• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 13, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5498 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 4, 2017
    8
    Juegazo, el primer Uncharted al que jugué, aunque ahora los gráficos parezcan malos debido a que ya tiene sus años, la historia se disfruta igual. Para mí, el mejor de la saga.
  2. Nov 24, 2017
    10
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a 2009 action-adventure third-person shooter platform video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony.

    + Fun Story and Amazing Adventure + Fun and Charismatic Characters + Excellent Gameplay (Good Shooting Cover Mechanics, Fun Puzzles, and Fun Platform Sections) + Excellent Graphics and Animations + Amazing Action Sequences + Amazing
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a 2009 action-adventure third-person shooter platform video game developed by Naughty Dog and published by Sony.

    + Fun Story and Amazing Adventure
    + Fun and Charismatic Characters
    + Excellent Gameplay (Good Shooting Cover Mechanics, Fun Puzzles, and Fun Platform Sections)
    + Excellent Graphics and Animations
    + Amazing Action Sequences
    + Amazing Presentation
    + Fun Multiplayer
    + Great Soundtrack

    One of the best action-adventure games of all time
    Expand
  3. Nov 17, 2017
    9
    It looks better than the first part.
    Beautiful views and better animations.
    However, controls are less precise and more difficult to deal with. The story even stranger. At times it simply asks to be called **** Especially because of a really long chain of clues. However, it's very pleasantly written. I quite enjoyed time spent in this game. It's well made, long enough, and
    It looks better than the first part.
    Beautiful views and better animations.
    However, controls are less precise and more difficult to deal with.

    The story even stranger. At times it simply asks to be called **** Especially because of a really long chain of clues.
    However, it's very pleasantly written.

    I quite enjoyed time spent in this game. It's well made, long enough, and balanced just enough, as well. Definitely worth to try if you are up to that age of games with storytelling.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2017
    9
    One of the best single player experience that you can find on ps3 and one of not many shooters that I really enjoyed. Amazing graphics for its time, and very likable cast of characters.
  5. Oct 29, 2017
    9
    Uncharted 2 improves on every aspect of the original - surpassing it by miles and standing on its own as a video game triumph. This sequel embeds fantastic storytelling with memorable characters and technologically outstanding set pieces to weave together an almost perfect game. This game flows extremely well as you play through it; the pacing has been done perfectly and there is never aUncharted 2 improves on every aspect of the original - surpassing it by miles and standing on its own as a video game triumph. This sequel embeds fantastic storytelling with memorable characters and technologically outstanding set pieces to weave together an almost perfect game. This game flows extremely well as you play through it; the pacing has been done perfectly and there is never a boring scene - every minute of this game had me engrossed. The sense of adventure has been significantly increased in this game as it takes you to a variety of locations that have been created with amazing detail.

    The characters in this game are developed very well thanks to a fantastic script, making the action sequences and moments of near-death experiences all the more intense and emotional. The gameplay in this game is much more varied than the other one, however, there is still some present issues with the shooting mechanics – but it can really be overlooked compares to all the pros of the game. Overall, this is a fantastic sequel and one of the best games of the decade; it’s practically flawless. Uncharted 2 gets a 95%
    Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2017
    8
    Otra obra maestra de Naughty Dog. Muy buena historia, excelentes personajes, gran jugabilidad y Nathan Drake, que él solo ya hace de este un juego buenísimo.
  7. Oct 29, 2017
    8
    "Камень. Ножницы. Бумага." от игровой индустрии (Uncharted 2: Among Thieves)

    Помните за что я ругал первый "Анч"? Грубо говоря за неопределённость. Смогли ли ND что-то исправить во втором? Практически нет! Абсурд в U2AT? Имеется. Излишние перестрелки? В достатке. И вроде бы всё на этом. Даю не больше звезды и дело с концом, однако кое что превращает эти американские горки чуть ли не в
    "Камень. Ножницы. Бумага." от игровой индустрии (Uncharted 2: Among Thieves)

    Помните за что я ругал первый "Анч"? Грубо говоря за неопределённость. Смогли ли ND что-то исправить во втором? Практически нет! Абсурд в U2AT? Имеется. Излишние перестрелки? В достатке. И вроде бы всё на этом. Даю не больше звезды и дело с концом, однако кое что превращает эти американские горки чуть ли не в эталонные, а именно филигранно подобранный темпоритм на ряду с качественной спайкой рельс, в виде переходов внутри истории посредством внимания к деталям и внутреигровых ситуёвин в самих экшен моментах. Плюс ко всему в этой части добавили лёгонькую pvp убивалку времени, так что после прохождения сюжета можно позабавиться денёк другой в ней. И если в UDF каждый игровой аспект пытался перетянуть одеяло на себя и когда это чему-то удавалось, игра разваливалась. То тут эти же аспекты, как будто играют в "Камень, ножницы, бумага" и у них всех постоянно выпадает ничья, что в конечном результате позволяет мне поставить игре более высокий бал чем в первый раз
    Expand
  8. Oct 23, 2017
    10
    Given its a 2009 PS3 game, the graphics are amazing. It has an incredible storyline paired with great characters. Hard to find any complaints, if anything the incessant climbing might get tiring.
  9. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    I recommend it to everyone is the best game and the best chain to exist ..

    From the development of creative studio Naghty Dogg .. Fancy graphics and beautiful game and carry with it a very terrible story.
  10. Aug 29, 2017
    7
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is great action game that can be enjoyed by all. Uncharted 2 is one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time which I can see why but I believe that it is not the best in the series. Uncharted 2 had made many graphical improvements since the first entry but graphically it won’t earn any rewards by today’s standards. The game does feature breathtakingUncharted 2: Among Thieves is great action game that can be enjoyed by all. Uncharted 2 is one of the most critically acclaimed games of all time which I can see why but I believe that it is not the best in the series. Uncharted 2 had made many graphical improvements since the first entry but graphically it won’t earn any rewards by today’s standards. The game does feature breathtaking environments that look quite impressive for how old the game is. The game also has a variety of settings from a jungle and city environments to the the snowy peaks of the Himalayan mountains. Sadly, The characters models still look cartoony and fake. There are also frequent blurry textures and basic models throughout the environment that show that the game has aged a lot. Uncharted 2 tells a basic but well acted story about the main character Nathan Drake returning on a new quest to find the ancient city of Shambala. The returning characters of Nathan Drake, Victor Sullivan and Elena Fisher are even more funny and well acted than the previous game. The game also features some new great characters that add to the entertaining witty banter between characters. I wish more could be done with the story but it is overall fine. Uncharted 2 just like the previous game is a 3rd person shooter where the player will fight enemies, solve puzzles, and do some platforming. The gunplay is great and has more impact than the previous one and features some great action set pieces. The biggest improvement Uncharted 2 has made to the original is the improved platforming. The platforming is now no longer stiff and clunky. Uncharted 2 does a lot right but I feel it is not a perfect game and lacks the polish that 4th game has. Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is an enjoyable game that doesn’t bring anything new to the table but it is still a lot of fun.

    7/10: Good
    Expand
  11. Jul 12, 2017
    9
    Uncharted 2 is the perfect example a sequel improving upon an original game in every way. That is no exaggeration this game does every single possible thing better than Uncharted 1.
    The story and characters are really good. The plot is pretty similar to 1 but is paced and told in a way more interesting way. The characters are all great too. Chloe, Elena, Tenzen, and Drake being the main
    Uncharted 2 is the perfect example a sequel improving upon an original game in every way. That is no exaggeration this game does every single possible thing better than Uncharted 1.
    The story and characters are really good. The plot is pretty similar to 1 but is paced and told in a way more interesting way. The characters are all great too. Chloe, Elena, Tenzen, and Drake being the main standouts but the villains are also really cool too.
    The gameplay is really fun with the gun fights feeling way more fun this time around and the combat benefitting from the added stealth elements. Climbing is fun like always
    The music is basically as good if not a little better than 1, with Drake's theme overall being quite an improvement. The performances are all top of the line which should really be expected from anything Naughty Dog at this point.
    Graphically the games look really good. The PS4 version definitely makes the game hold up to today's standards even if it doesn't compare to games like 4.
    The set pieces are really good too, while not as good as 3s they manage to be better than 1 and 4s.
    If your like me and saw a lot of potential in Uncharted 1 but don't think it was fully realized you will be very satisfied with this game.
    Expand
  12. Jul 6, 2017
    8
    El mejor de la saga Uncharted con diferencia, en su momento lo jugué y me lo habré pasado unas 5 veces rejugandolo en distintas dificultades. Su historia pese a ser un videojuego no está mal, el villano es el menos ridi de todos que han aparecido en la saga con recortada dispara perdigones y su acento ruso hablando inglés. Las zonas nevadas de lo mejor en la anterior generación destacandoEl mejor de la saga Uncharted con diferencia, en su momento lo jugué y me lo habré pasado unas 5 veces rejugandolo en distintas dificultades. Su historia pese a ser un videojuego no está mal, el villano es el menos ridi de todos que han aparecido en la saga con recortada dispara perdigones y su acento ruso hablando inglés. Las zonas nevadas de lo mejor en la anterior generación destacando el templo de hielo, impresionante. Expand
  13. Jun 28, 2017
    6
    The landscapes are gorgeous, I gave it a 6 because of the clunky climbing mechanic, the inconsistent rules (some times you die when falling from a small heighta just because it was not the right way or some water streams are instant kill and others are not) and the waves after waves after waves of uninspired firefights which are not the reason I go into an adventure game, I'd rather playThe landscapes are gorgeous, I gave it a 6 because of the clunky climbing mechanic, the inconsistent rules (some times you die when falling from a small heighta just because it was not the right way or some water streams are instant kill and others are not) and the waves after waves after waves of uninspired firefights which are not the reason I go into an adventure game, I'd rather play shooters for that, story is very interesting and comments from Nathan Drake are hilarious but I found this game incessant combat tedious. Expand
  14. Jun 27, 2017
    8
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is a much better game than the first and I would like to say I still go back and forth on this or 3 on which I like more. Uncharted 2 has much better visuals, has a great opening and the train sequence is very outstanding. The biggest criticisms I had for the first game have been largely fixed in the sequel. Notice that I say largely, because there are stillUncharted 2: Among Thieves is a much better game than the first and I would like to say I still go back and forth on this or 3 on which I like more. Uncharted 2 has much better visuals, has a great opening and the train sequence is very outstanding. The biggest criticisms I had for the first game have been largely fixed in the sequel. Notice that I say largely, because there are still issues present, enough I'd wager doesn't make it the 10/10 game critics and fans of the series would like to give it.

    Visual-wise it is very impressive and dwarfs the original like it was a tech demo. The snowy Tibetan mountains, the foliage, the war-zone cities and rain effects are quite good. Despite it still at 30fps it was very smooth on not dipping too much at points.

    Voicework is far improved, and I really love Nathan and Elena's dialogue together. Of course all across the board every one puts on a show with voicework and really can feel like a film and game rolled into one. Whether that's a good or bad thing is subjective, but I can see the allure of fans who love this and will have to agree that the delivery is far better than the first.

    Story is still not great. It still has alot of foolish writing and a thin plot because people tend to attribute grand spectacles and voice work as storytelling. That is not true and it's fine. Indiana Jones doesn't have a super well done plot, it was the action and adventure that people loved and Nathan on a moving train shooting down rockets and helicopters is just being a big dumb action movie. There is nothing wrong with that and I like that alot.

    The combat improves very marginally. Stealth is introduced and is very clumsy and up until the last of us and uncharted 4 I never found any of the trilogy that good. In fact I hated it, so it was just better to shoot first and ask questions later. The enemies still can take more damage than I would like, but adding armored units to regular ones and shields do make strategies open up.

    The villains are not as mustache twirling, but they are not as good as say Marlow or Rafe. Lazaravic does have a intimidation factor, but the overuse of Russian bad guys in many shooters just made it hard for me to really get into his goals and mind. The final confrontation with him in the Tree of Life is definitely better than Navarro, but can be a bit awkward to fight considering its shooting the resin near him to damage him in a running and gunning sort of manner.

    The level design is a huge step up from the first and I will say its pretty good. From museums to jungles to trains to icy mountains, it is refreshing to see the sequence of events change, even if you still fight enemies everywhere you go.

    The multiplayer is ok, but I don't really think it needed it (unlike Gears of War that did).

    People often attribute this game as one of the best games ever made or of all time and I disagree strongly with that. Is it good? Yes. Is it great? at times absolutely. But it can have some stupid moments that is all merely putting you on a set piece and not letting your own creativity sing. The cinematic experience is pretty cool don't get me wrong, but having some control of my situation goes a long way. Uncharted 2 is definitely a well-done game overall. I like it and would recommend it, but I would not hail it as a masterpiece.
    Expand
  15. May 23, 2017
    10
    The perfect sequel! Enhances on Drake's Fortune in every way. Bigger set pieces, better action, great story with dastardly characters. The bench mark for all tomb raiding action adventure games. If you own a PS3 you need to have played this game!
  16. May 14, 2017
    9
    Una gran secuela, otro gran exlusivo y una maravillosa aventura. Un juego muy continuista, con la misma premisa, la busqueda de un tesoro, buena presentacion de los personajes, jugabilidad continuista, mas de lo mismo, un juego para todo el mundo, si os encanto la primera parte, este es igual.
  17. May 6, 2017
    10
    As Nate's second story of semi-realistic, treasure hunting, Among Thieves expands upon an already amazing cast, script and overall experience! His second adventure is easily better than the first; yet saying that isn't fair, as they were both phenomenal adventures. Uncharted is, by far the best action adventure game out there. It isn't too complex for anyone to pick up and get into andAs Nate's second story of semi-realistic, treasure hunting, Among Thieves expands upon an already amazing cast, script and overall experience! His second adventure is easily better than the first; yet saying that isn't fair, as they were both phenomenal adventures. Uncharted is, by far the best action adventure game out there. It isn't too complex for anyone to pick up and get into and the characters remain likable and are well written.

    What truly makes Uncharted a perfect experience...well is the simply experiencing the story, scenery and action that this game has. Along with that, there are plenty of extras and harder difficulties to keep you busy, even after the game-end. Also, there is a co-op mode, which was pretty fun to play and focused more on missions to complete, which slightly added a bit of replay into this second title.

    Start to finish, Uncharted 2 is nothing but a fun and engaging experience almost everyone is will love.
    Expand
  18. May 4, 2017
    8
    Uncharted 2: Among Thieves fixes the issues of its predecessor Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, with a more decent story, gameplay and mechanics. I don't like the mutants and boss fight though. But overall a fantastic gaming experience. Strong 8.
  19. May 3, 2017
    6
    Much better than the first, but it has pacing issues. I didn't care about the game until about 4-5 hours in, which is nearly half of the game. I hope 3 has better pacing.
  20. Apr 14, 2017
    5
    Techniquement, c'est un véritable tour de force : encore plus beau qu'Uncharted 1, un régal ! La mise en scène est aussi spectaculaire que le scénario qui se perd en improbables rebondissements et le ré-équilibrage entre bastons et plate-forme est un succès, contrairement au premier qui privilégiait trop l'action.

    Hélas, c'est aussi un long couloir scripté jusqu'à la nausée avec encore
    Techniquement, c'est un véritable tour de force : encore plus beau qu'Uncharted 1, un régal ! La mise en scène est aussi spectaculaire que le scénario qui se perd en improbables rebondissements et le ré-équilibrage entre bastons et plate-forme est un succès, contrairement au premier qui privilégiait trop l'action.

    Hélas, c'est aussi un long couloir scripté jusqu'à la nausée avec encore trop de QTE à la con ici et là, ce qui me fait préférer le premier très scripté lui aussi mais qui donnait un peu moins l'impression de jouer à un film interactif. Trop de séquences hollywoodiennes qui en mettent plein les yeux sans aucune liberté d'action, trop de rails... pourtant le niveau du train (!) est prodigieux. Mais c'est une exception. A vouloir trop en faire, Naughty Dog s'est un peu perdu en route.
    Expand
  21. Apr 13, 2017
    10
    This game is in my top favorites i think is the best Uncharted to date the best multiplayer and the campaing is unforgettable is way to epic really loved this game played it a lot
  22. Mar 30, 2017
    9
    Characters: 8/10
    Storyline: 10/10
    Villians: 5/10
    Entertainment: 9.9/10
    9/10. Great Characters, Sucky Villians, Awesome Entertainment, Amazaing Storyline.
  23. Mar 20, 2017
    10
    This is one of the most exciting videogames I have played in my life. The sense of adventure it manages to convey is unparalleled thanks to impressive environments, storytelling and music that wrap you an put you inside the riveting action. The gameplay is delightful in its simplicity, and in combination with its astounding technical department, creates some of the most impressive actionThis is one of the most exciting videogames I have played in my life. The sense of adventure it manages to convey is unparalleled thanks to impressive environments, storytelling and music that wrap you an put you inside the riveting action. The gameplay is delightful in its simplicity, and in combination with its astounding technical department, creates some of the most impressive action sequences ever seen in a game.

    Out of the four Unchated, this is certainly my favorite, and the impression it left on me will remain forever.
    Expand
  24. Mar 15, 2017
    8
    Second part of PlayStation 3 tech demo. This time there's bit more exploring but still same scheme, kill all enemies in area to progress and repetat till end with top graphics quality.
  25. Mar 13, 2017
    9
    Che fantastico gioco! Una luce a ciel sereno nel lontano 2009...
    meccaniche di gameplay e storia mozzafiato!
    I difetti si riscontrano peró nel parkour un po' frustrante e un paranormale un po' forzato.
    VOTO 92/100
  26. Mar 11, 2017
    2
    Why everyone loves Uncharted 2? Did Naughty Dog lobotomized you into thinking that it was great?
    The only thing i see as a piece of storytelling is Indiana Jones without the intelligent and emotional script or the memorable characters and as a videogame a Prince of Persia and Gears of War mashup without originality and almost no innovation.
    The first Uncharted was dumb fun, it had
    Why everyone loves Uncharted 2? Did Naughty Dog lobotomized you into thinking that it was great?
    The only thing i see as a piece of storytelling is Indiana Jones without the intelligent and emotional script or the memorable characters and as a videogame a Prince of Persia and Gears of War mashup without originality and almost no innovation.
    The first Uncharted was dumb fun, it had familiar but likable characters and a pretty good third act with scary monsters; however, in this sequel, the developers and writers thought they were making the next Mona Lisa and bragged about how their game had a better storyline than most other games in the market, and boy they were wrong. Almost nothing happens in this game, there are no stakes, there are no consequences, it's just bland.
    PD: If you think that that bald guy was a good villain, you need to rethink your life.
    Expand
  27. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    A remarkable game with memorable moments that define third-person shooters. There are brilliant voice actors and characters, and amazing cinematic quality.
    That's all I have to say to explain how good this game is.
  28. Mar 2, 2017
    9
    Uncharted 2 is by far the best game in the series, it's perfectly balanced between a solid presentation and engaging gameplay, while it gives you a great story to follow.
  29. Feb 28, 2017
    10
    Too many sequels fall short of prior amazing games and franchises, but Among Thieves is by far the exception. The game is a remarkably refined version of the original that is a can't miss for anyone.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 105 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 105
  2. Negative: 0 out of 105
  1. 100
    Spread across twenty-six chapters is a story as playful and worthwhile as the gameplay.
  2. Graphically stunning, Uncharted 2: Among Thieves is, first of all, an interactive adventure, one that feels like a movie and even has a storyline of a movie. Most gameplay situations have been tailored in order to stun the player with originality and identification, and the end result is absolutely amazing.
  3. Among Thieves is all about constant movement. And even movement on top of movement. It grabbed me from the beginning and didn't let go for twelve hours. Once I finished, all I could think about was playing it again. More than a defining game for the PS3, Uncharted 2 is a defining game of this console generation.