Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 77 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Relive the Attitude Era of WWE in an all-new story mode. The new WWE Live presentation system features an overhauled audio system and Spectacular Moments. WWE ’13 promises to be the boldest WWE simulation to date.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Take those Legends of Wrestlemania or other attempts at wrestling nostalgia and throw them away because WWE 13 is all you need "and that's the bottom line cause Stone Cold said so."
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    88
    WWE delivers a fresh set of upgrades, an impressive campaign mode, and doubles down on shareable customizations.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    84
    If you played last year's WWE '12, there are probably enough tweaks to purchase this new version of WWE (13). However as a gamer, I would probably recommend this title to those WWE fans who have missed the last few years because it definitely makes this game more enjoyable if you have been out of the loop.
  4. Part of me wanted to give WWE 13 an even higher score. Namely, the 14-year-old part that would love to dust off his '98 King Of The Ring VHS and watch it on repeat until it disintegrated. Although my inner Attitude-loving teen doesn't quite win out, this is still the most authentically detailed, lovingly crafted grappler ever committed to disc.
  5. WWE '13 has its moments. No other fighting game manages to set the tone so well, before even a single punch has been delivered. The ridiculously drawn-out intros, the fanatic crowd, the light show, the ear deafening music and of course the bloated egos. [November 2012, p.84]
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    There are new and better game modes and, overall, more things to do and see, but WWE '13 stays essentially the same and doesn't dare to stray too much from the formula of the previous chapters. The actual fighting mechanics are still too dull and could have been improved with a little effort.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    55
    You'll notice this number is higher than that we gave WWE 12 (50%), even though we complain about a barely-evolved sequel here. Well, the power of nostalgia and the strength of the Attitude era combine nicely. Other than that? This is a pointless game.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    A detailed tribute to the industry's greatest era is great, but it wouldn't add up to much if the action between the ropes wasn't up to par. Thankfully, WWE '13 allows fans to recreate virtually anything you see on Raw without resorting to an overly complex control scheme. Standard actions like strikes, grapples, and reverses can be pulled off with basic button presses, but more elaborate maneuvers require some setup. With a finisher stored, you can perform your finisher through a table, a superplex to the outside of the ring, or even a mid-air RKO or Sweet Chin Music if your foe makes an ill-timed leap. Multiplayer bouts are a blast, and several submission and iron man matches had me on the edge of my seat.

    For everything it does right, WWE
    Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    I love that they added Attitude Era. My last game of the series was 2010 and WWE 13 is far better than this one. I'm one of the players who started watching wrestling at around 2003, so I haven't seen the Attitude Era 'live'. The best thing is that this game tells the real story, how it happened it's like an epic flashback and not some random scripted story line. The amount of superstars is awesome, many many old and new ones. Controls are brilliant, reversals are not too easy and not too hard. I've got to give this a 10. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    WWE 13 raises the bar again. I love how they revinvented this series. Attitude Era is outstanding, it is a blast to see some of the best moments in the history of wrestling played out. Spectacular moments are great fun. I will be playing this for months. Well done! Expand
  4. Mar 30, 2013
    9
    THQ brings the wrestling back for last round with samey gameplay but also with interesting touch to the history of wrestling. Mode called "Attitude Era" gives you a change to live the war between WWF and WCW for ratings, from WWF perspective of course.

    The graphics have seen little improvement from the last WWE game with in game wrestlers looking really sharp and shiny, game providing many great looking arena backgrounds and stage sets from real life but when you release your own creation into the mix you see the graphics turned down little bit, which is understandable probably due to loading times.

    Within sounds game provides the player with excellent atmosphere with crowd chanting and booing, music can be added from your own gaming system into the game adding depth into players own creations.

    Gameplay has also seen little tuning with being able to target your attacks on specific body parts, head, arms, chest or legs, with the opponents showing damage of your attacks with limbing or holding their arm/head. Gameplay also has samey flaws like the counter system with the trigger button, its too slow to react to with the speed of the action, you need a button for quicker responses. Using a trigger for this is too slow and player usually finds himself frustated when counter doesnt register even if you press the trigger in time. Sounds like a small thing but it can destroy the match and experience for the player instanly.

    Within creation mode player can create their own wrestlers, arenas, finishing moves, championship belts, wresler entrances, highlight videos (which can be used as entrance videos), storylines, using many advanced tools, this adds insane customability into the game keeping any wrestling fan at the game for hours. Best feature in the game.

    Another interesting and fantastic feature in the is the Attitude Era mode where player can live again the Monday Night Wars with actual storylines from the era and videos explaining many controversial and questionable decisions made by WWF (etc Montreal Screwjob) with putting the player in the middle of the storylines. As an older wrestling fan living through the Monday Night Wars its an interesting decision to put this mode into the game and thinking who is it for, its works great as a nostalgia for me but maybe not so good for younger wrestling fans. The mode also gives the player old legends to play with, British Bulldog, LOD, Brian Pillman with many other. Bad thing is with WWE having all the licences they could have added different WCW events and explaining in more detail why WCW rose past WWF, but this doesnt happen giving only WWF view of the Monday Night Wars.

    WWE Universe mode is also present in the game with many ways to custom and create your own "Wrestling Company" with the player being able to create own PPV:s, rosters and intergrade your own storylines with custom wrestlers into the mix and just watch how CPU dukes it out to find the best of the best. Many options and statistics for player to see which can also be scary and complicated for newcomers and casual players, too much information to handle with complicated button scheme, press shoulder button to edit and choose which way to edit, choose match type from many different matches and custom the match, weapons, cage and so worth.

    Online mode is also present with player being able to download other peoples creations to use them in the players own WWE universe and you can match different players around the world in single or even in a royal rumble matches. For my WWE online i used PS3 which seemed to have slower connection and bad stability, disconnection randomly while downloading wrestlers or arenas, also having problems connecting into PSN while in game which meant to make sure youre in PSN in XMB before you start WWE 13.

    Ultimately WWE 13 is a must have game for hardcore wrestling fans providing many ways to custom and create your own Universe own wrestling with almost unlimited ways of creation and edits. Attitude Era mode might bring back older wresling fans to relive memories of "better wrestling days" and controversies of that time with legendary wrestlers for player to play as. You can see THQ wanting to put everything in the game from the past WWE games to create the best one in the series succeeding in this goal with making the best wrestling game around.

    On bad side the suffers from samey flaws as before; the counter system with the trigger button can destroy gameplay experiences and make the player just watch CPU wrestlers go againts each other in the end, with great ways to custom the game is hard to sell to casual gamers with them being scared of complicated WWE universe menus and statictics of many different championships. Also having the Attitude Era is great for older wrestling fans but for younger the meaning and adding of this mode could be questionable. Also without any WCW perspective it doesnt really give good view on WCW storylines and wrestlers.
    Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2014
    8
    Relive the Attitude Era of WWE in an all-new story mode. The new WWE Live presentation system features an overhauled audio system and Spectacular Moments. WWE ’13 promises to be the boldest WWE simulation to date. Expand
  6. Apr 25, 2013
    8
    It's a good game.It brigs back nostalgia,good story mode,allot of wrestlers to play whit on universe story single player mode and multiplayer But it's not perfect there are allot of bugs and glitches,not that big graphic changes and universe story is almost entirely the same. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    WWE'13 is an ugly, buggy and clunky game that will no doubt appeal the fans of WWE and such related media, but for people who are not fans of WWE, it would either be fun, dumb fun and not good at all. I, unfortunately, belong to the latter. The graphics (in my opinion) are ugly and look a bit dated and the motion of some of the characters are quite awkward. The game is also buggy and filled with glitches, making the game a more laughable experiences than a fun one. To be honest, this is my first WWE game since a while; I remember playing one of the games years back but cannot remember it, so I cannot compare it to other instalments in the game franchise. As I brave getting attacked by WWE, it might as well say that WWE'13 is just awful and I hope the franchise makes a very large improvement over this disaster in the future. Collapse

See all 26 User Reviews