• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Yakuza 4 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yakuza 4 returns for another round of open world adventure, this time with four main characters.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Yakuza 4 Kazuma Kiryu Character Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    92
    An excellent sequel for an outstanding series; Yakuza 4 caters to its fans and offers up another wonderful adventure in Kamurocho.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    90
    The uninitiated may peer into Kamurocho's kaleidoscope and wonder what on Earth is going on, but through the eyes of the converted, the view is as fabulous as ever.
  3. May 12, 2011
    83
    This is one critic who can see through the bullsh.t and has his name down in blood for Yakuza 5.
  4. Mar 16, 2011
    80
    Yakuza 4's production values are through the roof, its plot is gripping and quirky, it's often very funny indeed, and it would undoubtedly sell in millions if it was published by Rockstar rather than Sega.
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    80
    There's a lot to do in this game from playing pachinko, visiting hostess clubs, and beating up punks to participating in the intrigue of organized crime. It's just so far from anything most Westerners are used to that many will have a hard time warming up to it.
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    75
    Yakuza 4 can be a great game but you'll have to look really hard to discover all of the great aspects it has to offer. This game isn't for you if you don't want to look into the deeper meaning of things.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    60
    Yakuza 4 isn't as compelling as the third game, nor does it introduce a lot of new, interesting features. But it's still a fun romp, and sometimes when I walk down the streets in Kabukicho it feels like I'm back in Shinjuku, and that's a rare feat. Not for everone, but fans of the series could do worse.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 40
  2. Negative: 1 out of 40
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Now's the time to play the most underrated game of all time. This is one of the few games that can tell a great story, worry not if you're aNow's the time to play the most underrated game of all time. This is one of the few games that can tell a great story, worry not if you're a newcomer, the games story can be enjoyed throughly even if you haven't played a previous game. Check out a few game play videos and see how brutal the combat really us. Aren't you tired of shooting people in the face already? Wouldn't you rather beat someone down with a Pylon? Not convinced yet, then read this:http://kotaku.com/#!5772702/ping+pong-for-perverts-courtesy-of-video-games. Yeah there's a mini-game where you play ping pong with a hostess and get bonus points for looking at her breast without getting caught....You've been missing out. Buy it Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This is a game about the mob, its a brawler with many side quests. The story is very deep. With lots of twists. You really feel for theThis is a game about the mob, its a brawler with many side quests. The story is very deep. With lots of twists. You really feel for the characters in the game. And yes its packed with lots of mini games. Which has an great quality over it. If you've played mini games from Super Monkey Ball. Like Monkey Billiards and Bowling and such mini games. The feel is very similar and accurate and very entertaining. Also anyone that likes japanese culture just a little, would probably like to make babies with this game. It has eng subs and japanese speech to preserve to original feel of asian mobster voice acting. As they have their own words and curse words. Its interesting and It feels natural to listen to them shouting in japanese with deep voices. I highly recommend this game from the deepest reaches of my heart to anyone that likes Japanese culture or this could work as an introduction for you. Expand
  3. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    Ah Yakuza 4 how i have waited for you and the wait was so worth it. This game which is the forth entry in the yakuza series to come toAh Yakuza 4 how i have waited for you and the wait was so worth it. This game which is the forth entry in the yakuza series to come to america. I personally love this series it is my favorite. I love the story, the gameplay everything. It expands on everything that 3 had and made it better. From the additions to chases and bringing back the hostess clubs there is a lot to do here. The dragon himself returns Kazuma Kiryu and with new friends. The three new guys are Shun Akiyama, Taiga Saejima, and Masayoshi Tanimura each with their own stories and special sidemissions. I wont tell much of the story but it is the best in my opinion. If have a ps3 and like yakuza get this game. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    Quite some time ago this was the PlayStation Plus game for the PS3 so I decided to download it because it's a free game, but I never actuallyQuite some time ago this was the PlayStation Plus game for the PS3 so I decided to download it because it's a free game, but I never actually played it. It just sat on my PS3 until a little while ago when I decided to get on with it and far as I'm concerned this is one of the most underrated games going, and it seems a lot of people who have played this game agree. That's fine. We all have different tastes in games.
    As an anime fan I'm quite used to reading subs while watching what is happening on the screen so I didn't have a problem with that but I can understand those who are not used to that could find it annoying. The cutscenes are too long in my opinion but I forgive that for the great story. The gameplay is the heart of the game, getting to go around the city as 4 different characters, each with different fighting styles.
    Thankfully you can't just punch anything while you free roam the city, you can only attack when attacked by thugs in the street or set fights in the game. For me this is what really made the game. Without this restriction it would be just like GTA but with a smaller map.
    All in all I would say it is worth playing.
    Expand
  5. Feb 21, 2015
    9
    When you thought you've explored everything with the first character, the second character reveals more! Awesome story, great characters, funWhen you thought you've explored everything with the first character, the second character reveals more! Awesome story, great characters, fun gameplay, incredibly varied side-quests, Yakuza 4 is a must-have for open-world enthusiasts. A huge plus if you like Japanese culture. Graphics are a little behind, but at least the face models are good as well as body animations. Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2011
    8
    If i had to choose a word to describe this game it would be DEEP. The amount of content in this game is off the limits. There's tons of thingsIf i had to choose a word to describe this game it would be DEEP. The amount of content in this game is off the limits. There's tons of things to discover, lots of entertaining side-quests, mini-games which actually doesn't seem mini at all... You could play this game forever and you would always find something new to do. Of course it's not a perfect game. Movements look a bit too robotic and the unvoiced dialogs (typical in the series) may turn down some but overall this is a great game that will give you hours and hours of fun. Expand
  7. Apr 16, 2017
    0
    Pas de gros changements d'un Yakuza à l'autre : c'est toujours aussi dirigiste et linéaire, la mise en scène toujours aussi ridicule, les voixPas de gros changements d'un Yakuza à l'autre : c'est toujours aussi dirigiste et linéaire, la mise en scène toujours aussi ridicule, les voix japonaises (sous-titrées en anglais) sont à se tordre et si les cinématiques atteignent un niveau technique presque acceptable, l'environnement du jeu lui-même est juste à peine moins laid que dans Yakuza 3, lui-même à peine moins laid qu'une vieille croûte PS2..

    Par ailleurs, quelques bugs font dresser les cheveux sur la tête, comme par exemple ces jolis reflets lorsqu'il pleut, de belle facture, reflets qui disparaissent brutalement et entièrement lorsqu'on incline légèrement la caméra vers le bas... il faut la voir pour la croire, cette programmation de Kossovar !

    Pour le reste, entre deux cinématiques de blabla interminables, c'est de la baston très bête et sans intérêt et la foire aux combos idiots. La présentation générale baigne toujours autant dans le mauvais goût, les menus, les boîtes de dialogues, tout est à l'avenant. La licence Yakuza reste fidèle à elle-même, une telle constance à végéter dans le marasme vidéo-ludique est un pathétique exploit !
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews