User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2734 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    Upon playing the Dessert level I was reminiscent of being a kid and watching Benchmark demos back in the day, getting a glimpse of the future of gaming, and being in awe of the footage I was watching. This game surpassed some of those demos for me, and at certain points it was unreal to me that I was actually playing a video game.

    The waves impact with the elements around the levels, and
    the water floating back and forth on the surface as the rain poured down, took my breath away. Climbing on the walls of a ship, not knowing which way is up was disorienting and intriguing. Chasing someone through the corridors of an old town and seeing the care that has gone into the polygons in the background is one of the things that truly separates Uncharted 3 from the competition. The game as a whole consists of so many beautiful moments, both in regards to the the story and the presentation.

    Combining elements of regret, loyalty, and adventure. The story is about a man with an unclear motivation, on a pursuit of buried secrets of the past, and the narrative builds around how his ambitions affect the people around him, allowing the player to get involved in the characters, and relate to them, which is unusually deep for a video game.

    Naughty Dog as a studio has grown so much in the last years, and they have accomplished most of the challenges they have bestowed upon themselves for this game. Some have claimed the game is too cinematic and linear, but considering that it's what the Adventure genre has always been about, it's kind of like saying a comedy film made you laugh too much. In truth, the Uncharted series doesn't really do much that hasn't been done before, but rather builds upon the best elements of gaming and perfects it - taking it to a whole other level. Although not the same leap forward as Uncharted 2, the game is certainly not any less ambitious. And to say that this game has succeeded my expectations would be an understatement.
    Expand
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    9
    I really like the uncharted series but held off on this one because i heard mixed reviews from friends about the game . well i have to say after playing it for myself i think its another great entry into the uncharted franchise . getting the negitive stuff out of the way quikly . the story isn't as strong as U2's and the villian some have told me was better the U2's main boss was just BS. U2's main Boss was vastily better done . also the supporting characters outside of sully just felt tossed in . That being said every thing els about the game was well done it feels like the Uncharted we know and love . there are new guns lots of fun intense sceanes that get your blood pumping and bring that movie feel in (though again not as strong as U2) . The online also has been improved and is now alot faster to get into a match unlike U2 was . All in all U3 is a great game that every uncharted fan should have and makes me kick myself for waiting as long as i did for getting it . Expand
  3. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    The best chapter in the saga. Improves what the second chapter did very well, both for single player and multiplayer. A must have for all fans of third person action. A game that will keep you glued to the screen until the end without ever get bored.
  4. Dec 29, 2012
    4
    Nothing groundbreaking compared to the previous installment. The game is enjoyable but it's obvious that Naughty Dog was being lazy. Overall a step back compared to Uncharted 2.
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    While uncharted 3 is a great game, you can't help but feel a little déjà vu playing this. Some stages do feel repetitive. The plot and humor are still there in good proportion, but there is something just missing!
    I would definitely recommend this game but out of the 3 uncharted games, Among Thieves still ranks the best!
  6. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    When we just about thought that Nate and co had just stole the PS3 and made off with being called the best game of all time, the sequel shows up and snatches the PS3. Uncharted 3 is quite simply the most epic game on PS3 and quite easily the best action adventure game in existance. Some might be turned off with the inherent familiarity and the slightly iffy shooting controls, but otherwise this is pitch perfect. Taking you From London England Bars to French Chateaus and beyond, Uncharted 3 never stops with the epic moments. The minute to minute gameplay is so masterfully crafted that you rarely get time to put your feet up. Drake and his friend Sully are explored as characters in terms of their history and their uncanny likenesses to each other. The visuals are always pleasing- as can be expected of any Uncharted game and the countless epic moments just reinforce the unmatched production values. It might be waxing lyrical in the same vein as Uncharted 2, but Uncharted 3 is every bit as good and buffed to a fine sheen that is inarguably the most stellar achievement the PS3 has accomplished. Uncharted 4 has its work cut out for it. Expand
  7. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Can you define this game in just one word? Yes, the word would be "Subtle". Drake doesn't just move trough the area. No, Drake moves like a person, he grasps the handrail wen running upstairs. He touches the wall wen walking by. Stumbling and sometimes clumsy, just like a normal person does, watching Drake handling things is a pleasure for the eye. ****** This game is an adventure, it gives you a look into the gaming future. And the future looks bride! ****** Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    "BlackRabbits" - This guy can barely speak English and the fact that he even compares this masterpiece to a game like COD is a JOKE! First, learn the difference between these two games and then make an inform decision. Don't judge Uncharted just because it doesn't play like your "Favorite shooter". You must also be an XBOX360 owner by the sounds of it, and you're just bitter at the fact that you do not own a PS3 system. Kasparov5 - You expected too much from the game. I don't see where or why you decided to give this game a "0" you must really have terrible taste for greatness. Overall, THIS IS SIMPLY A MASTERPIECE! A game that only once in a long while comes along and is this gorgeously entertaining. AMAZING! If I could give it a 16+ I would. Expand
  9. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    I gave Uncharted 2 a top ten. This sequel though had the worst story. They dropped the ball way to many times during gameplay. You couldn't feel anything for the characters, non of the new characters got properly introduced. The game ended like **** everything was just ****
  10. Nov 5, 2011
    6
    I'm very disappointed in Uncharted 3. Having completed the campaign once, I don't even want to bother going back to play it again, not even for collectibles or trophies. Aiming in both Single Player and Multiplayer has undergone a complete overhaul - for the worse. Input lag, over use of aim assist, and a nearly grid-based zoom aiming ruin the gunplay elements. Character animations are also significantly downgraded from Uncharted 2. Drake's model and animation looks (and feels) like he's perpetually drunk as he lumbers around corners and touches every single wall he encounters. As you can imagine, this only makes gunfights even more frustrating.

    Where have the puzzles gone? In the course of the entire game, I opened my journal a whopping FIVE times. Five. There have been very few puzzles and most of the ones that are in the game are so pathetically easy a chimp can figure them out. Exploration is gone too. Very few places give you the opportunity to explore. The game just pushes you from one spot to the next. Invisible walls and texture blocking is everywhere. I knew exploration was thrown under the bus when, after only an hour in the game, I hit a spot where I found 5 hidden treasures in rapid sucession in less than a minute. These are things, along with the witty banter, that MADE Uncharted. In Uncharted 3, puzzles and exploration have been replaced with gunplay, gunplay and more gunplay. I'll come out and say it outright: The gunplay mechanics in Uncharted have always been the weakest link in the game. NaughtyDog took most of what made the franchise and just replaced it with boring, tedious, gunfights. Then when you're in the gunfights, they make the game "harder" by swarming you with enemies while giving you very few pick up options. I have turned off the game in frustration several times because of gunfight sequences where I'm sitting here with a pistol and an AR - and there's nothing else to be had other than an SMG to replace my pistol - while having to fight two or more enemies in full armor, or with riot shields. Next thing you know, I get one of them down, am almost out of ammo from trying to get through that one's armor and/or headshot them, and then I'm swarmed by 5-7 more mobs that spawned after the first big mob died. Meanwhile, I'm running around like a chicken trying to find ammo, but there's little room to maneuver in most fight sequences because, unlike prior Uncharted titles, the combat areas are ridiculously small with very few places to climb. It's ridiculous and not fun because - yep, gonna repeat myself - the gunplay in Uncharted has always been its weakest element.

    Then there's the fact that the walls apparently have glue on them and trying to scramble away from mobs ends up in death because you end up getting stuck in cover and are being shot from all sides while trying to get unstuck from the wall/box/et cetera. The story is DECENT, not great. Uncharted 2 raised the bar for interactive story telling. This one leaves a LOT to be desired. All the secondary characters are thrown in and discarded, with exception to Sully. I've seen these shadow villains only a few times over the course of the game; I don't feel like they're that big of a threat. The story behind why we're going where we're going feels like a major stretch. I know Uncharted 1 and 2 were about Drake and his "relationships" while 3 is supposed to be about Drake and Sully, but I'm not really feeling the character building there. In fact, we've seen about as much between Drake and Sully that we always see except now we know how they met. The story is undoubtedly better than many, but just not up to par with the prior two games.

    Credit where its due: The game is beautiful but it's not anywhere near as fun as Uncharted or Uncharted 2.

    IMO, this is, by far, the weakest in the series. With all of the aforementioned issues, plus the gutting of small additions, such as gameplay unlocks and the cutscene viewer, it feels like NaughtyDog simply cut corners to get the game out to retail.
    Expand
  11. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Absolutely pheunominal, this game is great. Big picture spectacles dont shock and aww me but man when the cruise liner blows a hole in the side and it rolls over in the middle of the ocean. Take the elevator down to the ball room and damn, the absoluetly best setting in gaming history. WOW. All I can say is WOW. Then the multiplayer, amazing. Multiplatform climbing stealth kills and yada yada. Only down side is the campaign is a little short. Expand
  12. Oct 23, 2012
    10
    A masterpiece in the world of gaming. Don't listen to any of the negative reviews. Those idiots prefer CoD or some other crap, and they clearly haven't even played the game themselves. Uncharted 3 is a masterpiece of a game and is a gorgeous cinematic experience that stands out from the cliched cinematics used today.

    I can honestly say that the Uncharted Trilogy is the only fantastic
    trilogy of games aside from Mass Effect. These two trilogies show that gaming is a form of art just like cinema. Expand
  13. Nov 1, 2011
    9
    Oh look, another breathtaking Uncharted game and the trolls and Xbox fanboys are out in force trying to lower the user score. How pathetically predictable. Whatever other people may say there are no major flaws in this game. Sure, the Uncharted games are linear and you could argue they lack genuine innovation but if ther's one game series that shows the importance of linearity in game design it's this. Furthermore, since when did a game have to be innovative to be great? Besides, what Uncharted 3 does well it does better than just about any other game namely looking like the most spectacular action movie you've ever seen while still feeling very much like like a game. No it's not a massive improvement on Uncharted 2 but as that was one of the most commercially and critically successful games of this generation that isn't a surprise or a problem. It's all here - polished gameplay, incredible graphics, peerless cut scenes and jaw dropping set pieces. I didn't expect anything less! Expand
  14. Nov 6, 2011
    8
    The main reason why I bought this game at first place was because my cousin urge me too and I have no game to buy for my PS3 in a long time so I gave it a try, color me surprise it's actually a good one. It's not a perfect game due to the lack of actually having a good plot for the 3rd chapter in the series because it felt loose and never gave a satisfying conclusion. I was wondering how I could finish this game if the starting is already wearing me down but lucky for me I finished all 22 chapters and I will say it's one the best PS3 gaming experience I'll ever have (although the game is just way too short for my liking), yes the aiming is at times frustrating but it was never bad enough to discourage for enjoying the game... while I do think the game holds many flaws but minor ones, now I'll await a good multi-player from my cousin XD. Expand
  15. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game deserves the praise it is getting. IGN, a trusted website, doesn't just give out perfect 10's lightly. You are hooked from beginning to end! A must own.
  16. Nov 25, 2012
    9
    There are a lot of loose ends that dont get tied up in this game. The game was going in an awesome direction but the ending left me wanting more. the graphics and production are top notch. The past two games had a supernatural theme to them and I feel like they tried too hard to try and trick you into thinking thats where they were going again. Great game though
  17. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    is a master piece from the beginning to the end,graphic,story characters,music,all in this game is almost perfect,go and buy it is the best game of this year.
  18. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    This game has really made an impact on me, I've played Uncharted and Uncharted 2 but this game managed to top them both. This game has it's flaws, for example the controls can be slightly annoying but they were like this in previous games and this time around it's less of an issue. Multiplayer has kept me hooked, the multiplayer maps don't seem as basic as they were in Uncharted 2, but more should have been included this time around. The flaws of this game seem hidden under the fact that is the most breathtaking game this generation, an essential purchase for any gamer around. Expand
  19. Dec 3, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception is the best game of 2011! The characters, the graphics, the sound, the story â
  20. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Wow. Just. Wow. This game is absolutely incredible. The graphics, the gameplay, the story, the action set pieces, the multiplayer, oh my god it is unbelievable. I thought Uncharted 2 was too awesome for its own good then this came along. Though shorter than Uncharted 2 by story, it is more focused and varied and this in my opinion is the best Uncharted story yet. Graphics wise, it has a more enhanced engine but Uncharted 2 already pushed the PS3 through the limit and this game was no brainer.Gameplay hasn't changed much with the exception of a more emphasized combat mechanic and more new weapons at your disposal. Multiplayer has returned and it's as refined as Uncharted 2's multiplayer but with a more rewarding gameplay. Buy this game. Good god please buy this game. Expand
  21. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    This is one of a very select few games that has earned a 10 from me, and it earns so diligently. This is a game that raises the bar both for visual presentation and polish. It's engaging, offers a compelling story, and creates an action adventure experience like no other. It's the best game I've played in 2011, and quite frankly, one of the best ever.
  22. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    What a shame when 360fanboys are trolling UC3 user score,maybe its because they have got no games to play on xbox or the fact UC3 has been nominated for game of the year,but whats worse is even Metacritic have also resorted to only accepting low score reviews and ignoring all the 10/10 scores just so their 360 can look good.

    Uncharted 3 is getting perfect scores for a reason,its amazing
    and really is the best game this gen. Expand
  23. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 3 is a fantastic game. I gave it a 9 and not a 10 because although it is near perfect, it is not perfect. The cinematography, graphics and sound are second to none. The storyline is also fantastic. The multiplayer modes are varied and great fun with a good leveling system. I feel that the controls and the gunplay could be better, but other than that it is a great game. Kudos to Naughty Dog for not making it too easy or too difficult and for making it lengthly and exciting. Drake is back, and he's better than ever. Expand
  24. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Realmente me emociona jugar este juego, tiene una calidad excepcional y una historia deslumbrante, sin mencionar el multijugador. Me parece un poco corto pero los momentos de emocion que genera vale cada peso que pague por el
  25. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Perfect from beginning to end, the pace is flawless. The graphics are the best in this generation, nothing comes close to the quality and presentation, Batman Arkam City comes close, but U3 has the edge. I think Naughty Dog did an exceptional job, and Im not even mentioning the multiplayer and Coop content, its a full package, worth every penny. Dont let this one pass, its an EXPERIENCE you have to live. Expand
  26. Dec 3, 2011
    8
    Uncharted 2 is one of my favourite games of all time, so I had high hopes for this game. Unfortunately, I was supremely disappointed.

    It's not the visuals; they are some of the best I have ever seen. Nor the gameplay; which is a fine blend of gunplay, stealth, puzzles and platforming. Nor the soundtrack or voice acting; which are all terrific.

    It was the story. It was full of plot holes,
    the characters (esp. villains) were INCREDIBLY underdeveloped (with the only one I liked being abruptly taken away), there were some ridiculous scenarios, a large portion of the game serves no purpose to the plot and a lot of major events happen because of just coincidence. It was an utter mess, and a step back for the series. For a game this cinematic, I was hoping Naughty Dog would put more effort into the story. Expand
  27. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    A prime, worthy follow up to Uncharted 2. God damn, this is a good game. Everything that could have gone right has gone right in his game. The story is compelling as phuck, the gameplay is well-improved and these characters are going to stay implanted in my memory until I am on my deathbed.
  28. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    One of the best video games ever made. That pretty much sums this up. Uncharted 2 we pure greatness, with Uncharted 3 the developers perfected the formula that made Uncharted 2 so good. There is never a dull moment here, the game flows perfectly from start to finish. Graphics, Sound and the Multiplayer are all top notch and round up this game to be the masterpiece it is.
  29. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Let me start by saying this game is amazing. So much fun. Definitely a must buy for a fan of the series and i'd say for all PS3 owners. 10/10. That said let's get the minor gripes out of the way. I wish there were more puzzles, especially towards the end. The last 3 hours or so you have none. I was waiting for one final big one and it never came. The ones it did have were great but I felt UC2 had some better ones. Also the end I love and hate. Quite good and not annoying like UC2s but then again there wasn't much play more of a guided movie. That and the occasional stuck in an unfair firefight spot but that happens in lots of games. Other than my nit picks though the levels are incredible, the story is great as always and the graphics deliver in detail and smart design. I won't ruin it but the faces if you have played are my favorite, took a bit of starring to figure them out but once I did I thought now that's awesome! Every part of this game has insane detail and although I hope from here on out they start to open up the climbing and the routes to have a more open approach (even if they take this mechanic to a new series, who knows if this one is done or not) the climbing parts were much more varied and the objects much more natural. A bit of color hints but for the most part you felt like you were climbing on stuff instead of "this yellow ledge". I don't have much more to say without giving spoilers besides buy this game. oh and no worries on multiplayer, it's fantastic too. Opinions can be made in comparison to other shooters and such but this one definitely has it's own flavor and style to make it compete for my online hours. The addition of player customization and emblem creation are huge to me as a professional designer. May not be as big of points for others but I like to make things unique and my own and I love that they added this. Tons of upgrades and unlock and plenty of levels to keep you interested. The levels themselves are varied with their own unique situations I guess I would say which definitely makes you feel like they aren't just another map. Some are better than other of course but that's all opinion. To wrap up overall great game with minor gripes but only because it makes you wanting more. Covers all the essential, great gameplay, great story, great multiplayer. you will play again and again. Expand
  30. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    ATTENTION NAUGHTY DOG: PLEASE PATCH THE GAME TO PUT STORY CUTSCENES BACK INTO THE BONUS SECTION. WHY DID YOU ALL REMOVE IT!!!? Okay, now that that's off my chest down to business. Naughty Dog has done it again. All hail the gaming industry's hottest developers. The Uncharted series stormed onto the scene with Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, an incredibly well paced video game. Incredible graphics (the best of the generation in THREE CONSECUTIVE GAMES). And a story so well written and characters so likeable that it transcended a video game completely and became a worldwide phenomenon. And I'm not even going to talk about the score (it is John Williams-like iconic). Uncharted 2 (the game that solidified it and as one of the greatest gaming franchises in history) was a cataclysmic improvement over the already stellar original that blew EVERY GAMERS' mind to smithereens. Next up, Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception. To say this game is beautiful isn't giving it enough praise. It turns video game imagery into poetry. It is without a doubt the greatest looking video game ever made. But THAT was expected. Naughty Dog has MASTERED Sony's gargantuanly powerful Cell and has been the leader in graphics since Day One of their first release this gen. The story is incredible but short. Which brings me to 1 of only 2 minor gripes I have with the game. I think U3 is way to short. It's shorted than both Uncharted 1 and 2. This disappointments me because U3 has the best premise of all three titles. To me, if any one of the 3 games were to be LONG and EPIC it should be the one that has the story that delves into Nathan Drake's (our HERO's) past and uses TE LAWRENCE as it's muse (that should have been used more and better to me). To breeze through the greatness of what's being told so quickly kind of did it a disservice to me. I wanted to know more about the incredible new characters Katherine Marlowe and Talbot. I wanted more drama and tension built between Nate, Sully, and Katherine. And I wanted more confrontations between Nate and Talbot. But what i DID get, was the most epically beautiful, poignant action adventure video game the world as ever seen. The game truly is a near cinematic masterpiece that you actually play instead of watch. Screw just Game of the Year, this might also be the Best Movie of the Year. It's that good. The only competition it has it Batman:AC another brilliant video game that made me smile from the opening sequence til the final credits just like U3. Expand
  31. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    Uncharted 2 and 3 are some of the greatest video games ever made especially from a cinematic point of view. The puzzles and fights are just as fun. The only thing I can say is if you love the Indiana Jones movies...give these games a try especially if you enjoyed Tomb Raider and some shooters now and then. Both of those game features are the meat and potatoes of Uncharted. Did I mention the simple yet great stories they tell? Simply very well done stuff that should not be missed. Expand
  32. Feb 14, 2012
    7
    Drake's Deception is a vast improvement from Among Thieves if that's possible. The Multiplayer and Co-op now has Medal Kickbacks and Weapon Mods. The Single Player Campaign is interesting as well but I kind of thought there should have been a villian return somehow because I feel that the villians in UC3 are dull. While the heroes are interesting, but I guess that's on purpose. Overall the game a great buy for a PS3 owner. 9.25/10 Expand
  33. Nov 5, 2011
    9
    One of the best game I play in 2011. Although, I think Uncharted 2 is still a better game. Single player is a 10/10. Multiplayer seen like a few steps forward from Uncharted 2 MP and a few steps backward, and also whey the heck did ND took out Weapon Expert on MP out? MP is like a 8/10 for me. So together, I have no complain but I'll take 1 point out because the MP wasn't as good as I was hoping and I even enjoy the summer beta more than the real MP.

    You got to play the game and experiences it for yourself since I hate spoiler anyway and this game is a great masterpiece game, just not perfect for me because I don't think any game is perfect in my book.
    Expand
  34. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    I kept reading that this was basically just like Uncharted 2. That wouldn't be a huge disappointment since I thought it was the best game made, but that isn't the case. Uncharted 3 takes it to another level. It is now the best game. Great action, puzzles for a break, fun running scenes and a story you just want to keep watching. Perfect 10!
  35. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    It won't blow you away as much as Uncharted 2 did, but it will still blow you away. Naughty Dog shows again how the Uncharted franchise is the jack of all trades, with phenomenal set-piece moments, gameplay, graphics, audio, characters and so much more. The writing is clever and humorous while still presenting realistic human interactions. The environments will astound you with their beauty, with the only graphical flaws being the awful shadows (relative to PC graphics). Facial animations not only look beautiful, but convince you that the characters are real human beings. The gameplay this time around has a more weighty feel to it and Drake is a bit more unwieldy to control. Whether or not you like this change is up to you, as I personally feel like Drake is more human and adds a bit of welcome challenge to the game. If you have ever played Killzone 2 and 3, imagine that in reverse as Killzone 3 removed the gravity effect but Uncharted 3 adds it. Otherwise, everything else about this game is impeccable. If you have a PS3, you owe it to yourself to purchase this game as soon as possible. Expand
  36. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    It's Unchartered there is nothing more to say. The beginning scene is good but not as good as UC2. However, the foot chase part was fun. I found myself fighting more than shooting. That's a nice addition.
  37. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    best game on ps3 by a long shot... This is a game so close to perfection.. wish i could give it 11 out of 10.. cant see why others rate it so badly but thats there opinion. i love the uncharted series and this is the icing on a damn fine cake.
  38. Feb 15, 2012
    8
    A bit of a letdown given the great expectations I had for it. The single player is definitely a great experience, however there are a handful of negatives which take away from the experience. It never focuses on one location long enough, and it seems built around the crazy setpieces, which takes away from the single player, in my opinion. Where Uncharted 2 used the setpieces to complement and enhance the game, Uncharted 3 seems built simply to take you from one ridiculous stunt to the next, which is exciting, but a bit shallow. Multiplayer also takes a step back as well, with what I would refer to as gimmicks added for the casual player. Kickbacks and loadouts are two new additions that do nothing but hold the game back for me. All that said, the game is still enjoyable for sure, with a thrilling single player that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Expand
  39. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    MY FAVORITE GAME. Every part of this game is worth experiencing. Loved Uncharted 2, and this is even better. Finished the game (campaign) and multiplayer is too addictive !!!
  40. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    It's amazing how they created another masterpiece in the Uncharted universe. The single player is engaging, exciting and never show any dull moment. You'l have one hell of an adrenaline-rush when you finaly reach the last level, so that'll you'll be begging for more! ... The multiplayer is fun and rewarding, so you'll definitely come back for more! ... One thing though,... sometimes you'll want to take cover but the game will put you on the opposite wall instead, meaning your demise. It can give you a moment of pain, but that'll soon be over with the game's regular checkpoints. ... In the end, Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception is awesome. It's a ride you'll want to take. Expand
  41. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    What more can be said ! Its made by Naughty Dog one of the top 5 best game developers in the world. The graphics mind blowing for a ps3 game (take that PC!). The story might not be as intriguing as U2 but it was a nice sort of "Last Crusade" father and son story line. and the multiplayer has improve a lot since U2. One of the Best PS3 games of all times! and if you own a PS3 and have not played this and the last 2 games SHAME ON YOU ! Expand
  42. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    WOW! It is as good as people expected. Uncharted 2 was good but this is better. Better to look at. Better puzzles. Better combat. Better multiplayer . The music score is also.....well better. Drake has developed into a truly epic character, deeper and even funnier than before. It's good to see older characters make a return even if it is for just a few token scenes. This game is just plain beautiful. Expand
  43. Jan 6, 2012
    9
    Great game as always. If you liked the other games in the series you'll love this game. The only reason I am not giving it a 10 is because I don't feel like they upgraded the graphics from Uncharted 2 (not that it exactly needed to), it just would've been nice to see.
  44. Oct 4, 2012
    10
    Uncharted 3 transcends the the popcorn blockbluster flair of its predecessors, to become a deeply compelling, introspective story which features arguably the greatest plot in a video game this generation. Mulitplayer is also better than ever and more robust in every facet.
  45. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    It bests Uncharted 2 and that was the game of the year. It's the most cinematic, immersive, and well paced experience I've ever had. It has the best scripted events I've ever played as well.
  46. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    Although expectations for this game were high, I believe that it pulled through in every way possible. Time and time again throughout my play through of the campaign of this game my breath was taken away by the beauty of this game. I couldn't even begin to think of how many of the technical aspects of the game were worked out, and you can truly see the love Naughty Dog put into this game. I'm sad to see the people who have shunned this game based on small, perhaps trivial things. I find that there have been many diluted opinions formed about this game. Expand
  47. USG
    Nov 18, 2011
    8
    This game has arguably the best story out of all three installments by far. The story is nothing short of fantastic or beautiful. Otherwise, not much is to be said in terms of gameplay as it's nearly identical to the previous titles. Multiplayer is quite an enjoyable aspect, especially to those who are interested in the feature but moderately beats Uncharted 2.
  48. Nov 3, 2011
    10
    People saying that it's like a movie are stupid, yes naughty dog wanted it to feel like that, so when there's a cutscenes the graphics are the same as when you play. Meaning that, "look at how uncharted has amazing graphics in both gameplay/ cutscenes/ oh and cutscenes where you can controll the outcome" people always finding stupid faults, and I would bet money it's from someone who has seen how epic this game is round a friends house and is nerd raging because he is still playing on the dreamcast. I own and play my ps3 and 360 a lot, and I cannot see how this won't get GOTY, if anything can beet it, it's zelda OOT in 3D out of respect. If you've played Uncharted 1 & 2 before then your stupid if you don't own this. Visuals 10 gameplay 10 story 10 voice acting 10 etc etc etc. people saying its dated....YAWN (blatant haters) you know when people are trolls, when they try and knock the best game out this year. Honestly this game will eat MW3 and Skyrim for breakfast at any gaming awards. Expand
  49. djs
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Simply the best game I've ever played.
    Great story, great graphics, and the sound is amazing.
    I recommend everyone to play this masterpiece! Just buy it and play one of the best games ever made!
  50. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    On paper this is the perfect game. It has amazing graphics, an engrossing storyline and brilliant, likeable characters. However when compared to its predecessors there is something lacking. I can't quite put my finger on what it is, but it doesn't quite have the same 'wow' factor as the first two in the series. That said I found it to be immensely enjoyable and addictive so I can't criticise it too harshly! I thought the campaign was a little on the short side which added to my disappointment, but I haven't tried any of the multiplayer options yet. I desperately wanted this to be the 10/10 game I thought it would be, but it wasnâ Expand
  51. Oct 22, 2012
    6
    Awesome graphic, but an average game.
    I'm disappointed by this one, the story lacks passion, as the relationship between Nate and Elena is completed in Among Thieves,the one between him and Sully is not very convincingly told. The graphic is AWESOME, beats all the other acclaimed visually stunning console games. But it's more like a movie than a video game. There are so many times you
    just punch one or two buttons to keep the show running. Expand
  52. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    After the many years of gaming, and playing some impressive games. None of them will come closer to the perfection that this title brings. This for me is the best game ever made, from beginning to end it draws you in and captivates every bit of emotion you can give. The game is stunning, epic, and Is a cinematic marvel, the most spectacular action game ever made was quoted in an early review, they wasn't wrong. Expand
  53. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    Best game I ever played it makes Gears 3 look like a steaming pile of $H!T lol

    I loved the story it was so addictive I was hard to leave for work on time, the lighting textures and animations are the best I've seen since Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.
  54. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    I'm torn between giving this an 8 and a 9. In many ways it's the superior of both UC and UC2, and yet despite amazing polished, it somehow doesn't feel finished, aspects feel rushed and the controls are not always what they should be. It's almost like they needed a bit more time to perfect things prior to release. I think the multiplayer is better than its ever been, but I'm more interested in the single player. Multiplayer cooperative is much more challenging than it was previously, which is a good thing. It's my favorite UC game is most respects, I want to give it a 10 but think 9 is more honest. Expand
  55. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    If you are going to be buying a title for Xmax, this surely has to be it. Simply immense from the outset to the end in single player, and fantastic fun in Multiplayer too.

    If you thouhght Uncharted 2 was perfection, this just raises the bar even further... Other games on other systems are a full gaming generation behind where this series is right now.
  56. Jul 1, 2013
    10
    This was my introduction to the Uncharted series. My jaw was literally dropping throughout a good portion of this game. Naughty Dog is definitely pushing the limits of gaming. I felt like I was transported into an Indiana Jone movie. I play a lot of video games but this was a truly unique experience.

    I have a few minor gripes about the game play but I can't in good conscience lower
    the rating for those. It's a pretty good sign when the biggest complaint I can come up with is that I wished it was longer. I played on hard difficulty and found it to be more than enough of a challenge. Bravo! I will definitely be buying more games from Naughty Dog. Expand
  57. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    The is in my opinion the best Uncharted yet. From a technical perspective this game is near-flawless. These are some of the best graphics I've ever seen, and the facial and character animations are so lifelike that at times it looks like you're controlling a real-life person. The game still features the same awesome voice actors and the soundtrack is as always fantastic. The story mode is the best yet, with an emotional story focusing on Drake and Sully's bond and a look into Drake's past. It also features some of the series most memorable set pieces. The gameplay is still awkward at times, with gunplay feeling stiffer than in previous entries, but everything still feels smooth enough to keep you glued to your controller. Melee combat has taken some great steps forward, featuring environmental takedowns and a handy counter-attack system that allows you to juggle multiple goes with ease. Platforming is still fun and is occasionally smoothly tied into a combat encounter. So the campaign is the best this series has offered yet, the multiplayer takes somewhat of a step back. There's nothing wrong with the multiplayer, it's still a perfectly great time, it's just not as much fun as in Uncharted 2. The stiffer aim is a hindrance to the multiplayer, but never stops it from being an addictive experience. With a great selection of maps as well as a fantastic selection of competitive and co-operative modes Uncharted 3's multiplayer will keep you hooked for countless hours. Drake's Deception is an amazing experience. From the campaign to the multiplayer (both competitive and co-op), Uncharted 3 manages to be a non-stop fun time. It's not only one of the best PS3 games of all time, but it's also just one of the best games of all time. If you haven't played this game yet you're missing out on one of the best video game experiences around. So take my advice and pick up a copy of this game ASAP, you wont regret it. Expand
  58. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    This must be the most overrated game ever, this game isn't even the best in the Uncharted series, being uncharted 2 the only one who deserves nines not even a 10.
  59. Jan 19, 2012
    4
    Well, people said that the game was too short. I didn't feel like that, because of how poorly it is conducted. Gun fights are just too wrong, and for that sake, there was too many of them. There is, as I remind, just one or two real puzzles to solve (the others are 'hey, pull this lever at the same time I do), and none exploration to do. The graphics are great, but that doesn't make a good game. The story is very boring and frankly, you won't care much for that, after the first couple of hours. You're supposed to find a well hidden city, but all of the bad guys seems to know exactly where it is, as you just show off anywhere and there they are, waiting for you to try impossible headshots. There are some great moments, but most of the game is a third-person shooter with bad shooting mechanics, and that make the whole experience frustrating. Just hope that naughty dog work that out for their upcoming game, as it seems it have more combat. I just finished it and going to trade, without even using the online pass. that's how much it made me like it. Worth a rental, at best. Expand
  60. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    GAME OF THE YEAR! Id say this is one of the best games iv ever played! naughty dog have done a brilliant job :) 10/10 for me!
  61. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I actually had a more enjoyable time playing through Uncharted 2, but Uncharted 3 is an excellent sequel to Naughty Dog's best work to date. Everything here is excellent, except the aiming, which has been discussed here and elsewhere on the web. The story was well done, well paced, and wonderfully presented. Somehow ND squeezed an extra bit of graphical umph out of the PS3 for this one.
  62. Nov 21, 2011
    0
    After UC2 this game is a bit disappointing, visually beautiful but the controls are just so bad with repetitive combat it is hard to believe it gets such rave reviews.
  63. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    My original review for this game was 20000 characters over the limit. Why? Because Uncharted 3 is not only the reason I play videogames, but it is the reason videogames were made. To match the quality and excitement of a Hollywood movie, if not, beating the excitement. Uncharted 2 was almost there, and Uncharted 3 goes above and beyond. Add on the best multiplayer on the Playstation 3, and Uncharted 3 is one of the best games of all time. Expand
  64. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    After I completed Uncharted 3 I was, to be honest disappointed. Compared with the others, It was pretty the worst in the series.. Of course,that's not really a criticism though, as the other two were great. I just thought the story wasn't as good as the others (and bat **** crazy). Saying that though, it was great fun, the game play is flawless and the characters are great (Cutter being a great new addition). Expand
  65. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    This game is spectacular. The same characteristic story and graphics that we have come to know in love are even more incredible here. I would say it is the best in the series but Uncharted 2 holds a special place in my heart. The story is great but a little convoluted at times. The graphics are even better if you can believe that. The uncharted series has been unbelievable. How many times has a game come out to such incredible reviews (Some calling it near perfection)? Only to have the sequel turn out even better. The Uncharted series has done that time and again. The only failing here is the same as in all the Uncharted games, Gameplay. The first Uncharted had fairly poor gunplay, movement issues and poor collision detection. Uncharted 2 was vastly improved in all areas yet was still weak in them as well. Uncharted 3 however is a step back in this re-guard. The gunplay feels off, with the aiming being a little to jumpy and inaccurate. Using off brand controllers can be horrible in this game. For some reason controllers with no problems in other games will have huge dead zones in Uncharted 3. Making you switch to a Sony brand controller as soon as possible. Which still has problems just to a lesser degree. They seem to have ignored the collision detection issues all together. At times headshots will ring true wil a satisfying killshot. Other times an obvious headshot seems to have no affect as the game counts it as hitting the body. The biggest problem with Uncharted 3 is it's attention to detail and realism. This should be a good thing but really shows the huge flaws in gameplay. When in water levels the movement and flow of the area is incredible. But it really causes problems in movement and aiming when in battle. Which would make sense of course but is so drastic here because of the gunplay issues. All in all, Uncharted 3 is well worth the price. The story and graphics more than make up for the gameplay issues. The gameplay may be a little frustrating at times but will not leave you hating the game as a whole. I'm giving Uncharted a 9 as 10 means perfection and no game is perfect. Thanks for reading. Expand
  66. Jan 24, 2012
    10
    This is one of the greatest game ever made. Story, graphics and story melts together perfectly. i`v played the previous UC games and this is awesome, but i must say that i liked the story in UC2 better than UC3, but that is the only thing. the uncharted series is the top of technical achievement and storytelling in the gaming world, it sits on top of the throne with the Mass Effect series. You really emerge into the story and the graphics is awesome. Naughty dog keeps up the tradition of making really amazing games. Expand
  67. May 6, 2012
    10
    Ever since I finished this game around Christmas 2011, I have no words to describe this game to put in a review. This game is definitely the best in the Uncharted series and it really does show. The story and voice acting are really smart and it really drives you into the main story. Gameplay is just like all of the other Uncharted games, with the exception of the newly refined hand-to-hand combat system. I am also not exaggerating when I say that Uncharted 3 is the best looking game on any console because it really is in truth. I have no more comments to make of how great this game is and if you own a PS3, you owe it to yourself to buy this game. Expand
  68. Dec 12, 2011
    10
    Naughty Dog can do no evil. The story is fantastic, the characters are believable and likeable. The gunplay and platforming are both spot on. The game always changes it up with new environments or new types of levels, such as: escaping spiders, fighting through a falling plane, running through a burning building, or a sinking ship. I never got bored or felt as if something was repetitive because I was always doing something new. The game even made me laugh, which VERY FEW games have been able to do. I really did feel as if I was playing an Indiana Jones movie or one of my favorite books. I have not played the multiplayer or co-op which I am sure will be fun in their own right, but lets face it, this isn't COD; everyone buys this game for the single-player. I must say, this single-player is one of the best out their. Some of the critics complained it was more of the same, but I say why mess with perfection. If they make ANOTHER great story with MORE exciting scenes, what is to complain about. Yes, the gameplay is similar but I would not want drastically different anything, because why would you stray from the best reviewed ps3 game of all time? I cannot think of one bad thing to complain about, since they added the alternate shooting by listening to the fans. Expand
  69. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    Stunning, absolutely stunning. A game that blends every element that can be put into a video game perfectly together. It's cinematic, with eye-candy visuals, an unforgettable story, and amazing voice acting. However, Naughty Dog could have made the game play and gun play a little tighter. Otherwise, this game is a straight 10.
  70. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This game is why you have a PS3. If you don't buy this game and you have a PS3 I think you must have some serious issues. If you don't like this game, then I don't think I could like you as a person. This game really is something quite special; it's polished and refined beautifully. I've never seen such a level of polish in a game before. The singleplayer experience is incredible with great pacing and a very satisfying length. People have told me they're put off by how the game is only about 10 hours long but surely quality is more important than quantity? You'll replay this game many times and trust me the money is worth for those 10 hours. The multiplayer is just icing on the cake, its great and very robust and surprisingly addicitive. Sure, its not the best but its certainly good. The co-op is great as well. But the reason you should buy this game is for the singleplayer experience. There's nothing wrong in this game which is why its a perfect 10/10. Expand
  71. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, the sequel to the very well obtained Uncharted 2: Among Thieves, but was it worth the wait?

    Uncharted was always known for the superb dialogues and great storytelling, especially Uncharted 2: Among Thieves.

    The problem with uncharted 3 starts at the very beginning. A new character gets introduced, where you dont know anything about. In continuation of that, that character is coming with you for like the first half of the game. Also, the way how you create a band with the characters in Uncharted 2 are not found here. Characters that were really important in uncharted 2, are completely dull and empty in Uncharted 3, and the only reason why they are in Uncharted 3 is to create variety. But what does Uncharted 3 do better than uncharted 2.

    in Uncharted 3, it feels like 2 seperate teams work for 1/2 of the game. The first half is completely slow-paced and the dialoques are still very dull. But at some point in the game, there is a twist in the story and thats when it becomes very well. Suprisingly, the dialoques are very good and funny, and the global thrill just goes a gear up.

    The thing with Uncharted 2 was that howlonger you were in the game, the worse the game got (or atleast less), In Uncharted 3, you begin very cliché and slowpaced, but then the twist comes and its non cliché and the pace is going faster.

    Still, I like Uncharted 2: Among Thieves more, because that game was just approaching 'perfection.'
    but Uncharted 3 is not a game you want to miss, if you have played the previous two titles.
    Expand
  72. Nov 27, 2011
    10
    Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, a game of many wonders, many triumps and many things that set the bar in an action game, trolls aside this game just barge through the big games this year the characters lovable, the locations are globetrotting from England to Syria, the campaign defines the game!. Multiplayer is what keeps you going way after the credits roll and the coop is a nice feature improving from UC2, it seems when i play it i always return, Competitve MP is a bit unbalanced but dosen't really make a difference. Expand
  73. Apr 4, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. THE ACTION ADVENTURE GAME. It doesn't get much better than this. I truly can not say enough about this game. Scrapping the bottom of the criticism barrel to find faults I would say that it takes or limits control to the player a few too many time for my taste, also the desert scene is a little too hand holdy and long winded. These really are the only negatives you could say about this game. It has some of the best gun play ever in a game. The best combination of hand to hand with gun play ever in a game. Arguably the best graphics ever in a game. You always find yourself in a new action adventure scene that is both stunning technically and a joy to play. (I am looking at you horse back scene) Don't read more about it don't think about it, just go buy it. Expand
  74. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 3 is a game crafted by experts and a cinematic experience like no other.It puts most other games(and movies) to shame with its ultra high production values,graphics and dialogue.The gunplay,I must admit, is a little weak at times and the controls can really force a contest of wills between the player and the game itself.Also, UC3 lacks the fantastic beginning of its predecessor and takes a couple of hours to get going,but when it does it takes you on a hell of a ride.
    I've had a hard time deciding how to score this game,but despite some average gameplay elements,its almost unbelieveably amazing presentation raises it to a 9.Whilst UC3 will certainly get its share of accolades,I can't see it beating Skyrim for the major GOTY awards.
    Expand
  75. Nov 21, 2011
    8
    If you liked 2 then buy it, if you didn't then don't. There is nothing here that will change your mind. It is a sequel, don't complain when a sequel is similar to its predecessor.
  76. Nov 6, 2011
    10
    As a guy who has strong opinions and a near unparalleled love for all things gaming. I absolutely love Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception, top to bottom the game is everything you had in the first two titles and more. You want that skinny on Drake's background story? No problem want to beat up pirates and race across the globe against an ancient, super-secret organization hell bent exposing Sir Francis Drake's deception? You got it. The locales in the game are jobbing dropping stunning, the way the game transitions from cut scene to in game graphics is seamless and unlike any other console game on the market. Naughty Dog said they wanted to show improved water and fire effects, and they did. I can't get over how great the small things are, which adds to the overall experience. The mechanics are back but with a few tweaks, the aim is less wonky, still not superb, however, it does NOT hinder you. The guns have recoil thus you must take a bit more time in aiming. Fantastic voice acting returns and Uncharted solidifies why it's a head of it's class in that respect, every character; protagonist and antagonist add to the overall experience to the game making feel just that much more immersive and engaging. Action is still pulse-pounding, all this topped off with one of the greatest adventure stories in gaming. I don't give credit like that away often. If Uncharted 3 did surpass Uncharted 2, it sure as hell rivaled it.

    Co-op and Multiplayer is back, with Multiplayer being so much more improved, you get multiple map choices and game types a plethora of upgrades, perks, treasure etc. Naughty Dog threw in the kitchen sink. Co-Op is a bit of a head scratcher at times, it attempts to blends in story elements with out the story and it doesn't work. The Ai is also a bit weird at times, however, it's a small thing when you're enjoying the game with your friends.

    If you are not a real fan of gaming you won't like this game, if you are a fake PS3 fanboy or a fake gamer or you're just anti-Uncharted then you won't like this game. Don't play because I don't want to see yet another gratuitous, childish "review" like many I have seen on Metacritic. Is Uncharted 3 perfect? No, does that make it a bad game? Absolutely not. Does it live in Uncharted 2's shadow? No. Buy the game have fun.
    Expand
  77. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    Not quite as essential as Unchartered 2 but a must have game all the same. Single player mode once again is excellent although not as fresh as the previous game. Multiplayer is incredible but I felt that some of the new maps were a bit dull. Being able to bring back the old maps was an excellent idea. I can't wait for an online game against 100 people instead of just a handfull. I will be saving all my pennies for the PS4 just simply because Unchartered 4 will be on there. I'm certain that Naughty dog won't disappoint. Been gaming for 30 years and this is my 2nd best game ever. 1st of course is Unchartered 2. Expand
  78. Nov 5, 2011
    10
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
    Best game ever.
  79. Jan 1, 2012
    6
    Naughty Dog tweeked too much with Uncharted's gameplay mechanics that this game isn't as fun as Uncharted 2. The game still has the great graphics, the greatest voice acting of any game I ever played, and, even though it started out slow and plotless in the begining, a great action/adventure storyline overall. Uncharted 2 was one of the best games I've ever played mostly because of its third person shooter aspect, but for the third installation the shooting aspect was altered for the worse. I actually had to play Uncharted 2 to make sure I wasn't mistaken, but Uncharted 3 has somehow managed to make it erratic and slower to aim. And, while I'm not a fan of precision jumping platform games, Uncharted 2's use of it was beareable due to the graphics attention to detail and voice commentary along the way. In Uncharted 3, the developers added more animations to Drake's movements that he ends up with a very unnatural herky, jerky movement that causes an unreliable platforming experience. It's just awkward and painful to watch or play. Naughty Dog furthered tweaked this series by including more fighting options by having timed button pushing, which I can't stand. If you want a fighting game, than add combos and blocks, don't have me just push one or two buttons according to what the developers flash in front of me. So the overall effect of the game on me was a great action storyline but since I didn't enjoy playing the game with its current mechanics, I felt I was just trying to get from one cut scene to the next in order to watch a movie and not actually playing a game. Since this game is suppose to be a 3rd person shooter, and it has done this badly, no amount of great graphics and storyline can make this a game worth paying full price to play. Expand
  80. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    I'm new to the Uncharted game franchise but as a new PS3 owner I have heard a lot about this game. I have been buying games like crazy lately and after reading so many positive reviews everywhere on this game I decided to go out today and make the impulse purchase. I was still very hesitant about his game since I read that so much is set on the story as I usually like to get right down to business and skip all the movie like intros. I must say I'm not big on these type of gamesvthee days but I have been playing this all night and I am blown away. I can't remember ever being so into a story and felt so captivated. The entire thing fits right into the action so perfectly and rarely is there a dull moment. This is truly a stunning game that cannot be missed. The gameplay is exciting and the story, music, acting and graphics are some of the best I have ever seen. I'm so glad I got into this game and I can't wait to get lost in this day after day. Sure I have played so many great games in my time but I really do think that this is up here as one of he greatest all around games. This is the game of the year in my book for sure. Oh and just wait until you start up the online multiplayer I will blow you away like it continues to do to me. Expand
  81. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    ok before i get on with my review i have to say this all you xbox fan boys be mature and give this game a fair review just because we get it and you didnt doesnt mean you should rate this masterpiece down, i mean in general u guys have better exculsives but leave this one alone it is ours so go back to your halo and gears of war. there now that i have that out of the way let me tell you this game is perfect with no flaws they even managed to put split screen in which is another big bonus on top of everything else the only problem i can see is that story mode isnt 2 player but this is nothing gripe about. the story of uncharted is amazing as always with graphics that are so good that at times you forget you are playing a game and feel like you are watching a real live movie because that is basicly what it is except you control what is going on. the voice acting as well just like in the previous games are over the top in how well it is done and i give them props for that. couple these in with the fact that the story is actually interesting and is longer than most titles out there makes just the campaign worth the full price of this game but there is also multiplayer. multiplayer is so much fun and has actually been improved on which i did not think would be possible but they did it adding special rewards in match for doing well and they also added a few more game types such as free for all and a 3 team death match with co-op gamplay as well where you do missions or just try to survive makes the multiplayer much improved over the last one. the only thing i can complain about the multiplayer is that the americans had full access to it before everyone else so they are all level 35 and up which makes it not that much fun when 1 or 2 of them are in the lobby and they are compleatly destroying everyone but when it is evened out you have a blast. if you own a playstation you defenatly owe it to yourself to get this game no this ENTIRE series since they are all master pieces in thier own right with each getting better and better trust me you will not be dissapointed Expand
  82. Nov 8, 2011
    7
    A fantastic experience, and a must own for any PS3 owner. The scenery (as well as everything else in the game) is gorgeous and diverse, meaning you never get sick of seeing any one environment for an extended period of time. The story, while a bit predictable, is very well executed. The writing is superb, as expected of an Uncharted game. There is a good mix of both humorous and serious dialogue.

    The gameplay is extremely solid. They did not change much from the previous games, as there was no need. The aiming mechanics are a bit tighter, and the melee is infinitely more satisfying, but don't expect a huge change from the previous two installments. I never found myself getting sick of the game, while at times the story was too obvious for my tastes, the edge of your seat action and the banter between Drake and company kept me coming back for more.

    If it's your type of thing, the game has a very good multiplayer mode as well. While I don't like to play a lot of third person multiplayer, the game offers infinite customization options for both your character and your loadouts. The weapons are fairly well balanced, as are the streak bonuses. For someone who doesn't like third person multiplayer, like me, this won't change your opinion on the genre. However if you don't mind it, or enjoy that kind of multiplayer, it is well done and will likely keep you coming back for more unlocks.
    Expand
  83. Nov 23, 2011
    5
    I have played all 3 installments of the series and UC2 is by far the best.

    UC3 dissapointed me in many ways: Too many cutscenes, puzzles gives you hints after a couple of minutes making them easy to solve, animation is bad and controls are not responsive.

    Is more like watching a movie rather than playing a game.

    On the plus side are the graphics and the story.
  84. Nov 22, 2011
    10
    Naughty dog at it again. The game's single player campaign offers people exactly what they expect from the franchise an a adrenaline pumping action adventure with really nice tight controls. The game mixes Third person shooter cover based system combat with puzzles and platforming, and planned out to nicely break the flow of the game with some lows and highs makes for an amazing experience. With an adventure themed story like indiana jones and fun characters you get to play your own hollywood adventure, top notch production values. As for the characters this game does go into more background info on drake and sully so if you love those characters then you're in for a treat. The online component is a big improvement over the other game with the co-op modes being the main highlight and very fun. Suffice to say uncharted 3 offers amazing SP and if you still need a fix it has a good online and amazing co-op modes to keep you busy. Expand
  85. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This my personal game of the year. Every aspect of the game is incredible. The multiplayer is much improved from the last game as well. The single player is as always amazing.
  86. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    Just when you thought things couldn't get any better out comes Uncharted 3 and delivers another ground-breaking epic masterpiece! Nobody was quite prepared for the impact Uncharted 2 provided it was gorgeous, gong-grabbing, jaw-dropping, exceeded your wildest expectations and was a defining moment for the PS3 delivering one of the best games off all time. An easy task for Naughty Dog then right? Well apparently so. They haven't only thrived under the pressure and expectations they have taken them head-on and simply propelled the Uncharted franchise to an almighty new height! The story this time see's Nathan Drake and mentor Victor Sullivan on a quest round the world to find the legendary lost city; The Iram of Pillars however he's not the only one as a fresh villain in the face of Katherine Marlow is also searching for the Ubar. Gameplay is something that is naturally amazing in Uncharted, it has been since the orignal and with minor tweaks adjusted the third installment once again is ever dependable and as solid and tight as ever. The melee/combat system has been improved upon, you can now fight two enemies at a time rather just the one which when pulled off is rather awesome also there's sweet moments when you not only knock a guy out you also disarm him and take his weapon in the process. The shooting system has been slightly altered as you now have to be more procise when in a firefight. As always for UC each level will find you journeying from A-B and in the process you might find a familiar pattern occuring in the face of collapsing structures it doesn't give the jaw-dropping effect like it did in UC2 although at certain points you will go wow (naturally!) but it still leaves you in awe time and time again. The one area where UC truely set's itself apart is in it's set-pieces and graphics. Again there are several landmarks and locations around the world were Nate and Sully travel to. They are just remarkable and quite frankly make you feel as though you are playing a movie rather than a videogame they just continue to deliver the most exceptional and beautiful designs ever. 3 levels really blow my mind, they provided epic moments show you exactly what the PS3 is all about. Shooting your way through a burning chateau in France whilst trying to escape was inpsiring and I was in constant admiration of my surroundings, in another part you have to escape a sinking ship whilst the water encapsulates all around you at times - sensational! Then there's also the phenominal plane set-piece, where after managing to sneak on board in mid air the plane starts to fall apart and you have to survive whilst it turns and twists and blows you all over the place, its simply epic gaming of the highest quality, period! Visually as i've said its on another level, some hollywood blockbuster movies struggle to look this good and UC3 would certainly not look out of place on the big screen, it's undeniably stunning and is even better, it never fails to amaze! Credit also must go to the voice acting as it is once again of the highest standard, they deliver another great performance and they also would fit in either on a tv show or a movie as the script is awesome but the interaction between the characters always amuses you. As for multiplayer well Naughty Dog have enhanced everything else and they once more deliver a stellar online experience. The Beta had me excited but the finished product is fantastic and fun regardless what you decide to do. It has so much on offer and you fail to tire of the online battle as with weapon upgrades as well as character customization. Also there's a co-op both online and offline which is a grand feature. They provide story missions such as finding artifacts and they also provide arena modes such as surviving enemy waves and finding treasure, it's tremendously enjoyable fun that always has you coming back for more and more. Taking Uncharted 3: Drake's Deception as a whole package I have to admit any doubts I had about Naughty Dog's ability to improve there epic franchise are a distant memory. Uncharted is a tour de force that grabs you and never lets you go. It's engrossing, entertaining and immersive and beautifully crafted. Make no mistake Uncharted is one of the finest, most stunning games ever to grace a console. The single player experience is epic and provides you with moments that only Uncharted can because anything else pails in comparison to top it off the Multiplayer is heavily improved and now offers you so much more gametime and above all gives you bags of fun for hours on end. The icing on the top is that it looks like a blockbuster movie, simple as that it gets beautiful and better with each outing. How Naughty Dog top Uncharted 3 is beyond me but I think it's safe to say the franchise is in extremely safe hands and they will somehow find a way to blow us again in two years time. All thats left to say is you have to experience what is another epic masterpiece! Expand
  87. Nov 19, 2011
    9
    Uncharted 3 is a thoroughly entertaining and impressive game, it's just not as good as Uncharted 2. Control seems somehow less precise, whether it is worse than Uncharted 2 or showing it's age I can't say for sure. Combat seems a little on the clunky side, but the game is simply so gorgeous that you really don't care. Story is top-notch as well. It's not a perfect 10, but it's a must buy it you own a PS3. I'd like to give it an 8.5 (if Metacritic would ever bother with a half point system), but 8 seems too low. Expand
  88. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Amazing game for me, the best on PlayStation 3 if it comes to single player. I have finished the game once and I'm playing now on the hardest difficulty setting. Graphics are outstanding, even better than in 2nd game, sound is amazing, animations are the best of this generation, the story in incredible. I just couldn't stop playing when I started. Congratulations Naughty Dog and just one more word: WOOOW!!!!! Expand
  89. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Beautiful story, excellent and fun multiplayer, great co-op, sounds awesome with a headset and even through TV, looks amazing.... what more would you want in a game?
  90. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    This game is a perfect 10. IGN, a trusted website, doesn't just give out perfect 10's lightly. You are hooked from beginning to end! A must own by any game player!
  91. MJR
    Dec 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I know how much the game is loved and how much the series is loved by it's fans. But the truth is I found the game to be very shallow compared to Uncharted 2, which i would give a perfect 10. The characters sort of jump in and out of the story with Chloe and Cutter disappearing and that random Arabic guy near the end. Felt a little bit deus ex (not a reference to the Deus Ex games), and there was no climatic finish like Uncharted 2 where the sap from the Tree of Life is eaten by Lazaravich and the worst comes to worst followed by a great boss battle. In Uncharted 3 the container at the bottom of the well in the City of Brass containing the Djinn is taken care of in a cutscene you had nothing to do with. Bye evil thing that I never saw surfaced. Also that B**ch Marlowe is killed by quicksand and Drake even attempted to SAVE her. I wanted to straight up kill that c**t. Weak and unsatisfying. I will admit that the fight with Talbot as the city collapses was pretty intense as was the chase in Cartagena as young Drake. The graphic are beautiful, no denying that, and as always the voice acting is superb. The gameplay flows really well, with fisticuffs being a real highlight. I also really enjoyed the cruise ship level but it felt weird because there was no reason to have been on the boat. It was irrelevant to the story, a filler, albeit an awesome filler. You got nothing out of the level other than, oh Drake wasted a bunch of time. Overall it was a very good game with a lot of cool aspects and levels, but the end was kind of a let down, and the cruise ship level I wish could have been integrated better into the plot line. I also wish Chloe and Cutter were in the game longer and that the Arabic guy wasn't or that you had met him sooner to make him more relevant. The only area the game really suffered was the story (which is very important to me considering I'm not the biggest fan of multiplayer), mainly from the time the Djinn get sent back down into the well to the end, which had nothing on the showdown with Lazaravich. In the words of Mega64 sometimes games are just okay. They don't all need a 9 or 10. Expand
  92. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    THIS GAME IS EPIC!!!! Get this game, don't wait! It's one fo the best PS3 exclusives that you don't wanna miss. It's got great graphics, motion and physics. It's like Tomb Raider, but you are a treasure hunter in this game, and you fight thugs in combat and shooting. Multiplayer is awesome as well, better than most Third-Person Shooting games'. A solid 10 for this game!
  93. Nov 5, 2011
    7
    Let me be so blunt and saying for those you scored this a perfect 10 need to rewrite there review or complete the game before writing there review. Don't get me wrong this is a beautiful game inspired by the last 2 games in the series. Good graphics, nice sounds, sub par game play, and intriguing storyline. With the game play being sub par its hard for me to give it a perfect 10 while the cover system and shooting mechanics still haven't been fixed. Graphics still look like the first game and not to mention the length of this game is way to short for a modern day video game that costs over $60 to purchase. What Naughty Dog did well is tell a compelling story. Also note there characters are one of the better elements of the franchise. Following there characters throughout the franchise and seeing where each relationship goes is interesting. Here's my bottom line scores: Graphics 4/5, sound 4/5, game play 3/5, fun factor 3/5, replay value 3/5. Expand
  94. Nov 27, 2011
    8
    Naughty Dog: You guys are the best. You made Uncharted 2. Uncharted. F*cking. Two. Starting on a new game immediately afterwards must have been almost soul crushing. I know you all are very passionate about what you do, and it really shows in the finished product, but even so......needing to follow up your masterpiece right away instead of letting it soak in for a while was probably a very tough thing to do. Your efforts on Uncharted 3 are inspiring. You packed in tons of cool moments, while trying to flesh out the character of an Action hero. No easy task. With all due respect though, the pacing of Uncharted 3 didn't excite me too much. I felt that the game started with a whimper, and then all the set pieces after that were more like flashes of lightning than a building storm. It seems also that some changes were made just for the sake of change. The way Nate walks near walls has been compared to "Captain Jack Sparrow" and that analogy made me laugh several times throughout the game. The increased focus on puzzle solving, while very clever in design, takes away from the rollicking action sensibility which made UC2 so fun to play and replay. All of the puzzles in Uncharted 3 make me less inclined to trudge through the game again because they detract from the excitement of the game. And now, for my biggest complaint about the game: the gun fights and shooting controls. I don't enjoy them. The fights are tedious where Uncharted 2's were fun. Wave after wave of enemy, often as you're just leaving another plot point on the checklist. And the fact that the shooting controls are less responsive than your previous game utterly frustrated me. I stopped playing the game halfway through for about a week, in hopes that the controls would be patched. I waited and waited, but the patch never came. I eventually soldiered on through the game, but was continually annoyed by the controls. Sure, I adapted to them, but they weren't very much fun for me. All in all, I'd say that playing Uncharted 3 became a chore. Something i was obligated to finish, without feeling utterly compelled. Had the gun controls been better, i might have actually liked the game a lot more because i would have been enjoying that other 50% of it instead of constantly being reminded of how this game doesn't feel like the others. Please fix the controls. Expand
  95. Nov 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted 3 is the most beautiful game ever made for the consoles.I think is one of the top 3 games of the year.Naughty dog done very good work again. Expand
  96. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    Surprisingly challenging. Combat is slightly improved over its predecessors - bullets hit harder and Drake has some new melee moves. It's just fun to play all the way around. Naughty Dog is constantly changing up the game play type and surroundings to keep things always feeling fresh and different. A must-own for PS3 enthusiasts.
  97. Nov 4, 2011
    6
    I'm such a big fan of Uncharted 2 that it pains me to say this, but this game has been nothing but a disappointment to me. UC2 succeeded because of excellent pacing between gunplay and platforming, thanks to great level design and a simple combat mechanic that left the focus where it should be--on the rest of the game. The changes to the combat system in UC3 force any fighting--hand to hand or gun--down to a plodding pace. The level design is a shade above terrible, as the enemies (usually 10 or 15 in an area) have way too much room to maneuver and flank Drake, and the cover that you're afforded just doesn't plain work half the time. Even the writing, the thing that made me fall in love with UC2, suffers at times, especially during the Syria mission. Take the title off the box, take the budget off of the engine, and this is a mediocre game. Not a bad game--a mediocre one. And I can't tell you how disappointed that makes me. Expand
  98. Ru3
    Nov 29, 2011
    3
    I recently bought the EXPLORER's edition of this game which, for those who do not know, costed a bit over $200 AU. I was looking forward to a perfectly perfect experience
    However, this game is far from perfect. I'm a HUGE fan of UC1 and UC2, but this one has been so fraught with technical problems that I can't quite immerse myself like I had hoped. UC3 is playing havoc with my ps3, as well
    as many others complaining on Naughty Dog forums. Many are experiencing an eternal spinning ring at loading screens. Some, like myself, have CONSTANT audio cut-outs, environment drop-outs, and cutscene freezing issues.
    As an avid fan of the UC series, I have waited patiently for a month now, HOPING that Naughty Dog would remedy the situation.
    Unfortunately, the first patch fixed 3D. The second patch added theatre mode for cutscenes, motion blur, and aiming.
    Naughty Dog has not addressed any issues for those of us who can hardly even PLAY this game. They address complaints about 'oh, I can't aim my gun as well as I should' and 'I can't get my multiplayer to work properly!'... HOW ABOUT ensuring that 100% of your customers can actually PLAY this game, rather than forsaking the minority who get a substandard or even nonexistent experience.
    UC1 fan. UC2 fan. UC3... has completely destabilized my confidence in the series.
    Expand
  99. Dec 3, 2011
    7
    No, this is not the greatest game ever made. No, this is not the best Uncharted ever made. It is a fabulous game, with lots of production values, great story, gameplay and a cast of characters we've learned to love. But, in my honest opinion, Naughty Dog has not improved with Uncharted 3. For me, Uncharted 2 started with a much more of a bang, which made it IMPOSSIBLE to put it down. I feel like U3 walks under the shadow of U2 with occasional moments of brilliance. Sometimes it's pure genius. Other times it looks lazy and uninspired. What's with the clone-thugs? It's impossible to be indifferent to 100 guys in a black suit and red tie (with almost the same faces). The game is beautiful, yes, and plays beautifuly too. But... they stepped so much further between U1 and U2 that's impossible to ignore that U3 doesn't look as inspired. It's like they started running out of ideas, I don't know. This is a great game, but it feels sub-par for the Uncharted franchise. Great, indeed, but not the greatest game, nor the best Uncharted. U2 remains the best thriller so far. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 97 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 97
  2. Negative: 0 out of 97
  1. The characterisations by the actors is second to none and even though this tall-tale takes you to fantastical places and events, the script is never once unbelievable. You never feel like an outsider. If anything, you'll feel right at home, ensconced in the constant drama of this loveable cast of returning reprobates and reprehensible villains. [Dec 2011, p60]
  2. Feb 5, 2012
    100
    It's more than just the best entry in an outstanding series though - it epitomises the very reason many of us play video games. And that's its greatest achievement.
  3. 90
    Only a few camera troubles stopped us from giving Drake's Deception the highest rating. Uncharted 3 is without doubt the best PS3 exclusive game of this year. [Dec 2011]