Uncharted: Drake's Fortune PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2467 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JasonM.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Uncharted is by far head-over-heels above most of it's competition if you look into the technology of the game. The graphics are beautiful with lush jungles as well as rusty corridors when indoors, with just the right color palette and lighting to make the best of any setting. The sound is immersive. The story is full of suspense and mystery. Gameplay is addictive. I really Uncharted is by far head-over-heels above most of it's competition if you look into the technology of the game. The graphics are beautiful with lush jungles as well as rusty corridors when indoors, with just the right color palette and lighting to make the best of any setting. The sound is immersive. The story is full of suspense and mystery. Gameplay is addictive. I really don't see anything wrong with this title. It's an incredible game completely worthy of it's AAA status. Expand
  2. GeorgeM
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    The first time i read something about Uncharted, i felt nothing but indifference for it....it didn't look interesting and the hero looked a little to Ben Affleck-ey, so i wasn't expecting much....i was COMPLETELY surprised by the end result. Uncharted is one of if not the best action/adventure/shooters I've ever played and it ranks right up there with Gears of War, the only The first time i read something about Uncharted, i felt nothing but indifference for it....it didn't look interesting and the hero looked a little to Ben Affleck-ey, so i wasn't expecting much....i was COMPLETELY surprised by the end result. Uncharted is one of if not the best action/adventure/shooters I've ever played and it ranks right up there with Gears of War, the only thing its missing is multiplayer. The graphics are amazing with highly detailed textures that could make the Unreal engine sweat and the water effects are some of the best seen and little details like our heros clothes getting soaked and drying right before our eyes are nice, the sound effects, music, and voice acting are well done, and the gameplay is nice and responsive. The controls are virtually identical to Gears of War, the running and taking cover feel the same but the controls feel a bit tighter in Uncharted. The story and characters are interesting, and everything feels like your standard adventure / comedy with a almost Hollywood movie feel, which makes it fun to play AND watch. Uncharted is one of the ps3s better games out of its earlier line-up, amazing graphics that prove the ps3 is capable, fun shoot-em-up action, and a story that keeps a smile on your face. Expand
  3. MasJ.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Possibly my favorite adventure game of all time and I've been playing video games since the Atari 2600.
  4. Jesse
    Jan 5, 2008
    8
    awesome looking game. real fun. a bit repetitive after a while with the fighting. no side quests. totally linear, almost basic. the thing that did suck was how unbelievably short it was. i beat it in 9 hours and i took my time. oh well, still fun. just needed to be longer.
  5. Rudy
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Great game and story. Absolutely fun to play. Happy and sad when I finished this game. For a person who usually only plays sporting games, this game had a lot of action with some platforming thrown in to keep me interested the entire game. Wasn't as short as people said it was. Seemed like the perfect length to me.
  6. MARKP.
    Mar 19, 2008
    8
    Awesome graphics make this a game to own, however the game would have been much more fun had they included more jumping, climbing, and figuring out clues to advance. This repetitive shootout with 100 plus bad guys gets a little ridiculous and tiresome. This game has alot of potential if they could just reduce the shooting in the next release.
  7. EugenioP.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    This game is absolute class. It is unparalleled visually and story wise. The gameplay mechanics are very user friendly and immerse the player into a picture perfect world where ones imagination can roam freely. Without a doubt the best exclusive on the Playstation 3 and perhaps the best single player title available on the market. We will be talking about this game in years to come.
  8. BryanS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    A lot of people claim this is a rip-off of Indiana Jones....... I don't consider that a BAD thing, that's one of the many aspects I love about this game, it's exciting!
  9. BradleyD.
    Jun 13, 2008
    9
    Brilliant adventure game featuring watered-down Tomb-Raider exploring and a beefed-up Tomb-Raider combat mechanic. However, the shootouts, whilst spectacular, are frequently over-used and tend to drag on while the exploring feels under-used in comparison. Despite this, Uncharted is stunning!
  10. AaronM
    Jun 22, 2008
    9
    It has the feel of a movie, a great story, great acting. Oh yeah, the gameplay is great too.
  11. MsediW.
    Jul 1, 2008
    9
    This game was great. Its a box of surprises especially towards the end. Next to a stunning game is the amazing storyline. This should be written into the PS3's History Books because it shows many reasons on why to get a PS3. It is quite short though. Thats why I give it a nine. A game like this should be longer. No doubt, its great and hopefully the sequel will come very soon.
  12. JaredH.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    rob why do you say it has no replay value when you admit to beating it several times. anyway i think this game is great in all aspects except the sequel needs to have harder puzzles and more exploration.
  13. JoeD
    Aug 4, 2008
    9
    Brilliant story, amazing graphics, good gameplay, could have had more puzzling but the shooting is good enough to hold it's own. All the comments that are below 7 are blatantly xbox fanboys.
  14. SamE
    Jan 1, 2009
    9
    The gameplay is solid and enjoyable however if you are looking for a better ps3 exclusive adventure game go for ratchet and clank future. a better shooter go for resistance. or if you want a better mixture go for metal gear solid 4.
  15. uncharteddrakesfortune
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I would give this game a 9.4 but i could not do that so i put a 9. This game would get a 10 if it was longer. I am an average gamer and it took me only 5 hours to beat it. It is a little bit too short... Still it was an amazing game with great graphics. If you have a ps3, it is a must buy.
  16. EddieC
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    Truly an amazing new IP from naughty dog. I can't wait to see what they have up their sleeves for the second one.
  17. DarcyW.
    Jul 9, 2009
    9
    Great story and beautiful graphics. Loads of excitement and enjoyment. I am just starting my second time through this game. Monkeys, birds, and a host of other items I never saw first time through. Highly recommended.
  18. WesH.
    Sep 24, 2009
    8
    A really great looking game with Hollywoodesque production values and fast-paced gameplay. The voice talent is also top-notch and it is impressively atmospheric. That said, the gameplay is at times very repetitive, the puzzles are not all that challenging, and the gun battles can at times be frustrating to the point that you want to throw your controller at the TV. But overall it is one A really great looking game with Hollywoodesque production values and fast-paced gameplay. The voice talent is also top-notch and it is impressively atmospheric. That said, the gameplay is at times very repetitive, the puzzles are not all that challenging, and the gun battles can at times be frustrating to the point that you want to throw your controller at the TV. But overall it is one of the better games on the PS3. Expand
  19. JustariusS
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Naughty Dog does it again. For the longest time I was following the progress of this game and I had high hopes. That's usually a bad thing. I'm almost always disappointed over what could or should have been (Assassin's Creed anyone?). But Uncharted cleanly trumped my expectations for the 1st time in awhile. This game is all about the immersing "movie-like" experience. By theNaughty Dog does it again. For the longest time I was following the progress of this game and I had high hopes. That's usually a bad thing. I'm almost always disappointed over what could or should have been (Assassin's Creed anyone?). But Uncharted cleanly trumped my expectations for the 1st time in awhile. This game is all about the immersing "movie-like" experience. By the end your only disappointment will be that the game is over like when the credits roll after watching a great film. You'll probably play Uncharted at least twice and after that it will come out once and awhile when friends come over and you want to dazzle them with your PS3 (along with the likes of MotorStorm, Warhawk, Ratchet & Clank, Heavenly Sword & COD4 although Uncharted trumps them all). As of the fall of 2007, the PS3 has finally arrived in the games department and Uncharted is one hell of a PS3 exclusive to get that party started. Expand
  20. LJK.
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Nearly perfect, only a few dull points. Some of the best in game story telling I've seen outside of an RPG.
  21. LB
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    After playing this amazing game, reading these reviews feels exactly like watching foxnews: makes you want to puke at the sponsored dishonesty, and the appalling lack of accountability. This is the best game I've played this year on any platform, don't let any digital cockroach tell you otherwise, especially if they own a soapbox in the gaming media. Microsoft is now swiftboatingAfter playing this amazing game, reading these reviews feels exactly like watching foxnews: makes you want to puke at the sponsored dishonesty, and the appalling lack of accountability. This is the best game I've played this year on any platform, don't let any digital cockroach tell you otherwise, especially if they own a soapbox in the gaming media. Microsoft is now swiftboating at large because they've seen how successful it is when you can get away with murder. I am now done with official gaming sites just like any mainstream media outlet. Expand
  22. JonA.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Great visuals, great gameplay, great story, great sound, lots of replay value, all thats missing is online play. still, one of the best games of the year and a must own.
  23. FarooqA.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Simply put, the collection of best bitsfrom Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider serie, charged with pulp exoticness of Indiana Jones and garnshed with Naughty Dog's own spice of hilarious moments and their own innovations on the gameplay makes this an excellent, playable feast. The visual are second to none...the lush environments and how the jungle interacts, and sometimes reacts, is Simply put, the collection of best bitsfrom Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider serie, charged with pulp exoticness of Indiana Jones and garnshed with Naughty Dog's own spice of hilarious moments and their own innovations on the gameplay makes this an excellent, playable feast. The visual are second to none...the lush environments and how the jungle interacts, and sometimes reacts, is just flawless. You won't find such quality of animations elsewhere, write it on the stone NOW ! Expand
  24. MarcelD.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Simply the most beautiful game i have played. Outplays Ratchet and Clank which was already amazing in terms of environments and atmosphere. Some scenes are just stunning (the waterfalls!) and i believe haven't been done before in a video game. Gameplay wise, it's a whole lot of fun, the cover system during gunplay feels great and you will just enjoy taking some time off Simply the most beautiful game i have played. Outplays Ratchet and Clank which was already amazing in terms of environments and atmosphere. Some scenes are just stunning (the waterfalls!) and i believe haven't been done before in a video game. Gameplay wise, it's a whole lot of fun, the cover system during gunplay feels great and you will just enjoy taking some time off wandering around in the excellent exploration sequences. The acting , the characters and the story are all excellent as well, it's a very very well crafted game... so all in all, definitely the best game i've played on the PS3 so far, a must play. Expand
  25. Warmonger
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Great game! It's sort of a.... Part Tomb raider part gears of war type game. The enemies can be brutally tough and they seem to come in waves but if you use cover effectively you should have less of a problem and what a sense of accomplishment.... when you finish a fire fight whoa!. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the controls bang on,the story and music are also Great game! It's sort of a.... Part Tomb raider part gears of war type game. The enemies can be brutally tough and they seem to come in waves but if you use cover effectively you should have less of a problem and what a sense of accomplishment.... when you finish a fire fight whoa!. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the controls bang on,the story and music are also excellent.....This is definitly a must have for PS3 owners. Expand
  26. KyleS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    All around perfection, great game. All I can hope for is online play battles in the sequel
  27. Anthony
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Great gameplay, stunning visuials, most fun have had on my ps3 this year.
  28. Brian
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Right after I beat the game on normal, I was already starting a new game on hard.
  29. Jin-HoT.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    Great game ! I replayed it on higher difficulty to experience the new skins, rendering modes, tougher enemy AI and also for collecting more treasures. For people who obviously rate it low without playing (like Jan below). Shame on you !
  30. JoelC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing, like playing a great hollywood action film. Game of the year for me.
  31. EricG.
    Dec 25, 2007
    7
    Totally agree with Toby O. Uncharted has the spirit of a great Indy movie, but is bogged down on numerous occasions by constant streams of bad guys to shoot, which gets very repetitive very quickly. I'd even say all the extra, unnecessary shooting pads the game another 3 hours that I could've done without. Don't get me wrong, the platforming is great, the presentation is Totally agree with Toby O. Uncharted has the spirit of a great Indy movie, but is bogged down on numerous occasions by constant streams of bad guys to shoot, which gets very repetitive very quickly. I'd even say all the extra, unnecessary shooting pads the game another 3 hours that I could've done without. Don't get me wrong, the platforming is great, the presentation is superb and overall package is first rate, but that one blemish of all the shooting really took a lot away from it for me. Expand
  32. DJC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    7
    Plays nicely and looks pretty good but there is too much shooting and not nearly enough puzzles.
  33. KyleJ.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Seriously.... this is a very very good game. From the graphics(which have been praised as the best on console to date) to the animation, story, gameplay, twist.....everything about this game is AAA.
  34. MichelS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Marvelous gameplay, realistic graphics and movie-like cutscenes! This may be the best PS3-only game on the market!
  35. OddM,
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Best game I've played this year. Engaging story, pretty graphics, and most importantly, great gameplay. I love it.
  36. WalterC.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    This game looks,plays,flawlessly.
  37. TobyO.
    Dec 9, 2007
    7
    While good looking and with a passable popcorn-esque story, Uncharted falls off the charts for its subpar gameplay. I want jungle exploration and next-gen Tomb Raider-esque platforming. Instead, I'm forced to shoot endless streams of drones in a knockoff of Gears of War's aim/cover mechanic. I thought this was inspired by Romancing the Stone, not Hardboiled. I thought this was While good looking and with a passable popcorn-esque story, Uncharted falls off the charts for its subpar gameplay. I want jungle exploration and next-gen Tomb Raider-esque platforming. Instead, I'm forced to shoot endless streams of drones in a knockoff of Gears of War's aim/cover mechanic. I thought this was inspired by Romancing the Stone, not Hardboiled. I thought this was going to be like Tomb Raider, not Contra! Once again, a developer pads its gameplay with way too much shooting -- which to me ruined the game. Expand
  38. ErlendH.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Nicely balanced gameplay, tongue-in-cheek dialogue and above adequate story. Visually stunning! Pure fun with the occasional moments saturated with adrenalin!
  39. SephyX
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Great game, on the brink of a system seller. But none the less a game that establishes the foundation for a great franchise of other games. The game plays alot like Gears of War, except simply better and alot less clunky. The storyline isnt overly complexed, which helps the games pace rather then dragging it out, the firefights are intense and challenging, and the graphics are nothing Great game, on the brink of a system seller. But none the less a game that establishes the foundation for a great franchise of other games. The game plays alot like Gears of War, except simply better and alot less clunky. The storyline isnt overly complexed, which helps the games pace rather then dragging it out, the firefights are intense and challenging, and the graphics are nothing short of stunning. To compliment these things, the game also delivers one of the more charismatic characters to hit video games in quite a while. If you dont like this game you simply dont know what quality is, or you're desperate to find a reason to rip on the PS3. Expand
  40. MauriceW.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The best ps3 game.Phenomenal graphics, awesome gameplay and an excellent story.
  41. JasonConaway
    Jan 2, 2008
    9
    This game was the most fun I've had in a long time. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune combines awesome visuals and evocative music with exciting, challenging, and varied gameplay. This game is a must-buy if you own a PS3. My only complaints are small nit-picks. For example, you'll occasionally see "screen tearing" when the game tries to draw too much. Also, with plenty of weaponsThis game was the most fun I've had in a long time. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune combines awesome visuals and evocative music with exciting, challenging, and varied gameplay. This game is a must-buy if you own a PS3. My only complaints are small nit-picks. For example, you'll occasionally see "screen tearing" when the game tries to draw too much. Also, with plenty of weapons and ammunition at your disposal, hand-to-hand fighting is rarely necessary and so you won't do it much, but that means you'll miss some of the game's most dramatic combat animations. Finally, the game's primary source of frustration comes from difficulty with staying in "cover" or leaving it when you want. Aside from that issue, the player controls are inuitive and feel responsive. That's an impressive feat considering the fluid character animations. Expand
  42. TboneRex
    Jan 24, 2008
    7
    While this game is good and looks beautiful it's not big on the puzzles. The game pretty much guides you right through with many hints or way too obvious paths. There is a lot more shooting in the game than I thought. Which is okay but if you are used to other FPS games it's not that great. Back to the adventure stuff... the story is pretty good and the characters are great but While this game is good and looks beautiful it's not big on the puzzles. The game pretty much guides you right through with many hints or way too obvious paths. There is a lot more shooting in the game than I thought. Which is okay but if you are used to other FPS games it's not that great. Back to the adventure stuff... the story is pretty good and the characters are great but I remember the old tomb raiders games and how you'd work out the problem in your head while trying it on screen. This game just gives you the answer. Even on hard you can't get lost or stuck for more than 2 minutes so I felt like I was just blowing through this game. On a rental you can finish it if you have about 6 to 8 hours to kill. It's nice but not the adventure game I was hoping for... also too much shooting and not enough exploring. Expand
  43. TheTruth
    Jan 25, 2008
    7
    Ok, where to start? Controls could of been custumizable, to be more specific I prefer invert y and x. As for story line, pretty boring but the gameplay kept it interesting. As for graphics, nothing special but nice. I think it would be a nice collection to have for the ps3. Overall, worth more than to rent.
  44. DanishA.
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    Awesome graphics! A little confusing but still a game to remember in history. The story is a little boring but still the gameplay is fun and competitive.
  45. RodolfoA.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best titles PS3 has to offer, a sure classic many years from now. Has the potential to become one of the most successful franchise developed by Naughty Dog.
  46. H.Algawahmed
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    Simply, great enjoyable game. This sets up the bar for future adventure games
  47. TylerW.
    Mar 13, 2008
    9
    One of the best games for the PS3 so far!
  48. DannA.
    Mar 5, 2008
    8
    It's fun and hands-down the best looking game I've ever seen. My only complaint is that it's so hard to aim.
  49. Justin
    Apr 13, 2008
    9
    One of the best adventure games ever made. Great story, gameplay, and controls. You will love Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Best visuals on a console today. Anyone that hates on this gem has the worst taste in gaming.
  50. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Great story telling, graphics and gameplay, what more do you want?
  51. WordyWordword
    May 29, 2008
    7
    Very repetitive after the first hour, but I persevered. Stunning graphics, the light shining through the leaves is an amazing thing to see when you are just plodding through the jungle. Lack of weaponry made it easy for me to turn off about 80% through, it just got boring.
  52. ChanseW.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    Despite some of the jarring comments located in this forum, Uncharted does garner a look by those interested in a solid action/adventure title. The men and women at Naughty Dog have retained their knack for solid controls as well as beautiful graphics while still enveloping the player in a tropical treasure hunt. While sometimes battles can get tedious it never becomes a chore. Despite some of the jarring comments located in this forum, Uncharted does garner a look by those interested in a solid action/adventure title. The men and women at Naughty Dog have retained their knack for solid controls as well as beautiful graphics while still enveloping the player in a tropical treasure hunt. While sometimes battles can get tedious it never becomes a chore. Furthermore, the solid grappling/climbing mechanic (somewhat reminiscent of Assassin's Creed), is cause for some 'wow' moments. Voice acting and cutscenes are well done, leading to that great summer movie feel, and Nathan Drake seems like a character that could go places. Puzzles are few and far between, and when they are encountered prove to not be quite difficult (it has to be mentioned though that this was not made to be a Riven or Myst...it's made to be filled with action). Overall a good game that has a few flaws, but is certainly worth the money and time. Expand
  53. JamesW.
    Jul 23, 2008
    9
    Great action game, but not without drawbacks. Replay value is limited, and the gunplay can get a bit repetitive.
  54. MichaelS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the best looking game I've played to date next to MGS4. It's visuals and gameplay, along with the environments are jaw-droppingly gorgeous. Easily one the the PS3's best titles.
  55. TomS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    A great game, with a great twist near the end.
  56. JoshP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    This is the only game i can honestly say is a 10/10 game GTA 4 is a 8.5 at best, MGS 4 is about a 9.3, CoD 4 is about a 9.6, Gears of war is about a 9.3, but THIS is 10/10 This game gets a full score in all categories, graphics, sound, story, gameplay everything i have personally played through this game at least 10 times, possibly closer to 20, and have enjoyed every second the This is the only game i can honestly say is a 10/10 game GTA 4 is a 8.5 at best, MGS 4 is about a 9.3, CoD 4 is about a 9.6, Gears of war is about a 9.3, but THIS is 10/10 This game gets a full score in all categories, graphics, sound, story, gameplay everything i have personally played through this game at least 10 times, possibly closer to 20, and have enjoyed every second the storytelling and acting in this game is on par with blockbuster movies, the characters are all believable and the storyb with all its twists and turns are excellent no game has had this effect on me ever before 10/10 in every category. Expand
  57. DB
    Aug 15, 2008
    7
    Uncharted is a fun single player game, worth playing through. It has great colorful graphics and a decent story line, which can be a bit cheesy in a Indiana Jones/National Treasure sort of way. The gameplay is similar to a Tomb Raider style and has a lot of jumping puzzles that tend to get a bit repetitive after a while. It does now support trophies, so that is a plus, but I'd say it Uncharted is a fun single player game, worth playing through. It has great colorful graphics and a decent story line, which can be a bit cheesy in a Indiana Jones/National Treasure sort of way. The gameplay is similar to a Tomb Raider style and has a lot of jumping puzzles that tend to get a bit repetitive after a while. It does now support trophies, so that is a plus, but I'd say it doesn't have much, if any, replayability. Overall I'd say it's a good, not great, game. Worth while picking up on a rental or get a deal on it used. Expand
  58. TomL
    Dec 16, 2009
    9
    The designers of this game kept their eye on the ball: fun. That's the point of a game after all, and they hit it pretty well. There's a few spots late in the game that take away, but all in all extremely well done, and highly recommended.
  59. zachu
    May 20, 2009
    10
    One of the only games this year i actually enjoyed. To this day uncharted is ym fav game of all time. the characters pull you in to learn more about theyr story. the story itself is like an indiana jones adventure with crazy jumps and extremely satisfying gunplay with an amazing choice of armory. the animations are top notch. graphics are MORE than top notch. every singleobject in this One of the only games this year i actually enjoyed. To this day uncharted is ym fav game of all time. the characters pull you in to learn more about theyr story. the story itself is like an indiana jones adventure with crazy jumps and extremely satisfying gunplay with an amazing choice of armory. the animations are top notch. graphics are MORE than top notch. every singleobject in this game as an amazing amount of detail. overall this game is a 10/10. its simply amazing. the twist in the game makes it even more interesting. Expand
  60. AnthonyL
    May 26, 2009
    9
    One of the most plain fun games I've played in ages. This game is just FUN. It does the storytelling fantastically, the shooting well (although there is a little too much of it at times) and the platforming well and puzzles well. If only it lasted a little longer than the 7 hours it took for me on hard it would have got a 10 from me. Great music and acting. Amazing graphics.
  61. nijinski1
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Every positive comment here is true. the one thing i'd like to emphasize further is that you cannot underestimate the value of quality voice acting and excellently presented cut scenes. it gives a movie feel to the storyline. best adventure game experience I've had since tombraider 1.
  62. JeredR.
    Sep 4, 2009
    9
    Frankly, I very much enjoyed this game. It had everything that I would expect from Naughty Dog. The visuals are amazing, the soundtrack is as solid as it's engaging..... and the gameplay is solid for a third-person shooter of its caliber. My few large gripes about the game would come in its close-quarters combat, which was not nearly as fluid as the rest of the game. I found myself Frankly, I very much enjoyed this game. It had everything that I would expect from Naughty Dog. The visuals are amazing, the soundtrack is as solid as it's engaging..... and the gameplay is solid for a third-person shooter of its caliber. My few large gripes about the game would come in its close-quarters combat, which was not nearly as fluid as the rest of the game. I found myself wishing for Jak's spin-kick on more then one occasion. Overall, I give Uncharted its well-deserved props. As for its sequel, I have high-hopes that it takes the bar and raises it higher, as Naughty Dog has done for years. Expand
  63. CT
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    A truly awesome story full of epic shootouts and acrobatic platforming! This game has it all plus it shows off the PS3 capabilities like no other game has so far.
    There are no load times which help keep you entrenched in the story. The graphics will make you say WOW many many times! The Voice acting is the best I have ever experienced in a video game and you will develop a true
    A truly awesome story full of epic shootouts and acrobatic platforming! This game has it all plus it shows off the PS3 capabilities like no other game has so far.
    There are no load times which help keep you entrenched in the story. The graphics will make you say WOW many many times! The Voice acting is the best I have ever experienced in a video game and you will develop a true interest in all of the charactors.

    Overall, this is the best game released on the PS3 so far (Rachett and Clank Future is a close second) and promises to be a classic! Naughty Dog should be praised for making such a solid game that truly is a next gen experience!
    Expand
  64. E
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best games I have ever played. The gameplay, especially during shootouts, is phenominal.
  65. EduardoR.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This is a true next gen game. Breathtaking graphics, great game mechanics, excellent controls. This is a must buy game for any PS3 owner.
  66. JoeD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, gameplay, stoyry, graphics, sound. It's an overall great experience.
  67. MarcB.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The game is incredible. it incorporates parts of many games that i love, such as the tactical shooter aspect of rainbow six (along with the gruelling difficulty), and the wonderful puzzle/platforming, reminiscent of prince of persia and god of war. I really think that microsoft is paying off companies to review this game negatively: for example, gamestop argued that the enemies were hard The game is incredible. it incorporates parts of many games that i love, such as the tactical shooter aspect of rainbow six (along with the gruelling difficulty), and the wonderful puzzle/platforming, reminiscent of prince of persia and god of war. I really think that microsoft is paying off companies to review this game negatively: for example, gamestop argued that the enemies were hard to beat. the enemies were hard to beat in ninja gaiden, too! but that was a good thing about the game! another thing, this game is MUCH better than games such as halo and gears of war, but they gut much, much better reviews. not cool. Expand
  68. DeeC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing, the graphics are second to none.. Sensational! And it plays extremely well, Thumbs up to Naughty Dog!!!
  69. D.Vid.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best graphics for consoles great sound effects, great orchestral music, superb voice acting best animations so far gameplay is fun, fast, action packed.
  70. MatthewS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Best game I've played all year, it's a game you can easily play through again to unlock things because it's fun and it doesn't feel like a chore, which most games leave behind.
  71. BrendonR.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    Stunning! Graphics are top notch, the action is great, controls are tight. It feels like you're playing an "Indianna Jones" style movie. Also, unlike many recent games, its not over in 8 hours. Best reason to own a PS3 yet.
  72. Darren
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time. It's beautiful, entertaining, challenging, but not to the point of being frustrating. I thought Tomb Raider was one of the worst games I've ever played and was afraid that this would have the same frustrating jumping sequences and it doesn't. It has its flaws. Times where it's hard to see around a corner, Honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time. It's beautiful, entertaining, challenging, but not to the point of being frustrating. I thought Tomb Raider was one of the worst games I've ever played and was afraid that this would have the same frustrating jumping sequences and it doesn't. It has its flaws. Times where it's hard to see around a corner, or some odd camera angles, but I'm more than willing to forgive them in this game. This is the first game I haven't been able to stop playing since God of War II. Thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
  73. JasonC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    This is by far the best game this year. With wonderful visuals, great gameplay, decent story and a crap ton of unlockables for replay value. If I had time make any complaints, its that Uncharted does NOT have multiplayer or even co-op which now and days should be a highly important part of gameplay fixed in. The worst part about that it seems it would have been easy to code it in cause in This is by far the best game this year. With wonderful visuals, great gameplay, decent story and a crap ton of unlockables for replay value. If I had time make any complaints, its that Uncharted does NOT have multiplayer or even co-op which now and days should be a highly important part of gameplay fixed in. The worst part about that it seems it would have been easy to code it in cause in multiple parts of the game, you are joined by one or even two other characters. My only other complaint is the lack of different locaitions (which isn't a horrible thing), but for the most part in the game you are really in a jungle or ruins, which gets kind of old. I think the next one will be even better. One thing I hear alot is "The combat is to frustraiting" which is the case, but you can get good at it (even enough that Deathmatch might be in the next one). All and all 9/10, I hope for multiplayer next time. Expand
  74. James
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Beautiful graphics, fluid gameplay and spot on acting make this game the best I've played on the platform... and that includes Call of Duty 4. A must buy!
  75. MattD.
    Dec 1, 2007
    9
    The very best I've played this generation. Great pacing so far and a bloody U Boat in a waterfall.. Boys own stuff!
  76. BP
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, Amazing visuals and epic story. There is no point in owning a PS3 without this game.
  77. BeatrixKiddo
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Funnest Game I have played so far this year. My other favorites are. Ratchet and Clank TOD, COD4, Halo3, The orange Box, Resistance and Gears. This one takes the cake though. Soooooo Fun!!!! The movement of the character is addicting. You want to take him and jump off of everything just to see him grab hold of stuff. Awesome!!!!
  78. AdamP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    This game is far better than anything i have played this year. People say the shooting and adventuring can not go together but the is one of the poorest excuses i have heard to rate this game down. This game is like being indiana jones then going home and nailing the prom queen.
  79. AbrahamS.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Best console graphics, great AI, engaging story. Best overall game for the holidays.
  80. JosephW.
    Dec 27, 2007
    9
    It's a great mix of puzzles, platforming, and shooting combined with great graphics. The Combat can get a little old and the towards the end the game basicaly changes to a survival horror game the goods far outway the bad.
  81. JaredB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Beautifully crafted graphics, solid combat, and a story akin to the old indiana jones.. One of the best videogame experiences in recent history
  82. DanteD.
    Dec 3, 2007
    9
    Incredible game play experience.
  83. BillC
    Oct 11, 2008
    9
    Loved this game. Very action packed, awesome graphics, great story, and alot of variety to its gameplay. You don't want to miss this one especially when part 2 maybe out by xmas 09 hopefully.
  84. JoeMetelko
    Nov 2, 2008
    9
    Literally just finished the game. I found it to be very good all round including the gunplay which has a similar cover system to gears of war on xbox but done more discretely. Although as you have to use cover so much there are very few points of the game where the shotguns are of any use. The storlyine has some twists at the end that are a little out of context and a little odd but thereLiterally just finished the game. I found it to be very good all round including the gunplay which has a similar cover system to gears of war on xbox but done more discretely. Although as you have to use cover so much there are very few points of the game where the shotguns are of any use. The storlyine has some twists at the end that are a little out of context and a little odd but there not game destroying. Definately worth getting especially as i can now be bought for 15 pounds. 9/10 Expand
  85. ConorO.
    Jan 13, 2008
    7
    Overall, this is a great game. It does so many things better than any other game out there. The characters and plot, while not exactly cinema standard, are the best of any game I've seen in a quite a while. The game is also excellently paced; gameplay varies between shooting, exploring and puzzles which keeps things interesting. Graphically, this game is top notch. The diverse and Overall, this is a great game. It does so many things better than any other game out there. The characters and plot, while not exactly cinema standard, are the best of any game I've seen in a quite a while. The game is also excellently paced; gameplay varies between shooting, exploring and puzzles which keeps things interesting. Graphically, this game is top notch. The diverse and interesting locations are well presented. A few of the character animations look a small bit clunky compared to the new heights of smoothness seen in Assassin's Creed, but they're not particularly bad. Facial expressions in particular are well animated and really help convey the characters personalities. Because of this, though the story is related primarily through cut scenes, these are never annoying, as the characters are genuinely likable, and their actions are a pleasure to watch. When I got the game I expected something a bit more like Tomb Raider and while some sections are, know that the majority of time in Uncharted is spent shooting. For the most part the shooting is good but it often feels like it's artificially dragged out, with unseen waves of enemies appearing from no where. This is especially true when you first arrive at the island, after the introductory part of the game. Here the pacing falls down and you must persevere through several shooting galleries before another kind of gameplay is offered up. Furthermore, it almost makes no sense for the enemies to show up in some of the locations they do. All in all, an excellent effort from Naughty Dog, let down in places by small problems. Expand
  86. AndyP.
    Oct 31, 2008
    9
    This game will invariably be compared to Lara. Shame really, since its much, much better. Puzzles are fun and graphically its solid but by far the best part is the gun play. The snap to cover system work brilliantly making gun fights thrilling and exhilarating. With the added inclusion of PSN trophies this a definite must buy.
  87. JoshuaM.
    Feb 21, 2008
    9
    The visuals are stunning, the storyline is engrossing and the gameplay mechanics are solid. Uncharted isn't revolutionary but it's not trying to be, it's just a well made game that happens to be the most beautiful game on consoles period.
  88. SeanM.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing! I don't see why people are giving it less that 8, even 9 is disappointing!
  89. DaveP.
    Mar 14, 2008
    9
    Overall great game a lot of fun. Big surprise in the end. The graphics, storyline and overall game play are great the only thing keeping this game from being a ten is that the game is relatively short. It took me just under 8 hours to complete and one more run through to get all the lost treasure.
  90. CrySis
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great gameplay, gorgeous graphics.
  91. NateG
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    this game has stunning graphics at 720p even though i wish it could do 1080p the story line is great and the driver scenes are awesome a must have for people who love action
  92. MichaelP.
    Apr 28, 2008
    7
    good game,very fun but it lacks something that all you know,graphics they stink compared to gears of war or turok.
  93. someguy
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Great game. Definitely worth a buy.
  94. EriU.
    Jun 25, 2008
    7
    It was ok not as great a the reviews but worth playing definitely a game to play but not a s good as the hype.
  95. MiKE
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    WOW! What a surprise this game turned out to be! The environments are huge! and on top of that the graphics are amazing as well! The gameplay is great with a decent story to match! What a great game! A lot of people complain that the gun battles are too repetitive, but if it wasn't the game would be a lot shorter! so its fine the way it is. Do not rent this game. Go out and BUY it! WOW! What a surprise this game turned out to be! The environments are huge! and on top of that the graphics are amazing as well! The gameplay is great with a decent story to match! What a great game! A lot of people complain that the gun battles are too repetitive, but if it wasn't the game would be a lot shorter! so its fine the way it is. Do not rent this game. Go out and BUY it! its really that good! The game really picks up after chapter 3 and from there is non stop fun! Expand
  96. RobertJ.
    Sep 28, 2008
    9
    This was my first game for the ps3 and I must say that I really loved it. The story is a bit too short, but other then that it's a excellent game.
  97. PatrickN
    Nov 17, 2009
    9
    Wow. What a game. Pure action, fun shooting segments and fun platforming. Sure the platforming might be easy but it fun. The graphics are amazing with a ton of varied environments above and below ground. The game gets really difficult near the end, but it builds in difficulty. I never want to go back and complete games and find all of the secrets, but I missed 21 of the 60 treasures the Wow. What a game. Pure action, fun shooting segments and fun platforming. Sure the platforming might be easy but it fun. The graphics are amazing with a ton of varied environments above and below ground. The game gets really difficult near the end, but it builds in difficulty. I never want to go back and complete games and find all of the secrets, but I missed 21 of the 60 treasures the first time so now I want to play the chapters and find the ones I'm missing. This game should no be missed by action gamers... not s pure shooter so pure FPS fans might be bummed out, but I found it fun. Expand
  98. AnthonyV
    Feb 24, 2009
    9
    Amazing gameplay. this game made me a fan of shooters. in depth characters, action and story. this is what the ps3 was made to do. can't wait for the sequel.
  99. EnochC
    Feb 25, 2009
    9
    I love this game. It's a fun single player game that is great with platforming and combing shooter/action elements. I only wish it was slightly longer and had more of the horror elements.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.