Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 42 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 112 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players assume the role of a futuristic warrior engaged in contests of intense shooting battles against skilled opponents, controlled either by human contestants online or by A.I. These contests are fought with the most powerful sci-fi weapons and vehicles.Unparalleled graphical and physical realism from the latest Unreal Engine 3 technology delivers the most compelling First Person Shooter Experience to-date...online and offline. The weaponry is bigger and badder than ever. Destroy your opponent from a distance with the ever popular Link Gun or blast away at close range with the Bio Rifle. Battle against lightening fast A.I. in the deeper and richer single player tournament mode. Expanded Onslaught game type features two complete sets of high-tech vehicles, including the massive Leviathan, the terrifying Darkwalker, and a completely new way to get into the action...the Hoverboard. Fight side-by-side with or compete against new and returning characters from the UT franchise, all with enhanced abilities, extremely detailed looks and distinct personalities. Enhanced popular game types, including: Deathmatch, Team Deathmatch, Capture the Flag, and Instagib CTF and more. [Midway] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 42
  2. Negative: 0 out of 42
  1. 100
    A powerhouse of a game and a real boon for the PS3, which is in dire need of some fantastic shooters.
  2. Vehicles, weapons, arenas, controls - it's all very intuitive, could probably survive without the added layers of instruction, and significantly still feels natural when the diversifications from standard multiplayer FPS modes and equipment are asked to work together. Warfare is a splendid mode.
  3. If you have no friends and no broadband connection then UT III will be a snore. When twitching out against opponents around the globe it can be as addictive, and deep, as video games come.
  4. Aside from some online hiccups, it is fast, furious, and fun to play, and never fails to impress from a visual perspective. As a result, it stands up favorably against the other strong multiplayer shooters available on the platform.
  5. With its fast paced action, powerful visuals and some of the best vehicles and weapons ever seen on an online environment, UT III is tailor made for anyone who craves for online competition. [March 2008]
  6. When it is all said and done though, UTIII offers nothing new.

See all 42 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 6 out of 32
  1. AndyK.
    Dec 14, 2007
    10
    GREAT! Superb graphics (better than GoW), great sound,great gameplay,a perfect UT. Great job EPIC!!!
  2. EricH.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    Excellent fast and furious gameplay; does a excellent job of replacing the spot Quake III did on the PS2. My only major complaint is the lack of offline split screen deathmatch; but I still don't feel this is worth lowering its overall score over. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    10-Presentation; The menu's are well laid out and the story is overall decent for a multiplayer focused game.
    10-Graphics; Beautiful art
    style, excellent animations and textures, and amazing lighting and particle effects
    10-Sound; Everything from music, voice acting, and sound effects is excellent.
    10-Game play; From the excellently designed levels, terrific controls and mechanics, and incredible AI. The game play succeeds.
    10-Lasting appeal; There's tons of modes, maps, weapons, modifiers, etc.
    Overall-10/10
    Expand
  4. Devon
    Dec 11, 2007
    9
    Excellent PS3 game online or off. Not as great as CoD4, but a damn close second. A can't miss PS3 game along with Uncharted, Resistance, and Warhawk. Pretty damn close to it's PC counterpart, I do miss some of the levels but change doesn't hurt. I did notice slight slowdown in warfare but only when 12 people were in a HUGE open space. The hoverboard is a great addition. The BEST thing about UT on PS3 is thats its USB/ Bluetooth Keyboard and Mose compatible, for all those winers who hate fps's on gamepads. The microphone audio quality is the BEST in any online PS3 game, about the same as WoW's high quality chat system. A must buy for FPS fans or PS3 owners who want to brag to 360 owners that theirs comes out late 08'. Expand
  5. Ins0mn1acXIII
    Dec 13, 2007
    8
    I've been a big fan of the unreal series for years and this is no disappointment. The game looks great and has been tweaked just enough to give a long-time fan a few "wow" moments. Overall, a great game. The only thing holding this back, though, is network bugs. I've even gotten kicked out of a solo game in campaign mode because it says it lost the connection to the server. I'm sure the kinks will get worked out, but even with them, this is still a great game. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    5
    It's not the best game of it's kind definitely, I bought it used and there's no regret. The story it's not so good either but I liked the characters, the controls are not so tight as they should be in any FPS, the weapons are not good either, what use do you have for a sniper rifle if all the fighting happens in no more than 40 steps from each other and they are all moving/running targets, the controls for the vehicles are very sloppy too, and don't want to get started on the vehicles they don't fit on the war zone of any map!!! clever uh? and I have to agree with some of the critics this is NOT for FPS veterans. If you are new to FPS this might be entertaining to you. Expand
  7. PatrickS.
    Dec 13, 2007
    0
    This game does NOT offer split-screen. This means NO offline multiplayer! A significant disappointment in my book, especially as I found this out after opening the game. If you ONLY want to play online multiplayer, the rating would definitely be higher, but without split-screen, I have to rate this as a big zero. Expand

See all 32 User Reviews