Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 27 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Viking: Battle For Asgard takes players to the world of Norse Gods, where the Goddess Hel in all her fury, has raised an army of demonic warriors sent to enslave the mortal realm of Midgard and ultimately provoke Ragnarok - the apocalyptic battle that will destroy even the Gods themselves. Play as Skarin, a powerful yet flawed Viking warrior, filled with rage and ready to wage war on whoever stands in his way. Manipulated by the gods and fated to a destiny he has yet to understand, Skarin is the only one able to stop this ultimate clash of great wills. As Skarin, players leave behind them a bloody trail of dismembered foes using a huge array of ruthless and brutal combat moves while mastering the addictive and destructive mystical powers and abilities given to him by the Viking Gods he looks to come between. Explore vast and visually stunning open-world environments where gamers strive to free enslaved warriors and lead them into huge, epic battles featuring colossal giants, powerful shaman, deadly assassins and the Gods' own champions. Tame mighty dragons and unleash their rain of fire, laying waste to the enemy hordes that stand in your way and use Skarin's emerging skills to strategically turn the tide of conflict. Taking full advantage of the technology only next-gen consoles offer, Viking: Battle for Asgard excels at flowing seamlessly from small-scale battles to massive wars featuring multitudes of bloodthirsty warriors waiting to unleash their fury. [Sega] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Easy to manage hot keys, intuitive controls, a great map that doubles as an objective outline...everything here is spot on. [Apr 2008, p.55]
  2. It's a game that's far better than most of the tat on the shelves just now, and certainly deserving of your attention and we reckon that a sequel could be stunning.
  3. Viking: Battle of Asgard is a great game for what it wants to accomplish.
  4. Sadly, Viking is one of those games that could have been great but thanks to repetitive hack-and-slash gameplay there is really not much here even Odin would approve.
  5. 63
    The battles stumble thanks to chug, the worlds get repetitive, and when you're not really interested in the story or your ultimate goal, hack-and-slash gets on your nerves no matter how many times you cut a guy in two.
  6. While Viking isn't a total disappointment, the biggest problem here is a matter of the game feeling wholly and entirely unfinished.
  7. 33
    Viking: Battle for Asgard falls far short of its potential.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. CalsonC.
    Aug 14, 2008
    8
    Sure, the story could've been a lot better but I think the game's simplicity is one of its strong points. Vikings were never really known for there complex personalities. This is a good game, if not a great one. I had a lot of fun exploring the huge environment, the fighting mechanics are simple, yet deep enough for it to warrant some thought. Despite all the bad reviews... I think this is a game worth experiencing. Collapse
  2. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    I liked it! I bought it used for 10 bucks.. so my expectations were not high to begin with. I didn't care for the story or the game mechanics, but the difficulty level was tough. I actually got stuck on one part and couldn't figure out what to do. It reminded me for a second of how games were back in the day. The final battle was tough as hell, but other areas of the game could have been tougher. I gave it an 8 for being bug free and not being a total **** kid game. If you started gaming sometime after the year 2000 you probably won't like it and wont find a walk through or cheat. If you've been gaming since the 1900's its a great bargain bin game....you will at least enjoy beating it. Expand
  3. BrandonT
    Aug 6, 2008
    8
    This was a good game. It is very like God of war Which I rate a 10. The reason I rate this a 8 is becuase obviously not as great as god of war but still a good game. I just love taking my sword and slicing off some heads =] Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2010
    7
    Viking suprized me and I'm very surprized the reviews were so low. I'd like to give viking an 8 but relative to other games I rated 8 it seems out of place so my 7 rating should be viewed as a very high 7. Ok, where to begin? I can't understand the low reviews on this game. It had a few issues but none serious and it was a very very fun game. It seems to be inspired by God of War and maybe it was viewed as a cheezy rip off and that was enough to rate it low. I don't know but I certainly don't agree with the low rating. The rating and review by CalsonC is very accurate to my own thoughts and so i will expand some more on that review. First off I think this game didn't get a fair chance by many players. If anything the game is very quilty of starting off way too easy and the cinematics aren't on par with God of Wars and maybe explains why so many people turfed this game so easily and reviewed it badly before they even played the entire game. As i look on this site so many people are saying the game is only 10 hrs and is very repetitive. This is quite untrue. It seems a lot of people must have only played the first island and think they beat the game. The first island is around 10 hrs and as i said the game is pretty guilty of starting off too easy so i can understand people thinking the game is nonsence if that is as far as they got. But after the first island the game really gets good. By island two you are now in control of your moves available and start to gain an appreciation of enemy rank and who to take out first so that you are not mobbed. By island 3 you are an extreme viking expert. The game is very nicely paced and gets progressively more difficult but is paced well with the skill you will aquire as you play. The final boss is a really good challenge. This game is also poorly understood. Many people must not have ever played a sandbox game because this game does have good replay value. In a sandbox game it is your decision where to roam and what upgrades you want to make to your game . If the game is too hard you upgrade your attacks. If the game is too easy you don't upgrade. So basically you make your own style. I read a review by a professional and they bashed the game for not having a run button. This person is a terrible gamer and should stick to one dimensional games like pac man. I never needed to run because I used some strategy and acted like a viking. That's the name of the game, not COWARD. Anyway, rant aside the game does have replay value but you have to have creativity and decide how to play the game. The flaws in the game are small. I had a few gltiches and there was very very minimal slowdown in some of the epic battles but these were not at all serious to any of the gameplay. I'm used to games where you have to swing the camera wildly and in this game it was ok although i will acknowledge that this is a larger concern for other players than it is for me. I'm ok incorrporating that into my gameplay but it is quite necessary in this game to do it. What else? Mnnn. I don't know, overall just a very enjoyable game. Easy to play and you can do a bit each night. If you like God of War, maybe give this a chance or a second chance. It really is misrepresented and a fairly decent game. Not a must have or anything but deserves much better than it was rated. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    7
    This game was a lot of fun. Sure, the graphics are average and there are some technical issues, it can even get repetitive, but a lot of my favorite games weren't technically sound. I did have fun every minute though. Expand
  6. Aug 2, 2012
    4
    Awful graphics, laughable framerate, excessive repetitiveness and shallow combat are the main flaws of this game and for me that's too much to bear for a game that only can redeem itself with this viking setting and the inclusion of some huge battles (even though the framerate makes them look like if they were in slow motion). I would only recommend this game to someone who really loves the genre and is having a hard time trying to find new games or to someone that can find it really cheap. Expand
  7. Guardian
    Jul 18, 2008
    4
    Viking after time can grow on you a little, after the first hour i was considering taking it back straight away and attacking the local EB games dude for recomending it so highly. But, and its a big but for sure, the controls are horrible, the graphics very average and the repetition is enough to put you to sleep. Im a fan of all things sword and sorcery, but after a few days of holding out to see what this baby had in store for me--- i was left with alot of dissapointment. The high point is the large scale battles but even then it lacks as the framerate drops badly and the controls become frustrating.... a rental for a few days ..yes.......a keeper no......honestly i was a bit saddened as i was really looking forward to this one but it felt like a beta copy that was half unfinished. Expand