Uncharted 2: Among Thieves PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5015 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonathanS
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    I haven't played the game yet but felt that I should give it a 10 because Daniel J. gave it a 0 to skew the results. If you feel the game is an 8, give it an 8. Don't give it a 0 to alter the score because you don't think others should have given it a 10. The point of this site is to average individual scores of the game to give you a realistic view of what others think.
  2. JonA.
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is simply amazing. The game's story is like that of Indiana Jones and National Treasure. It feels like an action movie and a game at the same time. The voice actors and the awesome face movements and body movements make it seem like a real movie. The gameplay is astounding and slightly tweaked from the original formula. The music is well done and it is obvious that a lot Uncharted 2 is simply amazing. The game's story is like that of Indiana Jones and National Treasure. It feels like an action movie and a game at the same time. The voice actors and the awesome face movements and body movements make it seem like a real movie. The gameplay is astounding and slightly tweaked from the original formula. The music is well done and it is obvious that a lot of care has been put in this game. To put it simply, this is the best single-player experience I have ever played. One to rival the stroy telling of Metal Gear Solid 4. I highly recommend this game. Expand
  3. ToddP.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    This is a must-play for all PS3 owners. All the praise is richly deserved. Engaging story, varied and addicting gameplay, fun multiplayer, and absolutely gorgeous to behold.
  4. Memyself
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    Definitely the best game this generation so far. Great gameplay, great plot, great characters, I don't even need to comment the visuals and the voice acting. It's just top notch. This game is more than game of the year, so far it's the Game of the WHOLE 7th GENERATION!
  5. BL
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, Without a doubt the best game this generation, one of the best games I've ever played. Beautiful graphics(the best console graphics yet), smooth gameplay, jaw-dropping action, immersive, excellent story with voice acting and dialogue. The singleplayer & multiplayer bonuses top it off wonderfully with great features like cinema in which you can rewatch automatically recorded games, controlling the camera in real time and even adding weather effects. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Amazing. No other game looks good, plays good, and sounds good than uncharted 2. One of my favorite games of all time. Multiplayer is amazing and everything bout it is just awesome. Characters, enviornments, EVERYTHING. Naughty Dog, this is why I have bout your games ever since crash bandicoot era on the ps1. Great job.
  7. CruzU
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Clearly one of my best single-player experiences ever... Uncharted 2 has brought serious competition for Game of The Year, and possibly one of the greatest, ever. Multiplayer is just another reason why this defines near perfection, in just a third-person shooter!
  8. MarkG
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    If you thought Uncharted 1 was a 10/10 (I did), this will blow your socks off. Its perfection is every respect. Not just the best game on PS3 this year, not even best game on any console this year, not even best game on any console this generation. This is the best game I have EVER played on ANY system...
  9. BDow
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    wow D V. this "inferior" logic is whether or not a game is fun. this is a fun game. its Uncharted used to be my favorite game till this came out. Why? because it is fun. whole point of the game. fun.
  10. DawnD
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Having played and loved the first game I was afraid to buy into the hype of this game, until I played it. Tighter controls than the first, with fantastic acting and beautiful scenes, this game just topped my favorites list.
  11. Sam
    Dec 19, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is easily the best game of the year, possibly of all time. It has a plot as good, if not better, then movies. If you are new to the series, this game can be thought of as something similar to Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider. This game is perfect in every aspect. The single player so good if this game didn't have multiplayer it would still recieve a ten. The multiplayer has a Uncharted 2 is easily the best game of the year, possibly of all time. It has a plot as good, if not better, then movies. If you are new to the series, this game can be thought of as something similar to Indiana Jones or Tomb Raider. This game is perfect in every aspect. The single player so good if this game didn't have multiplayer it would still recieve a ten. The multiplayer has a wide variety of modes, all of which are executed perfectly. The game has the best graphics of all time. It is photorealistic. This game is a must-buy and if you don't have a ps3 it is the sole reason to get one. Expand
  12. JoshuA
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Amongst Thieves made me feel foolish that i gave any other game a 10 before it but I must give a shout out to Gears of War & Tomb Raider for Naughty Dog took lessons from these 2 fantastic Series & created The Best Game Of All Time!! It's Incredible!!!
  13. VictorS
    Dec 20, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best games I've played. Unmatched graphics, amazing story and characters, fuun multiplayer, epic gameplay, what more do you need?
  14. shetaki
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Very good graphics and amazing story line. hopefully the cover glitches and A.I. will be fixed in an update but even if it isnt this is still a great gaming experience. oh and for all those people who are giving this game low scores, games are meant to be enjoyed. you guys seem to just play it, find as many glitches as you can and then write a bad review so that people who have not played Very good graphics and amazing story line. hopefully the cover glitches and A.I. will be fixed in an update but even if it isnt this is still a great gaming experience. oh and for all those people who are giving this game low scores, games are meant to be enjoyed. you guys seem to just play it, find as many glitches as you can and then write a bad review so that people who have not played the game yet will get the wrong idea. jesus christ PLAY THE GAME TO HAVE FUN! if something like this came out 5 years ago the whole world would have shit themselves. Well for those of you who have not played this game yet, dont listen to those dumbshits buy it and prepare for a stellar gaming experience that you will come back for again and again. Expand
  15. JimR
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    Definitely a system seller, all four of my non ps3 owning friends who saw me playing this have gone out and brought a ps3 slim, this game is a joy to play and perfect at what it does which is top class adventuring, some bitter fanboys of the other system have labelled it 'duderaider' which is very funny, but it is much more advanced in every respect . I do still love the first Definitely a system seller, all four of my non ps3 owning friends who saw me playing this have gone out and brought a ps3 slim, this game is a joy to play and perfect at what it does which is top class adventuring, some bitter fanboys of the other system have labelled it 'duderaider' which is very funny, but it is much more advanced in every respect . I do still love the first game though and i wish all the efforts had gone into the single player experience. Expand
  16. PeterR
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is truly amazing. Characters are fleshed out, gun play is on point, platforming is perfect and the story is just magnificent. It's been a while since I've gone through a game multiple times but the single player experience is just that good and the platinum trophy was just icing on the cake. Naughty Dog deserves all the praises it gets because this game is an absolute This game is truly amazing. Characters are fleshed out, gun play is on point, platforming is perfect and the story is just magnificent. It's been a while since I've gone through a game multiple times but the single player experience is just that good and the platinum trophy was just icing on the cake. Naughty Dog deserves all the praises it gets because this game is an absolute stunner, production values through the roof. Expand
  17. CBowen
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    You saw this coming, completely misunderstood, you hit the books while the now-gen plugged in ÅccessàWiï's and X Jox dropouts flipped the only McPorts in town. Now generation-(ps)X design scene has a collective masters degree and finally dev cake's abound and you might just eat it too. It's not jade this time, but more importantly this game is a MGS4 for You saw this coming, completely misunderstood, you hit the books while the now-gen plugged in ÅccessàWiï's and X Jox dropouts flipped the only McPorts in town. Now generation-(ps)X design scene has a collective masters degree and finally dev cake's abound and you might just eat it too. It's not jade this time, but more importantly this game is a MGS4 for the masses. Chin up next-next#ps3rd-gen UC2 will impregnate any member of the family, yes itll get you too.. Expand
  18. ChrisS
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    First Game was my game of this Gen... 2 has blown me away! If there is a game to make it worth owning a PS3 its this.
  19. Salvy102
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    I didn't find anything "GROUND BREAKING" in this game, but it was fun to play, it is the best single player for an adventure game. The online is fun in its own way. I was stunned by the visuals and the climatic scenes. I liked the game but it's not perfect, at least in my eyes.
  20. HarsitamoD
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Theives is an extremely good game. Although it has its flaws this is one of the best games I've played and definetly the best Playstation 3 game I have play. Some of the flaws of this game are: bad camera angles (mostly when you are climing), a few unpolished parts like sliding up stairs with the GAU-19 and a bad plot twist at the end, which could have been saved Uncharted 2: Among Theives is an extremely good game. Although it has its flaws this is one of the best games I've played and definetly the best Playstation 3 game I have play. Some of the flaws of this game are: bad camera angles (mostly when you are climing), a few unpolished parts like sliding up stairs with the GAU-19 and a bad plot twist at the end, which could have been saved if it was explained. This easily out weighed by: the exellent graphics, good AIs, perfect voice acting, good platforming sections, large puzzles and great cutscenes which are timed perfectly. I would give this game's single player a ten for its entertaiment value but take a mark off for it's flaws giving it a nine. Uncharted 2's Multiplayer is a great extension to the almost perfect single player part and I would give it a 10 for it is fair (as it pairs you with others around the same level as you) and fun with an epic co-op and very good competitive multiplayer. Even though it is definetly not one of the best multiplayer in the market (Call of Duty 4 takes that position) it is near the top. In conclusion I give Uncharted 2: Among Theives a nine for its single player and a ten for its multiplayer giving it an average of nine and a half, which I round up to then because it was so entertaining! Expand
  21. MirzaA
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Ive played Uncharted multiple times and for me that was the game that validated my purchase of the Ps3. My mum sat down and asked me whether i was watching an indiana jones flick because the enviroments looked that good. The graphics blew my mind and the story and soundtrack was just damn PERFECT. Now take all that and imagine it better in every way and u get Uncharted 2. Granted the Ive played Uncharted multiple times and for me that was the game that validated my purchase of the Ps3. My mum sat down and asked me whether i was watching an indiana jones flick because the enviroments looked that good. The graphics blew my mind and the story and soundtrack was just damn PERFECT. Now take all that and imagine it better in every way and u get Uncharted 2. Granted the graphics do NOT make the game. But in this game the Graphics are a kick in the nuts to all the other next gen games proving that a game can indeed have it all and rock a gamers world! Expand
  22. AndrewL
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Hands down Game of the Year, console-wide. Perfect as a platformer, Perfect as a third-person shooter. If you don't own a PS3 already you're insane, and yet, not having one NOW.. when a Uncharted 2 exists, there's something wrong with you. The graphics are unparalleled and the cheeky humour in the characters' banter is something unique. It's impossible to not love Hands down Game of the Year, console-wide. Perfect as a platformer, Perfect as a third-person shooter. If you don't own a PS3 already you're insane, and yet, not having one NOW.. when a Uncharted 2 exists, there's something wrong with you. The graphics are unparalleled and the cheeky humour in the characters' banter is something unique. It's impossible to not love Drake, I can't think of a more entertaining, likeable and memorable lead role since Guybrush Threepwood. Not to mention once the instantly classic, amazing single player ends, the multiplayer begins. After playing 5 minutes of any random match, you see that it's one of the smoothest, most enjoyable online experience in existence, and surprisingly, living in Australia I can't even play a second of LittleBigPlanet online, and yet, Uncharted 2 runs smooth as a baby's bum, it really is something else! 10/10, 5 stars. Expand
  23. BrettD
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    If you want to enjoy other games do not play this game. It will ruin every other game. The graphics on this game are possibly the best of this generation with the only competition coming from Killzone 2. The story is actually good compared to most of the tripe that gets passed off in other games. The controls are flawless especially when compared to AC2. This game isn't all hype like If you want to enjoy other games do not play this game. It will ruin every other game. The graphics on this game are possibly the best of this generation with the only competition coming from Killzone 2. The story is actually good compared to most of the tripe that gets passed off in other games. The controls are flawless especially when compared to AC2. This game isn't all hype like GTA4 it actually deserves the scores it has been getting. The best part is it's worth buying because the multi-player is the best experience out right now and that includes MW2. Expand
  24. jennifertheterrible
    Oct 24, 2009
    10
    Telling that this game is the best for is generation is a lie. there is not a single game that comes close to this. simply, this is the best. if you have a ps3 then go and buy it. if you don't have a ps3, first get a ps3 and then buy uncharted 2. now I am returning to the game, see you there.
  25. JacobZ.P.
    Oct 27, 2009
    10
    If you love Indiana Jones over the top adventure, good humor, an awesome story with some really fun gameplay, this is a game for you. Make sure you pick up the first one though, because Uncharted: Drake's fortune is almost just as rememerable, but this is a game that friends and families should experience. 10/10
  26. AlekseyC
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    greatest game since uncharted 1 across all platforms. Rapes gears any day. The story is amazing the 3rd person shoosting is amazing. Beat it twice and got the platinum throphy within 2 weeks. I don't go for platinums unless I like a game and uncharted is the only series ive ever beaten more than once. It'll blow your mind.
  27. sasanJ
    Oct 31, 2009
    10
    The best game I've played on PS3 after MGS 4.Everything about this game is great.Animations are the best you've ever seen in a video game.Water effect is even better than the first game.Cutscenes are really part of the game and there are no borders betweean gameplay sequences and cutscenes.The only problem with gameplay is that platformer sections are linear but still better The best game I've played on PS3 after MGS 4.Everything about this game is great.Animations are the best you've ever seen in a video game.Water effect is even better than the first game.Cutscenes are really part of the game and there are no borders betweean gameplay sequences and cutscenes.The only problem with gameplay is that platformer sections are linear but still better than first game. Well my score is 9.8 but you guys in metacritic don't have it!So lets say 10!Enjoy it Naughty Dog!!!I'm waiting for Uncharted 3 Expand
  28. DavidD.
    Oct 31, 2009
    9
    This game is Great! But what amazes me is how many people say that there are a lot of things wrong with the game but still give it a 10. A ten is reserved for the most perfect games. This is not a perfect game. You have to separate enjoyment and perfection. Uncharted 2 is a very very enjoyable game. The pro's are the real time rendering and just awesome graphics. Amazing acting. This game is Great! But what amazes me is how many people say that there are a lot of things wrong with the game but still give it a 10. A ten is reserved for the most perfect games. This is not a perfect game. You have to separate enjoyment and perfection. Uncharted 2 is a very very enjoyable game. The pro's are the real time rendering and just awesome graphics. Amazing acting. Loved all the cut scenes and interaction between the characters. That includes all the in game interaction. But as some have said, this game seemed like it borrowed a lot from other games. Personally I think it was borrowing a ton from the last couple of Tomb Raider games. Right down to the whole Tibet level. I know a lot of people wont like me saying this but I think many people wont give credit to what the last tomb raider did. The story in this game was average. By comparison, Tomb Raiders story carried over from Legend to Underworld was a lot more entertaining. I also thought the controls should have been a bit more precise and tight. Please don't take all of the negative by me and think I did not like the game. I loved the game and I am going to go get the first Uncharted. I am just pointing out things that are rarely mentioned by anyone. Expand
  29. TomC
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    the story, gameplay, graphics, and charcters are all PERFECT, enough said.
  30. DaveA
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    This is one of the best games this generation and is an instant classic. It pushes the genre and industry forward, it does things right. Physics over physics, coupled in with the perfect Indiana Jones game, and you have a technological advancement that even movie fanatics will appreciate. You simply have to play Uncharted 2 to realize the hard work that's been put into it. A 10 out This is one of the best games this generation and is an instant classic. It pushes the genre and industry forward, it does things right. Physics over physics, coupled in with the perfect Indiana Jones game, and you have a technological advancement that even movie fanatics will appreciate. You simply have to play Uncharted 2 to realize the hard work that's been put into it. A 10 out of 10. Not the usual rating given for a game, but besides Super Mario Galaxy this is the only other perfect game this gen. Expand
  31. NiallO
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    Truly the best game on the PS3. Unsurpassed graphics, Hollywood blockbuster story, superb voice acting, and a better control scheme make this the must have game for all Playstation 3 owners.
  32. EricF
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing. The graphics are great, the voice acting is top-notch, and the gameplay is solid, and Naughty Dog has the sense to keep varying it up a bit to keep it fresh. Do not listen to a single reviewer who complains about bugs (I have encountered no problems what so ever), unvaried game play, not enough action, BS that a game not on PC is automatically inferior graphically, or Absolutely amazing. The graphics are great, the voice acting is top-notch, and the gameplay is solid, and Naughty Dog has the sense to keep varying it up a bit to keep it fresh. Do not listen to a single reviewer who complains about bugs (I have encountered no problems what so ever), unvaried game play, not enough action, BS that a game not on PC is automatically inferior graphically, or "sidequests" (yeah, people will complain about a feature that does not exist.) There aren't bugs, the action is actually really thick at some points, and the graphics really are amazing. Expand
  33. ChristinaM.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    OK I can get how some people don't think it's a 10 out of 10 but people giving it a 0 are a complete and utter fanboy. Yes I'm looking at you ME YOU, grow up you sad and lonely fan girl, trying to drop the score because it's higher rated than your precious 360 games? Get a life loser.
  34. AlexM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Some of the best level design in a game ever. The train sequence, jeep sequence, tank sequence, are all parts of the game you actually play through, not watch! And the game isn't just excellent because of that it's because of the design choices. The pacing is untouchable, the characters some of the best in gaming, they eventually grow on you and you learn more about them than Some of the best level design in a game ever. The train sequence, jeep sequence, tank sequence, are all parts of the game you actually play through, not watch! And the game isn't just excellent because of that it's because of the design choices. The pacing is untouchable, the characters some of the best in gaming, they eventually grow on you and you learn more about them than ever before in this stunning sequel. A technological advancement in cinematic gaming, Uncharted 2 is undoubtedly the most cinematic video game ever made. It's the Raiders of the Lost Ark for video games. While the TPS elements are pretty average, it's with the vertical level design, the physics over physics, (you have to experience shooting someone on a moving jeep as the ground beneath you actually trembles) the extreme connection with the characters, you feel like you're actually playing a movie and never taken out of the action. The last time I felt this was when playing Half Life 2. The NPC's are better in U2, but Alyx Vance is still the standard. Add the stealth sequences, the fighting, and you have a game that is more than just the sum of its parts it's an agglomeration of some of the most brilliant minds in the industry. Naughty Dog has surely impressed with this magnificent beast. Expand
  35. JuanC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This is not only one of the best games of 2009, but it's also one of the best games of the decade. Everything about this game is top notch: the gameplay, the story, the graphics, the score, everything is really great. You'll be playing this game for months to come. In everyday, it outbeats the prequel, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is the reason why This is not only one of the best games of 2009, but it's also one of the best games of the decade. Everything about this game is top notch: the gameplay, the story, the graphics, the score, everything is really great. You'll be playing this game for months to come. In everyday, it outbeats the prequel, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is the reason why 2009 is such a fantastic year of gaming. Naughty Dog makes a lot of great games, but Uncharted 2 is one of the best successors Naughy Dog has ever made. If you happen to own a Playstation 3, go buy the game. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is definitely worth keeping. Expand
  36. Zac
    Jan 31, 2010
    9
    Uncharted 2 has the best graphics I've ever seen on a console. It's very cinematic and intense, the cover system works well. Naughty Dog dig a great job polishing this game. And the added online multiplayer is a huge plus because it adds so much replay value. The only thing wrong with this game is the fact that the single player story is way too short. (Which is a problem with Uncharted 2 has the best graphics I've ever seen on a console. It's very cinematic and intense, the cover system works well. Naughty Dog dig a great job polishing this game. And the added online multiplayer is a huge plus because it adds so much replay value. The only thing wrong with this game is the fact that the single player story is way too short. (Which is a problem with most modern games.) It takes a short 8 hours on average to complete. You CAN play through the story again for trophies, but it's just not as fun the second time since you'd know everything that happens. All things considered, Uncharted 2 is a great game for what it has. Expand
  37. SteveL.
    Apr 13, 2010
    10
    I love this game.
  38. DannyM
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    absolutely awesome, the game of the decade. scratch that, its the best game of all time!! its an essential purchase, its the best game you will ever play, trust me, its got everything, get it!!
  39. nm
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Great game, not much to say but ain't feeling to well so don't really have the patience to do a full review but this game is great...
  40. MattL
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    Greatest game ever to be created. Simple as that. I mean come on, who doesnt secretly have a crush on Nathan Drake? Its like the ultimate Indiana Jones film (Raiders) mixed with Gears of War gunplay and Tomb Raider esque platforming and styling. The story is the greatest you'll ever come across, and the motion capturing and voice acting make every scene look like a movie, except this Greatest game ever to be created. Simple as that. I mean come on, who doesnt secretly have a crush on Nathan Drake? Its like the ultimate Indiana Jones film (Raiders) mixed with Gears of War gunplay and Tomb Raider esque platforming and styling. The story is the greatest you'll ever come across, and the motion capturing and voice acting make every scene look like a movie, except this is a movie you will constantly want to watch. Expand
  41. steveh
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    Best game i've ever played. Cod mw2 doesn't even compare to UC2 . Should run away with GoTY but it won't, becuase there are too many fanboys out there.
  42. MattB
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This game is incredible. I honestly felt like I sat down and watched a ten hour long movie that I was immersed in. The graphics are amazing, rivaling the best, and the plot and gameplay just blew me out of the water. It has multiplayer, too! What more could you want? This is the best game I have ever played, flat out.
  43. AnthonyG
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    I have to give this game a 10. It reallly deserves it just with its single player. It did'nt need multiplayer but it's there and its fun too. If you have a PS3 BUY THIS GAME!
  44. GeraldO
    Nov 14, 2009
    10
    This is the best game ever made. Period. Plain and simple. Hands down. Okay... or a least close to it... ONE OF the best. Game of the Year without a doubt. Nothing released this year on any console can compare. The cinematic elements are what everybody's raving about, and they are right to rave, but the best part is the fact that Naughty Dog has incorporated so many different genres This is the best game ever made. Period. Plain and simple. Hands down. Okay... or a least close to it... ONE OF the best. Game of the Year without a doubt. Nothing released this year on any console can compare. The cinematic elements are what everybody's raving about, and they are right to rave, but the best part is the fact that Naughty Dog has incorporated so many different genres into an Adventure game. Uncharted 2 is an action-packed adventure game with platforming, puzzle solving, and third person shooter aspects rolled into one. It's fun, addictive, the multiplayer is awesome, and the story is amazing. Buy it... now. Expand
  45. DaveJ
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    Maybe I'm just a tough critic but I don't believe Uncharted 2 deserves a 10. Don't get me wrong, the game is good - but is it great?... Not in my opinion. My issues are with the linearity of the game. Why is there only one path, this is a game that could easily incorporate several different routes to reach the same destination. It makes it all too easy. Choosing where your Maybe I'm just a tough critic but I don't believe Uncharted 2 deserves a 10. Don't get me wrong, the game is good - but is it great?... Not in my opinion. My issues are with the linearity of the game. Why is there only one path, this is a game that could easily incorporate several different routes to reach the same destination. It makes it all too easy. Choosing where your next jump will be has no consequence at all; if you try to jump off a ledge you Expand
  46. MSmith
    Nov 23, 2009
    8
    Firstly I would like to clarify that my score of 8 is deliberately harsh. Uncharted 2 is a great game, certainly one of the best on the PS3. Having said that, my experience of the game was not the fault free, hyped experience that many people have had. The game is gorgeous and as close to a cinematic experience as any other game I've played. However, the cinematic nature of the game Firstly I would like to clarify that my score of 8 is deliberately harsh. Uncharted 2 is a great game, certainly one of the best on the PS3. Having said that, my experience of the game was not the fault free, hyped experience that many people have had. The game is gorgeous and as close to a cinematic experience as any other game I've played. However, the cinematic nature of the game makes it entirely linear. This is not a problem within itself but when you aren't doing EXACTLY what the game wants in certain scenarios it can lead to frustrating deaths. The checkpoint system is largely generous but there were a few instances towards the end of the game when frustrating sections need to be replayed often not at the players fault. The final boss fight was a huge disappointment and actually less enjoyable than the one from Uncharted 1. Ranked against other games this game would certainly get a 9 but certain issues cause unnecessary frustration and slightly tarnish this gem of a game. Expand
  47. DylanM
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    This is a all out amazing game. I've almost played through the entire thing, but let me tell you something, this game is worth that $60 rolling around in your wallet.
  48. fashizzle
    Nov 29, 2009
    10
    this game is awesome from the graphics to the storyline to the gunplay its insane and keeps you on your toes untill you finish the game
  49. MichaelK.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    No loading once your in the game, flow is amazing! Snow is so awesome you will move around in it for at least 5 minutes doing nothing with story. Script is awesome, voices are awesome. Nothing bad to say. game of the year because MW2 is just not different enough from mw1.
  50. Lazarebeech
    Nov 3, 2009
    7
    This review is on the single player campaign. I have not played the first Uncharted and went into the game with an open mind. I'm not the one to easily fall into the "hype" mode expecting great things. I am a casual gamer and rather a very picky one at that. The last game I found pleasure and worth my time was Metal Gear Solid 4. I have Assassin's Creed and Resident Evil 5 which This review is on the single player campaign. I have not played the first Uncharted and went into the game with an open mind. I'm not the one to easily fall into the "hype" mode expecting great things. I am a casual gamer and rather a very picky one at that. The last game I found pleasure and worth my time was Metal Gear Solid 4. I have Assassin's Creed and Resident Evil 5 which has been sitting on my shelf for months still factory sealed. One of these days I'll have the desire and courage to try them out. Well, on to the review of Uncharted 2. The game was very fun and manageable even on the hardest level. The cinematics, the voice acting, the story, the graphics, and the gameplay were all top notch production values. The unlockables were interesting and a novel idea. However the problem for me was in the gameplay's cover system, shooting, and platforming that prevented the game scoring any higher. Cover System. Very finicky during firefights where I wanted to cover behind a broken down wall however the character kepted on covering in the open on the opposite side whereby I would get killed in the most frustrating way because the cover system is not polished. And this mainly happens around corners. Keep in mind on the "hard" and "crushing" difficulty levels, you will die alot and repeat a section many many times over until you finally figure out a way. On "crushing", you die with just a couple bullets and the screen turns gray and stays gray for a much longer time than on other levels as well as smarter enemies that will flank you and use team work and their aiming is probably better than yours. That is why a good cover mechanic is so important in the hardest level and online. Shooting. The shooting portion was a steep learning curve for me as I am used to the mouse for aiming accuracy. The right thumb pad is not the best for shooters and nothing will ever beat the mouse in ease and accuracy of shots. That's why I usually stay away from shooting games on the PS3. However after I played through the game once, the aiming and shooting became alot more comfortable and yet it can't ever be compared to the ease and accuracy of using a mouse. Platforming. Now this is the part I hated playing. It was tedious and boring with no replay value. Not that it was difficult rather the fact I was wasting my time on such a wasteful gameplay element. There were too many platforming sections. I would rather view more cutscenes then spend another minute on such a boring and brainless aspect of the game. After completing the game on "hard" and "crushing" as well as unlocking everything and buying everything I would not go back to the single player portion of the game for a long time because of the platforming and puzzle solving sections of the game which was a complete waste of my time. And it's not fun playing certain chapters as it is playing the game from start to finish. There would have been more replay value if they had included different endings and different paths however the game is incessantly linear. And because the platforming is so boring and so frequent, replay value is practically nonexistant. Nontheless, this game is solid overall and kept me entertained for the most part. I will definitely try out the multiplayer and there might be a score upgrade. Expand
  51. DanM.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Absolutely wow. I love how this game plays - it's fast and action packed. It plays quite cinematically too which is hard to get used to if you haven't played the first one. But this game is awesome regardless of if you have played the first. The story is engaging and the dialogue is certainly better than many of the games out there today. Online multiplayer is incredibly fun, Absolutely wow. I love how this game plays - it's fast and action packed. It plays quite cinematically too which is hard to get used to if you haven't played the first one. But this game is awesome regardless of if you have played the first. The story is engaging and the dialogue is certainly better than many of the games out there today. Online multiplayer is incredibly fun, especially the mode where you need to steal treasure. This might just be one of if not the best game graphics wise too. Lots of action, some puzzle solving, and wicked multiplayer. The metacritic score of 97 is well deserved. Expand
  52. AckadB
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    NaughtyDog, check. Gameplay, check. Visuals, check. Sound, check. I mean obviously Uncharted is going to be a great game because it is being made by one of the greatest developers. PS3 owners have to buy this epic game.
  53. JohnT.
    Nov 30, 2009
    9
    This game looks BADASS. Haven't got a chance to play it yet but it sure does look awesome, it looks more like a video than a game where you control all these movements. Graphics are pretty, too. Sadly, it's not on the superior gaming platform (PC) :P so this knocks off 1 point.
  54. MiKED
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    WOW WOW and WOW! Simply amazing! Going into this game I was expecting it be very good, But I was shocked with the graphics, gameplay, STORY, the game is so well polished. The game designers deserve every penny! If you don't have a PS3 system yet, This is a reason to buy one! The average should of been 100% !!!!!!
  55. ArthurI.
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Absolutely gorgous and it is so close to perfect, that you can't help smiling the whole time. From the first second to the last, I never once lost intrest. The story, the presentation, the graphics, the sound, gameplay and appeal are the best in this very game. If you consider yourself even a little bit of a "gamer", then you will pick this game up.
  56. JackS
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing single player! I just beat chapter 5 and I can't put this game down. also the matchmaking is alot better now, can't wait to play more MP when I'm done the SP mode on crushing.
  57. JohnA
    Nov 3, 2009
    10
    There are simply games that deserve a 10. Uncharted 2, GTA IV, Gears of War 1 & 2, Super Mario Galaxy, Orange Box, Bioshock, and Metal Gear Solid 4. Whether innovative or not these games are incredibly fun. Some may say that GTA IV and Gears of War 2 are "more of the same", and even if that is that case they improve on a fantastic formula. We can thank Uncharted and Gears of War for There are simply games that deserve a 10. Uncharted 2, GTA IV, Gears of War 1 & 2, Super Mario Galaxy, Orange Box, Bioshock, and Metal Gear Solid 4. Whether innovative or not these games are incredibly fun. Some may say that GTA IV and Gears of War 2 are "more of the same", and even if that is that case they improve on a fantastic formula. We can thank Uncharted and Gears of War for giving us a little bit of variety amongst our normal shooters. Quite honestly every game shouldn't be a Halo or a Killzone (which is way over-rated still). We can find problems with the above mentioned games but they are rather petty given the quality that is provided in those games. Uncharted 2 isn't the most innovated game, but it hits everything right. The platforming is impressive and smooth as is the shooter aspects. What makes Uncharted 2 better than it's predecessor is simply level design (and online). The level design is astounding and creates for awesome scenarios. Is the story great? No. Are there excessive cliches? Yes. However, I have always felt that stories in games at their best would make a pretty average movie storyline and an absolutely terrible book storyline. If you got a PS3 you need Uncharted 2. Expand
  58. davidmorgan
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Not only one of the best looking games ever to hit consoles, it has the gameplay to back it all up. The single player builds upon the first Uncharted and brings it to a whole new level. The multiplayer is just an added bonus a HUGE added bones, its so addictive i'm sure people will be playing it for a few years.
  59. IvanA
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Best game I've played since Ocarina and MGS. A True movie experience that is sure to please any fan of any genre. Gripping story telling, amazing combat mechanics with an intriguing puzzle solving segments. A true a candidate for Top Ten All-Time Great Games.
  60. ToddJ.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    This is one amazing game that blends the art of movie and game playing into a new art form. From the graphics, to the story, to the voice talent, to the action and online play, this game sets new standards. Naughty Dog deserves all the accolades for creating one of the greatest video games.
  61. BrodieH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Played it for 5 hours straight today (I would've played it longer given the opportunity) Easily has the best graphics of any console game. The story is amazing. The gameplay is great. Get. This. Game.
  62. AlH
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Without any doubt, the best PS3 game so far. The story is epic. There are more then a few moments where I had to pick my jaw up off the floor. Simply put, this game deserves the 10.
  63. MichaelR.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    The commercial for this game is spot-on. Even my girlfriend likes to watch me play it. The graphics are the best I've seen on any console, the story is gripping and well-told, and the game is paced beautifully. Definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet but from what I've heard it's outstanding as well.As far as The commercial for this game is spot-on. Even my girlfriend likes to watch me play it. The graphics are the best I've seen on any console, the story is gripping and well-told, and the game is paced beautifully. Definitely one of the best games I've ever played. I haven't even touched the multiplayer yet but from what I've heard it's outstanding as well.As far as 3rd person action adventures go, this is the pinnacle. Expand
  64. WillC.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Truly phenomenal. One of the finest exemplars of how far the video game industry has come in its odyssey to become a legitimate form of artistic media. A complete experience from start to finish that will leave one coming back for more many times over.
  65. RachaelB
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    I can't pick my jaw up off the floor! The visuals, gameplay and amount of action packed on the screen at the same time is simply a treat not to be missed! Plays very well and controls are intuitive and tight.
  66. DudeH
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Simply the best game this generation. It is 10/10 in gameplay, story, acting, graphics, and value. It is SUPERB. Everyone should pick this game up.
  67. NilsK.
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    Yes, I do owe both an xbox and a ps3, and wether I would rather play games on my xbox due to less lags and an better controller: This Game is the best game I've played so far. I could spend just as much time describing how good this game is, as it took naughty dog to craft this holy grail of computer gaming. THIS IS A MILESTONE.
  68. paulj
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    uncharted 2 is a great game one of the best games iv played this gen. uncharted 2 is a non-stop action platformer with twist and turns around every corner. the characters in the game are memorable and uncharted has action most blockbuster movies drool about. if you own a ps3 i suggest you get uncharted 2. its most definitely goty material.
  69. ZacharyD.
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    When all is said and done, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves merits every single accolade it receives. It is a finely crafted milestone in sheer entertainment as a whole. Sporting a remarkable tale to tell, tight, responsive gameplay, and an endlessly intriguing multiplayer component all wrapped in gorgeous graphics, what reason is there to not own Uncharted 2? It offers everything a gamer When all is said and done, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves merits every single accolade it receives. It is a finely crafted milestone in sheer entertainment as a whole. Sporting a remarkable tale to tell, tight, responsive gameplay, and an endlessly intriguing multiplayer component all wrapped in gorgeous graphics, what reason is there to not own Uncharted 2? It offers everything a gamer wants. Forget Game of the Year. Forget the greatest game of all time. This is an unrivaled achievement in interactive entertainment. Expand
  70. KasperBergh
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Having just finished the game for the first time (got to do it on Crushing difficulty too), I can honestly say that this is the single best game I have ever played in the 20 years I've had a computer/console. The ONLY issue this game has is the cover system, which is sometimes annoying and can cause you to die and have to redo a fight. So consider this score a 9.99 rounded up to 10.
  71. AdamW
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2 is easily better than many Hollywood movies. I'm a big fan of the Indy films, and (dare I say it) even the Tomb Raider movies. But this blows them all out of the water. I don't know if it's the interactivity which games provide, or simply the immaculate presentation of the game, but it's just so much... MORE... than films provide. The opening chapter of Uncharted 2 is easily better than many Hollywood movies. I'm a big fan of the Indy films, and (dare I say it) even the Tomb Raider movies. But this blows them all out of the water. I don't know if it's the interactivity which games provide, or simply the immaculate presentation of the game, but it's just so much... MORE... than films provide. The opening chapter of Uncharted 2 is awesome - there really is no other word for it. And it just gets better and better as you play each chapter. The acting alone is better than you get in many movies these days, but added to that, the story is tight and well paced, the humour is subtle but never predictable, the action intense and occasionally exhausting. Uncharted 2 isn't simply a game - it's an EVENT, and one which every gamer owes it to themselves to experience. 'Epic' is a word that's thrown around way too much these days, but it's the only one which describes the game, and it's NOT an exaggeration. Expand
  72. HishamI
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This game is a perfect 10 and is my game of the year. The story is amazing and has the right mix of high-octane action with a little sensitivity that will amaze anyone that plays this game. This is a must buy and should be considered one of the greatest feats of gaming. Even though this game does nothing revolutionary it does everything us gamers have come to love right. The story alone This game is a perfect 10 and is my game of the year. The story is amazing and has the right mix of high-octane action with a little sensitivity that will amaze anyone that plays this game. This is a must buy and should be considered one of the greatest feats of gaming. Even though this game does nothing revolutionary it does everything us gamers have come to love right. The story alone would be enough for me and most gamers, but now with the addition of online it just cranks it up to a new level. I will admit that the online is no COD4, but it is highly addictive. This game deserves every award you can throw at it and more and this will be a game that will be cherished in the memories of any gamer that has even witnessed this masterpiece in action. Expand
  73. FionnF
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game I have ever played, and that is no exaggeration. This is the first game I can see myself playing time and time again (the campaign that is), apart from the original Uncharted. This came cost me $60, but I'd gladly pay 10 times that for this.
  74. SamuelA
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Excellent game, great graphics and enviroment and best story... Should recieve Game of Year, if Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2, dont give what is expected.
  75. DionD.
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was planned to be a great experience all along. People knew it was going to be great, and they knew the game would do good on all fronts... but not this good. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has stunned me in every aspect of a game, whether it'd be with its vibrant graphics, fantastic art style, engaging gameplay, fun lasting appeal, or perhaps one of the best Uncharted 2: Among Thieves was planned to be a great experience all along. People knew it was going to be great, and they knew the game would do good on all fronts... but not this good. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves has stunned me in every aspect of a game, whether it'd be with its vibrant graphics, fantastic art style, engaging gameplay, fun lasting appeal, or perhaps one of the best stories of all time. I'd go as far as to say that this game is, overall, the best game I've ever played this generation so far! Expand
  76. timc
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    One word. Epic. Great story. Dialogue is amazing. absolutly love the humor. Graphics WOW. Multiplayer is far better then many could of expected. If u dont own this game u are missing out on One of the years best games and possibly of all time
  77. bradd
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    An absolutely EPIC game from start to finish. actually its more of a journey than a game. everything in it was perfect! IMO ;) by far the most stunning game this gen on any platform and i have all of them. this is a masterpiece. Naughty Dog really got it right with this one thats for sure. the visuals are stunning. the script and voice acting is amazing and the story reels you in like a An absolutely EPIC game from start to finish. actually its more of a journey than a game. everything in it was perfect! IMO ;) by far the most stunning game this gen on any platform and i have all of them. this is a masterpiece. Naughty Dog really got it right with this one thats for sure. the visuals are stunning. the script and voice acting is amazing and the story reels you in like a movie and makes you never want to put it down. i have never been a big RPG fan but this one has got me interested in the genre. although nothing can compare. this game deserves a 20/10! if you havent got this game get it! even if you have to buy a ps3 to play it. i guarantee it will not disappoint. sorry Kojima, naughty Dog have taken the throne. please hand in your crown and scepter peacefully. if this doesnt get GOTY then we know it's rigged! Expand
  78. GregorD
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    If I could give this game 11/10 I would. It is simply amazing from opening to end. The cinematics feel is never broken and the new stealth aspect brings a new level of gameplay to the table. Put simply, if you have a PS3 then get this game, if you dont have a PS3 then get one and play this game ASAP. This is proof that Naughty Dog are one of, if not the best game developer of this If I could give this game 11/10 I would. It is simply amazing from opening to end. The cinematics feel is never broken and the new stealth aspect brings a new level of gameplay to the table. Put simply, if you have a PS3 then get this game, if you dont have a PS3 then get one and play this game ASAP. This is proof that Naughty Dog are one of, if not the best game developer of this generation. The graphics are incredible, the detail minute. Get this game now, you will not regret it, this is the PS3s killer game. Expand
  79. AlexS
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    graphics aside, this game really delivers pure fun. The characters are funny, they action is intense, and I hope the ending will live up to the amazing material ive played through. Im 2 chapters away and I really don't want to be because that means the game will end. This game really is "that" good.
  80. Chasyboy
    Nov 9, 2009
    9
    Uncharted 2 starts off brilliant, very well done, great suspence, unexpected surprises around most corners, story is better than the original, which was also good. Straight into the action brilliant!! the way it should be. The enemies AI was much better than Killszone 2, which is one of the best around, the various enemies coming at you at the same time was awesome at times am sure Uncharted 2 starts off brilliant, very well done, great suspence, unexpected surprises around most corners, story is better than the original, which was also good. Straight into the action brilliant!! the way it should be. The enemies AI was much better than Killszone 2, which is one of the best around, the various enemies coming at you at the same time was awesome at times am sure you'll agree. I really enjoyed that side to this game. Headshot practice on a moving enemy is very hard, but such is what makes it a great game. On the other hand, what I thought was not so good was the yeti's who jumped around and never seemed to feel any the headshots I pumped into them, just smacking me around alot. The first game also had a crazy bit in it with alien type characters too which was strange and frustrating. The gunfights were tremendous at times, as were the train levels, with attacking helicoptors and bad guys everywhere. The chase scene up the mountains revealed some tremendous crashes and explosions. I sometimes was stalling just to take in the views lol. I, like most waited for this game for a long time and was mostly impressed by everything except until I was being chased around, the controls were harder to control, sometimes I was dying after jumping the wrong way to what I wanted Drake to jump? Was it just me or was it the same for you? The high mountain graphics were totally awesome, although better control of Drake during intense chase and fight scenes would be better than running into walls and unable to move, which happened to me on a couple of occassions. I would have given it a 10 if the close control of the character was more like Lara Croft games. Can't wait for the next instalment though if its anything like this, until then, see you online.... Expand
  81. SteveB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Fantastic. I became greatly attached to the single player characters because of the deceptively simple interactions which bread true to life relationships. The multi-player game continues to draw me in as I want to keep getting that next carrot but as I'm playing each match I forget about the carrot and love the experience. It is a rare game to find a game that the grind is what Fantastic. I became greatly attached to the single player characters because of the deceptively simple interactions which bread true to life relationships. The multi-player game continues to draw me in as I want to keep getting that next carrot but as I'm playing each match I forget about the carrot and love the experience. It is a rare game to find a game that the grind is what keeps you going but doesn't feel as though you are ever grinding. A Must Play for All PS3 users! Expand
  82. michaelk.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Wow this could be the best game i've played this year its a none stop rollercoster of fantastic set pieces and after compleating it i had to jump right back into the story to exparience these amazing scenes again. the graphics really are a standout feature of and testify what can happen when a developer has the time passion and budget to apply towards improving what was already a Wow this could be the best game i've played this year its a none stop rollercoster of fantastic set pieces and after compleating it i had to jump right back into the story to exparience these amazing scenes again. the graphics really are a standout feature of and testify what can happen when a developer has the time passion and budget to apply towards improving what was already a pretty game in drakes fortune, more thane once i had to stop playing to look around at my inviroment and gasp at the level of detail desplayed everywhere. the multi player is also fantastic despite the long wait in the lobbies its great to get into a competative game and use the skills you honed in the single player to dominate other people around the world (or just get blown away like me) in all this game is the very definition of epic and i have no hesitation putting my name next to the 10 i voted for it but now i have to go away there's a temple in napal that needs investigating. Expand
  83. WoW,THisgamereallyRox!
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    Hey! Ok, Uncharted 2 is one of the games that you won't forget in the rest of your life, this game is just perfect, since the storyline to the voice-acting, passing trough the gameplay, wich must be 9.9 (only a minor bug in the cover system, that is quite annoying doesnt make gameplay get a 10). Voice-Acting is spectacular, animations are fluid, graphics are unbeleiveble, story is Hey! Ok, Uncharted 2 is one of the games that you won't forget in the rest of your life, this game is just perfect, since the storyline to the voice-acting, passing trough the gameplay, wich must be 9.9 (only a minor bug in the cover system, that is quite annoying doesnt make gameplay get a 10). Voice-Acting is spectacular, animations are fluid, graphics are unbeleiveble, story is great, gameplay is 9.9/10, what else can i say? The game is perfect, GOTY 2009 for me, for sure, and probably GOTCentury, Naughty Dog, did another great job, Uncharted 1 was my favourite game to the date, now it lost the place, for it's sequel. BUY THIS GAME! Expand
  84. Kenny
    Dec 10, 2009
    10
    One of the best single player experience I have ever had with a game. They completely blew me away with this game. The first one was good but this was Great! Felt like a high budget Hollywood movie but as a game. They way the characters reacted with each other felt real. This game is gonna be one for the records. Have to give it to Sony for finally having a winner on there hands. Wish One of the best single player experience I have ever had with a game. They completely blew me away with this game. The first one was good but this was Great! Felt like a high budget Hollywood movie but as a game. They way the characters reacted with each other felt real. This game is gonna be one for the records. Have to give it to Sony for finally having a winner on there hands. Wish they had more exclusives like this. Expand
  85. JohnF.
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    No fanboy here -- I own all three consoles plus play on the PC, and this is my favorite game of the current console generation so far. It's not perfect; I give it a 9.75 rounded up to ten for this site -- it has some issues with glitches and freezes that you will notice more and more if you put a lot of time into the game, and it feels at times like it lacks originality. But this No fanboy here -- I own all three consoles plus play on the PC, and this is my favorite game of the current console generation so far. It's not perfect; I give it a 9.75 rounded up to ten for this site -- it has some issues with glitches and freezes that you will notice more and more if you put a lot of time into the game, and it feels at times like it lacks originality. But this game is the real deal. It's not often that a game comes out that almost everyone can agree is great, but this is one of them. The game does everything at a high level, from combat to multiplayer to graphics to voice acting to music. Many people have played through this game only to immediately start over and play it again because they don't want to stop playing. It is the closest thing right now you can get to actually feeling like you are on an Indiana Jones-like adventure right in your own home. If you have an interest in video games, you need to get your hands on this game and play it. It's that simple. Expand
  86. MikeC
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    It's an amazing game and does almost everything perfect. I played the game for 9 hours straight to beat the single player on hard and then went through it again on crushing the next day. This is truly a title that should not be missed. zgo buy it now and gasp at the jaw dropping graphics, thrilling action sequenses and the addciting online modes full with co-op, competitive, and It's an amazing game and does almost everything perfect. I played the game for 9 hours straight to beat the single player on hard and then went through it again on crushing the next day. This is truly a title that should not be missed. zgo buy it now and gasp at the jaw dropping graphics, thrilling action sequenses and the addciting online modes full with co-op, competitive, and machinama mode to create your own movies. Expand
  87. alibaba
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    If you're looking for an entertaining ride, look no further! uncharted 2 is probably one of the best games I've played in my 22 years of gaming. i'm tired of hearing people talk about the scoring system and all that nonsense about the game not being perfect. look if a game grabs you, puts a smile on your face and doesn't let you put the controller down then the game If you're looking for an entertaining ride, look no further! uncharted 2 is probably one of the best games I've played in my 22 years of gaming. i'm tired of hearing people talk about the scoring system and all that nonsense about the game not being perfect. look if a game grabs you, puts a smile on your face and doesn't let you put the controller down then the game deserves a 10. I give it a ten even though i found minor glitches and bugs here and there but overall the experience was amazing and that's what should count with games. Expand
  88. RayanG
    Oct 21, 2009
    10
    Outstanding! The best PS3 game I've played. I'm a recent PS3 owner waiting for a reason to buy one. I'm glad I did, because the Slim is great and Uncharted is undoubtly the best game I've played this generation. No, it's not perfect, but it's the closest thing I've seen to a perfect game since Ocarina of Time (no kidding). The Xbox 360 is still my best Outstanding! The best PS3 game I've played. I'm a recent PS3 owner waiting for a reason to buy one. I'm glad I did, because the Slim is great and Uncharted is undoubtly the best game I've played this generation. No, it's not perfect, but it's the closest thing I've seen to a perfect game since Ocarina of Time (no kidding). The Xbox 360 is still my best system overall, but Uncharted obliterates every 360 game. I'm glad I have both systems. Shame on so-called harcoregamers that don't have both systems and have the money to do so. Uncharted is cinematic, the script rivals Indiana Jones and National Treasure, the graphics are the best this generation. The only bad thing is that I cannot play this game with my 360 controller which I believe is superior in feel. Nonetheless Uncharted 2 is one of the best games I've played along with Ocarina of Time, GTA, MGS 4, Mario Galaxy, Half-Life 2, GoldenEye, Call of Duty 4, Gears of War, Halo, Little Big Planet, Fallout 3 and Wii Sports. Uncharted blasts all of them off the water, with the exception of Zelda (maybe). So yes, its worth the money. Expand
  89. kj
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    is b t joking?.... i think he is trying to imitate Sol T for being a fanboy... no one could possibly have that much trouble without being mentally disabled...... this game is absolutuly amazing in everyway (i play it more than cod, and i am a cod junkie)
  90. JackSparrow
    Dec 12, 2009
    10
    Plain and simple, this is the game we have all been waiting for.........game of the decade! From graphics to platforming, this is as good as it gets.
  91. TylerD
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Amazing. I played through the game three times in a row, and it never got boring for me. If you have a ps3, you must buy this game. If you do not have a ps3, you must buy a ps3, and then buy this game.
  92. IceTea
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    You might call it overrated, and you might say that it's all about the graphics, but then it's probably more you there is a problem with than the game. What do I think? Well, let's just say I'm having a hard time lifting my jaw up from the floor. Epicness FTW!
  93. Novaria
    Dec 21, 2009
    10
    Fab game, cut scenes are seamless, effortless pick up and play and with the 5 play modes its a game for everyone.....a must in any gamers collection
  94. RafaelA
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is beyond great, beyond beautiful. The game has such an awesome story, so "absorving"... And the graphics, are something, that you can't discuss... That truly shows the power of the PS3 over the Xbox 360. For me, i think the Xbox 360 fan boys are cryin' out like BABIES! Simply a great, awesome job that Naughty Dog did... If you see, the Xbox CANT support Uncharted 2, This game is beyond great, beyond beautiful. The game has such an awesome story, so "absorving"... And the graphics, are something, that you can't discuss... That truly shows the power of the PS3 over the Xbox 360. For me, i think the Xbox 360 fan boys are cryin' out like BABIES! Simply a great, awesome job that Naughty Dog did... If you see, the Xbox CANT support Uncharted 2, due the hardware and media disk dont support it. Expand
  95. mattf
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This game is by far the best game i have played all year... i didn't want to give it a chance but i'm so happy i did. Level design is beautiful, great mechanics, great story, great action and cinematography. I'm not a huge PS3 fan but this game absolutely blew my mind. There is not one point in the game that is dull. Exciting and fun all the way through. This game is a must buy.
  96. BH
    Oct 22, 2009
    7
    The most over-rated game since GTAIV. Don't believe the hype. The graphics, which everyone seems to be raving about are definitely not amazing. Theres nothing wrong with them but they certainly aren't anything special. And the story, well lets just say if you've seen an Indiana Jones movie before then nothing in this story will surprise you. Gameplay is incredibly The most over-rated game since GTAIV. Don't believe the hype. The graphics, which everyone seems to be raving about are definitely not amazing. Theres nothing wrong with them but they certainly aren't anything special. And the story, well lets just say if you've seen an Indiana Jones movie before then nothing in this story will surprise you. Gameplay is incredibly repetitive, especially the platforming and puzzle sections which feel like they were added solely to boost the campaign's length (8-9 hour campaign) The best bit about the game is it's online competitive mode, which concentrates solely on gunplay, Uncharted 2's best part. Don't get me wrong the game isn't bad by any stretch, even I will admit that the voice acting is very good, and you will probably enjoy your time playing it, but it's still nowhere near a 9.6/10 game. Expand
  97. AM
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    DV actually rated this 3 because he wants it not to have such a high overall score of user ratings, and so does everyone else who rates this less than a 6. My MOTHER enjoys this game. It's simple, fresh, and has elements of the best game genres: Shooters, Action-Adventure and Platformers. Plus is looks visually solid. No, really. It is SOLID. The character models, when in-game, DV actually rated this 3 because he wants it not to have such a high overall score of user ratings, and so does everyone else who rates this less than a 6. My MOTHER enjoys this game. It's simple, fresh, and has elements of the best game genres: Shooters, Action-Adventure and Platformers. Plus is looks visually solid. No, really. It is SOLID. The character models, when in-game, aren't as great as the overall environments, but they still get a huge thumbs-up. Then there's the multiplayer... Balanced, with a great matchmaking system and constantly updating community service and servers. A no-brainer purchase for any PS3 owner. Even if you don't like third person shooters, just grab this one and beat it on very easy, then just keep watching the cutscenes. They're THAT incredible. Expand
  98. ABBAABBAA
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    Freaking amazing game, and insanely fun too. This just continues to prove why the PS3 (which still has yet to have a game that meets its technological limit) is better than the 360
  99. FPSMaster
    Dec 27, 2009
    7
    I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look I'm one of the people that also feels against the rest of the world when it comes to this game. Maybe I'm just jaded from this generation's small leap graphically over last generation, but I'm just not impressed by this game's graphics. They don't look bad, but I feel they look too colorful & over saturated for my tastes. I also think they sometimes look really plain & cheap & poorly textured compared to other games this generation that have a meaty & hefty look to them with high res textures. The platforming is OK at best but extremely linear. I'd rather play POP:SOT or those horrible Assassins Creed games for my platforming fix. Shooting feels too light & chintsy & almost tacked on which carries over into the terrible tacked on multiplayer. Maybe it's because I was a 360 fan all generation until recently that makes me not understand why everyone thinks this game is so amazing, but like with KZ2, Infamous, UC1 & MGS4, I feel I saw all this years ago on 360 where it all looked & played better. Expand
  100. WillT
    Dec 28, 2009
    9
    Absoluely fantastic and superior to the original in every way, giving it a 10 however would make it the perfect game, its not, but definatly the best on PS3
  101. Sep 29, 2010
    0
    A tour de force of action adventure games! This game shows Tomb Raider how it's done with panache, style and a knowing grin spread across its face. Superlative set piece after superlative set piece, just when you think it can't get any better, it does. Brilliantly paced story made me feel like I was trapped in an Indiana Jones movie. Loved every second, if you havn't played this and youA tour de force of action adventure games! This game shows Tomb Raider how it's done with panache, style and a knowing grin spread across its face. Superlative set piece after superlative set piece, just when you think it can't get any better, it does. Brilliantly paced story made me feel like I was trapped in an Indiana Jones movie. Loved every second, if you havn't played this and you like action adventures, you're in for a treat! Collapse
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.