Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    92
    Yuke's and THQ set the bar quite high with last year's rendition of this franchise, and they could have easily taken the year off and rested on their accomplishments. It is quite impressive to see that the development team has stayed hungry and added some key elements to this franchise that fans are going to go absolutely wild over.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    91
    It's still the best wrestling experience on the market and is easily worth the $60 investment.
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    91
    THQ's Smackdown vs Raw 2011 is a massive game, both in terms of its scope and its content. There is a ton to do here and wrestling game fans will likely find it easy to hold their selves over until next year's game with this title.
  4. 90
    WWE Smackdown vs RAW 2011 adds more than enough content to warrant a purchase this year. With so many modes to enjoy and so much content to unlock, WWE fans are going to lose themselves in the game until next year's edition hits.
  5. Jan 2, 2011
    88
    Besides the horrible lip-syncing, the real tedious grapple holds and the completely unnerving backstage brawls, the games still seems to hold its ground as one of the most entertaining titles this year.
  6. Nov 16, 2010
    88
    The lack of many big name legends is a shortcoming, but the massive amount of customization options and user created content will keep any fan playing for months.
  7. 87
    The look of the new Smackdown game is a mess. The gameplay is very solid but next year there must be a complete graphical remolding of the series. We mostly liked the online Royal Rumble with up to 12 players.
  8. Nov 8, 2010
    86
    As it is, this new installment still remains a must-have simply due to the Havok physics - it adds that much to the game that it's worth buying it just for crazy extreme rules and TLC matches.
  9. Nov 11, 2010
    85
    The newest version of the wrestling simulation is convincing due to its new story-features, good controls and the original licenses.
  10. Nov 1, 2010
    85
    WWE SmackDown vs Raw 2011 is yet another solid game in the long running franchise.
  11. Nov 3, 2010
    83
    There isn't much innovation here, yet the controls have been utterly fixed, the new Havoc phisics do their job and WWE Universe is a funny diversion. It's a shame that some mechanics aren't yet perfect, even after so many years of developing.
  12. Oct 26, 2010
    83
    Its attention to detail is a quality not often associated with a franchise about brawny, aggressive men wearing outlandish, skin-tight costumes – manly cosplay, if you will. That THQ and Yuke's have finally decided to let players do what they want with their content by loosening their restrictions shows how much they've listened to the fans.
  13. Oct 26, 2010
    82
    Between the endless WWE Universe mode, the five Road to Wrestlemania stories, and the user-created content, fans won't be able to put this one down for a long time.
  14. Nov 2, 2010
    81
    A fun and solid game in the long running WWE franchise.
  15. Dec 28, 2010
    80
    An acquired taste, but streamlined and authentic. [Christmas 2010, p.90]
  16. Dec 16, 2010
    80
    Overall SDvR11 is an excellent game with fabulous offline features. If the online wasn't broken I'd most definitely be scoring this game higher, nevertheless if you're a wrestling fan or even a closet wrestling fan, WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 is the game you should be purchasing or requesting at Christmas.
  17. Nov 15, 2010
    80
    I appreciate the attempt to flesh out Road to Wrestlemania, even if it's a bit inconsistent in this early stage. WWE Universe mode is my favorite addition this year, and it could easily be the new marquee mode if they improve it in future titles. [Dec 2010, p.111]
  18. Nov 12, 2010
    80
    If you're a wrestling fan, there's no reason not to invest in Smackdown vs. Raw 2011. It's an evolution in the series and wrestling games in general. Make sure to check it out.
  19. Nov 8, 2010
    80
    WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 is still the best wrestling series available and features everything fan girls and boys need for their home console experience. The action is fun, the control system is improved but best of all, it's all that customisation that is given to the player that makes this game so competent. It's a good all rounder game!
  20. It's great to have a solid grap alternative to UFC Undisputed. [Dec 2010, p.106]
  21. Nov 5, 2010
    80
    There are a ton of new features as well as dozens of little changes that tweak the formula further and get that much closer to perfecting everything the SvR series has tried to do over the years.
  22. Nov 2, 2010
    80
    The balance of simplicity and depth throughout is impressive and should draw in new players without disappointing old fans of the series.
  23. Nov 1, 2010
    80
    This new episode of the SmackDown franchise presents a couple of good ideas. The new online mode works properly, and can offer a lot of fun. If you are thinking to play a wrestling game online, this is the best option.
  24. Oct 27, 2010
    80
    This is yet another good installment of the series after it found the right way years ago. It has not many new features and seems to be focused in improving some things, but it lacks some freshness, despite the new WWE Universe mode.
  25. Oct 27, 2010
    80
    WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 takes some chances. Some that didn't work and others that did. I know we expected this year to be "Wrestlemania big." However, it didn't quite reach that pinnacle.
  26. Oct 21, 2010
    80
    Sure, it feels like a suped-up version of last year's title here and there, but there's nothing wrong with that when the game is this much fun.
  27. 79
    The usual series update with some nice gameplay additions, a subtle and successful evolution feature and a story mode that fails altogether.
  28. Nov 29, 2010
    75
    After the massive improvement of last year, we're glad to see the WWE brand is back on track.
  29. Nov 14, 2010
    71
    This new part in the franchise does contain a few new fine features, but the engine is getting old and the Road to Wrestlemania isn't very interesting. Eventually every fan can have a lot of fun with this game, but if you own the 2010 part, then you don't have to buy this new one.
  30. Nov 4, 2010
    70
    Really, with the levels of customisation as huge as they are, the player's enjoyment is only held back by their lack of imagination.
  31. Oct 29, 2010
    70
    Smackdown vs. Raw is showing its age, but there's plenty of fight left in this old superstar.
  32. Nov 8, 2010
    68
    Aside from the WWE Universe and pitiful backstage portions of Road to Wrestlemania, SvR 2011 just doesn't add much from last year's game.
  33. Nov 30, 2010
    63
    We're tired of an engine that hasn't seen any reasonable changes in about four years. [Issue#199, p.82]
  34. In wrestler-speak: This one does the job. The big, unfortunate, rush job, that is. [Holiday 2010, p.82]
  35. Nov 14, 2010
    60
    The net result is a step back for the franchise, as it sadly stands as one of the least fun WWE games to play in recent years.
  36. Nov 5, 2010
    60
    WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 will easily satisfy every wrestling fan and probably entertain the tourists of the ring. The game is very complete in terms of game modes and choice of wrestlers, and it perfectly recreates the atmosphere and the fun of the discipline. However, it lacks some real innovations: the graphics looks a bit old, many bugs are still there and the single player mode is a joke. We hope that Yuke's Media will raise the bar next time.
  37. Oct 29, 2010
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  38. Oct 29, 2010
    60
    It's unquestionably fun. But that doesn't excuse the many, many problems, most of which should have been ironed out when the series was a PS2 exclusive over five years ago.
  39. Nov 12, 2010
    50
    WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 does to little to become a great game. Just the regular WWE Universe and the multiplayer aren't enough to make something beautiful out of a bad game.
  40. Nov 4, 2010
    50
    The WWE Universe stuff is pretty cool, but outside of that, this really feels like a title that's gone back to the well one too many times at this point.
  41. Nov 1, 2010
    45
    It is so reprehensibly constructed and targeted directly at the lowest common denominator that fans and gamers alike should be insulted, as I was. The Universe, online, and creation features are compelling, but the foundation upon which they are built is so decrepit that it completely invalidates the meager value this game has to offer.
  42. 40
    Every year this moribund franchise goes without a complete overhaul the more obvious and unacceptable its half-decade old problems become.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 1 out of 9
  1. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, THQs goal this year was to create a an immersive and realistic title with major improvements which were cried for years by the loyal smackdown fans. This year you wont be dissapointed the game delivers what it promises and initiates it with precision from the addition of the ever changing Universe mode to the addition of the Physics engine, players can orchestrate authentic WWE action seen on Tv, true fans shouldn't miss out the game is must buy 10 out 10 Full Review »
  2. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I'm only about 4 hours in so it may be a bit early to give a score, but I can say the create a superstar mode is unbelievable. I got lost in all the options - it's great.

    The throws off the Hell In A Cell are crazy. I may have killed Rey Mysterio last night.

    The blood is GREAT. If you bust a dude open you get blood on your hands and on the weapon, if you use one. The blood splat was clearly visible on the chair I used. I played as CM Punk and at the end of my match the tape on my striking hand was stained red and there was blood on my chest from the other dude.

    I started a Road To Wrestlemania w/Jericho and so far so good. Good matches, good interaction. Navigating the wrestlers is a bit of a pain but still alright. It's the freaky choppy kind of over the shoulder/first person view that's good for giving headaches.

    I got bored pretty quickly w/2010 but 2011 looks like it has a lot more content and fun stuff to do.

    I sure do miss the strong grapple/weak grapple of the N64 games though. Best wrestling games ever made, but this is close enough.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    One of the best SvR games I've ever played. The replay value you get from WWE Universe mode is alone more then enough to warrant a buy. Also the physics engine used is great it makes playing those 'hardcore' matches awesome. I strongly suggest getting this game, you will not be disappointed. Full Review »