• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3998 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    This is truly one of the best games I have ever played. Awesome story, fluid animations, gorgeous environments and movie-like gameplay make this a game no PS3 owner should ever miss.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    9
    I am not seeking to counter the current average, I am just seeking to be honest. Is this a "great" game? Yes. Is it "sublime"? No. Is it better than the first installment in the series, yes, but not in every way. The two main things I liked about the first game in the series (the intelligent AI and the realistic difficulty) were completely absent in this game. In the first game, the enemy would intelligently flank you, centered around where you were, and all the enemies would do this while actively pinning you down with bullet fire. In U2, the enemies do not behave so. Some do, but most of the enemies' behaviors are either clearly set as "stay behind this box or whatever and keep shooting" or "just walk in a straight line towards Drake." I was very disappointed by that, and also by how much easier the game was in general. I played both games on normal and in the first game, you would take as much damage before death as the enemies at whom you were shooting. I liked this since I never liked the idea of why you can take 20 more bullets to the chest than everyone else. However, U2 employs the more ubiquitous "superhuman" approach, which was a shame. To make up for these absences, Naughty Dog gave us some incredibly varied level designs and a more interesting story. You travel to a lot more interesting places (though sadly these places are much more linear) and you are more curious as to what happens in the end. Otherwise, the biggest problem plagues both games: the tedious and crude gunplay. It's not "bad", and I certainly don't expect it to hit the heights of Gears of War, but it could stand to see substantial improvement. Overall, I don't see why this game is considered one of the best of this generation. Great, but not transcendental. Expand
  3. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    The problem with playing a game as highly regarded as Uncharted 2 a few years after its release is that it is easy to set your expectations a little too high. As a result any flaws the title may have, such as instant fail stealth sections, slightly fiddly controls (I lost count of the time Drake would take cover behind the wrong bit of scenery) and bosses that are no more than bullet sponges can become magnified. Anyone that has played Naughty Dog’s zombie epic The Last of Us will immediately be stuck by the lower quality graphics as well.

    Having said all that, this is still without doubt a quality title. The characters are more likable than the usual video game protagonists and the fast paced gameplay features a good mix of shooting, spectacular climbs and puzzles. The sheer spectacle of Drake’s adventure will also ensure that most players are be able to overlook the aforementioned flaws and be swept along for what is a pretty entertaining ride that clocks in at a decent 15 hours or so in length.
    Expand
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Even more catchy than first part. Awesome story and everything else. Adding multiplayer, that was thing I was waiting for, but it was a little bit disappointing. Best third person shooter I have ever played. U3 awaits!
  5. May 16, 2011
    10
    Easilly the greatest game on the PS3, if not the greatest game ever! This got voted the best game of all time by the readers of the Official PlayStation Magazine UK, so with an award like that it has to be good right? And it certainly is! its essentially the same and its predecessor Drakes Fortune with platforming/puzzling/shooting, but its so much more as well. The graphics are out of this world, characters are funny and realistic and the story is even better than Uncharted 1. Drake is after Shambhala with a psychopathic war criminal behind him. This game never lets up, from the agonizing climb up the train wreckage hanging from the side of a cliff to the intense run across rooftops as a chopper chases you to the incredible views of Tibetan mountains. And the addition of multiplayer makes the game last even longer. Even though i have played way more of the campaign than online it is still very good, theres the traditional deathmatch and CTF style matches but the mode i played the most was the survival mode in which you and a friend try to survive 10 waves of enemies. Basically GET THIS GAME, its truly insane how anyone cant like it. Uncharted 3 is out this year too so get playing the first two to get ready for part 3! Expand
  6. May 15, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games ever! Haters are only doing it because they have Xbox's and can't buy it. Although the story isn't best, it has plenty of plot twists, the backgrounds are beautiful to look at, the multi-player is awesome, and there is a great array of weapons to choose from, and the characters feel like ACTUAL human beings! From my experience few games can be compared to this masterpiece. 10 out of 10 every step of the way! Expand
  7. May 17, 2011
    10
    A near perfect game. Everything is great. As a person who has been to nepal, I can say that the art direction here is spot on. Voice acting/mocap, writing, gameplay, and pacing are all fantastic. The single player experience alone is totally worth your time and money. One of the best games out there, for any system.
  8. Jul 9, 2011
    9
    Best game of this generation so far. Everything about it is great and tbh I just wanna boost rating because of idions that are giving it 1 and 2..........................
  9. May 24, 2011
    9
    Great game from top to bottom, from graphics to gameplay. Highly recommended. Cannot wait for Uncharted 3. Another great reason to be a PS3 owner.
  10. May 31, 2011
    10
    This is by far the best example of a game making a movie like experience. The gameplay is amazing the cinematic's are superb and this and the first uncharted is the only game I've had where I had people wanting to watch me play for the amazing story behind this epic game
  11. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Haha, it's so funny to see X-boys rating this game 0/10. What's wrong with people? First of all this is the best game I've played in 10 years. And that's not just because of the graphics, the storyline is superb, the acting is amazing, the animation is top class, epic gunfights, the characters are lovable and they feel like people. Nathan Drake, our hero, is no macho guy who says "shot me, helicopter, you're nothing to me, I'm the man!". No, he says "No way!"or "What about a break? Can't you guys see the helicopter!" (The helicopter is trying to kill him) He feels real, so everyone who says this is like Gears of War are wrong. This is Uncharted. Expand
  12. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    For everyone complaining about the controls, i have never had a problem with it. This game has one of the best stories ever. It has amazing graphics, and it has amazing controls, it is super fun to play and has almost no flaws. Its the best game ever!
  13. Jul 28, 2013
    7
    It is better then its prequel but still nothing outstanding. Some scenes really seem to be from an action movie, but it struggles to maintain the cinema feeling. Design is awesome, shamballa really looks beautiful and also the soundtrack succeds.
  14. Nov 9, 2011
    9
    There's no such thing as a perfect game, though Uncharted 2 comes pretty close. Perhaps one of the most polished and slick games in recent memory, it's also perfectly paced and features some solid gunplay and climbing mechanics. Whenever you find yourself bored of doing something, the game switches gears and has you puzzle solving, or jumping and leaping around any of the games amazingly detailed and varied environments. Never has a game been able to tug so tightly on the heart strings and it really boils down to superb writing and voice acting as well as a gripping and generally solid story line. Uncharted 2 is pretty much a must play for anyone with a PS3 and really just fans of action/adventure games in general. Expand
  15. Jun 14, 2011
    10
    Amazing game, story is excellent - well written and executed. Visuals are excellent too; some of the backdrops in this game are breath-taking. The gameplay varies well with great puzzle integration, combat and shooting elements. Well worth the purchase, and highly recommended.
  16. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    okay, the campaign isn't that good, but the multiplayer is AWESOME. it's like goldeneye 007 multiplayer, except even better. the only downside is that for some game modes, match making is unreliable.
  17. Jun 15, 2011
    9
    The single player "story" mode is an expansion on the tried and true Uncharted: Drake's Fortune gameplay. For the most part, yes, you mostly climb stuff, and stare at the beautiful scenery that Naughty Dog has masterfully produced. The irony is that even though Uncharted is a platformer, not a shooter, it actually has more responsive and in depth shooting and combat mechanics than anything else on the market. However, THIS IS JUST THE BEGINNING. Log into the multiplayer, and you're in for the time of your life. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves contains one of the most well designed multiplayer modes available today. Yes, it is greater than anything that the "all-powerful" Xbox Live has to offer. With 10 players, in beautiful maps, you can partake in many of the typical multiplayer modes. The most impressive parts of the multiplayer are the facts that the maps aren't FLAT like in COD or Halo. Victory in the multiplayer relies upon the players' skill levels, not how long they've played or how many expansions that they had purchased, as in other shooters. This is no doubt one of the most complete packages that has been offered this generation. The only drawback is the repetitive single player mode, but that is soon forgotten as you step onto one of the most active online multiplayers on the PS3. At $20-$30 now for the game of the year edition, this game is no doubt worth the money for PS3 owners. Xbox 360 users who have gotten tired of Halo and Gears of War may even be convinced to get a PS3 for this reason. Congratulations, Naughty Dog. Expand
  18. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    The game is just unbelievably amazing. I never played a game that combined really good action with a superb voice casting, impressive environment (I love the part in Nepal) and a fascinating story. This is truly my favorite game!!!!!
  19. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    This is a truly amazing game that fully deserves the praise it has received. The gameplay is solid, easy to pick up. As for multiplayer, it outshines easily other TPS games like Gears. The graphics are indeed amazing, and this game doesn't copy Tomb Raider, it goes beyond it and reaches the hall of fame of TPS games.
  20. Jun 21, 2011
    10
    IS the game linear? Yes. Is it a bit too easy? yes, is it one hell of a ride? yes!
    This game is a 10/10 no questions about that at all, the story, excellent graphics, amazing passing really do make this a game to marvel at.
    Its good fun and a real showcase on what consoles can achieve when a developer really has some passion.
  21. Jun 25, 2011
    5
    Uncharted 2 is the most insanely overrated game of all time. Much more so that Final Fantasy VII or Ocarina of Time. The fanboys for this game have my utmost pity. It's not necessarily a bad game but the over-whelming amount of perfect scores and awards this game gets really shows how gaming is going down the toilet. Where do I begin? There are so many things to pick apart, so few characters. How bout the graphics? Yes, technically the graphics and animations are top-notch, but that doesn't mean that they're appealing to look at. Uncharted 2 has a very generic look to it. At least in the mountainous levels (which make up most of the game). Most of the game is quite uninteresting to look at unlike the first game. Something that's not helped by the fact that there really isn't ever much going on screen. Maps are small and usually have few enemies, no destruction, and some really bad textures. So is it really that impressive for them to have such good graphics? Not that graphics make a game good. But I bring it up because any Uncharted 2 fanboy will never shut up about the graphics. Much like they will tell you about how amazing the story and characters are. The story is as generic and unsatisfying as they come. Even compared to a summer flick movie like Transformers, the story in Uncharted 2 boils down to being an excuse to go around the world. Same goes for the characters. They're generic, annoying, and unlikable. Especially Nathan Drake- who is so moronic that he gets back-stabbed, not once, but twice by Cloe throughout the game and he STILL trusts her. He also has nothing interesting to say aside from some history lessons and failed attempted jokes. Moving on. The final point made by Uncharted fanboys is that the game "plays like a movie". My question is How in their feeble minds, is that a good thing? How is it good that a game plays like a movie? Shouldn't it play like- oh I don't know... A GAME! Indeed. Uncharted plays like a movie. Only one where you're forced to move the character and do other such button presses. Much of your time will be spent watching cutscenes. And even when you're not technically watching cutscenes, the gameplay is so mind-bogglingly linear that it's pretty much the equivalent of watching cutscenes. Especially the combat. This game was clearly dumbed down for dumbass casuals that just got done playing Call of Duty with their fraghead friends. The combat is so easy now. I remember playing Uncharted 1 and being destroyed with challenge. It was frustrating at times, sure. But it was fun and helped the gameplay. The maps were large and you'd face waves of 10 or 20 enemies. All of whom took no less than a half a clip of ammo to kill. You couldn't hold nearly enough ammo to take all of them which would force you move your ass out of the cover you're on, into fire, and find more ammo or better yet, different guns. It was exciting. In Uncharted 2, that's all gone. Maps are small and confined, and you can win each firefight by sitting at one bit of cover with an AK-47, until the enemies start spawning on your side of the cover. It' gets so boring because of this. The only times I really died during U2 were because of **** who hit me with RPGs or because of environmental stuff like the infamous tank level. This kind of thing is really getting annoying in games where you're punished by instant death for not knowing what to do. You put up with all this crap for easily the most **** ending I've ever seen in a game. In short, the singleplayer for this game was a disaster. The one interesting part of this game WAS the competetive multiplayer. It was really fun, especially in a party. It played like Gears of War but with much more maneuverability. You could climb anything and the maps were well designed. But Naughty Dog ruined it by constantly updating the game and tweaking. So often that I got pissed off. It didn't help that there was never a large population on the game. The most I ever saw online was 15,000 at once (which is pretty sad since over 3 million ppl had already bought the game). The co-op was also dull. It lacked much platforming or puzzles and there were only 3 levels. In short, this game average at best. I can't believe people have the nerve to say that it's one of the best games of all time. Even of 2009. It's a mess. I hope Naughty Dog learns their lesson before Uncharted 3. I used to be their #1 fan. Now, they're dead to me. Expand
  22. Jun 28, 2011
    10
    Hands down THE best PS3 game ever developed. Naughty Dog is SPOT on with everything a TRUE gamer wants! Uncharted 3 will once again take the stand as the best PS3 game when it comes out.
  23. Jul 7, 2011
    9
    Amazing game with my best score yet. AMAZING story and action sequences when the building started falling i was right on the edge of my seat, AMAZING multi-player AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING that's all I have got to say really so. peace off.
  24. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Naughty Dog does it again--they seem to never make a mediocre game! Uncharted 2 is undoubtedly not a mediocre game. The characters are real characters, the story is deep, engaging and is executed properly. What Uncharted 2's real goal was to bring real cinematic entertainment into a shooter platform, it has surely succeeded in doing so. Uncharted 2 theme is adventurous, the animations look lifelike, the action is intense and the violence is pure. Expand
  25. Jul 27, 2011
    10
    An absolutely incredible game, as if you needed me to explain that. One of the most exciting games ever, with a level of polish hitherto unknown in games, an intriguing story, an incredibly fun mix of gunplay and platforming with stunning set piece moments, Uncharted 2 has raised the bar for gaming.
  26. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    After finishing this game I was trying to find some of the flaws in this game, then I realized, there are none. Games don't get any better this, no matter what you are looking for, good game play, story line, graphics, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has you covered. It will provide approximately 8-10 hours of jaw-droppingly single player action, and hours on end of surprisingly good online multiplayer. Not only is this the best action/adventure games ever, it is also, arguably, the best game of this generation. You don't want to miss out on Nathan Drake's latest amazing adventure, when it comes to games, I couldn't think of a better way to spend my money than on this game. Expand
  27. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is simply one of the best games to come out this generation. I have given this game a perfect 10 because there are little to no faults with the game. The story is fantastic, with fleshed out characters plus great voice acting together with really fun gameplay. All this combined immerses you completely in the game. When I first got the game, I really enjoyed playing online as well although I have moved on since then. I just recently started playing the single player for a second time and I still think it is fantastic (I have completed it 3-4 time already). I am now really looking forward to Uncharted 3, which will have a hard time topping this game...but I have so much faith in Naughty Dog since I am almost certain they will not disappoint. This is a game everybody should have in their collection, without a doubt. Expand
  28. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    Uncharted 2 is a fun game, but it is one of those games that just doesn't have much value. The production quality is great, with very nice graphics, however the gameplay isn't always the best. There are a few reasons the gameplay isn't great for me. First of all, the gunplay isn't the best. Most of the time it just gets repetitive and boring. Second of all, there is no replayability to this game, I played it once and I was done with the game. If you enjoy the multiplayer then the game will have more value for you. The story is fun and it feels like an Indiana Jones movie, but once you know what happens the draw to play the game is gone. Definitely a game to rent and beat as quickly as you can. Expand
  29. Jan 18, 2013
    9
    I do not like this better than the first game... The guys with the armor/shotguns are annoying as hell. I do not like some of the enemies... I fn hate the levels where you have to platform through that snow cave (lv 18-20 I believe)... When I played through it on crushing, it was a lot harder than the first... I found myself hanging on ledges, waiting for the guys to get close, and pulling them off even after being seen... Other than that, excellent game... Like Zelda on Nintendo, I will buy every future Sony console to play Uncharted... Although this one didn't charm me as much as the first, the cinematics, platforming, and action are equal... Great fn game... Xbox people can eat their hearts out Expand
  30. Aug 13, 2011
    8
    I really enjoyed this game... At times there were far too many enemies to kill and it got annoying after about the 20th. The graphics are great though- well done to naughty dog. The story and cut scenes are also very well done. The voice acting is funny and well done too but its not all about that. The rolling to cover is annoying at times when it doesnt work right and leaves you open to being killed/spotted. The enemy Ai is average but has nice set pieces at times... but set pieces are just that. All in all its a fairly decent game. Not a 10 though... Expand
  31. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    A great story told extremely well, there are even some funny bits. Pretty basic gameplay but still a very fun game. More of the same awesomeness as the first Uncharted.
  32. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    If i would like to comment this game only in one word it will be : AWESOME, this game has everything what great game should have. Great plot, awesome graphic, action... You don`t even have to read anything about this game, just play it!
  33. Oct 31, 2011
    10
    The original Uncharted was already a fantastic game, albeit a bit derivative. It combined the best components of several action/adventure titles and executed them perfectly. The same applies to Uncharted 2 and while it seems impossible to improve on this formula any more, that's exactly what they've done, with bigger environments, better graphics, more complex story and all around improved performance and polish. In addition to the already impressive single player campaign the developers decided to add a fully fleshed out multiplayer mode that rivals any of the top competitive multiplayer games on the market. This is gaming at its finest. Expand
  34. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    It's been long time of thinking about rate of this game. But after 100 hours in multiplayer and 40 hours in single mode, i have to give perfect score. There's no other game that i played all 3 times. Did i say something about graphics? No, because there's more important things - thrilling qte's and perfect music.
  35. Nov 13, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly the best PlayStation 3 game to date. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves improves on everything from the original, Drake's Fortune, marrying fun gameplay with impressive cinematic moments.
  36. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I bought this game in 2009 when I first got my Playstation 3 and the minute I started playing I knew it was going to be incredible. The gameplay is perfect, the graphics are perfect and the multiplayer is so much fun. The campaign takes roughly 9-10 hours to complete depending on your skill at it. There is plenty to do like finding the hidden treasures there are 100 to find, the multiplayer which is very fun and there are plenty of game modes to choose from and of course the campaign which has the be the most fun I have ever had of any campaign. This is truly one of the best games I have ever played I recommend it to anyone who enjoys action/adventure games. Expand
  37. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    I really have nothing bad to say about this game. The graphics are phenomenal, even for the game being a few years old. The story is so captivating, and you really become emotionally invested in the characters. The gameplay is a lot of fun, with creative platforming sections that remind me of assassin's creed/tomb raider. While some may not like the bounciness and inaccuracy of the shooting, I think it adds a level of realism to the game. Minus the bad guys being able to take 5 shotgun rounds to the chest Expand
  38. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 2 is just plain amazing. It is very well one of the best games I have ever played, second only to Grand Theft Auto IV. Nathan Drake's latest journey is amazing. The graphics are flat out amazing, the voice acting is great, the characters are great , and the set pieces are breath-taking, it's like watching a movie! The plot is great, the plot of a typical action movie and the action is wowinvoking as well. The gameplay is very good, one of the best controls schemes to date and I feel like I am Nathan Drake when I play. The humanization is so cool that you feel more attached to the characters. The action genre just got renovated with Uncharted 2, not only does it set the bar for the series but the bar for action games and gaming in general. Flaws, there are like virtually no flaws at all but just that maybe a tiny tiny portion is inariably clunky and that is the gnplay which can be a little twitchy but nonetheless almost perfect and platforming is a little limited, again, just a little but still Uncharted 2 gives you many ways to tackle the situation. These flaws are very minute compared to the rest of the game and they are teeny tiny problems in general. Overall Uncharted 2 is an amazing that I absolutely love. It's thrilling, it's entertaining, it's flat-out amazing. I will never look at video games the same way. Uncharted 2 comes second only to GTA IV. I love this game. Breakdown for "Uncharted 2: Among Thieves": Presentation: 10, Graphics: 10, Sound: 10, Playability: 9.8, Lasting Appeal: 10. Verdict: 9.9 out of 10 "Amazing". The best adventure game of all time. Expand
  39. Oct 19, 2011
    10
    Definitely the best game of all time.
  40. Oct 20, 2011
    10
    Best game of the year (2009)? No, the best game of all time. And Uncharted 3 will be no different. UNCHARTED 3 goty, and "goat" (game of all time.)!!!!!!!
  41. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    The uncharted series is honestly my favorite series of games i have played, and now when we are about 6 days from the release of Uncharted 3, i just had the urge to right a review on how awesome the first two were. No question that uncharted 3 will be GOTY! uncharted 2 pushes the boundries of what playstation can handle, its up with one of the best looking console games, along with God Of War 3. Just buy, dont rent, if you love a great story and adventure along with a fantastic supporting cast, dont hesitate to put this on your ps3 rack. Expand
  42. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    something unreal,graphics,gameplay,characters,story,emotions,are all of great quality,maybe the greatest game in the history of videogames..sit down and play it now!
  43. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Incredible. Phenomenal. Engaging. And much much more. It only does everything a gamer wants! I mean seriously, I can't say what most other people have not said. This game is just smiling with 10s and A's for its reviews, and for those who didn't give it a 10, you'd be damned not to. Or they just aren't your average gamer (those jerks). Anyways, this game's graphics are so beautiful, its gameplay is so, just so awesome. There is not much to say when a game is that good besides this word that can describe it in its fullest. Perfection (Perfect won't cut it). Multiplayer is great and fun. Now all I can do after playing this game for 100 plus hours is, you know, play some more while we wait for the next universally acclaimed three-quel! Expand
  44. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    Hands down! Uncharted 2 the best games this gen.. The Story is AMAZING!! Nathan Drake is hands down the best main protagonist ever... I liked this game more than mass effect 2 which was a really great game too! But Uncharted 2 is soooo much better than any other game i have ever played The gameplay and the story makes it one of the best games ever... It pretty long game too.. I finished it in 22 hours and it will take you even longer if you looked for treasures and tried to platinum it Expand
  45. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    This is arguably the best game ever made. Uncharted 2 feels like you're watching a awesome and epic action movie and playing a great game all at once. Naughty Dog always make A+ games.
  46. Nov 28, 2011
    10
    I bought a PS3 recently and don't regret it one bit simply because I went through the Uncharted experience. WOW!! This game is groundbreaking!!! The characters are great. The story is engaging. The gameplay is brilliant. It definitely set the standard for Action-Adventure games. Would highly recommend anybody who hasnt played
  47. Nov 6, 2011
    9
    Epic. Nathan Drake climbing and rolling all over the place makes for greatness. Add in two attractive women and an old guy, and you've got an absolute masterpiece. Along with great multiplayer with cool new modes and co-op, this game would be the closest thing perfect I have ever seen. Just simply, epic.
  48. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee gameeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  49. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Uncharted 3 is even better. If you have a PS3, there's NO REASON not to get this game. The cutscenes are phenomenal, the characters look incredibly real, and the cover mechanics are amazing. GET THIS GAME!
  50. Dec 28, 2011
    8
    Game with epic history. Must have for every PS3 Player. Now is very cheap. This game have a advanced graphic allows you to use a 1080p. But this game not have good AA. Multiplayer is very booring.. after long playing. Without Multiplayer i'll will give them 9/10 but with it i give 8.
  51. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Great game that has a great story, game mechanics, and re-playability. Feels like you are in a movie and you are controlling the main character/actor. Although my review is late, I would still buy a copy and play it.
  52. Dec 11, 2011
    9
    Pretty decent game with great graphics and cinematics. A lot of fun wall hopping and killing dudes in a variety of ways. Campaign is short at around 8 hours or less. Would have preferred more weapons to choose from, but still good. Multiplayer is a good add-on to the main game. I was more than happy to step into drakes boots again.
  53. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Personally the best game ever made. Lost one point for silent takedown required in a level which was truly annoying.
    The good - fantastic story lots of twist, hilarious, stunning visuals, gr8 multiplayer
    Bad - only the silent take down level

    A must play if ya own ps3 and a reason to own ps3.
  54. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    The best game of actual generation. Who loves videogames must play this one. Amazing history, beautiful graphics, fun gameplay... It's a complete game. If you don't like it, give up on playing games.
  55. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 2 is a great game, and I think the characters, the heroes and the villains are great too, and the multiplayers mode is fantastic. The single player mode has a wonderful story, and the gets even better when you buy items in the store, things like other character's skins, weapons and little movies about the game. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a great production of Naughty Dog. Expand
  56. Nov 11, 2011
    10
    This is naughtydog at their best. Edge of the seat action, stunning visuals and an amazing story.
    This is the reason why I play games.The best sequel yet.
  57. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    Best game ever! Best game ever! I even have an extra copy do lend to a friend.
    ////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
  58. May 18, 2012
    9
    uncharted 2 is a really good game although not perfect due to multiplayer but if you judge this game only on singleplayer then it is perfect the dialouge is top notch the voice acting is amazing fun as hell extremely beautifull incredible music great story it is just that good until multiplayer its not fun its just boring
  59. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    I just say, it´s a master piece. I wrapped the game from the beginning in addition to telling you a story with a solid support.
    The scenarios are very well developed in detail and the snow looks pretty good especially the brightness of light and snow.
  60. Nov 12, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 2 improves on the story, graphics, and replay ability aspects of the original Uncharted. The most cinematic game experience, experienced by me. Has great voice acting and memorable characters. The graphics are just astounding here. Levels are well designed and pacing is excellent. This game never seems to drag, ever. Cover and shoot gameplay system has been fine tuned. A great multiplayer has been added to Uncharted, and it is loads of fun. This gamedeserves a 9.5 if I coukd give it that. Expand
  61. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Same thing I wrote for the original Uncharted and Uncharted 3. This game also deserves a 10. ALL Uncharted games got a 10 from me. They are the best series available on PS3. Anybody who gave mixed and negative reviews to the series is clearly an idiot.
  62. Apr 23, 2012
    10
    Best adventure 3rd person shooter I have ever played. It is perfect in every single way and it has what is necessary to please different audiences (online or single player players). The gameplay, story, characters, graphics, pace, soundtrack and replayability have made me return to this game ever since it came out in 2009. I know that nothing about the game is original as it borrows from other franchises, but it uses their elements in perfect ways, which is what makes it wonderful and in my opinion better than any other game in the genre. Expand
  63. Oct 28, 2012
    9
    Uno de los mejores juegos que hay para PS3
    GRAFICOS: 10 SONIDO:9 JUGABILIDAD/DIVERSION: 10 DURACION:8
    ejejejejejejejejejejejjejejejejejjejejejejejejejjeje
  64. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    I don't always give games a perfect score, but when I do, its Uncharted 2. I was completely blown away by this game and had absolutely no idea what I was getting into. I got this game as a Christmas gift the year it was released since it was the only game that seemed interesting to me at the time. I had played the first one for a good ten hours, but this one is a huge upgrade. Brand new engine with stunning visuals, sound design, and the camera work. It's all in the camera work, man! Naughty Dog has left a very deep mark in platforming titles with this game for years to come. Expand
  65. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Uncharted is like the video game love child of Indiana Johns and Mission Impassible. it's rapid paced, always keeps you on the edge of the seat with absolutely fantastic and breathtaking set pieces. It almost flawlessly moves between an action packed fire fight, to high risk platforming sections with gravity defying leaps of fate, all with some of the best animation and graphics the gaming world ever seen. Is, evan after two years after it's release Among Thieves is a stone cold stunner. Uncharted captures the fast paced fun of a top of line summer flick, with tight gameplay and amazing looking lacks. It is The Raiders of the Lost Ark of gaming, Among Thieves is that good. Expand
  66. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    This game is incredible, the graphics are stunning and the Single-Player is one of the best in the market. The only thing that this game doesn't have is a good multiplayer, but who cares about this when there is a Story mode that deserves multiples playthroughs and also have about 100 treasures to find.
  67. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    I didn't think the sequel could be better and I was dead wrong. The graphics, oh my god, are so dazzling and incredible. The story picks up some time after the first one and accelerates into the action right away. This movie... er I mean game is a thrill ride from start to finish. The gameplay improves removing the six-axis controller from use entirely, and the combat is more effective and less tedious. This is quite possibly the best game on the PS3. And then you have the multiplayer... it just never stops amazing you from the moment you put it in. Expand
  68. Nov 22, 2011
    8
    Brilliant cinematic experience. Some of the set pieces are particularly enjoyable, even awe inspiring on a few occasions. Only really losing their appeal ones you have to repeat them multiple times owing to a silly death of mistake. But this is a rather minor point. The game feels largely responsive and agile in responding to your actions, though the AI can feel a little robotic. The character development, while not masterful, is certainly entertaining. All in all, it's a highly polished and pleasant game to play through, and well worth pushing through the odd moment of jarring suspended belief given that the vast majority will sweep you up with it and carry you along its tight, beautiful and varied trajectory! Expand
  69. Dec 2, 2011
    10
    I absolutely love this game! The graphics and game-play and everything else is so awesome. Truly the best on the PS3 and a must-have. The game is hugely fun and the voice-acting is spectacular. Do not hesitate to buy this game.
  70. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    This game gives you very little to relax and frankly that's ok because how can you relax when you're a treasure hunter. And what a treasure hunter Drake is he(you) is well equipped to do pretty much anything; from fighting, to leaping, to solving puzzles. The only thing that Drake can't do is take on a lot of bullets; so cover is a major thing in this game, which gives it a huge realistic feel. Drake's agility can be used during combat but it mostly shines during platforming sections and a thrilling chase. The only time where Drake can relax a bit is during the puzzle sections of the game; they are not as entertaining as the combat but they do present their own buckets of charm. Although these sections are slower this is not to say that uncharted is a slow game; exactly the opposite. The pace of this game is incredible. All of this is complemented by the breath-taking sites you encounter...this must be one of the best looking games of all time. After finishing the campaign you would definitely want some more and there is plenty. One definite more is the three-player cooperative mode, which is highly recommended if you have a couple of friends. The competitive multiplayer is also a must which provides explosive action and the same great core gameplay and the great visuals. All-in-all uncharted 2 is a complete package and a must play for anyone who has a ps3. Expand
  71. Dec 6, 2011
    10
    It is simply game of the generation. Nothing else is quite like it, and I expect that nothing else will ever be quite like it. A masterful blend of cinema and video games.
  72. Sep 5, 2012
    6
    A great adventure movie but a terrible "game". The aspects of Uncharted 2 that have nothing to do with gameplay are so good that I withstood 7 hours of pure gameplay misery to see them to completion. I once read a gaming article that said if your game in prototype form is not fun to just walk around, then your game is not going to be fun. The gamer-avatar connection in Uncharted 2, as with Uncharted 1, is simply broken. The movement system (both on foot and on walls) is imprecise, sluggish, and unpredictable. It causes me mental pain to play this game because your avatar, Drake, will not do what you want. It's the same sort of mental pain when you write with your non-dominant hand. This is not a function of games in general, because I re-played some Mass Effect 2 to see if I was crazy, and it felt incredibly responsive, precise, and predictable. Guess what I'm doing for Uncharted 3? I'll watch a video of it. I will get all the good parts with none of the misery. What are the good parts? Anything that is unrelated to gameplay: the one-liner writing, art assets (some of the best texturing I've ever seen), lighting, vistas, sense of adventure, outstanding music, etc. I will never buy another Naughty Dog (the developer) game without renting it first. Expand
  73. Apr 19, 2012
    10
    Take the first Uncharted and add an even better story, more interesting characters and upgraded graphics and you have Among Thieves. Nathan Drake now heads for icy scenarios in search of the fabled Cintamani Stone, a sapphire so big no man can put his arms around it. Naughty Dog did an impressive job in this follow-up, taking the action/adventure genre to new heights. Shooting was greatly improved, and the cover system works much better. The addition of stealth was also very welcome, even if most times it is used in specific chapters of the game; and in real combat it's only real use is to eliminate two or three enemies of the equation before the shooting havoc starts. Drake's Fortune looked good, but Among Thieves is just amazing. From the simple snow at Drake's feet to a train crash and a temple inside an ice cavern, everything looks and feels great. Exploration was also increased, though not much. Uncharted 2 is simply an amazing game and a must-have, period. Expand
  74. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    This game is simply fantastic. The best PS3 game. It's so addicting, the plot is very good and you want to play the game nonstop until you beat it, The soundtrack is good, it's quite challenging and the graphics are awesome, the voice acting and cutscenes are also great, Drake and Sully are one of the most charismatic characters I've ever seen. Whoever gives this game a score under 8.5 is trolling or is just plain stupid, for real. Expand
  75. Dec 29, 2011
    10
    The perfect game and even though graphically and technically its been out done by Uncharted 3 this is a game no one is ever going to forget. It was such a leap from Uncharted Drake's Fortune it hit us like a brick wall opened a door and dragged us into this amazing immersive experience and that does not happen to often in video games. There is just so many great things about this game I have chosen the 3 best things about the game. 1: technology leap was huge and graphically stunning. 2: Set pieces. from walking through a tibetan village high in the mountains to a massive collapsing bridge at the end. 3: The characters are epic from Nathan and Harry's chats to the amazing Villain Zoran Lazarovich which to this day still is one of the greatest villains to ever be made and I wish he comes back. The only down thing was the multiplayer which I played for quite a while but needed a bit of work doing to it but luckily its all been sorted out in Uncharted 3. Another Flawless game by Naughty Dog but this game gets a 10 and theres no other score besides 10 for it.
    Technology: 10
    Graphics: 10 Campaign: 10
    Multiplayer: 7 CO-OP: 7
    Expand
  76. Jan 4, 2012
    10
    This is the best game I have played so far for ps3 it is even better than the first. The graphics are even better the storyline is better a lot more adventure and you never want to stop. It brought back the main characters Alene, Sully, And of course Nathan Drake we also see some new characters including Chloe, Flynn:(:( and Tenzin. This game the fun NEVER stops. Trust me you will never get bored. Something i find way fun is being able to replay the game and buy characters that are in the game so you can replay the game and be whoever the heck you wanna be..:) AMAZING GAME. Expand
  77. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    It's been a while since Uncharted 2: Among Thieves came out, and it is fairly pointless to write a review this late after its release, but if you haven't played it then look no further than this review. Uncharted 2 is a complete package with an incredible story, jaw-dropping graphics, fun gameplay and incredible characters. The story is great- Nate and co. are searching for Shambhala, a mythical city supposedly found by Marco Polo. I won't explain further because I really don't want to spoil the game as it has one of the most memorable stories of any video game that I've ever played. The graphics are stunning, from the museum in Istanbul to the jungles of Borneo to the streets of Nepal, to the mountains of Tibet the graphics have a nice diversity and are stunning. The snow effects are fantastic and look incredibly realistic. The gameplay is a mix of shooting, climbing, exploring, puzzle-solving, hand to hand combat and stealth. The gameplay is all great and Uncharted 2 does all of these things well, but isn't the best at doing it. The shooting can feel a little bit dated, the climbing is greatly improved over Uncharted 1 but still isn't the best I've seen and looking in Nate's diary almost gives away the puzzle. But the gameplay of Uncharted 2 is still a blast and it combines with crazy action set-pieces, fantastic story telling with compelling characters and incredible visuals to make a complete package. Then there's the multiplayer. The multiplayer isn't very deep and isn't much more than a little distraction. If you ask me it wasn't needed, but for all you people who think that EVERY game needs online play it's a nice feature. But if you ask me the most addicting part of the game is searching for the 101 hidden treasures and repeating the incredible story. The game isn't an incredibly hard game, but can be annoyingly hard at times. Those armoured giants with the machine guns can get quite annoying, and enemies can take an annoying amount of bullets to kill. The boss fight in the middle of the game is annoying and unrealistic, because the fact that a man only wearing an army vest and helmet with no arm protection or anything like that can take around 100 bullets to kill, while regular armoured foes take less is really stupid. That said, this boss fight isn't particularly hard, but it really is one of the low points of the game. Overall Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an incredible game. It impresses with incredible visuals, great gameplay, great story and great improvements over Uncharted: Drakes Fortune. If you haven't played this masterpiece yet you must buy this game, your money will be very well spent. Expand
  78. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    This game is a must have for all ps3 owners. The story alone is on the precipice of hitting the quality of some of the best films of this decade (well not really but its still amazing) . Chloe is hot!!
  79. Dec 13, 2013
    7
    The 'special' sequences lift this game to something extraordinary. Shooting has improved since 1, because opponents are less cartoony and just less irritating, more realistic. The color palette has widened a lot in Uncharted 1, it was lots of green and grey, jungle and temples. In this game, there are just lots of colors, truly varied locations/scenarios, a lot more happening on screen. It still takes the player from A to B and asks few questions of any kind, but there is so much spectacle you can't call it a bad time. The middle section of the game is amazing. The last hour is a bit lackluster, when the game really tests your concentration by spamming enemies so the tempo slows down and you get a bit bored, but even the most difficult parts should be manageable in a few tries on easy mode. All in all, I finished single player in around 10 hours. It left me satisfied, and feeling like I'd just been on a long roller coaster ride. I would have liked more (elaborate) puzzles, more ingenuity, wider use of the physics so impressively mastered in some sequences. It's also soo easy for a seasoned gamer like me to pick out the 'inspirations' for the game. It's all seen before. Whether in Tomb Raider, Gears of War, etc etc. I didn't get very immersed or involved in the story either, since the gameplay had little to do with the plot and I felt like Nathan Drake was a monster rather than a hero... it was like "plot in a clip, pause clip/plot to have meaningless violence or simple navigation, then further plot, then pause". Not very creative in terms of pushing the medium's mechanics forward. Expand
  80. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    The game masterpiece, no less. Clever plot, exciting gameplay. Certainly the best game of 2009. I want every year masterpiece of gaming. For me, this series is much better than Indiana Jones
  81. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 2 takes what was good in Uncharted 1 and transforms it into an astounding sequel that is clearly the best game of 2009! This time Nate travels across several countries on the hunt of treasure (instead of just the one island from DF) teaming up with a few new faces and a baddie that is more intimidating than the previous one. The sound effects are great and controls have been improved on: gunplay is more realistic, the platforming feel has been changed to perfection and combat is more-or-less the same but feels more controlled. The story is a step-up from DF and moves at a perfect pace from beginning to end that amazes and shocks at every angle. There are virtually no criticisms, however the puzzles are a bit too obvious and the end boss fight was a bit repetitive. Yet the pros outweigh the cons 10 to 1, making this clearly one of PS3's best games ever!! Expand
  82. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I had heard about this game alot, before I have actually played the game. I had very high expectation before playing and guess what? I was not disappointed by my hope, but instead I was amazed by this game. This game is perfect in my opinion. Everything is freaking great. If you think the game is not good, do not play video games anymore, because they are just not for you.
  83. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Lousy level designs, overused humor, horrible third person firefight and the worst cover system to date. These are the major faults of this game. However, I loved Uncharted's cinematic cut scenes, interesting plot and satisfying voice acting but its story about betrayal is getting old. I mean, I've seen stories of betrayal in almost every game I played. Drake helps Flynn, Flynn abandons Drake.Come on, its too predictable.
    Overall, if you like a good movie, or play a good movie, get this game.Its a must play game for every platformer fans and PS3 owners.
    Expand
  84. Mar 21, 2012
    9
    I'm very surprised on how Naughty Dog has changed over the years, i always remembered them for the Crash Bandicoot games, which were ok, it's amazing how it became a great gaming studio and how they came up with this amazing game. The first Uncharted was good but not great, but Among Thieves is just amazing, it has everything a great has to include, a likable hero, great action, platforming but what i think is the best accomplishment of this game, is how it manages to tell a story that feels just like a movie, it's a great experience and one of the best of this generation. Expand
  85. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    Game of the year. Anyone who doesn't think this is 10/10 might either have never played this game, or fail to understand its intriguing movie elements. This is a game where the player becomes the actor in the cinematics, controlling his own fate. The gun fights and puzzle elements combine flawlessly within Hollywood-styled hit. Words cannot describe how great this game has become, play for yourself. Expand
  86. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    probably in my top 5 favourite games ever! it took everything from the first uncharted, improved it massively and then some how made a story even more compelling than the first game! a joy to play and to watch! a personal favourite about UC2 is the occasional flashes of the yetis you get what a simple way to keep the tension mounting! perfect!
  87. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    BEST GAME EVER!!!! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  88. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    i can't even begin to say how much i was blown away with the monstrous improvements this game had compared to the 1st one!!
    U2 captivated my soul from start to finish with its impeccable graphics,game play,story telling and cinematic scenes.
  89. Mar 13, 2012
    8
    As a Christian, I did not care at all for the profuse use of God's name in vain in this game (this one actually took God's name in vain more than the sequel!). Thus, I give the game an 8. Just about everything about the script (which disrespected God WAY too much) was rock solid! :o If you wish to view my video review, you can do so here: http://youtu.be/JIdSR9b-C_k

    And if you wish to
    visit my Christian gaming channel, direct your browser here: http://www.youtube.com/Gaming4Jesus Expand
  90. Jul 2, 2012
    10
    This is the second best series next to Metal Gear Solid for me. This game in particular has the best storyline of the three that are out thus far. The shooting sequences are very fun and the graphics are top notch; only being beaten by Uncharted 3 in 2011. This game is a true masterpiece! My only complains are some minor control issues as well as the stealth and melee system, however both of these issues were fixed for Uncharted 3 Expand
  91. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    2010
    I was contemplating on what I should give this game, and after thinking back on it, This was a great experience. I literally loved every minute of it, and It continued to keep me wanting more. The opening was one of the greatest in gaming. The graphics were the best that I had seen. Everything about this game is awesome. I don't know what else to say. Then multiplayer got me started,
    and then it was as fun and felt like the singleplayer, very rewarding. This game deserves a 10. Story and graphics stand out to me, but that includes all the detail, animation, environment, and everything. Expand
  92. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    Uncharted 2 is a great sequel, but not as good as Uncharted 1. The game takes place a year after Drake's Fortune and starts with Nate performing a robbery from an Istanbul museum with two old accomplices Chloe and Flynn. When Flynn betrays Nate and lands him in prison Nate plots his revenge on him. This sets Drake & old friend Sully on a race to find the Cintimani Stone before Zoran Lezarevic, a Russian bent on being the next big dictator can use it to be the most powerful man on Earth with Flynn at his side. The story spends too much time on a love triangle between Chloe and Elena from the first Uncharted and therefore slows the pace of the game down significantly. Plus the classic Uncharted difficulty spike hits about halfway through and makes the rest of the game such a slog it becomes near unenjoyable.
    Uncharted 2 does a lot right but quite a few significant things wrong which let it down, but it is by no means a bad game. A must own for PS3 owners
    Expand
  93. May 22, 2012
    10
    This game is absolutely outstanding in every aspect . It reflects itself and clearly stands among the greatest game made in any platform . Going onto multiplayer it's purely unique and amazing unlike all those fps games
  94. Apr 6, 2012
    10
    Naughty Dog's have made a huge step forward after Uncharted: Drakes Fortune in terms of graphics, story, characters design. I like the relationship between Nathan & Elena, maybe it's a main reason i love this franchase so much, and of course snow mountains at any games everytime is special for me, just love the snow :)
  95. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    second one was most powerful of trilogy i never sat down really play these game but it was awesome i could not even put it down i wanted to know what happen next
  96. May 25, 2012
    8
    Played this after Uncharted 3 and as a result it did feel slightly dated in almost every area which it is praised for (and I include story within that)

    Still a very good game nevertheless.
  97. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    Awesome game. Cinematic storyline. Great graphics. Great improvement to gameplay elements compared to first game. The "stealth" inclusion provided some good diversity to gameplay, however it is in no way anything close to a stealth game. The "Uncharted" formula of endless waves of enemies until reaching set check-points sets a good pace to the game, however does give it a bit of a all steam ahead gameplay, with not much by way of strategic planning or thought from the player. Overall very enjoyable. Expand
  98. Jun 21, 2012
    10
    best game ever made- worth buying a ps3 for the unchartered series. i own an xbox 360- only forza 4, and witcher 3 can compare graphically to this masterpiece
  99. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    An amazing game that was unprecedented in it's sheer ability to create a cinematic, tense, and downright thrilling atmosphere for the entire game. It keeps players on the edges of their seats for the entire time with a fantastic and gripping story, incredible graphics, and fun gameplay. If you want to imagine it, imagine an Indiana Jones movie, except interactive, longer, and more thrilling. It's that good. One of the few games this console generation to truly deserve a ten. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.