User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 30, 2010
    9
    I have been playing THQ's Smackdown Series since it's inception in 2000, and as a loyal fan I can honestly say that this game FINALLY GOT IT RIGHT! From the WWE Universe to the change of pace of the matches -- this is the first time where I have to be strategic in my playing. If you have been playing Smackdown as long as I have, you already know that you could blindly play the game with any character and get a victory even playing on the Legend difficulty. We've been purchasing the same game with an updated roster because we felt obligated. HOWEVER, this time the purchase was well worth it. You have to use logic, wear down your opponent to pull off high impact moves, suffer consequences for missing high-risk maneuvers, and if you pit a mid-carder against Triple H....guess what...YOU WILL PROBABLY LOSE! The feel of the matches are organic, and the WWE Universe makes your typical exhibition matches feel like they have a purpose. It's pointless to discus graphics and audio because that won't determine how much fun you're having...GAMEPLAY does. Trust me, the gameplay is phenomenal. I have lost several matches (on Legend) because I approached some matches with the same old strategy I have been using for almost 10 years (running strike, strong grapple, stomp, repeat). This time you have to use your player's strengths and capitalize on any mistake the AI will make (when playing on Hard or Legend). If you are debating whether or not to get this game....GET IT. I was reluctant to buy the same product this time, but I am very impressed by this offering. Expand
  2. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    The last Smackdown vs Raw I owned was 2006 on PS2. I played 2008 and 2009 a bit on PSP and played 2008 on PS3. But they were all kind of "eh". Nothing made me want to go buy them. Year by year, I'd read the reviews about them and all that to see whats new, but nothing grabbed me. This year however the WWE Universe is what got my attention. Now by itself, minus anything online, it is great! It took a few days for me to realize just how great it actually was! I can go online and download all the great wrestlers of the past! I can get Razor Ramon, Hulk Hogan, Diesel, Sting, Ric Flair..etc etc, the list is endless and throw them into the WWE Universe! The other great thing is that the WWE Universe will automatically put created/downloaded people into it. I was playing through and saw "Goldberg vs Ted DiBiase". It was insanely cool! I had no idea it would do that! You literally can make it anything you want! Bring the nWo Wolfpac back! Make the outsiders a tag team again! It is amazing, hands down!!

    And I know the "Community Creations" were in 2010 but this year its complimented by the WWE Universe for reasons I mentioned above. I had no idea it would be THIS cool! If you've played LittleBigPlanet and ModNation racers, that trend stays so, so true to Smackdown vs Raw 2011..people really do make EVERYONE!! I was looking through and BAM! Green Ranger from power rangers! Wolverine! Hulk! Pretty much anyone you want will be on there. (Side note: I'm proud to say I made the 1st Diesel character! PSN: Highbird) So, that is only a small part of the entire game, but doesn't that sound amazing?! I personally would have bought it for just the WWE Universe combined with all the "Community Creations". That is definitely my favorite part of the game and it makes the $60 payment well worth it.
    Collapse
  3. Oct 26, 2010
    9
    I absolutely love this game. All the little features that have been added just make this game the ultimate place to satisfy your wrestling needs. I am very impressed with with the implementation of a new physics system which at first I was a little skeptical about as the footage presented at e3 revealed a lot of bugs. However I can confirm that this has been sorted out. The way in which superstArs crash into objects each with their own unique animation is something wresting games have been needing for years. Saying that the same stale animations that crop up year after year remain and this is something I have been wanting changed for years. Whilst I like the new editions, I think thq are missing the point and fail to focus on the actual gameplay . next year I would like to see a complete overhaul. On reflection though the game is gorgeous and robust. Characters exhibit lifelike features that contribute to the players immersion in the game. Top this of with over 100 and you've got a great game. I really do recommend it but as a fan I want a complete overhaul to the animations next year, let's starts a petition !!!!! Expand
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    I'm only about 4 hours in so it may be a bit early to give a score, but I can say the create a superstar mode is unbelievable. I got lost in all the options - it's great.

    The throws off the Hell In A Cell are crazy. I may have killed Rey Mysterio last night.

    The blood is GREAT. If you bust a dude open you get blood on your hands and on the weapon, if you use one. The blood splat was
    clearly visible on the chair I used. I played as CM Punk and at the end of my match the tape on my striking hand was stained red and there was blood on my chest from the other dude.

    I started a Road To Wrestlemania w/Jericho and so far so good. Good matches, good interaction. Navigating the wrestlers is a bit of a pain but still alright. It's the freaky choppy kind of over the shoulder/first person view that's good for giving headaches.

    I got bored pretty quickly w/2010 but 2011 looks like it has a lot more content and fun stuff to do.

    I sure do miss the strong grapple/weak grapple of the N64 games though. Best wrestling games ever made, but this is close enough.
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    this game is an absolute masterpiece, THQs goal this year was to create a an immersive and realistic title with major improvements which were cried for years by the loyal smackdown fans. This year you wont be dissapointed the game delivers what it promises and initiates it with precision from the addition of the ever changing Universe mode to the addition of the Physics engine, players can orchestrate authentic WWE action seen on Tv, true fans shouldn't miss out the game is must buy 10 out 10 Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2011
    9
    One of the best SvR games I've ever played. The replay value you get from WWE Universe mode is alone more then enough to warrant a buy. Also the physics engine used is great it makes playing those 'hardcore' matches awesome. I strongly suggest getting this game, you will not be disappointed.
  7. Aug 13, 2011
    7
    This is actually the first WWE game that I've bought for the PS3 after having played many games for the PS2. One thing I learned about these games, is that it is best to save the review until after awhile, because you notice things wrong with the game after playing it for awhile rather than right away. Which is why many "professional" reviews are often misleading. This game still has too many flaws in it. Flaws, that while are excusable with PS2, should not be excusable with a next-generation system like the PS3. Flaws like Jerry Lawler and Michael Cole saying stuff like "He has the belt now. But will he still have it this Sunday" when the champion or number one contender wasn't even wrestling. Another flaw, which is kind of funny, is sometimes when a wrestler becomes a new champion, at the end of the match a graphical glitch makes it look like somebody shoved the belt up his anus. lol. Other problems is the storyline and create a character are still too long and tedious to even bother with. Good things about the game is WWE Universe is okay. Would love it to be expanded so that match decisions and type of matches, etc had more meaning in terms of injuries, ratings etc. Expand
  8. Oct 30, 2010
    0
    The last Smackdown vs Raw I owned was 2006 on PS2. I played 2008 and 2009 a bit on PSP and played 2008 on PS3. But they were all kind of "eh". Nothing made me want to go buy them. Year by year, I'd read the reviews about them and all that to see whats new, but nothing grabbed me. This year however the WWE Universe is what got my attention. Now by itself, minus anything online, it is great! It took a few days for me to realize just how great it actually was! I can go online and download all the great wrestlers of the past! I can get Razor Ramon, Hulk Hogan, Diesel, Sting, Ric Flair..etc etc, the list is endless and throw them into the WWE Universe! The other great thing is that the WWE Universe will automatically put created/downloaded people into it. I was playing through and saw "Goldberg vs Ted DiBiase". It was insanely cool! I had no idea it would do that! You literally can make it anything you want! Bring the nWo Wolfpac back! Make the outsiders a tag team again! It is amazing, hands down!!

    And I know the "Community Creations" were in 2010 but this year its complimented by the WWE Universe for reasons I mentioned above. I had no idea it would be THIS cool! If you've played LittleBigPlanet and ModNation racers, that trend stays so, so true to Smackdown vs Raw 2011..people really do make EVERYONE!! I was looking through and BAM! Green Ranger from power rangers! Wolverine! Hulk! Pretty much anyone you want will be on there. (Side note: I'm proud to say I made the 1st Diesel character! PSN: Highbird) So, that is only a small part of the entire game, but doesn't that sound amazing?! I personally would have bought it for just the WWE Universe combined with all the "Community Creations". That is definitely my favorite part of the game and it makes the $60 payment well worth it.
    Collapse
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 42
  2. Negative: 2 out of 42
  1. Jan 2, 2011
    88
    Besides the horrible lip-syncing, the real tedious grapple holds and the completely unnerving backstage brawls, the games still seems to hold its ground as one of the most entertaining titles this year.
  2. Dec 28, 2010
    80
    An acquired taste, but streamlined and authentic. [Christmas 2010, p.90]
  3. Dec 16, 2010
    80
    Overall SDvR11 is an excellent game with fabulous offline features. If the online wasn't broken I'd most definitely be scoring this game higher, nevertheless if you're a wrestling fan or even a closet wrestling fan, WWE Smackdown vs. Raw 2011 is the game you should be purchasing or requesting at Christmas.