• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1773 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2013
    8
    The best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). WhenThe best way I can describe this game is to say that it's Prince of Persia with guns and an Indiana Jones setting. The game is awesome and comes across like an awesome, action packed summer blockbuster. It really is like playing an action movie with it's memorable set pieces and firefights. The story and characters are awesome and scream Indiana Jones (I mean that in a good way). When you're not shooting guys in 3rd person Gears of War style you're platforming and climbing on stuff Prince of Persia style. When I say Prince of Persia style, I mean Prince of Persia style. It's exactly like the POP series minus wall running. This is great fun, but feels a little cheap that they just copied it from POP. Still this is an action packed experience that's worth your time. The only other real complaint I have is the games short length. It was over before I knew it. Considering this is a single player only experience the short length does hurt it. I'm glad it didn't overstay it's welcome with filler content, but I still wanted to spend more time with it. Luckily it does have high replay value. If you haven't played this game yet you really need too. It truly is one of the PS3's best titles. Expand
  2. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    Drake's Fortune is a game that is a rarity, with many tepid first person shooters, CoD games and big budget titles coming in and out, it is DEFINATLEY a classic and one of the best games on PS3. Uncharted kills some next gen games, the graphics are jaw droppingly AMAZING. The slow burn thrills, and the action packed set pieces are great. Many games borrow the adventure and plat formingDrake's Fortune is a game that is a rarity, with many tepid first person shooters, CoD games and big budget titles coming in and out, it is DEFINATLEY a classic and one of the best games on PS3. Uncharted kills some next gen games, the graphics are jaw droppingly AMAZING. The slow burn thrills, and the action packed set pieces are great. Many games borrow the adventure and plat forming elements Uncharted pulls off with great ease. It's a game that Naughty Dog should remake on the PS4, and with the PS Now subscription now available, we can play Drake's Fortune as a HD Remastered version on the new hardware! If you haven't experianced Uncharted before, that would be a nice chance to play the game on new consoles, or just get a PS3! ;) Expand
  3. Sep 2, 2014
    8
    In a nutshell, this is Tomb raider: Guy edition.

    But regardless of its obvious inspiration, Uncharted manages to be its own thing as well. Following in the spirit of adventure movies of the 80's similar to Indiana Jones, Jewel of the Nile, Sahara, etc. The story is a little generic which is typical of its style, and aside from Drake the other characters aren't really explored that
    In a nutshell, this is Tomb raider: Guy edition.

    But regardless of its obvious inspiration, Uncharted manages to be its own thing as well. Following in the spirit of adventure movies of the 80's similar to Indiana Jones, Jewel of the Nile, Sahara, etc.

    The story is a little generic which is typical of its style, and aside from Drake the other characters aren't really explored that thoroughly. Still Drake is utterly likable and is very charming. It's understandable why he's become such a gaming Icon.

    Visually, for a 2007 game, not bad. Still a bit rough around the edges but for the time impressive.

    Gameplay is really were this game feels like Tomb raider, except better. Combat is alright, could be improved upon. Stealth is almost non existent, even though it should be possible. Platforming in general is done pretty well, but the camera angles do leave a bit to be desired at times.

    Overall:
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a great start to a great franchise. Obviously a little rough around the edges, but for what it is and when it came out, a great game.
    Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    8
    i a solid game on almost all fronts . the voice acting xuperb as well as the diolouge . the storty is very entertaining it feels kinda like a indiana jones movie. the gunplay is alot of fun . climbing at times can seem abit tedous and some times your charicter just flys off to his death for no real reason . there is a nice selection of guns the cover mechanic works well. replay value isi a solid game on almost all fronts . the voice acting xuperb as well as the diolouge . the storty is very entertaining it feels kinda like a indiana jones movie. the gunplay is alot of fun . climbing at times can seem abit tedous and some times your charicter just flys off to his death for no real reason . there is a nice selection of guns the cover mechanic works well. replay value is where the game falls abit.. atleast for me . i beat it 2x which is great but the game is only 8 hours or so long so $60 for just 8 hours of fun can seem abit pricey to some and may just warrent a rental to some . i did wait and got this for 24.99 and felt that was perfect price . right now you can get this game even cheaper then that . this game is deffinitly worth playing and it sequel is even better in every possable way and is worth $60. Expand
  5. Oct 2, 2010
    9
    I loved the characters in this game and the combat was difficult which is refreshing in today's games. You will be hard pressed to find many action/adventure games in the system that are as good as this game
  6. Nov 9, 2014
    8
    An adventure that awakens the feeling is watching those summer blockbuster, looks a lot like an Indiana Jones movie, which is seen by the fact, was actually based on that. Uncharted proves an effective game, his story is ok, its interesting characters and scenarios your drives in a game that stuck for a good story, frenetic action and fun.
  7. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    A great game that has a very cinematic feel to it. While I was lost at some points of the game, it's all worth it for the excellent plot.
  8. Jan 2, 2015
    6
    Indiana Jones light. I love this type of exotic adventure, the ancient treasure hunt, some mystique thrown in and charismatic hunter in the lead. That's why I love Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. Nathan Drake is not as sympathetic or cool as Indiana, nor is he as sexy as Lara Croft, but he still gets the job done. The closest to Uncharted are probably first two Tomb Raiders and IndianaIndiana Jones light. I love this type of exotic adventure, the ancient treasure hunt, some mystique thrown in and charismatic hunter in the lead. That's why I love Tomb Raider and Indiana Jones. Nathan Drake is not as sympathetic or cool as Indiana, nor is he as sexy as Lara Croft, but he still gets the job done. The closest to Uncharted are probably first two Tomb Raiders and Indiana Jones and The Infernal Machine, both better than this. The problem with Uncharted is that it soon turns into a shooting fest and that kills the game basically. Most of the time you're just shooting waves and waves of enemies, it doesn't even make sense, they just keep magically appearing where it suits them, one moment there is an empty room, you make one step and suddenly the room is filled with 10 bastardos. Wave after wave after wave, it gets boring pretty soon and annoying soon after that. The clunky combat mechanics and often bad camera doesn't help either. If the game was more focused on the exploration, the story and the mysteries ala Indiana Jones and less on shooting, it would be much better. Hopefully Naughty Dog learned from their mistakes and improved this in the next Uncharted chapters, I'm going to play all of them in order soon, so we will see. So far, this is a promising start, a bit overrated, but that's usually the case with Naughty Dog games, so I'm keeping my expectations fairly low and hopefully I will be pleasantly surprised with the next Uncharted title. 6/10 Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2013
    6
    "Shoot Targets And Climb Things The Game".

    I'm worried that the critics could love this game so much. Having just played it, years after the graphics got old, the entire game seems build around "pretty" surfaces. It plays like a showcase for the (early) PS3 rather than a showcase for creative software. The story is too simple and contrived to be worthwhile for adults, while the
    "Shoot Targets And Climb Things The Game".

    I'm worried that the critics could love this game so much. Having just played it, years after the graphics got old, the entire game seems build around "pretty" surfaces. It plays like a showcase for the (early) PS3 rather than a showcase for creative software. The story is too simple and contrived to be worthwhile for adults, while the gameplay is too brutal and tense for a recommendation towards teenagers. The first many chapters are about exploration, but it didn't give the feeling of mystique or intrigue, since all gameplay elements are taken from Tomb Raider, CoD, etc. If you've played a bunch of video games, you've seen everything in this game before. Even when the game suddenly changes tone and becomes (way too) horrific, I was like "wait, this is stressful but not exciting at all!".. it just exposes you to various levels of stress, and some very simple puzzles. Each element is simplified and not nearly as good as more focused games. The plot itself would be cringeworthy in an action film. It's no Indiana Jones or anything. It's just a bunch of people who happen to run to the EXACT right places through chaotic terrain, only to meet more "bad guys", repeated dozens of times, and then the clichéd twist. I played it on easy, and when it turned into a horror game, it just went from "same three villains repeated for hours" to "one villain that stresses you out in a new way" for an hour or so. There are some sequences with different gameplay, and they are more enjoyable, but still there's little progress gameplay wise from how these games were made in the 90s.
    Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    9
    Ever wanted Indiana Jones in a video game? Then Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is your best shot.
    Nathan Drake, the so called descendant of the great explorer Sir Francis Drake finds the burial site of his ancestor and a map to the fabled treasure of El Dorado. This sets Drake, his money hungry best friend Victor Sullivan and TV reporter Elena Fisher on a journey to uncover the treasure and
    Ever wanted Indiana Jones in a video game? Then Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is your best shot.
    Nathan Drake, the so called descendant of the great explorer Sir Francis Drake finds the burial site of his ancestor and a map to the fabled treasure of El Dorado. This sets Drake, his money hungry best friend Victor Sullivan and TV reporter Elena Fisher on a journey to uncover the treasure and its dark past, but they aren't the only ones who want to find it.
    If a summer blockbuster could translate into a video game then Uncharted would be the product of that, a great character focused plot with some awesome cinematic techniques used.
    My only gripe with the game is that the final hour or so of the game is needlessly difficult and involves over reliance on backtracking.
    An amazing game that any PS3 owner should have
    Expand
  11. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    One of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just aOne of the most beautiful games I've ever seen. The gameplay is almost perfect. It's fun, but I find it hard to be able to follow the storyline somehow. I can't put my finger on it. The thing is, besides being technically perfect, this is just a standard third person shooter. There is absolutely nothing original here. It's probably just me, but the game doesn't really touch me, it's just a very well made shooter, there's no angle, nothing new or original, nothing to draw me in. Expand
  12. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    this is absolutely a terrific game and one of the best exclusive games of the playstation 3 ever released,it only problem is that is too small and there is no time to apreciate it.
  13. Mar 5, 2014
    7
    This game has a lot a hype behind it. Going into it, I was told Uncharted would be one of the greatest games I would play. Unfortunately it never really lived up to the hype. The game has a great story, interesting characters, and a cool setting. The issue is the gameplay. The third person shooting mechanics aren't that interesting. After playing games like Vanquish, I really can'tThis game has a lot a hype behind it. Going into it, I was told Uncharted would be one of the greatest games I would play. Unfortunately it never really lived up to the hype. The game has a great story, interesting characters, and a cool setting. The issue is the gameplay. The third person shooting mechanics aren't that interesting. After playing games like Vanquish, I really can't appreciate the shooting in Uncharted. Occasionally the fights get really difficult. However, it's not difficult in a fun way like Dark Souls. It's just a pain in the ass.
    However, the game as a whole is actually pretty good. I'd recommend it.
    Expand
  14. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    Drake's Fortune is a must play for many important reasons. The style and production values are through the roof, and revolutionize games in more than one way. With its graphics, characters, storyline and fast-paced gameplay oozing with gorgeous set pieces, it's hard to go wrong with Drake's first outing.
  15. Feb 24, 2013
    7
    It is not that bad but its a bit overrated. Don´t get me wrong, its not that uncharted sucks, it doesnt but there is much space above. But the graphics were good at that time.
  16. Jun 15, 2013
    8
    uncharted is great it has everything good story good characters good gameplay and great voice acting but the graphics aren't that good and it becomes repetitive after a while still a great experience and definitely worth playing
  17. Mar 18, 2013
    9
    You know, there are some flaws in this. Like the camera angles didn't always agree with me and the gameplay got a little repetitive but when there's a story that's this compelling, it compensates for it. The gameplay, though as I said repetitive, is remarkable. This is fun
  18. Mar 27, 2015
    9
    Naughty Dog owned last gen with all 3 Uncharted games and The Last of Us. The gameplay is perfect, the story is as good as Indiana Jones, and it is just the right blend of gunplay, puzzles, exploration, and cinematics. I would NEVER get tired of Naughty Dog doing action-adventure.

    For its time, this game is a 10/10. Looking back, it is still a 9/10 and led the way to the amazing
    Naughty Dog owned last gen with all 3 Uncharted games and The Last of Us. The gameplay is perfect, the story is as good as Indiana Jones, and it is just the right blend of gunplay, puzzles, exploration, and cinematics. I would NEVER get tired of Naughty Dog doing action-adventure.

    For its time, this game is a 10/10. Looking back, it is still a 9/10 and led the way to the amazing Uncharted series and The Last of Us.
    Expand
  19. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Fue el mejor juego de PS3 en sus inicios y a día de hoy sigue siendo uno de los mejores. Una aventura muy divertida con una buena trama, con un protagonista genial y unos secundarios a la altura y todo con unos gráficos muy buenos que, aunque hayan sido superados por sus secuelas, marcó una diferencia entre lo que podíamos ver en una PS2 y una PS3. Imprescindible si se tiene PS3.
  20. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    this is best game i ever played it like male version of lara croft only with humor the climbing finding hidden puzzle piece doing puzzle and action all awesome i like the tension between elena & drake it so funny
  21. Dec 7, 2012
    9
    Interesting plot -- I mean, looking for ancient treasure is always interesting. Particularly when it's based on history; reminds me of Lara Croft and Tomb Raider. Nathan Drake is by far one of the top video game characters in my list. Throughout the game you can't help but feel like you are him or are at least connected to him. The game really does a good job with making you a part of theInteresting plot -- I mean, looking for ancient treasure is always interesting. Particularly when it's based on history; reminds me of Lara Croft and Tomb Raider. Nathan Drake is by far one of the top video game characters in my list. Throughout the game you can't help but feel like you are him or are at least connected to him. The game really does a good job with making you a part of the world as well, with its well-done environments and visuals. The camera is actually done pretty well too, at least for me, and the game mechanics are fantastic. There is an excellent amount of fighting mixed in with puzzles and parkour-ing around wherever you happened to be. Love this game! Expand
  22. Jun 7, 2013
    9
    This is really a great PS3 exclusive! its got a great story that will appeal to anyone who loves Indiana Jones. The graphics are absolutely stunning and I just can't wait to see what Naughty Dog is going to continue to do with this series!
  23. Dec 29, 2014
    8
    Design problems aside, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune creates a great cinematic experience through video game format, full of high tension action and adventure and a really likeable protagonist.
  24. Apr 3, 2011
    9
    i have fallen in love with another great game. i have yet to finish it but i am about half way through (i know this due to the fact that some people don't know how to check the spoiler box, JoeDeMaria!) and i am loving every second of game play, yes the AI is stupid but there are often many of them trying to shoot you at the same time that you have to be careful about when to shoot or elsei have fallen in love with another great game. i have yet to finish it but i am about half way through (i know this due to the fact that some people don't know how to check the spoiler box, JoeDeMaria!) and i am loving every second of game play, yes the AI is stupid but there are often many of them trying to shoot you at the same time that you have to be careful about when to shoot or else you may die. this game has wonderful graphics that are even good by todays standards and the voice acting is also pretty good with a little bit of humor every once and a while to make you smile. as well as the gameplay being top notch but the story is also very good and although i am sure there have been games like this that came out in the past there is none that i know of that have been made with such care and skill that is fun to play and keeps you entertained. i am so happy that this is a Playstation exclusive because it is one more thing that we have over the Xbox freaks and is a must buy no matter who you are or what type of games you like because this game has a bit of everything in it Expand
  25. Jan 1, 2014
    8
    played this last out of the uncharted trilogy, so I can't really give a unbiased review as if I were playing a new ip back in 2007, but it was a good not great,but fun with a little but of everything here and there game. we all know how this series turned out so it's all good.
  26. Mar 4, 2013
    8
    Didn't play Uncharted games until now, so thought I should start from beginning to follow the story. I was right. Story in this game is nothing new, but charming and awesome "Indiana Jones" style. It start slowly with a lot of exploration, but right in the moment when i started thinking that it's too static and slow shootout begin. With balanced amount of shooting and exploring with goodDidn't play Uncharted games until now, so thought I should start from beginning to follow the story. I was right. Story in this game is nothing new, but charming and awesome "Indiana Jones" style. It start slowly with a lot of exploration, but right in the moment when i started thinking that it's too static and slow shootout begin. With balanced amount of shooting and exploring with good story this game is worth to play in any way. This game is very good and regarding the scores worst in the series. That sound promising!!! Expand
  27. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune started the great uncharted saga. Naughty Dog has created amazing looking adventure game! Uncharted is filled with great characters, music, gameplay, great graphics and atmosphere. But Uncharteds weakest link is also in its gameplay it repeat itself and becomes little boring in the end. There also comes many enemy waves again and again. But overall it is a great game.
  28. Jan 20, 2012
    8
    Uncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human andUncharted Drake's Fortune is a satisfying new third person shooter IP for the PS3. Boasting the most stunning and articulate architectural environments and visual effects, Uncharted blows all competition out of the water. Character development is extremely central to the narrative progression, Nate turns from a bit of a male stereotype at the begining of the game, to a more human and emotionally charged individual in the end. Uncharted Drake's Fortune evokes the power of narrative with great third person shooting for a good slice of PS3 exclusivity. On the other end of the fence though, I really didn't like the pirates, as they show up insessantly and are murder to kill. Also the game is a bit too brief, though there are a nice assortment of collectibles. But this is still the killer app the PS3 always needed and stands as such to be recognised as a marvellous achievement. Expand
  29. May 30, 2012
    10
    Good game. I replaced my old PS3 recently and got Drake 3 bundled in with the console.So I also bought Drake 1 and 2 from the used shelf the same time. I think Drake 1 cost me £5, and its turned out to be one of the best £5 I've spent recently. I don't tend to like 3rd person games (too many bad camera angle experiences in the past) or puzzle games (too manyGood game. I replaced my old PS3 recently and got Drake 3 bundled in with the console.So I also bought Drake 1 and 2 from the used shelf the same time. I think Drake 1 cost me £5, and its turned out to be one of the best £5 I've spent recently. I don't tend to like 3rd person games (too many bad camera angle experiences in the past) or puzzle games (too many rubbush/illogical puzzle experiences), but Drake 1 is excellent. Its got and epic action storyline. Its got good graphics. Its got lots of combat (and enemies are intelligent). Its got climbing and jumping and camera angles that consistantly work. Its got logical puzzles that fit in with the flow of the game and story. All in all a really enjoyable game and im looking forward to playing Drake 2 and 3. Expand
  30. Aug 28, 2011
    9
    This game was fantastic. A story that was fun characters I felt for and overall just a blast to play. Pick this one up if you haven't already. You will not regret spending the money on it.
  31. Jan 10, 2012
    7
    The graphics are very good, but the jungle setting grows old fast. The cover-based shooting isn't as fluid as the second game, and neither is the climbing and jumping. That being said, you get a sense of potential while playing the game, and the characters of Nate, Elena, and Sully carry the whole game. Still, it's a bit too repetitive to live up to its amazing sequel.
  32. Dec 27, 2012
    7
    Unfortunately as many other players I played Uncharted 2 first so I did feel the difference between both games and I agree with other critics the number of enemies in this game it's ridiculous, and they can get a lot of damage but they just wont go down. But don't get me wrong this is definitely one of the best Adventure video game in the PS3 history.
  33. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    3rd Best game this gen (after Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually played the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  34. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! game.. One of the Best games this gen (along withg Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  35. Sep 28, 2013
    9
    Este es solo el comienzo de las aventuras de Nathan Drake, pues Naughty Dog, mi compañía favorita, hace bien al realizar "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune", aunque es muy criticable el escaso lugar para investigar y desplazarse, lo compensa con una aventura increíble nunca antes vivida reviviendo el estilo cinematográfico de películas de aventuras de los años 80' tal como es la saga de "IndianaEste es solo el comienzo de las aventuras de Nathan Drake, pues Naughty Dog, mi compañía favorita, hace bien al realizar "Uncharted: Drake's Fortune", aunque es muy criticable el escaso lugar para investigar y desplazarse, lo compensa con una aventura increíble nunca antes vivida reviviendo el estilo cinematográfico de películas de aventuras de los años 80' tal como es la saga de "Indiana Jones". Gran título. Expand
  36. Oct 13, 2012
    8
    Indiana Jones on a console. Uncharted DF is the beggining of a great trilogy. Maybe the best on the PS3. And it's a great first chapter. The villain could be better though... Drake and Sully on the other hand have all the charisma of movie characters very much like Indiana Jones and Sallah.
  37. Mar 25, 2012
    9
    Though it's dated now, Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is a non stop action packed adventure with incredible graphics and breath taking scenery. The combat is simple even with the friggin sixaxis for throwing grenades. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for the 21st Century as he jumps, shoots and smart mouths his way through the jungle to stop pirates from stealing the gold, if you are lookingThough it's dated now, Uncharted: Drakes Fortune is a non stop action packed adventure with incredible graphics and breath taking scenery. The combat is simple even with the friggin sixaxis for throwing grenades. Nathan Drake is the Indiana Jones for the 21st Century as he jumps, shoots and smart mouths his way through the jungle to stop pirates from stealing the gold, if you are looking for a fun game with an amazing storyline and exceptional combat but you want it cheap. Then uncharted is a perfect Game for You Expand
  38. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Really fun and unique game, albeit not my favorite genre. The mechanics are superb, seems like naught dog put a lot of effort into this game, and it pays off. Cant find much to complain about, except the lack of multiplayer and co-op.
  39. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    Although the game shows its age, Uncharted is still a strong start to a fantastic adventure franchise. Nathan Drake is the modern Indiana Jones in just about every sense of the word.

    8.5/10
  40. Aug 19, 2014
    8
    An absolutely visually and mechanically brilliant game, Uncharted offers a great story, with engaging combat and puzzles as well. The story is one of the best In years; it's full of twists and turns, and makes you feel for the characters. The combat is impressive, with great shooting, but the melee is awful. It feels like a QTE, which isn't that fun. The puzzles feel very well composed,An absolutely visually and mechanically brilliant game, Uncharted offers a great story, with engaging combat and puzzles as well. The story is one of the best In years; it's full of twists and turns, and makes you feel for the characters. The combat is impressive, with great shooting, but the melee is awful. It feels like a QTE, which isn't that fun. The puzzles feel very well composed, yet frustratingly hard at some points. Overall, not as good as its sequels, but a great game nonetheless. A must buy for anybody who appreciates an excellent story. Expand
  41. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Great game! , I cant believe how some people gave this game such low scores! Its an AWESOME! game.. I recommend this game to every "REAL" gamer out there.
  42. Oct 30, 2014
    8
    Well if you can excuse me for a bit, I am going to describe it simply as a worse "Uncharted 2". In every aspect, the game is just quite noticeable downgrade from Uncharted 2 (apologies again, but I just played "Unch.2" first). The game-play is problematic and it's harder to make Drake take the actions I want; the story is a bit simpler and the atmosphere and locations/graphics are notWell if you can excuse me for a bit, I am going to describe it simply as a worse "Uncharted 2". In every aspect, the game is just quite noticeable downgrade from Uncharted 2 (apologies again, but I just played "Unch.2" first). The game-play is problematic and it's harder to make Drake take the actions I want; the story is a bit simpler and the atmosphere and locations/graphics are not quite there yet. If you played "Uncharted 2" I don't recommend this (unless you don't have anything else on the table). Overall the game is quite alright as a single title. Expand
  43. May 30, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a fun third person shooter although it can be repetitive. You pretty much walk into an area and shoot 20 enemies. And it bothers me how Nate can get shot three times and walk it off, but its a video game so I guess I should stop complaining. The story was really interesting and at the end the story becomes friggin' I Am Legend because there are monsters trying to kill you and which was scary and fun. Overall, it was a great game. Expand
  44. Jun 30, 2014
    8
    I love the humour (Drake is such a cool character), the cover shooting gameplay and the story, however it was a little short. The sequels are superior but this is still highly recommended.
  45. Sep 9, 2012
    8
    Like a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimesLike a lot of people i came to this after playing it's illustrious sequels and though Uncharted 2 & 3 had bigger set pieces and slightly more refined controlls this is still everything we've come to love about Drakes adventures; A trademark mix of thrilling action, stunning scenery, peerless script and cutscenes. Uncharted 2 & 3 deserve all the acclaim they've had but people sometimes forget that for a long time this was PS3's greatest game and to this day remains highly playable. At the budget price you can now buy it at you'd be a fool to miss out, especially if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  46. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Really awesome game, good graphics and and good game play. Although the story reminded me of the story of Jacky Chan's movie, but I guess it was still ok. Nothing much to say, but this game has everything that an action adventure game should have.
  47. Dec 19, 2014
    9
    I didn´t played the other parts so far, so was the best action-platformer i played up to this point! Great and interesting story, good graphics (even for its age) and a likeable and charming main character. Only the gunplay felt a little bit clunky. You can get it for like 5€ so you should definitely give it a try!
  48. Feb 3, 2014
    6
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 5 out of 10, Controls: 7 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 3 out of 10, Value: 6 out of 10

    Too much platforming; can you climb this, jump here, scurry there, timing, climb, jump, scury, timing, platform, platform, platform... geez, more platforming?! aihhhhhhhhh, the excessive platforming killed the game for me!
  49. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Platforming is awesome, great adventure story , and awesome gameplay. I would recommend you get this game right away at your nearest game store or wherever you get your games
  50. Apr 2, 2012
    6
    The dullest third-person shooting game I have played in a while, complete with quick-time events. The scenery was nice and the graphics were very good too, and the platforming sections were fairly enjoyable. The story is ridiculous though and overall it was kind of a "meh" game.
  51. Oct 28, 2014
    7
    Pros:
    -Slick presentation
    -Likable cast -Challenging even on easy -Exciting gameplay. -Parkcore ala Prince of Persia Cons -monotonous gameplay. Walk to in a room. Baddies infest room. Kill them. Second wave of baddies -It's challenging even on easy. -In the parkcore parts sometimes you don't notice a ledge and get stuck -Camera can be frustrating at times as it moves to a more
    Pros:
    -Slick presentation
    -Likable cast
    -Challenging even on easy
    -Exciting gameplay.
    -Parkcore ala Prince of Persia

    Cons
    -monotonous gameplay. Walk to in a room. Baddies infest room. Kill them. Second wave of baddies
    -It's challenging even on easy.
    -In the parkcore parts sometimes you don't notice a ledge and get stuck
    -Camera can be frustrating at times as it moves to a more cinematic angle

    Conclusion: Big, shiny, and polished but the gameplay can sometimes get in the way of the enjoyment. Would still recommend it though, especially if you are more seasoned with 3rd person shooters.
    Expand
  52. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Wow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been thatWow. This game came out in 2007? When I realized that and that I had passed up on playing one of the prettiest games I have seen to date I could not have been more dumbfounded. I'll keep this one short as there is nothing to discuss that people haven't already. The adventuring aspect of the game was brilliant, and the set pieces mixed with the skybox was beautiful. I have not been that eager to get home and play a game in a very very long time. The only points I felt were annoying or weak were the combat situations which felt intrusive and the whole monster thing. The game had an almost realistic feel to it up till that point, but hey, what's the point of writing a story if you can't throw a little magic in it. I am truly enamored by this game and am excited to have dove into a series with a charismatic character like Nathan Drake. Expand
  53. Dec 3, 2013
    9
    When I first got my PS3 I was initially disappointed by the lack of games I could play. At the time I was only interested in sports games, and MLB The Show quickly grew tiresome after a week. My console came with a bundle, featuring a strange game called Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. With nothing else to do, I inserted the game and decided to see what happens. For 12 hours my mind was blown,When I first got my PS3 I was initially disappointed by the lack of games I could play. At the time I was only interested in sports games, and MLB The Show quickly grew tiresome after a week. My console came with a bundle, featuring a strange game called Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. With nothing else to do, I inserted the game and decided to see what happens. For 12 hours my mind was blown, and I continued to play the game over three times in a row just to relive some of its epic moments. This was the first PS3 game that really left an impact on me, and still holds up today alongside its gigantic sequels.
    The story is reminiscent of an Indiana Jones movie. Fortune hunter Nathan Drake is on the search of the coffin of his supposed ancestor Sir Francis Drake, with the funds of journalist Elena Fisher. Things soon turn sour as pirates sabotage their journey to find El Dorado, the fabled treasure referenced in Drake's journal. After betrayals and gunfights, Nate and Elena end up separated on a lost island full of cutthroat pirates and thieves, and Nate goes on a perilous journey to get her back and escape the clutches of his rival fortune hunters. The closer he gets to gold, however, he realizes that Drake's treasure isn't all what it seems, and the secrets of the island perhaps were better left buried.
    The story is a thrill ride from start to finish, featuring lush and vibrant environments to explore and flawless voice work from Nolan North and Emily Rose. On top of that, all the characters, from the relatable lead to his cigar-smoking mentor Victor Sullivan, are complex characters whose actions feel real. The more you play the game, the more you bond with Nate and Elena and the more you are concerned when they are faced with extreme peril. The gameplay also shines, featuring climbing mechanics and third person shooting reminiscent of the Lara Croft series, polished to near perfection. The game feels great to play, whether you're gunning down enemies in a truck racing through the jungle or trying to maneuver your way up a rock wall, dangling hundreds of feet above a rocky surface. As if this all weren't enough, the soundtrack and atmosphere are phenomenal, with Greg Edmonson providing the score for the game. One of my favorite moments in the entire trilogy was just taking a moment between gunfights to stare out at the sunset, as a beautiful jungle-like orchestra played in the background. This is one of my few moments of pure gaming bliss, one that is nearly impossible to recreate.
    The game does falter in some areas. There is very limited ammo in the game, which does provide a nice challenge but also occasionally poses insurmountable challenges. Since the enemies come in hordes, the gameplay does feel formulaic and overwhelming at times. Also some of the gameplay does feel stiff during some climbing segments and gunfights, leading to several frustrating deaths as you try to navigate up walls and swing from building to building. One scene in the game I had to replay five times in a row not because of the enemies, but just because the lag in the jumping caused me to die during the same leap each time.
    Despite all this, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a fantastic game that appeals to my inner adventurer through death-defying leaps, a riveting Indiana Jones-esque story, and my favorite video game protagonist of all time. Despite a few hiccups in gameplay, the game is virtually flawless. The world is beautiful and full of secrets to find, making everything seem like a realistic uncharted island. The characters are memorable and the acting is truly unbelievable, making the player really feel attached to each unique personality the game has to throw at you.
    Drake's motto engraved on his ring says "Sic parvis magna", which means "Greatness from small beginnings."
    When referring to this PS3 masterpiece, as well as the entire Uncharted franchise as a whole, I couldn't agree more.

    9.4/10

    Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
    Expand
  54. May 15, 2013
    8
    I got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of theI got this game as a gift so i had no idea what to think when I first jumped into it. Now I wonder why I didn't get it myself. This is the first of one of the greatest franchises ever with an engaging story and characters that you care about, the quest for the lost treasure of El God Damn Dorado with a supernatural twist that is cool. This game has its flaws though, In some sections of the game the enemies are very cheap and too strong as in several grenades to takedown strong. You are also ambushed often making this problem more apparent but apart from that its great. The graphics are brilliant to. A great game!! Expand
  55. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Modern version of prince of persia, excellent acrobatics, at times combat is frustrating. The final boss is frustratingly cheap in a difficult way. Dirt cheap now go get it now
  56. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    Uncharted is one of the PS3's proudest exclusives, and Drake's Fortune, the first title in the series is the roughest of the three but still a very solid game.
    The story is very Indiana Jones-esque (in a good way!) and is told in a cinematic manner which doesn't break up the gameplay more than it really needs to.
    The platforming controls look nice in action but feel kind of stiff and
    Uncharted is one of the PS3's proudest exclusives, and Drake's Fortune, the first title in the series is the roughest of the three but still a very solid game.
    The story is very Indiana Jones-esque (in a good way!) and is told in a cinematic manner which doesn't break up the gameplay more than it really needs to.
    The platforming controls look nice in action but feel kind of stiff and jerky at times. Jumping can be a pain sometimes due to not having much control over the distance of a jump, resulting in frequent overshoots. The game was released just days after Ubisoft's Assassin's Creed, and it's fair and accurate to say that had a much more flowing platforming system.
    Shooting and combat in general feels pretty nice the controls are responsive and the animations fluid. One thing I feel could be improved were the hitboxes.
    Uncharted has some really mixed graphics. There are moments of true beauty when the game's impressive lighting is showcased and the colours are vibrant and rich, but you'll often notice texture and model problems. The vegetation looks great (which is a relief, because there's a ton of it in this game) unless you look at it from above. It's a good-looking game for it's time, and served to show off what the PS3 was capable of, but unlike PC exclusives from 2007 such as Crysis the graphics don't really hold up today.
    All in all, Uncharted is a surprisingly good release from Crash Bandicoot creators Naughty Dog, paying tribute to their platforming roots while making a mature and calculated transition to modern hardware.
    Expand
  57. Nov 9, 2013
    10
    What can I say, bought a PS3, heard that Uncharted 2's a good game, bought this on sale. It ended up being the best thing I've played on the PS3. This game makes the most of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft combined, having you mow down pirates, solve intricate puzzles (ok, not really) and leap from pipe to pipe or search vaults of an abandoned Spanish colony. The story is perfect, theWhat can I say, bought a PS3, heard that Uncharted 2's a good game, bought this on sale. It ended up being the best thing I've played on the PS3. This game makes the most of Indiana Jones and Lara Croft combined, having you mow down pirates, solve intricate puzzles (ok, not really) and leap from pipe to pipe or search vaults of an abandoned Spanish colony. The story is perfect, the characters are extremely likeable and the gameplay is decent too, what more can one ask for? Expand
  58. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn'tI see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn't remind me to badly of Tomb Raider, and despite the mechanics slightly reminding me of Gears of War, I still felt like it was original in it's own way (which it is). I loved how the story was told, and unfolded because originally getting into the game, it just came with my PS3, I originally had no interest in it at all (I really followed through with getting my PS3 for MGS4). But after playing Uncharted through and through, on every difficulty and unlocking everything; Uncharted remains my favorite PS3 exclusive title... more than Uncharted 2. Expand
  59. Feb 26, 2012
    6
    Nice graphics, interesting gameplay, and very well-made characters and dialogue. Voice acting is TOP notch. However, the story line immediately made me think of Indian Jones. Soon I realized that this WAS indiana jones. Then the weird monsters started attacking. Then I realized that the monsters are just people dressed up as monsters. Then I laughed and realized that this game is reallyNice graphics, interesting gameplay, and very well-made characters and dialogue. Voice acting is TOP notch. However, the story line immediately made me think of Indian Jones. Soon I realized that this WAS indiana jones. Then the weird monsters started attacking. Then I realized that the monsters are just people dressed up as monsters. Then I laughed and realized that this game is really nothing special. Expand
  60. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a good game, but it's not great. It's quite repetitive and the combat is somewhat clunky compared to other games but Uncharted 2/3 don't have this problem, The graphics are nice for 2007. The best thing about Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is it's story and characters which are all interesting and it's great to play through the game just to see how the storyUncharted: Drake's Fortune is a good game, but it's not great. It's quite repetitive and the combat is somewhat clunky compared to other games but Uncharted 2/3 don't have this problem, The graphics are nice for 2007. The best thing about Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is it's story and characters which are all interesting and it's great to play through the game just to see how the story unfolds, It's gripping and good fun, the gameplay is by no means bad, but a bit clunky with silly things like Sixaxis controlled grenade throws but it's a game worth playing if you own a PS3. Expand
  61. Aug 9, 2011
    6
    Uncharted is a good game and having completed it after Uncharted 2, my score may be lower than otherwise... Nonetheless, it is a great game with a good story, good characters and great voicework, together with a cinematic soundtrack. The graphics are very good, with the occassional pop-in and dodgy texture. The gameplay is decent, not as refined as its successor but there are some elementsUncharted is a good game and having completed it after Uncharted 2, my score may be lower than otherwise... Nonetheless, it is a great game with a good story, good characters and great voicework, together with a cinematic soundtrack. The graphics are very good, with the occassional pop-in and dodgy texture. The gameplay is decent, not as refined as its successor but there are some elements that can be frustrating. This mainly revolves around the attempt to apply six-axis controls into grenade throwing and shaking off some of the latter enemies... this can be frustrating. I'm not a big fan of quick-time events and this game has some infrequently and often unexpected during cutscenes. I can't see much reason to playthrough again other than trophies, which I'm not interested in. The game provides a decent challenge on the normal setting. Good, 3/5. Expand
  62. Feb 23, 2014
    8
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was the first game acclaimed developer Naughty Dog made for the PlayStation 3. It's also their first game to contain realistic settings rather than a fantasy setting. However gameplay wise, it contains elements of both their early platform games like Crash Bandicoot, along with the third-person shooter elements from their Jak and Daxter series. The game kicksUncharted: Drake's Fortune was the first game acclaimed developer Naughty Dog made for the PlayStation 3. It's also their first game to contain realistic settings rather than a fantasy setting. However gameplay wise, it contains elements of both their early platform games like Crash Bandicoot, along with the third-person shooter elements from their Jak and Daxter series. The game kicks you into the shoes of fortune hunter Nathan Drake (voiced by Nolan North) searching for El Dorado in the Pacific Islands. The game is still one of the most gorgeous-looking games of the past six years. The character models look kind of dated now, but the cinematic moments are still breathtaking even to this day. Expand
  63. Nov 10, 2012
    7
    great graphics and good looking charcters. Uncharted is like the better and funner version of Tomb Raider. They had clear stories and simply steps wat to do next in the game. but Tomb Raider is like a game really have to get ur brain thinking and sovle problem. i cant really stick to this game for too long though ,maybe it s me idk.
  64. Jan 3, 2014
    9
    Definitely not one of the best games on the PS3, but one of the better. Creative storytelling and amazing design have this story fit out. The graphics are sharp and make the jungles come to life, and the movements of people are also amazing. Voicing acting did an outstanding job, and Nolan North may be one of the best voice actors. There is no online play, but trophies may keep youDefinitely not one of the best games on the PS3, but one of the better. Creative storytelling and amazing design have this story fit out. The graphics are sharp and make the jungles come to life, and the movements of people are also amazing. Voicing acting did an outstanding job, and Nolan North may be one of the best voice actors. There is no online play, but trophies may keep you playing. After the campaign though, there is really nothing left to do. Overall Naughty Dog showed they could bring that slickness from the PS2 to the PS3. This Game is Superb. Expand
  65. Jul 8, 2011
    9
    I got this game over a year ago and this game still pretty cool to this day. Naughty Dog has made one of their best games they've made. The story is amazing and the gameplay has a pretty cool mix of 3rd person shooting, platforming and puzzles. The graphics do look great and it still does today, but you'll notice that it's a bit dated after over 3 years. This is a stellar PS3 title andI got this game over a year ago and this game still pretty cool to this day. Naughty Dog has made one of their best games they've made. The story is amazing and the gameplay has a pretty cool mix of 3rd person shooting, platforming and puzzles. The graphics do look great and it still does today, but you'll notice that it's a bit dated after over 3 years. This is a stellar PS3 title and definitely check this game out! Expand
  66. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    The must play action game on the PS3 and of 2007. This is a true action adventure game with amazing cinematics, great graphics, good cover system, intense shoot-outs, fantastic voice acting and an appealing story. However, the story is only up to 7 hours on normal difficulty, on crushing: 10 but there are treasures to collect to keep you busy for a few more days/weeks.
  67. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Back then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little andBack then, i would have rated this game 9, right now, having played the 2 others uncharted, i would rate it 8. I keep my original 9 score since it was the feeling i had while i was playing this for the first time. Graphics were amazing, combat are great and the story is ok. What i hate though is that you cannot sneak on enemy. Most of the time you don't see anyone, you advance a little and BANG, 4 enemies going out of cover and shotting at you. There is no way to try to shoot enemies from a distance. Other than that, great game ! Expand
  68. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Interesting characters, great story, pretty standard, nothing too fancy gameplay. Very cinematic, feels like a movie. Did not expect/like the plot twist, but still a great game.
  69. Aug 2, 2013
    9
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune 9/10.......................................................................................................................
  70. Feb 17, 2014
    6
    meh. drake's first adventure is a pretty mediocre one. the gameplay has some pretty fun platforming and puzzles but it focuses too much on the 3rd person shooter gameplay which wasn't very interesting to begin with. the plot though isn't anything groundbreaking or super complex, it is still quite entertaining and is full of loveable characters. the presentation is also quite good but themeh. drake's first adventure is a pretty mediocre one. the gameplay has some pretty fun platforming and puzzles but it focuses too much on the 3rd person shooter gameplay which wasn't very interesting to begin with. the plot though isn't anything groundbreaking or super complex, it is still quite entertaining and is full of loveable characters. the presentation is also quite good but the character models do look kinda awful. Expand
  71. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    Due to the critical acclaim this game has received, I was initially disappointed upon my first couple of plays because the game fails to do anything particularly innovative. It combines elements from various action adventure titles such as Gears of War, Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider. However, the more I played the more I appreciated the game, despite its lack of innovation. It not onlyDue to the critical acclaim this game has received, I was initially disappointed upon my first couple of plays because the game fails to do anything particularly innovative. It combines elements from various action adventure titles such as Gears of War, Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider. However, the more I played the more I appreciated the game, despite its lack of innovation. It not only borrows elements from past games, it perfects them. From the gun play to the platforming to the story telling, everything is executed flawlessly. It's ability to take these core designs and blend them so effortlessly is why I think this game deserves the critical acclaim it has received. Not to mention, that the game is just pure fun to play from start to finish. Expand
  72. Apr 19, 2012
    8
    When I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorerWhen I first heard about Uncharted, my first impression was not good. Maybe because the whole Indiana Jones + Tomb Raider thing wasn't appealing to me, maybe because I was a little mad at Naughty Dog for abandoning another series that was at its apex. After playing the game, however, I have to admit: Uncharted is a great game. The concept is simple: you control Nathan Drake, an explorer after El Dorado, the lost city of gold. But that is just the starting point as the story really takes off from there, fueled by a set of interesting, believable characters. The game encourages exploration to find treasures scattered through all chapters of the game, however that exploration is limited by the linearity of the game; which, in its turn, is imperative to keep the game's ''movie feel'' through the whole experience. The climbing system is great and gunfights are very intuitive and fun, even if a bit frustrating at times on account of a sometimes clumsy cover system. Great dialogues, amazing plot twists and breathtaking scenes await you in this instant classic. Expand
  73. Feb 17, 2012
    9
    The first game in the award-winning Uncharted series is definitely worth playing. It is not as fun as the 2nd game, but surely sets up enough Uncharted elements for new players to experience. My biggest problem with this game is the map environment. Some parts are so uninteresting I really wish to skip forward but couldn't; it felt like a duty to play through this game SO THAT I can startThe first game in the award-winning Uncharted series is definitely worth playing. It is not as fun as the 2nd game, but surely sets up enough Uncharted elements for new players to experience. My biggest problem with this game is the map environment. Some parts are so uninteresting I really wish to skip forward but couldn't; it felt like a duty to play through this game SO THAT I can start playing the 2nd one. Expand
  74. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    I have played all the uncharteds and have loved everyone of them. This one holds a place dear in my heart because I loved the spanish setting and forts, with the water and jungle, and the character and climbing was all new to me. I had a ps2 and not a good computer so games like half-life 2, doom 3, and far cry were showing me what I was missing. Well uncharted I remember looked like anI have played all the uncharteds and have loved everyone of them. This one holds a place dear in my heart because I loved the spanish setting and forts, with the water and jungle, and the character and climbing was all new to me. I had a ps2 and not a good computer so games like half-life 2, doom 3, and far cry were showing me what I was missing. Well uncharted I remember looked like an answer for me since I had eventual gotten to play half-life 2 and doom 3 but missed out on far cry, and this reminded me a lot of how it looked, not played. So I was already excited for it. It did not disappoint It has great moments and fun story and few twists some wonderful vistas, and it feels like a fun adventure. This is the one that started it all and it started it off with high expectations. Expand
  75. 4DI
    Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game probably has one of the coolest story telling elements i've seen in a long time. Sure it's a cliche' but it's a cliche' of it's own! Has some awesome action packed gameplay moments, and a handfull of memorable (original!) characters. This cinematic game has more than your average share of amazing moments.
    Yet this game isn't without it's flaws. The environments become a bit
    This game probably has one of the coolest story telling elements i've seen in a long time. Sure it's a cliche' but it's a cliche' of it's own! Has some awesome action packed gameplay moments, and a handfull of memorable (original!) characters. This cinematic game has more than your average share of amazing moments.
    Yet this game isn't without it's flaws. The environments become a bit repetitive at the beginning, but change as you progress. Also, your progression is delayed by difficulty bumps. The thing is that those delays are caused by the AI having a better hand (literally) enemies have the precision of baseball players when it comes to lobbing grenades! I kept on failing because of the damage caused by enemy attacks, a very few shots and you're a goner. I'm not bad at uncharted, but it seemed a bit unfair at some points. I was playing on normal BTW. There are a few other things I should mention about these bumps, but i wouldn't want to spoil anything.
    IN SHORT: Uncharted is an awesome,epic, and entertaining game that stays fresh all the way. you should not miss out on this fun!
    Expand
  76. Nov 6, 2014
    8
    The first game to resemble a Hollywood blockbuster. Stunning graphics, great story, one of the best cast of characters in video games and solid action help start one of the greatest franchises of the 7th console generation. Even if the gunplay can get unfair, and that the game doesn't have much replay value, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not experiencing "Drake's Fortune" andThe first game to resemble a Hollywood blockbuster. Stunning graphics, great story, one of the best cast of characters in video games and solid action help start one of the greatest franchises of the 7th console generation. Even if the gunplay can get unfair, and that the game doesn't have much replay value, you would be doing yourself a disservice by not experiencing "Drake's Fortune" and the rest of the "Uncharted" Series.

    For the full review, check out "BathroomGamers" on YouTube :)
    Expand
  77. Apr 29, 2013
    9
    It definitely can get repetitive at times, but the gameplay is so mixed and well done that you can look past it really fast.
    The story is excellent you never feel like every objective that you're given is out of place or even predictable, wich is surprising since you're gonna be doing only two things in this game. (in terms of gameplay) one is of course shooting a lot of stuff since you
    It definitely can get repetitive at times, but the gameplay is so mixed and well done that you can look past it really fast.
    The story is excellent you never feel like every objective that you're given is out of place or even predictable, wich is surprising since you're gonna be doing only two things in this game. (in terms of gameplay) one is of course shooting a lot of stuff since you might have guessed it for the cover of the game and the second would be climbing a lot of stuff oh and resolving mini puzzles from time to time, even if this game mechanics may sound like they're not much, believe me they are so well done that you're not even going to notice how many of this are being used.
    Aside from that the story feels amazing the easiest way that i can compare how the story make me feel is probably comparing it to movies like Indiana Jones or James Bond 007, is just excellent you have all your elements, the cute girl that you can't wait to kiss at the end, your older extremely likable friend, the bad guy, and an even badder sidekick bad guy. What surprised me about this characters was just... well how important they were for the story at times they even felt more important that Drake himself.
    This is done by an amazing voice acting from everyone it just really adds a really cinematic style to it, having such wonderful voices in a game where the story and the gameplay is just beautiful.
    The only reason why im not rating this game a 10 is just because it can definitely become repetitive at times and the difficulty of the game is pretty unbalanced i mean normal just feels extremely difficult at times, luckily it can be changed at any time without any loading screens in the middle this was an amazing option that strangely enough not so many games till now have incorporated, but...
    In conclusion an amazing voice acting cast, beautiful stunning graphics, and a gorgeous combination of gameplay that so many games before had tried and have failed miserably with Uncharted: Drake's Fortune having so many good things done the right way i can just let this game get a lower score than nine.
    Buy this game now
    Expand
  78. Aug 9, 2011
    9
    Tomb Raider meets Indiana Jones! I like the third person perspective for console games. (PC for first person) I am almost done with this one and have already purchased the second and pre-ordered the third. Graphics are good and action is challenging but not so much that it's frustrating. (I play on easy.) Great adventure game.
  79. Jan 7, 2012
    4
    I love Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3, but I hate this game. Most of the reason is because of the amount of shooting in this game. There is too much shooting! It gets really boring when you crash on the island because you shoot probably 500 pirates. How they brought 500 pirates to the island I do not know. It gets really annoying. They could cut the amount of shooting in this game in half andI love Uncharted 2 and Uncharted 3, but I hate this game. Most of the reason is because of the amount of shooting in this game. There is too much shooting! It gets really boring when you crash on the island because you shoot probably 500 pirates. How they brought 500 pirates to the island I do not know. It gets really annoying. They could cut the amount of shooting in this game in half and it would greatly improve the game. Another thing I noticed on this game was that Drake takes much less damage as he does on the other games in the series. This is very bad because in this game you are going against more enemies (who sometimes magically spawn behind you and shoot you with a shotgun) all by yourself without the help of Elena or Sully. To me, the game stops being fun when you're being surrounded by 20 pirates at once, who somehow can take 5 to 6 shots from an AK-47 without going down. If critics give this game a 90, then Uncharted 2 should get a 100. If you're a fan of the series, this is definitely the one to skip. Expand
  80. Jan 10, 2013
    3
    I really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't. The game looks and sounds fantastic, and some of the sequences are fun enough. It's just that as soon as the combat starts, which is often, all fun comes to a screeching halt. The game is very stingy with the ammo while at the same time sending wave after wave of bad guys after you. The combat in this game is so frustrating II really wanted to like this game, but I just couldn't. The game looks and sounds fantastic, and some of the sequences are fun enough. It's just that as soon as the combat starts, which is often, all fun comes to a screeching halt. The game is very stingy with the ammo while at the same time sending wave after wave of bad guys after you. The combat in this game is so frustrating I stopped playing the game a quarter of the way in and never went back. Expand
  81. Jun 17, 2013
    8
    Being my first PS3 game I can say it will always have a spot in my collection. It has lovable characterswith great voice acting and high pace Indiana Jones type action.

    8 out of 10
  82. Jan 9, 2013
    0
    meh this games isnt that good havent played 2 or 3 so i played this to see if those r worth it the graphics r very bad NOW the gameplay is nothing special drake is boring the old masn boring the chick is hot returned the game the next day not my cup of tea only got half of the money i paid just for having this **** for a day **** u uncharted IM GONNA JUST RENT 3 now
  83. Jun 19, 2013
    8
    As my first PS3 game, it is another thing that will have a place in my heart. Naughty Dog will always be my favorite developer of all time. This was a good introduction into Uncharted the game was alright, can't really complain i really enjoyed it. But it wasn't perfect by any means it had its flaws. The story was alright, the thing is it wasn't great to be honest I don't remember if IAs my first PS3 game, it is another thing that will have a place in my heart. Naughty Dog will always be my favorite developer of all time. This was a good introduction into Uncharted the game was alright, can't really complain i really enjoyed it. But it wasn't perfect by any means it had its flaws. The story was alright, the thing is it wasn't great to be honest I don't remember if I actually finished it. That how memorable it was. Expand
  84. Aug 12, 2014
    7
    It is definitely the worst Uncharted launched on PS3. But still, it is Uncharted with nice characters and decent story. I am glad that Naughty Dog improved all aspects of the game and made brilliant sequels, Uncharted 2 & 3.
  85. May 22, 2014
    8
    Drake's Fortune is a very ambitious game. It plays out like a summer blockbuster with a high-concept story, lovable characters, strong acting, and exciting set pieces.
  86. Apr 8, 2015
    9
    The first time I saw Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, it did not seem anything special: a fun game, but nothing more. With the release of the second chapter, however, and the acclamation that it begat, I decided to try a demo with my own hands and suddenly I started to like the game, and a lot. I'm glad it happened.

    The plot of Uncharted is not one of the most original, but it was nice. I
    The first time I saw Uncharted: Drake's Fortune, it did not seem anything special: a fun game, but nothing more. With the release of the second chapter, however, and the acclamation that it begat, I decided to try a demo with my own hands and suddenly I started to like the game, and a lot. I'm glad it happened.

    The plot of Uncharted is not one of the most original, but it was nice. I found references to Indiana Jones and to the many legends around the myth of El Dorado and Sir Francis Drake, a great theme on which to develop a story, in which among other twists certainly didn't lack. I liked all the characters, but it is clear how everything revolves around Nathan Drake who has a charisma and a personality that I liked it right away. There wasn't still a strong cinematographic inspiration, but the game came very close to it.

    The gameplay of Uncharted was quite simple, that one of a common third-person shooter, but it also had something of its own. The controls were comfortable, the roofing system, very important, it worked very well. Very beautiful and elaborate free-climbing sequences, and it was fun to use the jeep and the watercraft. The melee combat were fine, although I noted some clumsy movements. The AI ​​of the enemies was good, but sometimes unrealistic and improvable. I must admit that among the three chapters, this is the one with the highest level of difficulty.

    The graphic was great, the result of a careful study of the technical possibilities of the PlayStation 3, but this was only the beginning of what was really possible to do.

    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is not a perfect game, and it has its limitations. But it is the starting point for what would come next, and as such starting point was completely a success. Naughty Dog has shown its ability.
    Expand
  87. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Uncharted series is great. The game play and story is outstanding, and Nathan Drake is one of my favorite video game characters of all time. Naughty Dog really did a fantastic job.
  88. Jan 15, 2014
    8
    After a long time I finally got this game and got to try it out!
    It is very special game, I think it was a awesome story and awesome platforming game but the shooting was just to repetitive and I got bored with every corner with tha bad shooting style, I did compare it to The last of us so that part was my problem but still I found this game on my mind weeks after i finished it so it is
    After a long time I finally got this game and got to try it out!
    It is very special game, I think it was a awesome story and awesome platforming game but the shooting was just to repetitive and I got bored with every corner with tha bad shooting style, I did compare it to The last of us so that part was my problem but still I found this game on my mind weeks after i finished it so it is really NOT a bad game it is a great game but I found it boring after a while with the "shooting" parts of the game. I would give it 7,5/10
    Expand
  89. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    This rating is not based on a thorough play-through but on first impressions... WTF! I came into the game expecting a Tomb Raider meets Prince of Persia platformer... and suddenly I'm playing a 3rd person shooter, with horrible gun controls (though I have NEVER liked playing any shooter on a console), limited ammo, and enemies that -literally- spawn out of nowhere. Seriously, I died duringThis rating is not based on a thorough play-through but on first impressions... WTF! I came into the game expecting a Tomb Raider meets Prince of Persia platformer... and suddenly I'm playing a 3rd person shooter, with horrible gun controls (though I have NEVER liked playing any shooter on a console), limited ammo, and enemies that -literally- spawn out of nowhere. Seriously, I died during an encounter and on my 2nd attempt waited outside the door for them to start firing... they did not even exist until I hit the doorway, then WHAM.....

    I'm gonna keep playing the game, but, I just can't let a HORRENDOUS game design decision like that go.
    Expand
  90. Nov 17, 2013
    9
    Recommendation:
    A very well-written treasure hunt with better story than Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.
    Pros: Story Characters Treasure Hunt Vehicle sequences Mixed: Graphic Combat Jumping Puzzles Negative: NOTHING Summary: EPIC (MUST PLAY!) First of all, this was one of the first games I borrowed from a friend when I got my PS3. I just thought:
    Recommendation:
    A very well-written treasure hunt with better story than Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

    Pros:
    Story
    Characters
    Treasure Hunt
    Vehicle sequences

    Mixed:
    Graphic
    Combat
    Jumping Puzzles

    Negative:
    NOTHING

    Summary: EPIC (MUST PLAY!)

    First of all, this was one of the first games I borrowed from a friend when I got my PS3. I just thought: "Worth a try, at least". I didn't really gave this game too much attention because I just didn't like the trailers much.
    Now, I loaded up the game. I first notice that the soundtrack is just absolutely amazing. I created my save, started playing.
    I noticed that the graphics are nice but not beautiful. (I think it was in 2007). However, in the first hour i really really got into this story, because i love Indiana Jones and treasure hunting.
    The story is incredibly well written, better than the last Indiana Jones movie. With an incredibly awesome main character, and the surprisingly well-written side characters its just great. The combat is actually a little bit hard sometimes, because of the not that great cover system... Other than these simple elements... there are a s*it ton of collectibles. Now these are awesome looking, golden or silver treasures which you can have a better look at the bonuses. Other great things, like vehicle sequences or jumping puzzles (this is quite a bit annoying sometimes) are also great.
    Well Done! MUST PLAY!
    Expand
  91. Jul 19, 2014
    8
    Its basically a Tomb Raider game with a male protagonist , but they added some cover based gun mechanics to the mixture, while reducing the puzzle factor a bit... TBH this is the way it appeals to me, keeping it simple, no need to think about puzzles for more than 5-10 minutes, quick progression trough the story, and nice graphics and controls. Even my girlfriend loved it!! so now I cantIts basically a Tomb Raider game with a male protagonist , but they added some cover based gun mechanics to the mixture, while reducing the puzzle factor a bit... TBH this is the way it appeals to me, keeping it simple, no need to think about puzzles for more than 5-10 minutes, quick progression trough the story, and nice graphics and controls. Even my girlfriend loved it!! so now I cant play with the 2., and 3rd episode until she comes back so we can play together. its a great adventure game, but not a 10 pointer because of the vast amount of cliches, not too original characters, and a tiny bit repetitive sections, and world. Expand
  92. Jan 22, 2015
    8
    Uncharted one is a awesome game. This game had great dialogue, fun and interesting gameplay, it also has a cool setting and unique characters. This game is a classic
  93. Feb 2, 2015
    6
    Almost a good game. Graphics are good but confusing. Sometimes it's hard to tell the difference between background decoration and interactable ledges. Gun play gets frustrating towards the end. Aiming is slow and when you're surrounded by melee enemies, there's no way you can react fast enough. Naughty Dog might think that it's a good way to increase game lenght by making the players doAlmost a good game. Graphics are good but confusing. Sometimes it's hard to tell the difference between background decoration and interactable ledges. Gun play gets frustrating towards the end. Aiming is slow and when you're surrounded by melee enemies, there's no way you can react fast enough. Naughty Dog might think that it's a good way to increase game lenght by making the players do things that are not really working with game mechanics.
    Still, it's an interesting game with somewhat illogical level design.
    Expand
  94. Aug 12, 2013
    8
    EN: Feels repetitive when compared to Uncharted 2 and 3, but still a great game, with an excellent pacing, beautiful visuals, interesting story and strong platforming.

    PT-BR: repetitivo quando comparado a Uncharted 2 e 3, mas continua um ótimo game, com excelente ritmo, belos gráficos, história interessante e um forte sistema de plataforma.
  95. Nov 22, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is a great game with really smooth graphic and surroundings with just a few repetitive gun play that might get boring in between not a masterpiece though as i'm rating this game after playing Uncharted 2 and 3. or else would have given 9 still the game play was fun :D Expand
  96. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    Moving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is anMoving away from the Tomb Raider games, Naughty Dog have created their own little clone called Uncharted. Tomb Raider is one of the most popular action adventure/games for the Playstation, and now Naughty Dog, most famous for making the Crash Bandicoot and Jak and Daxter, have risen to the challenge and created this unbelievable, action packed adventure. Uncharted Drake's Fortune is an action/adventure game that tells the story of a young treasure hunter called Nathan Drake, in search for the lost hidden treasure of El Dorado. We start off with Drake who discovers a hidden clue in the coffin of Sir Francis Drake, and tailing along is a young female journalist called Elena Fisher, who is after the story of Sir Francis Drake, as well as any other interesting discoveries she may encounter. Soon Drake and Elena are discovered by pirate mercenaries and attack their boat, but in the nick of time Drake's friend Victor Sullivan (also an experienced treasure hunter), comes to the rescue. The main villain is Gabriel Roman, a competitive treasure hunter and is also after the treasure. He has hired some pirate mercenaries led by Atoq Navarro, Gabriel's lieutenant and an archaeologist. The main goal of the game is to search for any hidden clues, whilst fighting your way through the bad guys. The combat, though it may seem simple, can be difficult in some stages. Don't even bother trying to escape them, because you can't, you must kill every enemy in the area, before you can move on. There are a selection of weapons to choose from such as a 45 pistol, Wes, AK47, Shotgun, grenades, M79, and my personal favourite the Desert Sniper. There are different tactics you can use: Stand behind a wall, wait, aim and shoot, or you can use blind crossfire, which means you are shooting without standing open, this is best use when enemies are at close range. If worst case scenario you run out of ammo, then you can punch and kick your way through, as well as breaking necks, this is more challenging however, but will leave you in much better health. You can pick up ammo from other people's guns, once you've killed them. Other tasks involve searching for hidden treasures lying about in discrete places, as well as killing a certain number of enemies with a specific gun. Complete these tasks to earn rewards. It is also entertaining on a visual level, I especially love seeing the variation around the player, and there are some fantastic views. There's one scene where your standing at the very top of a forge castle and you can see the beautiful horizon of the sunset oceans. The graphics in this game are incredible, I mean I've experienced many games with great graphics, but this is in a different league to what we've seen before. The jungle is real, the water is real (The reflection and movement of the waves is incredible), and, most of all the character designs are spectacular. Everything from hair, face and clothes is real, and that's not the best. For the first time they've used people in motion capture suits to play the part of their characters, where as in most games they would just speak through a microphone, and the producers would just enhance and sharpen there voices through software programmes like Audacity. The characters are very likeable; Drake and Elena develop a sort of love/hate chemistry. Though they don't get on at first, they share a real bond together and eventually express there feelings to one another. Overall this is a fantastic Action/Adventure package. The only criticisms I would say is it repeats itself over and over again. You'll find yourself doing the same thing - running around, shooting your way through enemies and climbing walls over and over again. There isn't a lot of puzzle solving as I thought there'd be. But these problems are only minor and don't spoil this in any shape or form. If you love Tomb Raider, then you'll definatly enjoy Uncharted Drake's Fortune. Expand
  97. Jan 26, 2012
    9
    Great game, lots of action, good voice acting and most importantly, fun. The only problem are the grenade controls, but it doesn't ruin the experience.
  98. Mar 11, 2012
    8
    An 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looksAn 8/10 may seem low, especially for an uncharted game but I'm basing this game on the standards of today. I came to this game having played the 2nd and 3rd ones and I have to say its my favourite series on ps3. Which is why I bought it where it all started in 2007 and to be honest the game doesn't feel 5 years old. While the graphics aren't spectacular , like the other two, it still looks great. There aren't really any crazy setpieces either but I still loved this game for the same reasons I loved the other two. The characters, the story, the pacing and gameplay. While this game didn't blow me away, I still loved it and is worth buying if you're thinking of buying it. It's a great 8/10. Expand
  99. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    Uncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the actionUncharted was a great idea for a game and therefore I believe the series deserves its multiple awards. However, I believe the game reminds me more of a Tomb Raider game from the original PlayStation but with a male protagonist. The gameplay mechanics for shooting were very well done for a 3rd person shooter but I felt like you could traverse the entire game by just hitting the action button over and over again while jumping around. The game also included a couple puzzles but I thought they were too easy and a waste of 5 minutes. The story started out great but by the end I really didn't care that much anymore even though the game doesn't take that long to beat. The series deserves respect for what it tried to do but I would rather spend my time playing a longer more interesting game. Expand
  100. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    I played this game like less then a year ago. I was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I bought the PS3 last black friday 2013 and got the game as well. Amazing graphics for such an old game. I havent moved on to the second game yet but I do own it. Im sad that my friends made me buy Xbox One so I wont get to play the newest one for quite some time. 10/10
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.