Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: White Knight Chronicles II is enhanced with stunning graphics, over 400 weapon and armor choices, and new fan-requested features. For the first time, players can create an Incorruptus (a unique knight) for their own avatar and use it during online multiplayer quests for the first time ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 45
  2. Negative: 7 out of 45
  1. Sep 25, 2011
    91
    The rewards for engaging, learning, and conquering Chronicles II are many, especially for those who enjoy falling into the sticky trap of co-operative online roleplaying games, where loot is hard-earned with time and skill.
  2. Jul 4, 2011
    78
    White Knight Chronicles II is a good quality sequel that fixed most of the errors of the first episode. It's not perfect, not a next-generation RPG, not a masterpiece, but is a pretty good game, if compared to the (low) current rating of similar products.
  3. Jun 21, 2011
    74
    White Knight Chronicles 2 lacks some innovation over the original game, but it delivers a solid experience for RPG fans.
  4. Jul 6, 2011
    65
    Level 5 have once again created a vast and competent RPG, but it has failed to reach the upper echelons the best in the genre achieve, being more slow-and-steady rather than thrill-a-minute. JRPGs have fallen out of favour recently, so buyers need be aware that this is very much JRPG-centric. There's plenty of content to keep fans of this type of RPG happy, but it certainly won't appeal to everyone.
  5. Jun 27, 2011
    60
    Mixing the JRPG and MMO genres is a great idea, but with WKC2 Level-5 fails again and gets a mixed result.
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    50
    Hardcore WKC fans may be willing to pour hundreds of additional hours into this sequel, nay - expansion - but most will likely be turned off by the confusing story, niggling flaws and generally repetitive nature of the combat and questing.
  7. Jul 1, 2011
    20
    If you were to find the perfect illustration of the downfall of Japanese RPGs, it would probably look like White Knight Chronicles II. Its combat system is wonky, trying to find the pieces of itself and finding only the player's weariness, its story and characters are so tasteless that one might wonder if we're still in 2011, and finally, its shameless recycling of maps and stuff from the first one doesn't do it any good. Only the multiplayer manages to linger on in our thoughts, baring a little esteem, but it's definitely not enough to dive into this tiresome adventure. Please don't fail on ninokuni like you ailed on this one, level-5, please.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    Most modern gamers don't like any game with a turn-based element. Maybe it's the thought of thinking that scares them. White Knight ChroniclesMost modern gamers don't like any game with a turn-based element. Maybe it's the thought of thinking that scares them. White Knight Chronicles is one of the 5 best computer RPG's of all time and WKC2 is just as good. Typical rpg elements present in sequels are missing (most characters return from the original), but it does feel bigger and better. The gameplay is brilliant and designed to make the player who just wants to kill or destroy everything quit and play something much that requires much less thought. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2011
    10
    This is a really good RPG. I was a fan of the first and this one has just gotten better. Must buy for any RPG fans. The amount of content inThis is a really good RPG. I was a fan of the first and this one has just gotten better. Must buy for any RPG fans. The amount of content in the game is very nice, and it does for sure have replay-ability. Combat is better then the first game with more options. This is a solid JRPG, and one of the few we have seen come to the states in the past few years. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2011
    10
    this game is really GOOD!! if you liked the first game you will like this game too, the graphics are better the updates in the gameplaythis game is really GOOD!! if you liked the first game you will like this game too, the graphics are better the updates in the gameplay Definitely make correct the mistakes made in the first game,the same good amount of time of gameplay and do everything in the game,now you raise you guild rank level much more quickly and dont saty behind of others playing,new weapons( now the weapons dont have penallity on VIT =) everything really good i just think that they could have change the chances to get some hard iten...they still whit itens that have 1 percent drop..that could be frustate sometines..and the history still practicly the same...anyway it dont stop the game to be one of the best choices of JRPG if you have the one you MUST have this one Expand
  4. Apr 13, 2012
    8
    Great! if you haven't play wkc1 before~
    Good! if you play wkc1 with this remaster version... that realise they are using the same map for
    Great! if you haven't play wkc1 before~
    Good! if you play wkc1 with this remaster version... that realise they are using the same map for wkc2
    this isn't wkc2, its just a wkc1.5
    AWESOME! if you can play online without d/c issue T.T
    and thanks to the online pass bind to the PSN account, i need to create another PSN account....
    Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2015
    7
    I would sadly have to say that I agree with some of the critics here. SPOILERS!!!!!(You should know this by now.)

    Story - Some twists here
    I would sadly have to say that I agree with some of the critics here. SPOILERS!!!!!(You should know this by now.)

    Story - Some twists here and there but mostly sticks to its cliche retardedness(That's not even a word)

    ~Characters ~

    Leonard - Mr. I have to save the Princess no matter what.
    ["O Wizel, white warrior, wielder of the ancient sword, grant me your power. Verto!]

    Yulie - Ms I like Leonard but I'll never admit it
    [O' Luthia, argent goddess and beacon in the ancient night, grant me your power. Verto!]

    Eldore - The old guy who knows everything

    Kara - The traitor/friend/traitor/friend
    ["Oh Dinivas, deliverer of dark and dread, ruler of the ancient shadows, grant me your power. Verto!"]

    Caesar - The guy whose rich loves dragons & Kara and also the guy whose knight has the coolest battle theme which is still stuck in my head.
    ["O Larvayne, vermillion drake, leveler of ancient lands, grant me your power. Verto!"]

    Grazel - The badass with a badass knight and also the villain.
    ["O Adolmaea, shining sovereign, supreme light of the ancient skies, grant me your power. Verto!"]

    Sound - Not extraordinary but not bad. The 2nd Battle Theme is amazing I love all the Knights Themes and Balandor Plains BGM is 1 of my favorites. It has a Pretty Good OST.

    Gameplay - Fun at times but sometimes repetitive another thing is that I wish some of the abilities in this game had more oomph to it like a sword attack that's flashy and powerful not a simplistic stab or a simple slash. Another thing is that I wish some characters had a unique ability that other characters do not like Eldore having Majestic Fire Rain or Yulie having Aerial Barrage or Leonard with HikĊ-Ken that would have made all the characters powers and abilities more unique.

    Graphics - I bet if there wasn't so many MMO elements in the game White Knight Chronicles would have had better graphics. Regardless though WK has decent graphics.

    Replay Value - Moderate replay value comes from choosing different classes which is probably enough to make you grab that controller again and put WK back into your PS3 again.

    Overall - This game is good for when your bored and you just want to play a JRPG that's satisfying but not extraordinary. If you were looking for an Amazing game with a great story and awesome gameplay go play Tales of Xillia because this is not 1 of those games.
    Expand
  6. Dec 21, 2011
    7
    White Knight Chronicles (and WKC II) as a story falls rather flat on it's face. WKC's story is so bad takes a three point hit its scoreWhite Knight Chronicles (and WKC II) as a story falls rather flat on it's face. WKC's story is so bad takes a three point hit its score because of it. It's a very cliche "Save the princess!" love story with the youthful hero chasing after the princess and time after time the bad guy pulls her away at the last moment. Not a big fan of that. However; in terms of game play I actually enjoyed this game a lot. The AI used for the companions is smart about attacking and using magic. The enemies are reused quite often but are difficult enough while not being too hard. You get to design your Avatar player's appearance right from the get-go. There is a well thought out system for crafting new armor and weapons called Binding and even a mini-game where you design a town (called your Georama). Collapse
  7. Sep 21, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. while this game gets an improvement on the battles, everything else is just the same and worse;
    Yes, WKC is fun, beautiful and extensive Voice overs sure catches an eye, plus the story is competent, in WKC2, there are NO new characters, the plot is THE SAME, no change in graphics, Online content is limited to Per-account online pass, which ruined my experience since i gave my pass code to my wife who also plays.

    Your Avatar still is silent and oblivious of the world, the game forces you to clear already visited dungeons at least 3 times each, and the new option of Creating your own Knight, it's just an extra option, that has ZERO story value, ZERO plot impact and ZERO interactivity with other party members.

    The las battle is ridiculously hard if you didin't played online and the ending gets hacked off to force you go online to finally end the game properly.

    WKC2 feels far more like a overpriced DLC than a new brand game that adds new content.
    Also, the last 2 dungeons and it's hours and hours of gameplay are boring as hell
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews