User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 95
  2. Negative: 27 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 17, 2011
    0
    DO NOT BUY THIS TRASH. Don't support Capcom, this is basically an insult to gamers. Deeming us sheep and zombies that are willing to buy anything just for the name. People that bought MvsC3 wasted their money because a better version came out in the SAME YEAR!.. what!?... not only that this version has DLC too. So you are still not getting a complete game! **** Capcom, **** DLC, and **** any company that partakes in this shameless business practice! Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2011
    3
    What was the point of releasing MvC3 when you were going to release a new version a few months later? No only that but changing characters in a way that renders previous strategies based on the previous version is very annoying.

    The thing I still don't like is that they have no real offline play value at all. Yes, that the competitive scene is what this game mainly caters for, but
    really, while it is supposedly a new version it has no true 'new modes' or new ways to play. No survival, time attack, bonus ways you can play (all characters the same, 2v1 etc)

    While it was exciting to get new characters and better online, just those two things alone do not warrant a completely new release. While critics do have to be really subjective, they are all giving positive reviews, yet this is pretty much the same this as before. I am lucky I gave my brother in law my copy of MvC3 because now I have an excuse to buy an new version.
    Expand
  3. Nov 26, 2011
    0
    SCREW YOU CAPCOM!!! YET ANOTHER CASH IN. not more than a year later here we are again with the same crap! first arcade edition now this?! wat did i even buy MVC3 for if it was going to be obsolete in a matter of months? F CAPCOM!!!
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    BlazBlue did something similar to this, if a few people remember its update, BlazBlue: Continuum Shift, which also had a price tag of $40 to start. BB:CS came really close to passing as a whole new game. Mechanics were radically altered, a *massive* new story mode continued that from Calamity Trigger, some extra modes were added, online was vastly improved, and pretty much every single thing was changed somehow, and always for the better, because CT needed it. They added only three new characters and just a handful of stages, which wasn't a big change from the original 12 (I think), but at least they were worthwhile, and useful. They would later add three DLC characters that were horribly overpriced, and which I refused to purchase at $7.99 each, with no story or arcade modes of their own. Anyway, it was good enough to warrant a separate release due to the amount of content added, but not quite enough to warrant being a full-priced sequel. This, however, doesn't come anywhere near that. In fact, in some ways, it makes MvsC3 worse. This is less than a typical expansion pack. There is virtually nothing else besides a few added characters and stages, along with some bizarre new mechanics which make the game worse. Very little is actually improved and added. This is not how you treat your consumers, Capcom. *THREE* versions of Street Fighter IV with minimal additions in each case was bad enough, and it seems you've become accustomed to this style of release. Forget DLC or patches, just release a new version every few months for $40 more. MvsC3 Ultimate is one of the worst disappointments in fighting game history. The insane lack of new content and changing of mechanics that sometimes make the game worse, as well as failing to address the already-overpowered characters (somehow making them stronger, which boggles the mind), which BB:CS did take care of when ArkSys realized the same characters were winning every match for being overpowered as hell. Capcom hasn't done that. Don't support this nonsense; a $40 DLC pack is absurd. Oh, and there's already DLC out *for this version that just came out*. That should already tell you enough of how Capcom is stringing you along for as long as possible. Don't let them. This is disgraceful. Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2013
    3
    This game had a lot of hype and a lot of promise but couldn't deliver and couldn't live up to what it was speculated to be. The story mode for the game is very lazy. Graphics are okay (about 6/10 but much better than MvC2). The negatives highly outweigh the positives for this game. The DLC you buy in the original MvC3 doesn't transfer to UMvC3 so you have to buy it over again when it's the Exact same game with the exact same moves only some of their properties change and 12 new characters. The original MvC3 came out months before. There shouldn't be a release of the same game in the same year it was released even if it does have new characters and patches for old ones. This isn't a completely different game, it's the same game with a patch and 12 new characters which should have been DLC for the original MvC3. The music in the game is okay (5/10) could use a little more variety. After beating the story and finding your best teams it offers very little except versing friends or people online. If you only verse the cpu before playing others then you'll most likely find your most effective teams are spamming teams. There is almost no creativity with online battles. The combos in this game look very flashy and inspire much creativity with the many different assists although some combos are incredibly long and boring for the other person to not be able to do anything but watch as his character dies aside from the guessing game of up/down/left/right for TAC's in the event that the opponent decides to do a TAC. A few cast members and teams are very over-powered compared to majority of the cast but many teams are still viable. Pheonix, Dante, Vergil, and Wesker alone have much more options than majority of the cast and on there own can take out majority of the cast on a well constructed team. If you just want to combo people with some of your favorite characters this game will be fun for about 6 months to possibly 3 years if you have friends. Some of the better characters you'll come across like Wesker, Vergil, Magneto, Wolverine, Storm, and Sentinel are noob friendly. If you're looking to be the best you'll be playing with the same characters as majority other players and will most likely include at least 1 of the 8 characters above or a team based off some kind of gimmick. The game offers very little other than mission mode to get new comers into the game on a deeper level. Without the release of the original MvC3 this game would receive a slightly better score of 4 to 4.5 out of 10 so as you can see it didn't affect the score of this game THAT much because it was only one point. Other than that this game was judged on its own content. The concentrated categories were story, sound, graphics, and game-play although some attention was given to the lack of additional content, modes, etc. Expand
  6. Jan 27, 2014
    3
    i do not own the "ULTIMATE" version, and i think that version of the game is a 5. But the older version before it gets a lower rating only due to the fact there's less characters. Now let me get to the reason i think this game is awful, i feel this way due to the fact that almost all of the characters feel the same, unlike the older games where the characters actually felt completely different from each other. Another thing i dont like about this game is the weird control scheme on how you're supposed to be getting combos, its basically
    its basically "hit them in the air, do a simple combo, switch to continue that combo going, repeat" and i feel as if that's bad game design.
    I also found that the story was a little lacking, but its a fighting game, i wasnt expecting a mind blowing story.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Feb 6, 2012
    81
    This update does bring a lot of new stuff to the table. If you haven't bought the original game yet, this is a must-buy for fighting fans. And even if you have, you shouldn't hesitate to get this.
  2. More than enough for hardcore fans to justify the purchase. [Jan 2012, p.83]
  3. Do you scour the internet daily for new combos or strategies to use in Marvel vs. Capcom 3, then you should buy this update blindly. There is no doubt about it: this ultimate edition of Capcom's beat 'm up is in every way superior to its predecessor. [December 2011, p.72]