WWE '13 PlayStation 3

WWE '13 Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Relive the Attitude Era of WWE in an all-new story mode. The new WWE Live presentation system features an overhauled audio system and Spectacular Moments. WWE ’13 promises to be the boldest WWE simulation to date.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    90
    Take those Legends of Wrestlemania or other attempts at wrestling nostalgia and throw them away because WWE 13 is all you need "and that's the bottom line cause Stone Cold said so."
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    88
    WWE delivers a fresh set of upgrades, an impressive campaign mode, and doubles down on shareable customizations.
  3. Nov 14, 2012
    84
    If you played last year's WWE '12, there are probably enough tweaks to purchase this new version of WWE (13). However as a gamer, I would probably recommend this title to those WWE fans who have missed the last few years because it definitely makes this game more enjoyable if you have been out of the loop.
  4. Part of me wanted to give WWE 13 an even higher score. Namely, the 14-year-old part that would love to dust off his '98 King Of The Ring VHS and watch it on repeat until it disintegrated. Although my inner Attitude-loving teen doesn't quite win out, this is still the most authentically detailed, lovingly crafted grappler ever committed to disc.
  5. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Nov 12, 2012
    75
    WWE '13 has its moments. No other fighting game manages to set the tone so well, before even a single punch has been delivered. The ridiculously drawn-out intros, the fanatic crowd, the light show, the ear deafening music and of course the bloated egos. [November 2012, p.84]
  6. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    There are new and better game modes and, overall, more things to do and see, but WWE '13 stays essentially the same and doesn't dare to stray too much from the formula of the previous chapters. The actual fighting mechanics are still too dull and could have been improved with a little effort.
  7. Oct 31, 2012
    55
    You'll notice this number is higher than that we gave WWE 12 (50%), even though we complain about a barely-evolved sequel here. Well, the power of nostalgia and the strength of the Attitude era combine nicely. Other than that? This is a pointless game.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    A detailed tribute to the industry's greatest era is great, but it wouldn't add up to much if the action between the ropes wasn't up to par.A detailed tribute to the industry's greatest era is great, but it wouldn't add up to much if the action between the ropes wasn't up to par. Thankfully, WWE '13 allows fans to recreate virtually anything you see on Raw without resorting to an overly complex control scheme. Standard actions like strikes, grapples, and reverses can be pulled off with basic button presses, but more elaborate maneuvers require some setup. With a finisher stored, you can perform your finisher through a table, a superplex to the outside of the ring, or even a mid-air RKO or Sweet Chin Music if your foe makes an ill-timed leap. Multiplayer bouts are a blast, and several submission and iron man matches had me on the edge of my seat.

    For everything it does right, WWE
    Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    10
    I love that they added Attitude Era. My last game of the series was 2010 and WWE 13 is far better than this one. I'm one of the players whoI love that they added Attitude Era. My last game of the series was 2010 and WWE 13 is far better than this one. I'm one of the players who started watching wrestling at around 2003, so I haven't seen the Attitude Era 'live'. The best thing is that this game tells the real story, how it happened it's like an epic flashback and not some random scripted story line. The amount of superstars is awesome, many many old and new ones. Controls are brilliant, reversals are not too easy and not too hard. I've got to give this a 10. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    WWE 13 raises the bar again. I love how they revinvented this series. Attitude Era is outstanding, it is a blast to see some of the bestWWE 13 raises the bar again. I love how they revinvented this series. Attitude Era is outstanding, it is a blast to see some of the best moments in the history of wrestling played out. Spectacular moments are great fun. I will be playing this for months. Well done! Expand
  4. Feb 4, 2013
    9
    BEST WRESTLING GAME EVER MADE. Simple as that. If I set aside my nostalgic feelings for titles such as No Mercy and Smackdown titles from PS2,BEST WRESTLING GAME EVER MADE. Simple as that. If I set aside my nostalgic feelings for titles such as No Mercy and Smackdown titles from PS2, I can come to no other conclusion than that. The only thing preventing me from giving this game a 10 is the fact that you can't transition from the ring to backstage areas during matches like you could in older titles. The roster itself is enough to make any wrestling fan cry tears of joy. I loved revisiting fond childhood memories with such wrestlers as The Road Warriors, all 3 incarnations of Foley, Triple H when he was still Hunter Hearst Helmsley, and the list goes on. The Attitude Era mode itself could have been a stand alone game considering previous shallow titles the WWE has put out such as WWE All Stars (which I love btw but feel it could have been so much more and has limited playability). The Attitude Era gets some moments wrong in small ways (Shawn Michaels wearing his ring gear instead of a ref uniform during the Taker v Bret Hart match as guest ref) but overall brings the greatest era of wrestling ever to life beautifully with tons to do and unlock. I am such a sucker for unlockable content its pathetic. I will run my character around in circles for 5 hours if I can unlock an alternate costume. Even with all the Attitude Era mode has to offer though, this mode can be completed with all content unlocked in one weekend if you have nothing better to do which is why the return of WWE Universe is such a welcome feature. While not exactly a career mode, Universe Mode gives WWE 13 life beyond AE mode. The players takes on the responsibilities of the WWE booker and can organize or cancel events and matches as they see fit with the computer bringing to life rivalries through various cutscenes before and after matches. Its not the most exciting or deep mode but hey, its a secondary mode to the main AE mode. Reliving classic matches and modern feuds has never been easier with solid controls and decent AI. I really like the players ability to grapple in different positions and the simplicity of finishers and reversals. My only real gripe outside of the issue concerning backstage travel from the ring would be the issues I have experienced playing online w lag and downed servers. Also the cheap business decision to charge people who have used copies an extra 10 bucks to play online. C'mon THQ, we know youre hurting but that is some Capcom and EA type garbage. My time with WWE 13 is winding down as there is little left to accomplish but the exceptional quality of this title will keep me coming back for months to come. Have an extra 15 minutes to kill before heading out of the house? Why not play a quick match of Road Dogg v Val Venis? Perfect game for short sessions in the future now that my binge play has ended. If you like wrestling even a tiny bit or even if you hate it now but loved it in the 90s GET THIS GAME NOW!!! Expand
  5. May 2, 2015
    8
    Take those Legends of Wrestlemania or other attempts at wrestling nostalgia and throw them away because WWE 13 is all you need "and that's theTake those Legends of Wrestlemania or other attempts at wrestling nostalgia and throw them away because WWE 13 is all you need "and that's the bottom line cause Stone Cold said so." Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Graphics: Every superstar looks great, but they are just not believable anymore. The engine has upgraded since previous smack-down titles,Graphics: Every superstar looks great, but they are just not believable anymore. The engine has upgraded since previous smack-down titles, but it seems its becoming more unrealistic. With that said, the graphics still look great. 8.

    Sound: Great music tracks during the main screens, not as much as back on the smack-down games but they still are good. A lot of reused soundtracks on the main screens which are just entrances for superstars, and the voice acting is from the recorded attitude days (which isn't a bad thing). 8.

    Gameplay: The new controls are welcoming, but the reversing is a pain. Especially in online matches,the formula for L2 for punches and R2 for grapples was the best and has yet been seen since the smack-down games. The new pinning mechanic fails greatly making submissions your main goal especially for online matches. The game is still fun, it utilizes new controls such as holding R1 while a superstar is on the floor so that you may execute a move on each body part. 8.

    Story: The story focuses on the attitude era and is one of the best stories in a WWE game yet. There are history moments which is a list that you are given to accomplish during a match (based on actual events) with a reward of unlocking characters, arenas, belts, and so on. The only problem is that the story is short but there's a WWE universe as well. The way its told could have been a lot better rather than skipping immediately to the next attitude superstar(s). 7.5.

    Replay Value: There's definitely a lot of replay value with a wrestling game especially if you enjoy the multiplayer. Besides that the attitude era can take from 4 to 6 hours to complete, and this game is definitely a good party game to play with friends over. Try playing a ladder 4 way and see how long the match may take to end. 10.

    Overall Score: 8.3 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    2
    WWE'13 is an ugly, buggy and clunky game that will no doubt appeal the fans of WWE and such related media, but for people who are not fans ofWWE'13 is an ugly, buggy and clunky game that will no doubt appeal the fans of WWE and such related media, but for people who are not fans of WWE, it would either be fun, dumb fun and not good at all. I, unfortunately, belong to the latter. The graphics (in my opinion) are ugly and look a bit dated and the motion of some of the characters are quite awkward. The game is also buggy and filled with glitches, making the game a more laughable experiences than a fun one. To be honest, this is my first WWE game since a while; I remember playing one of the games years back but cannot remember it, so I cannot compare it to other instalments in the game franchise. As I brave getting attacked by WWE, it might as well say that WWE'13 is just awful and I hope the franchise makes a very large improvement over this disaster in the future. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers