its standard run of modes and a fighting system almost too big to contain is an extremely fun and well-thought-out brawler that, even without the UFC license, would stand very strong. It's incredibly complicated, but that's also what makes it as deep and strategic as the real thing.
  15. UFC 2009 is a solid game with plenty of gameplay hours in it. Slide in your gum guard and get ready to meet your maker.
  16. A must-play fighter for any fan of the genre, UFC or both.
  17. 88
    A fantastic game for both the hardcore UFC fan, and the casual fan alike. With its deep gameplay structure and great selection of game modes, Yuke's has laid down the foundation for a really solid series here.
  18. Through focusing in making a fighting game, THQ has achieved a high quality title only lacking in its sometimes excessive complexity.
  19. It would have been easy to create a simple button masher and slap the UFC label on it – instead, THQ have created a detailed fighting engine that is not only a blast to play but gives you wonderful insight into the depth of MMA combat.
  20. Not only fans will get entertainment for their money! The long list of original fighters out of the UFC and the great orchestration make this game also advisable for casual and new gamers.
  21. UFC 2009: Undisputed is a must-have for UFC-fans. If you're not a fan, you can still enjoy a good fight and it is a superb introduction to the UFC-world. The game is visually great and the impact of the hits is impressive. Play this game with your friends until the late hours.
  22. A technically impressive brawler that looks just as good as it plays.
  23. UFC 2009: Undisputed is not an easy game, but those who are patient enough to spend a little time with it, will discover one of the best fighting games in years.
  24. If you’re looking for a game with fun-to-learn controls and if you’re tired of the fictionalized fighting in the recent Street Fighter IV or, dare I say it’s fake, WWE Legends of Wrestlemania, UFC 2009 Undisputed might be the true knockout you’re waiting for.
  25. UFC 2009 Undisputed is an realistic fighting game. Featuring the authentic Ultimate Fighting Championship atmosphere, including all the action, intensity and extensive roster of the best mixed martial arts fighters in the world.
  26. UFC 2009 Undisputed is a deep sports gaming experience. Extremely realistic and aesthetically polished, it reproduces its 84 athletes with an extraordinary level of detail. Sweat, face expressions and movements are as close to reality as polygons and effects can be. It is not an easy game though, so expect to be spending quite a few hours on it before you can call your-self a true fighter!
  27. Overall, UFC 2009: Undisputed is an addictive piece of work that fight fans, no matter the discipline, should try out at least for a few hours.
  28. UFC 2009 Undisputed doesn't revolutionize the sports fighting genre, but the solid gameplay and complex fighting system are hard to beat.
  29. 84
    UFC 2009 Undisputed has become a really awesome game. It's possible that you have some problems with the controls in the beginning, but eventually you will get the grip of it. Fans of the UFC will love this game and immediately recognize their favourite fighter. People that don’t know the UFC but love fighting games, will also enjoy Undisputed.
  30. The game's core is deep enough to keep gamers entertained for some time, and the game mechanics are realistic, while simultaneously feeling exciting. On top of that, the Classic Fights and the online keep the entertainment going, which helps make Undisputed worth the coin.
  31. As unfriendly as it is for beginners and, well, anyone that isn’t used to pressing every button and moving the joystick on the controller in every which way, that’s just perfect for a brand that is “as real as it gets”.
  32. 83
    Even if you're not a UFC fan this is still an incredibly fun fighting game.
  33. There's some interface stuff I'd like to see streamlined a bit, but the visuals are fantastic, the gameplay is certainly interesting and unique, and the overall presentation is spot on from what I've seen of UFC in general.
  34. THQ has a winner here, congratulations on the new champion of MMA gaming, UFC 2009: Undisputed.
  35. After taking the tutorial and discovering the nuances of submission wins, I found myself addicted to the career mode.
  36. Game Informer
    80
    The game's wealth of combos and grapples are made even more impressive by Undisputed's nearly flawless collision detection and animation. [June 2009, p.83]
  37. Games Master UK
    80
    A rock-solid simulation and recreation of the real thing. Perhaps a little too real out of the ring. [June 2009, p.64]
  38. Combine the fighting with the grand presentation, visuals that include sweaty characters, large breasted ring girls and detailed arenas, and UFC 2009 Undisputed has the teeth rattling brutality fans crave.
  39. This great fighting game nails the look and feel of the UFC and demands strategy as well as quick reflexes.
  40. If you're looking for a game you can play alone, UFC 2009 Undisputed will probably get pretty boring for you. Even with multiple difficulty settings, fighting the AI doesn't stay exciting for very long. But if you're in a household with multiple UFC fans or enjoy getting online, you'll love it.
  41. UFC 2009 Undisputed is a great and at the same time really difficult game. Different from the other titles of the genre, you won't find energy bars or any other interface, making this game a hardcore simulation. Suggested for anyone who doesn't get scared by a strong experience, as this game is not intended for the faint of heart.
  42. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    80
    Even though the learning curve is steeper than your typical wrestling or boxing game thanks to the dizzying depth in its controls, UFC 2009 Undisputed delivers the most functional and entertaining MMA gameplay to come along in years. [July 2009, p.80]
  43. Despite flaws, UFC 09 is a fine fighting game that has carved out its own place in the genre with a mixed martial arts control system that is almost as well-rounded as the modern day warriors it emulates.
  44. UFC 2009 is a delicious fighting game and hopefully the start of a successful franchise. A franchise Mixed Martial Arts-fans have been waiting for. The learning curve is pretty steep, but it makes the taste of success, when you do get the hang of it, a lot sweeter. A must buy for fighter fans.
  45. games(TM)
    80
    Undisputed catches the rise of the sport in a timely and accomplished fashion. [July 2009, p.116]
  46. Sure, it would be nice to have more throws, more submissions, more customization and such, but hell; they need SOMETHING to add to the next one. For those of you who are UFC/MMA fans, this is an essential purchase, no questions asked
  47. UFC 2009 Undisputed is not a simple fighting game. It’s true that recreates very well the championship with the same name, but who wants a little more action maybe need to think about getting another action game.
  48. And the multiplayer? It works very well.
  49. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    80
    Exceptionally presented, additively brutal. [June 2009, p.62]
  50. In the end UFC is definitely a worthy investment for those that have the patience, and time, to learn how to play the game as it’s intended to be played.
  51. The biggest merit of Undisputed as a simulator - you can’t beat it using the “arcade” approach. To win a serious match, you will have to use tactics that place your opponent at a disadvantage.
  52. UFC is the new Undisputed fighting game. Enjoyable to play and great to look at.
  53. PSM3 Magazine UK
    77
    The fighting's solid but hamstrung by dodgy controls and a terrible career mode. [July 2009, p.66]
  54. 76
    The career mode is fun and well-designed, the combat is cool and visually engaging, and the classic fights mode is sure to please UFC aficionados. If THQ can fix the blemishes and speed things up quite a bit so the physicality and true athleticism of the sport can shine through, we could have a serious contender on our hands.
  55. 75
    UFC 2009 Undisputed is the genuine article; authentic, visceral and with enough technical depth to satisfy the most ardent fan.
  56. Undisputed does the fighting genre justice with its slick visuals, solid gameplay, and its abundance of content gives gamers plenty to do.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. JonP
    Jun 4, 2009
    4
    Unfortunately, I agree with IGN, for the most part. They had a lot of time to make this game and make it perfect. And it's so far from Unfortunately, I agree with IGN, for the most part. They had a lot of time to make this game and make it perfect. And it's so far from perfect it's not even funny. The biggest overthought is that your character does not age. That is just downright silly. The game itself got old pretty fast after I ended up being able to dominate (though subbing people is still almost impossible). Either way, it's worth a rent to play for a week or so. After that week, you'll be done. Full Review »
  2. Jun 23, 2016
    5
    A game that didn't really hook me in once I started. I remember the controls being unnecessarily convoluted and intricate to perform basicA game that didn't really hook me in once I started. I remember the controls being unnecessarily convoluted and intricate to perform basic tasks, such as grappling, performing a submission or transitioning to different positions. Tutorials didn't do much for me in those functions. The gameplay was generally alright, would have been better if I wasn't forced to be so one-dimensional to pick my open apart by using my fists. Had to keep pausing to check the controls for the crazy amount of combinations there were to transition in different positions to save myself from losing - unsurprisingly I did lose a lot against fighters that specialised in grappling and submissions. The commentary was very good though, but that isn't really the reason why I buy games like this.

    Career Mode was very linear and repetitive, but it was engaging at times. Music was quite good, pretty appropriate to the game.

    Overall, a forgettable game. Nothing remotely great in the slightest, but nothing absolutely awful about the game. I did enjoy it from time to time.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 13, 2016
    8
    In Ufc it is made of many ultimate fighters that aren’t your ordinary fighters that you would find of the street. These guys are fighters thatIn Ufc it is made of many ultimate fighters that aren’t your ordinary fighters that you would find of the street. These guys are fighters that are very skilled in all around mma, sharp on the ground and deadly on their feet. And when you get step into the octagon and that cage closes the referee, officials and the millions people around the world don’t want to see that you are not a real fighter. What they want to see is a good fight that they have paid to watch.

    Ufc has grown so huge that it has surpassed all fighting sports such as Boxing, and wrestling and many more. It has been said that ufc was invented when context sports decided they needed way more than what they had considering people have become less and interested in boxing and olympic wrestling. Not only that but there were mma fighters that were so good to the other fighters just couldn’t keep up with their all around fighting such as their striking their grappling and their own special asset that they had. Like for instance current ufc heavyweight champion fabricio werdum is a world class brazilian ju jitsu champion and a lot of the other heavyweights just can’t keep up with it. And it makes sense because they try to avoid the ground as much as possible when an opponent fights him.

    In general some fighters in the ufc are just really hard workers and have dedicated their whole lives to be in the position that they are to this in the ufc. They are all ultimate fighting champions and they all deserve to be there considering they all work hard. However the one who works the hardest deserves to be the champion in their division. Personally I have a lot of respect for Fabricio werdum but I just don’t think that he should be champion right now. As a matter a fact when it comes to working the hardest I don’t think that he’s number one on that list.

    To this day in my opinion ufc should have a lot more sponsors than they already do considering it is so popular and the most popular context sport there is. And the most popular ones should be getting paid based on worldwide popularity and the kind of training they do and their fighting performances. For instance one of the all time fan favorites Anderson silva should’ve been sponsored for everything that he ever did when he was in the ufc before he had to retire. And when he retired he should’ve been paid the most.
    It amazes me how hyped of people get when two competitors are about to fight. For example, when they go to the press conference and the weigh in’s and interview’s that just excites the fans when they trash talk, call each other names, get in each other’s faces that kind of thing. That right there makes a bunch of people tune in to watch the fight and get plane tickets just to where the fight is and watch it live.
    Full Review »