Uncharted: Drake's Fortune PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2007
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2254 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkW.
    Apr 13, 2008
    10
    The best game I have played in years. Beautiful to look at, fantastic audio (especially in surround sound), just the right balance of puzzles and gun action, a great storyline, superlative voice acting. Hopefully this will just be the first in a franchise, it's an amazing game.
  2. DaveJones
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    Best console game to date. The microshaft 3fixme doesn't have a single game close to this. 10/10

    If only metacritic wasn't so biased and would add the numerous perfect scores this game has received to their average. It's only a matter of time before us fans unite as we did against gamespot. Dirt like this has to be cleaned from the industry. Let's not let Microsofts
    Best console game to date. The microshaft 3fixme doesn't have a single game close to this. 10/10

    If only metacritic wasn't so biased and would add the numerous perfect scores this game has received to their average. It's only a matter of time before us fans unite as we did against gamespot. Dirt like this has to be cleaned from the industry. Let's not let Microsofts money dirty the video game industry as they do every where else.
    Expand
  3. YngveL
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    In my opinion perfectly polished graphics, story and gameplay. Though the game is only 8-10h long, there isn't a single second of those hours where I didn't sit with a big smile on my face. Replay value is huge as well. Easily one of the top ten games I've ever played.
  4. JamieC.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    I Dont care what anyone says Uncharted is the best game i have ever played. And ive played alot. Its toppled Resident evil 4 and shadow of te collosus from the top. Most shooting games come down to the aiming. The aiming in Uncharted is as god as it could get. And add very fun climbing and excellent graphics even on a non HD tv with a funny, exciting story and you make the perfect game. I Dont care what anyone says Uncharted is the best game i have ever played. And ive played alot. Its toppled Resident evil 4 and shadow of te collosus from the top. Most shooting games come down to the aiming. The aiming in Uncharted is as god as it could get. And add very fun climbing and excellent graphics even on a non HD tv with a funny, exciting story and you make the perfect game. Amazing Game Expand
  5. ZoeS.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Very impressed with this game - great graphics, easy to control, really addictive storyline. Was upset to have finished it so soon. When's the sequel due out?
  6. PaulW
    Jun 1, 2008
    10
    This game out-does Hollywood. In fact, the character relationships may remind you more of 'Romancing the stone' than 'Indiana Jones'. It's like Tomb Raider crossed with a run and cover third person shooter crossed with Prince of Persia but much better than any of them. The graphics are absolutely amazing- realistic jungles, pools of water, forts and castles, and This game out-does Hollywood. In fact, the character relationships may remind you more of 'Romancing the stone' than 'Indiana Jones'. It's like Tomb Raider crossed with a run and cover third person shooter crossed with Prince of Persia but much better than any of them. The graphics are absolutely amazing- realistic jungles, pools of water, forts and castles, and towering cliffs have been created. This is the Bioshock of the PS3 (and Bioshock is due to come out for the PS3 too now) but this game is even more graphically impressive in ways and it is more user friendly- there is never any doubt as to what to do next and yet there are always places to explore so its relative linearity is well disguised. As for the puzzles, they are mostly easy but there is one level that is designed like a M Escher painting (watch Labyrinth and you will know about it) which is brilliantly made. This is the kind of the adventure game that you always dreamt about. Expand
  7. AaronS
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    I love this game this is one of my favourites of all time. The characters feel like real people you feel like there' alive in the real world but then u realise there fake. The animations just up the notches of realism. I am even starting the game again I have Kill Zone 2 and havnt really got into it yet and i would rather play uncharted again than that. Im not usually an shooter guy I love this game this is one of my favourites of all time. The characters feel like real people you feel like there' alive in the real world but then u realise there fake. The animations just up the notches of realism. I am even starting the game again I have Kill Zone 2 and havnt really got into it yet and i would rather play uncharted again than that. Im not usually an shooter guy but somthing makes the action bits for me really enjoyable. I also love the platforming and exzotic locations. Seriouslly a must buy well done Naughty Dog espescially on the gonna be best game ever Uncharted 2 Expand
  8. JohnT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Good game, best game on ps3.
  9. JamesB.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This is one of the most engaging games I have ever played. The story is well done and exciting, the voice-acting is top notch, and the visuals are some of the best out there. If you are reading this you need to buy this game.
  10. ColowS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Amazing visuals and exteremly involving gameplay. After finishing the game through the first playthrough, I find myself compelled to play the game multiple times. IT'S THAT GOOD!!
  11. JonathanZ.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Brilliant execution and immersive gameplay. Uncharted is clearly one of the big hits for the PS3 this holiday season.
  12. JasonM.
    Jan 26, 2008
    10
    Uncharted is by far head-over-heels above most of it's competition if you look into the technology of the game. The graphics are beautiful with lush jungles as well as rusty corridors when indoors, with just the right color palette and lighting to make the best of any setting. The sound is immersive. The story is full of suspense and mystery. Gameplay is addictive. I really Uncharted is by far head-over-heels above most of it's competition if you look into the technology of the game. The graphics are beautiful with lush jungles as well as rusty corridors when indoors, with just the right color palette and lighting to make the best of any setting. The sound is immersive. The story is full of suspense and mystery. Gameplay is addictive. I really don't see anything wrong with this title. It's an incredible game completely worthy of it's AAA status. Expand
  13. MasJ.
    Jan 30, 2008
    10
    Possibly my favorite adventure game of all time and I've been playing video games since the Atari 2600.
  14. Rudy
    Feb 4, 2008
    10
    Great game and story. Absolutely fun to play. Happy and sad when I finished this game. For a person who usually only plays sporting games, this game had a lot of action with some platforming thrown in to keep me interested the entire game. Wasn't as short as people said it was. Seemed like the perfect length to me.
  15. EugenioP.
    Mar 22, 2008
    10
    This game is absolute class. It is unparalleled visually and story wise. The gameplay mechanics are very user friendly and immerse the player into a picture perfect world where ones imagination can roam freely. Without a doubt the best exclusive on the Playstation 3 and perhaps the best single player title available on the market. We will be talking about this game in years to come.
  16. JamesT
    Feb 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing game. I've played it over 20 times, yet i come back for more! Trophies obviously made the game more fun too!
  17. MohammadA
    Mar 9, 2009
    10
    I am 26 and own a PS3 and 360. This game is amazing. Amazing graphics, amazing gameplay and a lot of suspense. I played it twice and would play it a third time if there weren't other titles out there to play. It made definitely made my PS3 purchase.
  18. EddieC
    Apr 28, 2009
    10
    Truly an amazing new IP from naughty dog. I can't wait to see what they have up their sleeves for the second one.
  19. JonA.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Great visuals, great gameplay, great story, great sound, lots of replay value, all thats missing is online play. still, one of the best games of the year and a must own.
  20. FarooqA.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Simply put, the collection of best bitsfrom Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider serie, charged with pulp exoticness of Indiana Jones and garnshed with Naughty Dog's own spice of hilarious moments and their own innovations on the gameplay makes this an excellent, playable feast. The visual are second to none...the lush environments and how the jungle interacts, and sometimes reacts, is Simply put, the collection of best bitsfrom Prince of Persia and Tomb Raider serie, charged with pulp exoticness of Indiana Jones and garnshed with Naughty Dog's own spice of hilarious moments and their own innovations on the gameplay makes this an excellent, playable feast. The visual are second to none...the lush environments and how the jungle interacts, and sometimes reacts, is just flawless. You won't find such quality of animations elsewhere, write it on the stone NOW ! Expand
  21. MarkB.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Engaging story and great gameplay make this a must buy title
  22. MarcelD.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Simply the most beautiful game i have played. Outplays Ratchet and Clank which was already amazing in terms of environments and atmosphere. Some scenes are just stunning (the waterfalls!) and i believe haven't been done before in a video game. Gameplay wise, it's a whole lot of fun, the cover system during gunplay feels great and you will just enjoy taking some time off Simply the most beautiful game i have played. Outplays Ratchet and Clank which was already amazing in terms of environments and atmosphere. Some scenes are just stunning (the waterfalls!) and i believe haven't been done before in a video game. Gameplay wise, it's a whole lot of fun, the cover system during gunplay feels great and you will just enjoy taking some time off wandering around in the excellent exploration sequences. The acting , the characters and the story are all excellent as well, it's a very very well crafted game... so all in all, definitely the best game i've played on the PS3 so far, a must play. Expand
  23. Warmonger
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Great game! It's sort of a.... Part Tomb raider part gears of war type game. The enemies can be brutally tough and they seem to come in waves but if you use cover effectively you should have less of a problem and what a sense of accomplishment.... when you finish a fire fight whoa!. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the controls bang on,the story and music are also Great game! It's sort of a.... Part Tomb raider part gears of war type game. The enemies can be brutally tough and they seem to come in waves but if you use cover effectively you should have less of a problem and what a sense of accomplishment.... when you finish a fire fight whoa!. The graphics are absolutely stunning and the controls bang on,the story and music are also excellent.....This is definitly a must have for PS3 owners. Expand
  24. KyleS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    All around perfection, great game. All I can hope for is online play battles in the sequel
  25. Anthony
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Great gameplay, stunning visuials, most fun have had on my ps3 this year.
  26. Brian
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. Right after I beat the game on normal, I was already starting a new game on hard.
  27. JoelC.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing, like playing a great hollywood action film. Game of the year for me.
  28. KyleJ.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Seriously.... this is a very very good game. From the graphics(which have been praised as the best on console to date) to the animation, story, gameplay, twist.....everything about this game is AAA.
  29. MichelS.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Marvelous gameplay, realistic graphics and movie-like cutscenes! This may be the best PS3-only game on the market!
  30. OddM,
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Best game I've played this year. Engaging story, pretty graphics, and most importantly, great gameplay. I love it.
  31. WalterC.
    Dec 8, 2007
    10
    This game looks,plays,flawlessly.
  32. MauriceW.
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The best ps3 game.Phenomenal graphics, awesome gameplay and an excellent story.
  33. RodolfoA.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    One of the best titles PS3 has to offer, a sure classic many years from now. Has the potential to become one of the most successful franchise developed by Naughty Dog.
  34. JeanD.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    Granted, this game may be repetitive. But it isn't even THAT repetitive. They introduce new enemies and new weapons, and new difficulties of enemies as the game progresses. If this game was 100% repetitive t woulden't even be such a problem because every second of it is amazing in details and graphics. Definately worth the $60.00 and I would suggest this game to anyone who has a Granted, this game may be repetitive. But it isn't even THAT repetitive. They introduce new enemies and new weapons, and new difficulties of enemies as the game progresses. If this game was 100% repetitive t woulden't even be such a problem because every second of it is amazing in details and graphics. Definately worth the $60.00 and I would suggest this game to anyone who has a Ps3. You will not be disappointed. The controls and aiming and covering are fantastic. Naughty Dog has really out done themselves this time. Expand
  35. LukeR.
    Apr 28, 2008
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Great story telling, graphics and gameplay, what more do you want?
  36. MichaelS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is the best looking game I've played to date next to MGS4. It's visuals and gameplay, along with the environments are jaw-droppingly gorgeous. Easily one the the PS3's best titles.
  37. TomS.
    Jul 24, 2008
    10
    A great game, with a great twist near the end.
  38. JoshP.
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    This is the only game i can honestly say is a 10/10 game GTA 4 is a 8.5 at best, MGS 4 is about a 9.3, CoD 4 is about a 9.6, Gears of war is about a 9.3, but THIS is 10/10 This game gets a full score in all categories, graphics, sound, story, gameplay everything i have personally played through this game at least 10 times, possibly closer to 20, and have enjoyed every second the This is the only game i can honestly say is a 10/10 game GTA 4 is a 8.5 at best, MGS 4 is about a 9.3, CoD 4 is about a 9.6, Gears of war is about a 9.3, but THIS is 10/10 This game gets a full score in all categories, graphics, sound, story, gameplay everything i have personally played through this game at least 10 times, possibly closer to 20, and have enjoyed every second the storytelling and acting in this game is on par with blockbuster movies, the characters are all believable and the storyb with all its twists and turns are excellent no game has had this effect on me ever before 10/10 in every category. Expand
  39. ps3guy
    Aug 20, 2008
    10
    Really cool game with great graphics and fun gameplay with all the puzzle solving took me about a week to beat so you could rent it if you played it a lot and is definately one of the ps3's best games.
  40. michaelmarcus
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    AWSOME! so much adventure. A little slow getting started but never slows down after...keeps getting harder and more changeling. ALOT of fun!
  41. zachu
    May 20, 2009
    10
    One of the only games this year i actually enjoyed. To this day uncharted is ym fav game of all time. the characters pull you in to learn more about theyr story. the story itself is like an indiana jones adventure with crazy jumps and extremely satisfying gunplay with an amazing choice of armory. the animations are top notch. graphics are MORE than top notch. every singleobject in this One of the only games this year i actually enjoyed. To this day uncharted is ym fav game of all time. the characters pull you in to learn more about theyr story. the story itself is like an indiana jones adventure with crazy jumps and extremely satisfying gunplay with an amazing choice of armory. the animations are top notch. graphics are MORE than top notch. every singleobject in this game as an amazing amount of detail. overall this game is a 10/10. its simply amazing. the twist in the game makes it even more interesting. Expand
  42. nijinski1
    Jul 26, 2009
    10
    Every positive comment here is true. the one thing i'd like to emphasize further is that you cannot underestimate the value of quality voice acting and excellently presented cut scenes. it gives a movie feel to the storyline. best adventure game experience I've had since tombraider 1.
  43. CT
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    A truly awesome story full of epic shootouts and acrobatic platforming! This game has it all plus it shows off the PS3 capabilities like no other game has so far.
    There are no load times which help keep you entrenched in the story. The graphics will make you say WOW many many times! The Voice acting is the best I have ever experienced in a video game and you will develop a true
    A truly awesome story full of epic shootouts and acrobatic platforming! This game has it all plus it shows off the PS3 capabilities like no other game has so far.
    There are no load times which help keep you entrenched in the story. The graphics will make you say WOW many many times! The Voice acting is the best I have ever experienced in a video game and you will develop a true interest in all of the charactors.

    Overall, this is the best game released on the PS3 so far (Rachett and Clank Future is a close second) and promises to be a classic! Naughty Dog should be praised for making such a solid game that truly is a next gen experience!
    Expand
  44. EduardoR.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This is a true next gen game. Breathtaking graphics, great game mechanics, excellent controls. This is a must buy game for any PS3 owner.
  45. JoeD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, gameplay, stoyry, graphics, sound. It's an overall great experience.
  46. MarcB.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The game is incredible. it incorporates parts of many games that i love, such as the tactical shooter aspect of rainbow six (along with the gruelling difficulty), and the wonderful puzzle/platforming, reminiscent of prince of persia and god of war. I really think that microsoft is paying off companies to review this game negatively: for example, gamestop argued that the enemies were hard The game is incredible. it incorporates parts of many games that i love, such as the tactical shooter aspect of rainbow six (along with the gruelling difficulty), and the wonderful puzzle/platforming, reminiscent of prince of persia and god of war. I really think that microsoft is paying off companies to review this game negatively: for example, gamestop argued that the enemies were hard to beat. the enemies were hard to beat in ninja gaiden, too! but that was a good thing about the game! another thing, this game is MUCH better than games such as halo and gears of war, but they gut much, much better reviews. not cool. Expand
  47. DeeC.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing, the graphics are second to none.. Sensational! And it plays extremely well, Thumbs up to Naughty Dog!!!
  48. D.Vid.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Best graphics for consoles great sound effects, great orchestral music, superb voice acting best animations so far gameplay is fun, fast, action packed.
  49. LeeW.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    This is the best game I have played in many, many years. Possibly the best game I've ever played, I'll have to see how long that opinion sticks though. Great action, amazing graphics, good variety of gameplay. Anyone ranking this below an 8.5 did not play the same game I did.
  50. MatthewS.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Best game I've played all year, it's a game you can easily play through again to unlock things because it's fun and it doesn't feel like a chore, which most games leave behind.
  51. Darren
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time. It's beautiful, entertaining, challenging, but not to the point of being frustrating. I thought Tomb Raider was one of the worst games I've ever played and was afraid that this would have the same frustrating jumping sequences and it doesn't. It has its flaws. Times where it's hard to see around a corner, Honestly one of the best games I've played in a long time. It's beautiful, entertaining, challenging, but not to the point of being frustrating. I thought Tomb Raider was one of the worst games I've ever played and was afraid that this would have the same frustrating jumping sequences and it doesn't. It has its flaws. Times where it's hard to see around a corner, or some odd camera angles, but I'm more than willing to forgive them in this game. This is the first game I haven't been able to stop playing since God of War II. Thoroughly enjoyable. Expand
  52. James
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Beautiful graphics, fluid gameplay and spot on acting make this game the best I've played on the platform... and that includes Call of Duty 4. A must buy!
  53. BP
    Dec 13, 2007
    10
    Excellent game, Amazing visuals and epic story. There is no point in owning a PS3 without this game.
  54. BeatrixKiddo
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    Funnest Game I have played so far this year. My other favorites are. Ratchet and Clank TOD, COD4, Halo3, The orange Box, Resistance and Gears. This one takes the cake though. Soooooo Fun!!!! The movement of the character is addicting. You want to take him and jump off of everything just to see him grab hold of stuff. Awesome!!!!
  55. AdamP.
    Dec 15, 2007
    10
    This game is far better than anything i have played this year. People say the shooting and adventuring can not go together but the is one of the poorest excuses i have heard to rate this game down. This game is like being indiana jones then going home and nailing the prom queen.
  56. AbrahamS.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Best console graphics, great AI, engaging story. Best overall game for the holidays.
  57. JaredB.
    Dec 3, 2007
    10
    Beautifully crafted graphics, solid combat, and a story akin to the old indiana jones.. One of the best videogame experiences in recent history
  58. CoryG.
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    This game is one truly awesome and amazing game. it incorporates beautiful graphics, a good fighting system, action puzzles/climbing on walls, and treasure scattered through the game. what more can you want in a game?
  59. SeanM.
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    This game is amazing! I don't see why people are giving it less that 8, even 9 is disappointing!
  60. CrySis
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Great gameplay, gorgeous graphics.
  61. NateG
    Apr 11, 2008
    10
    this game has stunning graphics at 720p even though i wish it could do 1080p the story line is great and the driver scenes are awesome a must have for people who love action
  62. someguy
    May 31, 2008
    10
    Great game. Definitely worth a buy.
  63. MiKE
    Jul 27, 2008
    10
    WOW! What a surprise this game turned out to be! The environments are huge! and on top of that the graphics are amazing as well! The gameplay is great with a decent story to match! What a great game! A lot of people complain that the gun battles are too repetitive, but if it wasn't the game would be a lot shorter! so its fine the way it is. Do not rent this game. Go out and BUY it! WOW! What a surprise this game turned out to be! The environments are huge! and on top of that the graphics are amazing as well! The gameplay is great with a decent story to match! What a great game! A lot of people complain that the gun battles are too repetitive, but if it wasn't the game would be a lot shorter! so its fine the way it is. Do not rent this game. Go out and BUY it! its really that good! The game really picks up after chapter 3 and from there is non stop fun! Expand
  64. aaront
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    One of my favorite games of all time!
  65. ThomasM
    Sep 28, 2009
    10
    Best game I played in long while. Good amount of treasures to find, puzzles, good shooter mechanics and further more brilliant story telling. While I have some quirks about the game, it's so extremely minor and subjective It doesn't need to be included in the rating. While no game is perfect, this game hits all cylinders with what it does. I suggest any PS3 owner plays this as Best game I played in long while. Good amount of treasures to find, puzzles, good shooter mechanics and further more brilliant story telling. While I have some quirks about the game, it's so extremely minor and subjective It doesn't need to be included in the rating. While no game is perfect, this game hits all cylinders with what it does. I suggest any PS3 owner plays this as it's a brilliant game. Uncharted 2 is around the corner so this is a good time to pick this game up cheap and play it before the second. Expand
  66. alecf
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    personally, i feel uncharted: drakes fortune is one of the most overlooked titles on the next gen systems. when it came out it had the best graphics, refreshing gameplay and a great voice acting cast. i truly enjoyed this game and cant wait for uncharted 2(which at the moment has a 98!)
  67. KalebFabsik
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    I am a blockbuster movie buff of Indiana Jones, National Treasure, Star Wars and Transformers. Not to mention a musician. And my typical type of game is the movie games such as King Kong which came out a while ago, 24:The Game and most of the Star Wars Games along with James bond. But, the only games that came close to a real movie was King Kong and 24: The Game but Game play wise theI am a blockbuster movie buff of Indiana Jones, National Treasure, Star Wars and Transformers. Not to mention a musician. And my typical type of game is the movie games such as King Kong which came out a while ago, 24:The Game and most of the Star Wars Games along with James bond. But, the only games that came close to a real movie was King Kong and 24: The Game but Game play wise the games had a lot of problems with control. But when I heard About Uncharted Drake's Fortune in June of 2007 and learned that Naughty Dog was making the game it sparked my interest. Not only did I buy a PS3 this last summer not knowing wheather the game would be good or not. I also pre-ordered it and did as much reasearch about the game as I could. I used my thinking skills about how well this game was being made compared to some of our recent games that have come out such as Halo, CD4: Modern Warfare and other titles. I discovered that hey this game is going to be PS3's Halo game. Then when I played the demo gosh! The game is just as good as the Game previewers tell me and it well excieds my expectation. No to mention I don't usally buy games that depict blood but hey Indiana Jones has it so why not? The game play is wonderfull and the graphic possibly on par- with Final Fantasy: The Spirits Within(Movie) if not better. Buy this game it is worth it and all the reviewers who praise it are true and correct which doesn't happen much with a title such as this one. Sound is just like watching a Star Wars movie or even on par with the sound in the Transfomers DVD by Micheal Bay. It's the Halo of PS3 and it's not even rated "M" only T which may make is more popular with the younger crowd. Expand
  68. AshtonCouche
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    One of the best, most cinematic, intense games i've ever played! After you finish it your left wanting more, therefore you play it through again. But im not sure how many times one would play through this game, but it's something nobody should ever miss! Better than Gears of War on my list!
  69. JordonChaboine
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    This is easlily the best looking game to come out on any console this past year. It plays a bit like tombraider meets Max Payne. I really enjoyed this game, the story was great, the game play was fun and got better and better as you played through the game. The visual look of the game is absolutely incredible, there are moments in this game where you cannot believe it is a game. TheThis is easlily the best looking game to come out on any console this past year. It plays a bit like tombraider meets Max Payne. I really enjoyed this game, the story was great, the game play was fun and got better and better as you played through the game. The visual look of the game is absolutely incredible, there are moments in this game where you cannot believe it is a game. The water in this game is absolutley mesmerizing. IMHO - Uncharted and COD4 are the best games to come out this year. Expand
  70. BobSmith
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    One of the most immersive games I have ever played with an incredibly realistic presentation. As close to a blockbuster hit as you can get. It's the little things that really make this game stand out (e.g. Drake flinches behind cover when shot, clothes get wet in water, etc.). A must buy for any PS3 owner/action-adventure fan.
  71. NickSisneros
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    This is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. It takes me back to when Perfect dark had time limits set for cheats, but this time its attached to certain limits in killing and collecting hidden treasures.

    The one thing I like the most is that there is only 1 load screen for the entire game. (You can
    This is the first single player game that I've actually played through 4 times in a row for new unlockables that make the game fun. It takes me back to when Perfect dark had time limits set for cheats, but this time its attached to certain limits in killing and collecting hidden treasures.

    The one thing I like the most is that there is only 1 load screen for the entire game. (You can skip any little cutscene and you are already playing the next level without running into a load screen; Sure you may see textures load after skipping the cut scene but, it makes it a whole lot more fun to play it through.)

    the mechanics of the game feel like a simplified version of Tomb Raider and Prince of Persia, however you aren't sweating each jump to time it correctly or hitting a certain button to perform an action. you just run n' jump. Yes it is that simple, but very fun.

    The [cheats] you gain for your efforts makes the game more fun to play a second time.

    Overall this game next to Ratchet really "takes the cake."
    Expand
  72. ScottMartz
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    From the very beginning I knew I was going to love this game. Naughty Dog(the makers of my personal favorite game of last generation, Jak 2) have metaphorically hit another one right out of the park. When you realize that the movie you just watched is actually gameplay, you are hooked. GOTY for sure.
  73. JohnM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is the perfect compliment to your ps3 library. It is by far the best exclusive title on the console. Meshing great graphics, gameplay and story all in one makes this title a must buy for any PS3 owner.
  74. PS3RO
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is a diamond in the rough that is the PS3 game lineup. This one actually delivers on what it promised, unlike Heavenly Sword and Lair. Best graphics I have ever seen in a game and as fun as watching a supermodel on a trampoline. BUY THIS GAME because the PS3 is now a contender!
  75. HussainR.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    This game is truly epic. It's one of the best, single-player experience ever, right next to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. I seriously recommend this game to anyone who has a PS3 or is thinking of getting one or even if you are not, go get one. This game, you have to play. I was so involved in the game, I love the story, the characters, the environment....everything. It This game is truly epic. It's one of the best, single-player experience ever, right next to Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time. I seriously recommend this game to anyone who has a PS3 or is thinking of getting one or even if you are not, go get one. This game, you have to play. I was so involved in the game, I love the story, the characters, the environment....everything. It captures you and does not leave you until the end. Expand
  76. KenjiO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Spectacular! Fun, fast, and furious. The best game I've played on the PS3 to date.
  77. IanI.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    I don't oftin give games 10s...I'm a very picky gamer, but this game is amazing in every respect, its like watching an indiana jones movie only 12 hours long and where you control the charicter. I'm speechless.
  78. DennisM.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    A truly phenomenal ride that you will want to experience again and again. The visuals, audio and entertainment value are unsurpassed.
  79. AndrewH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Awesome gameplay, lots of exploring ancient ruins and searching for treasure! Best Game on Playstation 3!!!!
  80. RicardoM.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Fun.. Fun... Fun... I don't have order word to describe this games. Excellent gameplay, amazing graphics and great story. The best game I have play. I can see what is coming for PS3! Must have! I only don't understand why this game get score lower the 9. Loses!
  81. DainC.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    The best the ps3 has to offer, great graphics, sound and story. Buy a Playstation 3, as this is a must have.
  82. ThomasW.
    Dec 19, 2007
    10
    Really great story, graphics, control, and everything else I'm missing. I'm currently in chapter 8 and I'm pretty surprised that critics say that it takes approx. 8 hours cause I'm pretty sure its not gonna happen at the rate I'm having. Def must buy or at least rent if you own the ps3.
  83. EdP.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    The best single player game I've played on the PS3 so far. Great story, great action. So good it's worth playing at least twice. The only knock on it in my opinion is no mutiplayer, but in my book that's ok.
  84. RaulC.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Just the closest to play a blockbuster movie, period. You don't want a lesson for life, or a huge drama, or the trickiest plot, just pure, unadulterated fun. The graphics are more than incredible, and easily over anything out there. Can't wait to see what's next from Naughty DOg, and from the PS3.
  85. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    man i love this game, fantastic story, awesome platforming reminds me of prince of Persia climbing walls game and that's cool, the game play is great, i didn't like the AI though, it seems like its dumb as hell you know exactly when to shoot before the enemy does lol
  86. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    Love it. If you agree with the Onion AV club you are a tool! Negative reviews are from people who cannot play video games.
    I like the fact that the control scheme is complete. There are a ton of possible moves and the bonus potential is great. The modifications to the game based on rewards is really nice too. I am looking forward to playing Uncharted 2!
  87. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Amazing. Stunning. Breathtaking. I just don't know where to start. Recently had just caving and buying myself a PS3, the first game I chose to pick up was Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Was I ever spot on on choosing the most amazing single player game to date. I was captivated with the story, Nate's up's and downs, his wise-cracks, the emotion that drives the story. It's so well thought out,Amazing. Stunning. Breathtaking. I just don't know where to start. Recently had just caving and buying myself a PS3, the first game I chose to pick up was Uncharted: Drake's Fortune. Was I ever spot on on choosing the most amazing single player game to date. I was captivated with the story, Nate's up's and downs, his wise-cracks, the emotion that drives the story. It's so well thought out, and even better - is the way they put it all together.

    From the opening cinematic you are taken right into the combat methods, and shooting methods, and from there the climbing, running, jumping, aiming, shooting, the environment, everything, crystal clear, running so smoothly. I never thought a game could deliver on such a level.

    If you have a PS3, and you don't have this game, you are just missing out on one of the, if not the best game on the PS3 (maybe aside from Uncharted 2 :P)
    Expand
  88. Sep 10, 2011
    10
    I see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn'tI see a lot of people/critics that praise Uncharted 2 for being such an amazing game, and I realize that Uncharted 2 has an amazing cinematic feel and does all these other wonderful things with multiplayer, co-op, and all that other good stuff; but Uncharted is definitely in my top 10 games of all time list. I think me, at the time, I hadn't played anything like Uncharted, it didn't remind me to badly of Tomb Raider, and despite the mechanics slightly reminding me of Gears of War, I still felt like it was original in it's own way (which it is). I loved how the story was told, and unfolded because originally getting into the game, it just came with my PS3, I originally had no interest in it at all (I really followed through with getting my PS3 for MGS4). But after playing Uncharted through and through, on every difficulty and unlocking everything; Uncharted remains my favorite PS3 exclusive title... more than Uncharted 2. Expand
  89. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Wow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked itWow. Assassin's Creed is one of my favorite games, but I feel that this might top that. Even though this doesn't have the free roam of AC, it doesn't need it. Although this series also has Nolan North starring. Everything about this game is spectacular. Althought the first time I played I got to about chapter 3 before I quit because I was tired of shooting games at the moment. I picked it back up and I am so impressed.

    Characters 10/10: Charming and entertaining characters that are very like able and unique.
    Story 9/10: nothing groundbreaking, but interesting enough and it is kept from being boring thinks to the characters.
    Gameplay 10/10: No where near as repetitive as first person shooters. Plus it has a platformer feel to it that keeps the gameplay fresh.
    Graphics 10/10: Some of the best graphics I have seen and this was in 2007!
    Replay Value 9/10: While I haven't beaten it yet, the game has multiple difficulty levels, and it has multiple treasures to find. Plus the game is so awesome anyway. Althought it wouldn't have that new and unique feeling playing it again, it would still be darn fun!

    Recommendation: Must Have. Any PS3 owner without this game needs to have it.
    Expand
  90. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    great great great game , amazing characters, beautiful set pieces, and i love the platforming, the zombie were a wierd twist tho but It was a beautiful ride and this will be a classic years later.
  91. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    Platforming is awesome, great adventure story , and awesome gameplay. I would recommend you get this game right away at your nearest game store or wherever you get your games
  92. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    6 days from release of uncharted 3 and im stuck playing the first two over and over until that amazing day comes, and both uncharted and uncharted 2 are amazing. This game started a series that will sure stay with us for a very long time. A sure contendor for one of the best games ever made!
  93. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    what a game!not great as uncharted 2 but it is beautiful,great graphics,story and fantastic characters,just beautiful..naughty dog always does fantastic games
  94. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    3rd Best game this gen (after Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually played the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  95. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! game.. One of the Best games this gen (along withg Uncharted 2 , 3), its Very underrated too! I dont get how some people hate it, if you actually finished the game you will know its one of the best adventure games this gen! I recommend it to everyone who like action/adventure games
  96. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    awesomeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
  97. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    Haven't enjoyed an action/adventure game this much in a long time. Since I've played Uncharted, pulp action movies have not been as enjoyable as this game. While the controls are not as tight as some games, this is a great game for someone who only has a few hours a week to enjoy a video game and wants to make the most of their time.
  98. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    easily one of my favorite games on the ps3 to date. this games gripping single player experience has me totally excited for what the future installments in the series has to offer.
  99. Nov 13, 2011
    10
    Un jeu au top, datant de 2007 il écrase encore, en 2011 certains jeux qui sortent actuellement.
    Rien a redire, l'ambiance est génial je me suis cru là bas avec eux.
  100. Nov 19, 2014
    10
    I played this game like less then a year ago. I was a blast. I really enjoyed it. I bought the PS3 last black friday 2013 and got the game as well. Amazing graphics for such an old game. I havent moved on to the second game yet but I do own it. Im sad that my friends made me buy Xbox One so I wont get to play the newest one for quite some time. 10/10
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. 91
    The final sum is far greater than the individual parts. Maybe you don't dig the combat or maybe the pop-in gets you down, but the overall package of an endearing story, outstanding score, great performances and fun gameplay should put this title on the top of your holiday wishlist.
  2. 90
    This game is one of the most immersive gaming experiences I've had this year, and it's definitely a great reason to own a PS3. The mix of platforming and gunplay worked really well and left me craving the next title in the series.
  3. By starting with a great control and camera system, building on that with excellent combat and a wonderful spin on Ico's platform adventuring, and then topping it off with a decent storyline, Naughty Dog has cooked up one of the most relentlessly entertaining, fat-free games to emerge in ages. Topped off with the most stunning use of the PS3's underused technical prowess yet, Uncharted: Drake's Fortune is, for my money, the first must-have PlayStation 3 title.