• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 113 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Yakuza 4 returns for another round of open world adventure, this time with four main characters.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
  1. Mar 27, 2011
    92
    An excellent sequel for an outstanding series; Yakuza 4 caters to its fans and offers up another wonderful adventure in Kamurocho.
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    90
    The uninitiated may peer into Kamurocho's kaleidoscope and wonder what on Earth is going on, but through the eyes of the converted, the view is as fabulous as ever.
  3. May 12, 2011
    83
    This is one critic who can see through the bullsh.t and has his name down in blood for Yakuza 5.
  4. Mar 16, 2011
    80
    Yakuza 4's production values are through the roof, its plot is gripping and quirky, it's often very funny indeed, and it would undoubtedly sell in millions if it was published by Rockstar rather than Sega.
  5. Mar 26, 2011
    80
    There's a lot to do in this game from playing pachinko, visiting hostess clubs, and beating up punks to participating in the intrigue of organized crime. It's just so far from anything most Westerners are used to that many will have a hard time warming up to it.
  6. Mar 30, 2011
    75
    Yakuza 4 can be a great game but you'll have to look really hard to discover all of the great aspects it has to offer. This game isn't for you if you don't want to look into the deeper meaning of things.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    60
    Yakuza 4 isn't as compelling as the third game, nor does it introduce a lot of new, interesting features. But it's still a fun romp, and sometimes when I walk down the streets in Kabukicho it feels like I'm back in Shinjuku, and that's a rare feat. Not for everone, but fans of the series could do worse.

See all 59 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    10
    Now's the time to play the most underrated game of all time. This is one of the few games that can tell a great story, worry not if you're aNow's the time to play the most underrated game of all time. This is one of the few games that can tell a great story, worry not if you're a newcomer, the games story can be enjoyed throughly even if you haven't played a previous game. Check out a few game play videos and see how brutal the combat really us. Aren't you tired of shooting people in the face already? Wouldn't you rather beat someone down with a Pylon? Not convinced yet, then read this:http://kotaku.com/#!5772702/ping+pong-for-perverts-courtesy-of-video-games. Yeah there's a mini-game where you play ping pong with a hostess and get bonus points for looking at her breast without getting caught....You've been missing out. Buy it Expand
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    I really enjoyed playing this, and personally can't think of anything that I would want changed. The graphics are definitelyI really enjoyed playing this, and personally can't think of anything that I would want changed. The graphics are definitely noteworthy.                        Expand
  3. Mar 16, 2011
    10
    For the last time, these game critics can't do their job. IGN gave this game a 65%...Seriously? IGN? You guys need to fire this guy, GregFor the last time, these game critics can't do their job. IGN gave this game a 65%...Seriously? IGN? You guys need to fire this guy, Greg Miller. Quote "There's a ton of stuff to do. You could spend dozens of hours on the side quests. However, I won't because the game mechanics just feel old." It seems that Greg decided to write his little review right after rushing through the story mode, leaving out the side quests and mini-games. I mean come on, you get paid to review games. At the very least, TRY to actually complete the game and experience the whole package offered by the game. How do you judge a game when you didn't even finish half of what the game really is (and which is what makes it unique as no other game in the market offers anything similar)---that is, exploring the vibrant open world on the streets of Tokyo and experiencing all the fun witty mini-games and Japanese wacky humor-packed side missions. Greg's review is like when someone bought a novel, then just glanced through the summary on the back of the book and thinks he's done reading the book. To give this game a score of 65% is insulting, not only to the game developer and the people reading the review, but also the reviewer himself. You know that this game deserves better. 65% means this game is just as bad as crappy games like Def Jam: Icon, Kane & Lynch, Zombie Apocalypse and Hamsterball. Really? Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2012
    9
    The japanese make very unique games when they want, and Yakuza 4 is a good example. The story and characters in this game are uniques, andThe japanese make very unique games when they want, and Yakuza 4 is a good example. The story and characters in this game are uniques, and well constructed, like most japanese games. Right now i have 80 hours of gameplay, and still have a lot of things to do. Expand
  5. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    I don't think this is GTA in Japan. It's something else. The story is alright, but what you get is better than most games. The graphics areI don't think this is GTA in Japan. It's something else. The story is alright, but what you get is better than most games. The graphics are decent as well. The gameplay is alright. The minigames are alright. What makes this game good is all of those aspects combined. The game is sort of open world, there is a lot of things to do besides the main story. When I beat the game, I was only 10% done! Some of the cutscenes are fun to watch, and occasionally funny. There is nothing too cringeworthy here, just pure japanese gaming bliss. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2012
    8
    Played this game, and as usual, the humorous sidequests and exaggerated cinematic are what made this game so good. I agree that this game isPlayed this game, and as usual, the humorous sidequests and exaggerated cinematic are what made this game so good. I agree that this game is quite "macho" for some but come one, this is how you roll like a Japanese gangster. haha. The graphic is like the old one, not significant improvement if not none, also you only get to explore Kamurocho this time, no more other areas like Onikawa. They made Kamurocho a lot more fun to explore though, by introducing rooftop and underground areas. Also this time, you get to control other characters instead of just Kiryu. Overall, if you are hoping to see nice graphics, this game might not be for you for this is those games which rely on content, such as gameplay, story, sidequests, mini games, very heavily. Expand
  7. Nov 11, 2012
    5
    I started playing this game and realised it was missing a certain something.
    When it hit me I almost fell out of my chair.
    None of these
    I started playing this game and realised it was missing a certain something.
    When it hit me I almost fell out of my chair.
    None of these guys can Hadouken!
    What is this? Has Street Fighter lied to me all my life?
    Spiky hair, Japanese tough guy, no hadouken. Hopefully it will be fixed for next game.
    Collapse

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers