User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 145

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This game really lets you be a Space Marine, and that's good! Great pacing and a good variety of weapons keep it interesting. Playing it on Hard is really a challenge since you cannot just charge into the fray, stun an enemy then execute kill to heal.. You need to tactically plan your assault (defense) then be mindful on which enemies to execute to heal. Multiplayer-wise, it feels like Transformers War for Cybertron without the transforming, which is great and the endless customization options are a great addition to the game. All in all, It's a good game even though I've only familiarized myself with Warhammer 40k lore with the game, Dawn of War 1 and 2. Hoping for more Xenos and mutants to kill on the sequel, hopefully (I'm looking at you, Eldar, Necrons, Tyranids, Tau, Dark Eldar). Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    This game is a beast,
    the singleplayer just owns, all the 40k variations of weapons needed for true fan to love this game. The action and tension is just great. Storymode makes me wanna say shut up and take my money.
    Even though multiplayer supposed to be just an addition, it's more than that despite what some cry babies from Gears of War say is very balanced, people just need to realize
    there is no COVER system because you are a freaking SPACE MARINE Adeptus Astarties for God Emperor's sake.
    On top of that in 30 days free DLC exterminatus mode, something like LAST STAND from Dawn of War II Co-op... how freaking awesome is that?
    Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    I'm about half-way through the single-player mode, and so far the game is a lot of fun. The projectile weapons have a nice heft to them, and melee combat is very satisfying (especially when you pulverize enemy hordes). Opponents aren't just limited to orks - which is something I was afraid of after playing the demo. Without going into spoilers, after a couple of chapters a new and more dangerous opponent faction appears that is a lot cooler.

    The environments are detailed and fairly varied. Relic mixed things up pretty well with different interior and exterior levels that are for the most part very visually appealing. While there's a strong gothic design influence, it never becomes too much for gamers like me who aren't really all that much into goth-grunge. They seem to have found a nice mix to keep both 40K fans and casual gamers happy.

    Overall, Space Marine is a positive surprise to me. After having played Black Ops and Modern Warfare 2 into the ground over the past couple of months, this is a nice change of pace that brings some fresh air into my game collection.
    Expand
  4. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Okay well first off anybody who isn't a warhammer 40k fan probably wont get half the dialogue in the game. i love how relic portrayed the universe they did a great job no doubt. the combat system is really fun and is extremely satisfying. it would have been nice to have a few more moves but im not complaining its not enough to give the game a low rating like some people on here. like dawn of war it gives you the option to customize your space marines looks which is nothing short of awesome. the story is a typical warhammer storyline anybody who expected anything different is an idiot. i'd bet good money that relic will patch this game up to near perfection and give it many new features including more multiplayer within the next couple months so all you cry baby jagged gamer snobs can be patient. if you know relic you know they'll add a bunch of stuff and fix most of the glitches. all in all great great great game. love it. 10 out of f'ing 10 Expand
  5. Sep 6, 2011
    9
    First, my score is based solely on the single player campaign. I have no real interest in the multiplayer. With that said, I really enjoyed my time with this game. I will admit I am a warhammer fan, but this game feels like the first real action game worthy of the warhammer 40,000 name. The shooting and melee aspects both feel very satisfing to use, and switching between the two in a fight depending on the target and range felt very intuiative and solid. Taking away the cover mechanic and adding the new health system (killing enemies to regain health) is a breath of fresh air after playing so many games that let you sit in cover and easily dispatch enemies without risk. (if your game's ai isnt good enough to have enemies flank/grenade you when your in cover, you shouldn't have cover at all). No, your forced to get your hands dirty, pick your priorities on the battlefield, and wait for your chances to regain some health.
    As far as negatives, the only real one I had was that a little more variety in the melee attacks would have been nice.
    Finally,if your able to handle the challenge, I'd recommend playing the game on the Hard difficulty. For the Emperor!
    Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    This game frigging rocks!!! I'm totally not a 40K fan boy but the shooting and melee mechanics combined with the violence blood fest is a brutally brilliant combo. This game definitively gives Gear of War 3 a run for its money
  7. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    Game is freaking awesome! MP is a blast, as it's different than the regular FPS MP. This is definitely the sleeper hit of the year as it didn't get the exposure of some of the other games being released. Combat from melee to range is seamless and tonnes of fun hacking at Orks and then blasting them with your bolter.
  8. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Fun, Fun Game. I am having such a great time with Space Marine. The entire game is action packed and the graphics and movement are fantastic. I am afraid that the game is going to finish every time I pass another level because I am enjoying it so much. What a great buy!!!!
  9. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Weapons feel great, beating enemies to pulp via melee is very satisfying after a long, stressful day, and the environments are stunning. Multiplayer is a lot of fun but unfortunately has only two game modes and a limited number of maps. Hope they'll expand on that via DLC soon.
  10. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Excilent game and portrayal of the 40K universe. Combat is brutal, bloody, and on a large scale. Controls are a bit of a pain, but not unplayable. Game still has a few teething issues, exspecialy in multiplayer, but for new releases, that's to be expected. Well worth the buy for 40K fans, action fans, or players just wanting a bloody, violent game to endulge in. Too many comparisons with Gears of War by fans too butt-hurt over this game being better.â Expand
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Multijoueur tout simplement énorme ! à recommander pour les fans de l'univers et amateurs de TPS beat'em all. Le mode solo sympathique sans être particulièrement révolutionnaire. Avec un mode coop qui arrive début octobre, Relic nous livre ici un excellent jeu qui mérite certainement son lot de suite et d'extension. Expand
  12. Sep 8, 2011
    10
    Awesome game, heart pumping action and just the way an action game should be that's based in the dark future, been waiting 'so' long for such a game to come out, cant believe it's finally here!
  13. Sep 10, 2011
    9
    this is an amazing game, im loving every part of it.

    as a warhammer fan, this captures the universe in a way that is almost exactly out of the books. the monsters are frequent, the stakes are high and the characters are badass. there are no serious issues i've had with the game, multiplayer is taking an age to load and i sometimes throw orcs through walls. but aside from that this is
    amazing and a must buy for any warhammer nerd

    on the other hand, if you are not a fan of 40k and are just looking for some 3rd person fun. you may have trouble with the health system or the fact that there isn't a cover system. aside from that i can guarantee you will have some fun gutting orcs

    9/10
    Expand
  14. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome. Single player experience is like OMG. Multiplayer is sick as hell. This game is like God of War, HALO, and Gears of War all had a super sexy night and had an amazing baby. This game is the baby.
  15. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    All I can say is that this game rocks! I'm not even a longtime fan of warhammer. The game has an awesome single player and an awesome multiplayer. I have not had this much fun in online since the days of lan parties for the original Halo:CE. Go out and get this now.
  16. Sep 28, 2011
    9
    This game is excellent. The single-player campaign is fun. The art is great; the stunning vastness of buildings in the W40k universe is well-realized. The multiplayer is fun and complex. It's not a perfect game, but it is well worth the purchase.
  17. Apr 6, 2012
    9
    Space Marine is a highly derivative but ultimately excellent third-person-shooter. There is no cover mechanic in this game, so it doesn't follow the Uncharted staple of staying in one place and popping off shots from safety. Progression on a battlefield takes a lot of strategy and careful maneuvering. You need to view the enemies, quickly decide priority targets and take them out as fast as possible. This usually involves switching up your arsenal, as the combat has a rock-paper-scissors element with it's weapon effectiveness. You've also got to balance that with leaving a few minions alive so that you can regenerate health via an execution kill. It's a lot of balls to juggle at the same time and it makes every single battle intense and thrilling. There just isn't any filler in Space Marine because the combat is so satisfying and fun. The story is fairly basic but it's acted with such vim by the game's cast that it genuinely entertains and makes you want to know how it ends. The art design, however... Perhaps the greatest sci-fi world ever created in a video game. Every pour reeks with attention to detail and a deep sense of love, care and passion for the subject material. All these elements combine to make Space Marine a cut above most third-person-shooters and one of my favorite action games of all time. Expand
  18. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    The 40k Universe perfectly captured by Relic.

    Single Player Campaign is bloody good fun. Albeit all too short

    Multi-player is incredibly fun, but the lack of maps and nagging ping problems drags the experience down.
  19. Sep 16, 2011
    10
    First off, the campeign is great. The combat is a bit repetitive, at least until about midway through the game. The plot is very 40k. Also I love the multiplayer, especially the armor customization.
  20. Sep 18, 2011
    10
    Awesome game!
    The single player is really fun, who doesn't like killing orcs?!
    The multiplayer is amazing, I find it extremely fun, I love the customization.
    I like how the multiplayer actually feels like a fire-fight, in Call of Duty, I always felt it was 1v1 or 1v2 or 1v3 etc. but not in this game. In a match you need to strategize. When I was playing, I was behind cover, and I looked
    around, saw alot of my teammates near me also taking cover and shooting, across from me was the enemy side, they were shooting too. I saw a ton of bullets on plasma bolts going back and forth and explosions everywhere. Then I saw a raptor (I was on space marines, enemy was chaos, one team is chaos and the other is space marines) (for all you noobs to warhammer, a raptor is a chaos person with a jump pack and melee weapon) crash down on some of my teammates, and on the enemy side our people with jump packs taking off and landing in their area. The raptor that jumped in our area killed a few people, next thing I knew, another one landed on me, and almost killed me. Luckily I threw down a grenade and evaded away, that raptor died and we shot the other one down. Then we got back into cover, with a few of us being killed by the enemy shooters. We started shooting again and took down any raptors in the air, a squad of me and about 4 of my teammates went through to the tunnel system to try to get across to flank the other team. Some people saw us and shot at us, about 2-3 died then. As we entered the tunnel system we saw a few other enemies who apparently got the same idea, we killed them pretty easily (they sucked :D). We came out of the tunnel on the other side and killed all of their shooters, so the path was clear for the rest of our team, then most of them came to help us take their control point and the rest stayed to defend. With our jump pack people (forgot what they are called on the space marine team) taking out all the shooters from above, we shot their raptors and we took their control point.
    THE END
    See what I mean?
    Im sure you people can image a warhammer battle like that (I played in it :D)
    Anyway, I hope you got my point, if not here it is:

    BUY THIS GAME, IT IS ONE OF THE BEST SHOOTERS EVER

    Also, it is a THIRD PERSON SHOOTER, not a first person shooter.
    Expand
  21. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    Space Marine makes a great entrance into the FPS genre. The Single player campaign runs at about 6-7 hours, which seems to be the standard for FPS games these days. The characters are done quite well and the game lets you feel like the powerful machine of war that a Space Marine is. The weapons you come across, both melee and ranged, are varied and unique enough from each other to keep them all interesting and fun. The Campaign is genuinely interesting and has more than a few surprise moments to keep you guessing on the outcome. The multi-player is also quite fun, with great customization and entertaining matches. The real strength in this game though is the campaign and feeling like you really are a Space Marine, sent in with your squad to do what needs to be done. Expand
  22. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    This game is great. Everything you would want from a epic action shooter. Campaign is 8-10 hours of non stop action and the multiplayer is addictive. Can't wait for DLC and a sequel.
  23. Oct 28, 2011
    9
    This game is a ton of fun. I'm not that good at shooters so NORMAL difficulty was a challenge for me, but I was HIGHLY entertained. The action is non-stop and fast paced. You need to employ some tactics for sure. Price dropped to $40 and the campaign is definitely worth $40. The on-line play has lots of potential but it would be nice to have some games with other objectives. I also find myself getting very few points each game compared to others which results in a strong feeling of grinding to level up. I'm not sure if the high level players simply clobber me with their gear or I'm just horrible -- probably a bit of both but my interest in the on-line play is waning even though I'd like to play it more. Expand
  24. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    I think this game is really good. I enjoy the multiplayer a lot and the campaign was easily the most gory and violent thing I have ever seen, so it fits the IP nicely. Multiplayer has an awesome customizer and the mix of jump troops, melee and classical shooter elements makes for a solid tactical gaming experience. For people who like both the Warhammer 40,000 setting and shooters, this is an awesome action game. Once you get the hang of it and can seamlessly mix melee and ranged combat, this game has a unique flow.

    If you dislike the setting, it's not nearly as good, because it is extremely true to Warhammer 40,000. If you are not good at team shooters, the PVE is still good but the PVP probably becomes too hectic and tactically demanding.

    All in all, I'd have to say that it is easily the best action game I have played in years, right up there with Team Fortress and Counter-Strike.

    Game Modes:
    Campaign (linear shooter/spectacle fighter with a wonderfully violent health system)

    Annihilation (classic team death match)
    Seize Ground (point capture mode)
    CTF (capture the flag mode)

    Exterminatus/Chaos Unleashed (Co-op Multiplayer Horde/Wave Mode)
    Expand
  25. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Ah, that awkward moment when you feel like an utter fool for purposely avoiding a great game. This game is so much fun, and if I wouldn't have found in on PS plus for free, I may have never experienced it! This game is a bit like Gears of War. They took out the cinematics that most high budget action games spew at you, and put you straight into the fight. The game paces itself very well, gives a multitude of OP weaponry to shred your foes to mere gristle with, and has a pretty cool online feature with a level up system to keep the fun going! Highly reccomended, I will force my friends to buy this title. Expand
  26. May 31, 2012
    10
    Game takes you straight to action by killing hordes of orks. There is not much for the story its just kill orks and collect servo skulls. For me this is best third person shooter game. There are many weapons to choose from there is not "best weapon". Best weapon is that you can use best. There were little disappointments with leveling because there are only 41 levels and you cant start it all over so when you reach level 41 it can get little boring. In multiplayer there are only three classes to choose from I really hoped that there would have been at least four or five. Well there are DLC that allow you play with robot called Dreadnought. You can customize your Space/Chaos Marine any way you want there are armor parts and paints to use. Expand
  27. Feb 21, 2013
    9
    An obviously fantastic game Imagine that when Gears of War meet with the Warhammer 40K All the gore and blood spreading around with it's brilliant combat controls.....and also with the masterpiece soundtrack!
    What else could i say This game is awesome! By the way,there is a totally FREE DLC Exterminatus mode(Survival mode) download in this awesome game How can anyone refuse it Just
    go buy it and love it Expand
  28. Oct 27, 2013
    9
    I love this game. The single player mode is fun but overall not amazing. It is very linear and doesnt really get across the "grim darkness or the far future" feel of the canon. It is, like I said though, fun. The execution moves are a right laugh and the weapons do have a great feel to them. The multiplayer is where it really gets going though. I have not had this much fun in multiplayer for a long time. The three classes (assault, tactical and devastator marine) add a lot of depth and really fit in with the warhammer universe. Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Nov 27, 2011
    51
    The sort of simple, dumb, licensed game that causes the shelves of your local game shop to buckle under the weight of sheer undesirable mediocrity. [Issue#210, p.94]
  2. Devotees to the 20-sided dice will be pleased with the level of fan service on offer here, while even those who've never dared step into the Games Workshop will garner some no-thinking-required enjoyment from this fun if basic orc-driller. [Nov 2011, p.98]
  3. Space Marine sports some cool visual touches, but its presentation falls shy of the top shooters' slick production values and its camera becomes a bit over-caffeinated during close-quarters combat. [Nov 2011, p.86]