User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 86
  2. Negative: 32 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Seems like some idiotic troll screwed up the user score here at Metacritic using multiple email accounts (a TTT2/DOA5 fanboy, perhaps?). However, he didn't write a single review, mentioning at least one important defect in the game that justifies such a low user score. And of course he didn't, because this game has NONE. VF5FS has the most deep fighting mechanics ever in a 3D fightingSeems like some idiotic troll screwed up the user score here at Metacritic using multiple email accounts (a TTT2/DOA5 fanboy, perhaps?). However, he didn't write a single review, mentioning at least one important defect in the game that justifies such a low user score. And of course he didn't, because this game has NONE. VF5FS has the most deep fighting mechanics ever in a 3D fighting game, where you actually earn your victories and learn from your defeats. Easy to learn, thanks to the best tutorial in fighting games, but VERY hard to master, because of the number of possibilities this fighting engine offers, the lack of comeback mechanics / artificial help based on luck other games have, and the tough competition you have online. Speaking of it, VF5FS also has the best netcode in a fighting game, with lag simply nonexistent when playing against someone in the "same area" ("worldwide" option not recommended). It may not have the presentation polish of a AAA fighter, but wins against all of them in what matters most: gameplay. And in a year full of releases of them, it's a remarkable thing this budget release is the best. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2012
    10
    I just can't define the epic-ness of once again playing vf online after all these years. Vf is my favorite fighting game of all time and possibly my favorite game of all time. I do wish there was more single player components, but I understand it at this price. I'm still debating whether to dedicate myself to this game once more. With the newfound smoothness of gameplay it's probably worthI just can't define the epic-ness of once again playing vf online after all these years. Vf is my favorite fighting game of all time and possibly my favorite game of all time. I do wish there was more single player components, but I understand it at this price. I'm still debating whether to dedicate myself to this game once more. With the newfound smoothness of gameplay it's probably worth it. Sf4 served me for years but vf is still king. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2012
    10
    Best fighting game ever made. Plain and simple. If you are into button mashing and instant gratification then stay away. Fighting game noobs dont stand a chance in this game and that's why this game is not nearly as popular as it should but if you are a fighting game veteran then YOU MUST ABSOLUTELY PLAY THIS GAME. It's without a doubt the deepest fighting game ever made and only the bestBest fighting game ever made. Plain and simple. If you are into button mashing and instant gratification then stay away. Fighting game noobs dont stand a chance in this game and that's why this game is not nearly as popular as it should but if you are a fighting game veteran then YOU MUST ABSOLUTELY PLAY THIS GAME. It's without a doubt the deepest fighting game ever made and only the best and most skilled players win every single time. There's no lucky bs in this game. If you are a fighting game fan and you don't play this then you have zero credibility as a fighting game fan IMO. Expand
  4. Jun 8, 2012
    10
    For a base price of 15$ minus the quest mode from the original release this is still a fantastic game. All the modes are great and the tutorial is by far the best of the year. Seeing as you are also getting online play which was lacking in the original release some years ago is also a added bonus. The netcode is great and I've only had a few hiccups. The only real flaw is the customizationFor a base price of 15$ minus the quest mode from the original release this is still a fantastic game. All the modes are great and the tutorial is by far the best of the year. Seeing as you are also getting online play which was lacking in the original release some years ago is also a added bonus. The netcode is great and I've only had a few hiccups. The only real flaw is the customization items, the DLC ones are just meh. Really you only get maybe 5-10 original character items and the five colours associated with it, just a little gripe on a superb game. Expand
  5. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    If you have Playstation Plus, this game is currently free of charge, for as long as you have Plus. Hard to get better deals than being free. While it doesn't feel like a complete retail release, I cringe when I think about the DLC for this game, but even this and being a non-fighting game fan like myself can see fault with a free product of good value.
  6. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Sega might as well have called this Virtua Fighter 6. I've been waiting a very long time to play this game, and as a big fan of the series, I am happy that they didn't ruin the game! The graphics look great, the mechanics are solid, and the combos are extremely fluid. I had no problem finding opponents to fight online, and really enjoyed all the playable modes / trials this title has toSega might as well have called this Virtua Fighter 6. I've been waiting a very long time to play this game, and as a big fan of the series, I am happy that they didn't ruin the game! The graphics look great, the mechanics are solid, and the combos are extremely fluid. I had no problem finding opponents to fight online, and really enjoyed all the playable modes / trials this title has to offer. I'm very pleased, and to sweeten the deal, it was made free to ps+ members, minus the customize feature which will run you 14.99 on the playstation store. A must buy for any 3D fighting fan, it's sure to hold you over until DOA5 and Tekken Tag 2! Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    This might be the best fighting game ever made, deep like no other, fun, addictive, easy to play and hard as **** to master...the only ones not liking it are the ones who can't learn the mechanincs.
    You know? No supers, no X factor...just pure true skills.
  8. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    This is the deepest fighting game ever made, I can't find flaws in the gameplay and this is just because there are NOT.
    Probably NetCode should be better for a game based on frames but the connection is OK if you play with people that have a good one so it doesn't count that much and it's pretty good if the think SEGA needed to receive a petition to bring that game on consoles,
    and it's
    This is the deepest fighting game ever made, I can't find flaws in the gameplay and this is just because there are NOT.
    Probably NetCode should be better for a game based on frames but the connection is OK if you play with people that have a good one so it doesn't count that much and it's pretty good if the think SEGA needed to receive a petition to bring that game on consoles,
    and it's VirtuaFighter so: 10/10.
    Expand
  9. Jan 22, 2015
    10
    This game is a love letter for any hardcore fighting game fanatic. Ever know why you lost a round and you dont know why? Virtua Fighter always has a simple solution. Ever lose to a counter pick or bad match up? Every character in Virtua Fighter is viable. Universally every character can deal with every situation. There are no unbalanced comeback mechanics making the game more aboutThis game is a love letter for any hardcore fighting game fanatic. Ever know why you lost a round and you dont know why? Virtua Fighter always has a simple solution. Ever lose to a counter pick or bad match up? Every character in Virtua Fighter is viable. Universally every character can deal with every situation. There are no unbalanced comeback mechanics making the game more about outplaying your opponent properly and no flashy animations which keeps the games pace going and more interactive. Virtua Fighter 5 rewards the player with the best reads, reactions and fundamentals rather than gimmicks, spammed attacks and invincible moves. Every hit you land you deserved. The game may seem slow(example: 12 frame crouching jabs versus Street Fighters 3 frame crouching jabs) but that's just on the surface. There is a hard counter to every single move so each player is making a decision every 6th of a second making the pace of the game incredibly quick and a lot less waiting and walking back and forth. Virtua Fighter's inaccessibility is largely exaggerated. The entry level to the game is rather low once you know the basics(high punches are plus on block but can be beaten by lows, mids can beat highs, lows or mids but you need to have frame advantage and they are negative on block) and lows are negative on hit unless its a crouching jab as well as throw beating block, block beating attack, and attack beating throw, you'll quickly be able to jump into the game knowing the rock paper scissors to the game. Peel the layers back even further however you'll find tons of technical moves such as moves that do something special on counter hit or moves that or designed to counter attacks or break guard. The entry level may be low but the ceiling to improve is immense making this game one of the easiest to pick up and learn but very difficult to master. As for presentation, the music is great and you can switch between soundtracks of older virtua fighters. The graphics are however outdated but keep in mind Virtua Fighter 5 came out in arcades before Playstation 3 or Xbox360 even existed. The voice actors however are horrible but there is a certain cheesy charm to it to break up the intense matches with a good laugh. The game feels a bit stiff at first but once it gets its hooks in you you will have a hard time finding a more complete, interactive, balanced and fun fighting game out there. 10/10 Expand
  10. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    Very good and balanced game. To me this is still the most honest fighting game out there: there's no cheating bosses or anything. And when you lose, you know you lost to the better man in that fight. The balance is just that good. There's aren't a lot of modes to play in, it's just fighting in it's purest form.
    I did not own the original Virtua Fighter 5, but I do understand that it's
    Very good and balanced game. To me this is still the most honest fighting game out there: there's no cheating bosses or anything. And when you lose, you know you lost to the better man in that fight. The balance is just that good. There's aren't a lot of modes to play in, it's just fighting in it's purest form.
    I did not own the original Virtua Fighter 5, but I do understand that it's kind off a rip off because this could just as easily be downloadable content. As a stand-alone game, it's as perfect as a figting game can get though.
    Expand
  11. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    This game is easily, the best fighting game engine on the market, I´m going to review the game for the casual gamer and pro gamer of fighting games (as myself). For the casual: As much as I love Virtua Fighter is kind of difficult to recommend this game for somebody that just want to play with friends that have no idea about the game and just want to have fun without complex things toThis game is easily, the best fighting game engine on the market, I´m going to review the game for the casual gamer and pro gamer of fighting games (as myself). For the casual: As much as I love Virtua Fighter is kind of difficult to recommend this game for somebody that just want to play with friends that have no idea about the game and just want to have fun without complex things to know, however, there is an arcade mode, customization mode, challenges to help you get better ad entertain you, but as I say, is very difficult to recommend this game for the casuals over Tekken or Soul Calibur, anyway, the game provides extremeoly good tools to help you get better (tools that in Tekken doesn´t even exist) so if you are a casual and want to play a fighting game pick VF, but if you only want to mash things and watch characters endings and that kind of bs, maybe you should consider Tekken. For the pro gamer point of view: This game is the best fighting game in history, complex mechanics, extremely deep matchups, no random issues with random launchers (like Tekken), great netcode, the only downside is that the community is small, but I´m comletely sure that SEGA is going to make some announcement soon and there is a lot of people with no game after the dissapointment that the last 3D have caused, so this game is going to increase popularity of the tops. Expand
  12. Sep 15, 2014
    9
    Perhaps the best fighting game ever made, I heard this being said about it so many times and just had to go out and buy it for myself. It is amazing to see how far this series has come from it's origins and VF5 FS certaintly delivers.

    The game has a brilliant knack of delivering an addictive fighting experience, with simple but well timed moves and combos some of which are difficult to
    Perhaps the best fighting game ever made, I heard this being said about it so many times and just had to go out and buy it for myself. It is amazing to see how far this series has come from it's origins and VF5 FS certaintly delivers.

    The game has a brilliant knack of delivering an addictive fighting experience, with simple but well timed moves and combos some of which are difficult to execute but very user friendly with perseverance. The roster boasts a range of styles with attacks also using the surrounding walls and edges.

    The game also includes the customization packs in full and I have to say the custom options are pretty amazing and actually make your characters look authentic still unlike the ones on Tekken. Virtual Fighter Final Showdown is the bar that all fighters should aspire to match.
    Expand
  13. Mar 13, 2015
    9
    This is it, my fellow fighting games fans - the ultimate fighting game, I think. Virtua Fighter has finally surpassed Street Fighter with this comprehensively amazing update. The depth of gameplay and also the character customization options here are just incredible. The superb soundtrack has to be mentioned as well. Where do you go from here? I guess the only way forward would be aThis is it, my fellow fighting games fans - the ultimate fighting game, I think. Virtua Fighter has finally surpassed Street Fighter with this comprehensively amazing update. The depth of gameplay and also the character customization options here are just incredible. The superb soundtrack has to be mentioned as well. Where do you go from here? I guess the only way forward would be a next-gen Virtua Fighter on the PS4 or 5 - a game that would push the realism and the style even further.

    Why is the user score only 5.7 by the way, when there's only one single negative review by that Tekken fanboy called MAS360? Metacritic - I think this needs an explanation.
    Expand
  14. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    I love this game, the fighting mechanics are the best ever (IMO) and the control scheme works well enough that anyone casual or hardcore can play and enjoy. The graphics are a bit dated but thats understandable, the sound is typical, I personally have had no problems online (other than getting my @$$ kicked) but I have a fast connection so I can't say much on that. In short, for aI love this game, the fighting mechanics are the best ever (IMO) and the control scheme works well enough that anyone casual or hardcore can play and enjoy. The graphics are a bit dated but thats understandable, the sound is typical, I personally have had no problems online (other than getting my @$$ kicked) but I have a fast connection so I can't say much on that. In short, for a Downloadable fighting game this is as good it gets. The DLC is definitely not worth the money, its basically just different color palettes and the customization even with the added DLC is very limited. I would suggest buying the core game and forgetting the extra crap. My score is 8 for one reason: the graphics, as I said before they are dated and the game just doesnt look very good compared to more modern fighters like DOA5 or SFXTekken. Definitely check this game out. Expand
  15. Oct 16, 2013
    8
    A solid, balanced fighting game that can get boring if your used to flashy stuff like Marvel, Soul Calibur or Tekken. The mechanics are great, nice characters and has a "easy to learn hard to master" style of gameplay. The music is wonderful and it has every Virtual Fighter soundtrack to date on, unfortunately the rest of the sound is still classic Virtual Fighter one sounding. Also theA solid, balanced fighting game that can get boring if your used to flashy stuff like Marvel, Soul Calibur or Tekken. The mechanics are great, nice characters and has a "easy to learn hard to master" style of gameplay. The music is wonderful and it has every Virtual Fighter soundtrack to date on, unfortunately the rest of the sound is still classic Virtual Fighter one sounding. Also the voice acting is bad but in a so bad it's good kind of way. Expand
  16. Nov 15, 2012
    2
    I guess good for Virtua Fighter, but the game still isn't as good Tekken. The fighting is still pretty sloppy and the game still feels like I'm playing Virtua Fighter on Dreamcast.
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    80
    The game's presentation might have aged but fortunately the fun it provides hasn't. Final Showdown is also a great gateway into the world of fighting games, as it's very accessible yet hard to master. [September 2012, p.57]
  2. Jul 11, 2012
    90
    Its prudence, that veil of simplicity masking a system of astonishing possibility and depth, makes it one of the purest fighting games on the market today.
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    90
    A purist fighter. [Issue#220, p.79]