Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 861 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 1715. Pirates rule the waters of the Caribbean and have established a lawless Republic. Among these outlaws is a lethal young captain named Edward Kenway. His notorious exploits earn the respect of legends like Blackbeard, but draw him into an ancient war that may destroy everything the pirates have built for themselves. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Dec 1, 2013
    100
    Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag is a game I enjoyed immensely. It controls and plays better than Assassin’s Creed III and its hard not to enjoy causing all sorts of mayhem on land and sea.
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    90
    Assassin’s Creed IV Black Flag is a damn good game that has little flaws attached to it, which is impressive for a launch title.
  3. Apr 20, 2014
    90
    The PlayStation 4 version of the game is mechanically the same as the PlayStation 3 version, but the new engine is eye-poppingly awesome.
  4. Nov 5, 2013
    85
    Beyond the underwhelming main campaign, Black Flag delivers a world brimming with gorgeous places to go, amazing secrets to discover, and nefarious pirates to stab.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    83
    Despite my issues with the paths that are laid out before you, Black Flag is great fun when you let your impulses guide you.
  6. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    An energetic new protagonist, a focus on piracy and pillaging, excellent naval combat and a huge, beautiful open world make Black Flag an easy game to recommend, and a decent way to kick off the next generation.
  7. Oct 29, 2013
    70
    There's only so many times, however, that you can tolerate the poorly-defined stealth and terrible AI.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 13 out of 173
  1. Mar 9, 2014
    10
    Finally Asssassin's Creed releases a good game. Since the last game from the series that I actually enjoyed was Brotherhood, I was beginning to be a little depressed when it comes to Assassin's Creed. However, they managed to fix that with Black Flag.

    The graphics are outstanding, the story is solid, and the gameplay is fresh and interesting. I was not expecting such a big change from them, and it was a pleasant surprise. I'm actually looking forward for the next game now.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    much much improved than last year's edition,the vast open world and lush islands are marvels to watch upon and experience.Ubisoft should win next gen with its open world game imo Collapse
  3. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    I have found my time in the West Indies to be a more fun and open experience than I ever thought it would be in my return to the series. While I have logged over 70 hours across two different platforms I rarely felt like I was aimlessly adrift. The creators do a good job giving you the tools you need to start enjoying the world and then turning you loose. They have distilled the previous iterations of the series into a more expansive, refined and adventurous game.

    There are some things I would have liked to see a bit more polished. While movement is good overall, there were times where I felt it was lacking (usually when falling to my "death" or chasing after someone). Also, like most open world games there are some small glitches or exploits you could abuse if you so choose. Finally, while I enjoyed the story line overall, I felt that the pirate theme could have stood on it's own and the "Assassin's Creed" parts were a bit shoe-horned. It wasn't glaring or a big issue just something I felt while playing.

    Next Gen versus current gen:
    At first I didn't notice a big change, as I was looking at character models looked, clothing etc. While you could tell a difference it wasn't glaring, then I started to really play the game. While subtle, the changes aren't small. The biggest change is the draw distance and clarity at range. Where before you could tell there was a soldier off in the distance, now you can see him clearly.You can tell what weapon(s) he has, direction he's facing etc. The world as a whole is much more clear and moves more naturally, especially I noted the water, explosions and smoke.

    Black Flag has a few flaws but it's a lush and vibrant world where I was able to have some pretty incredible adventures.
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    This is a really good action, stealth and adventure game. The story is ok, but the gameplay is what really makes this game great. You spend most your time on-land, where you will be killing enemies, either by stealth, combat, or gunfire. There are a lot of side missions as well, with good rewards. However, as you are a pirate, you also have a big ship that you can customise and upgrade, and of course use to take down other ships or fortresses. Expand
  5. May 3, 2014
    8
    Finally. After total disaster and fail with AC3 good old AC is back. In many ways best AC until now. When I started to play I thought it will be pure 10/10, but they managed to spoil gameplay with some little things but big enough to partly spoil the game. First of all gfx, gameplay, crafting system is awesome. But there is way too much "follow"/"catch"/"tail" missions which are extremely dull. To be worst almost every memory have that. Would be better if they put that in side missions or something because this way you cannot avoid bad parts. Second, there is some Abstergo hack missions which are very annoying and pointless. To be worst Abstergo part doesn't improve story in any way. Game is on good way to be perfect. Without that bad parts it would be pure 10! Expand
  6. Aug 26, 2014
    7
    I have never played an AC game until this and I was pleasantly surprised.

    The graphics and open world, created by the use of ships, and the
    amount of customization made the game fun. However, the amount of random glitches and useless exploring required to achieve these upgrades got boring quick.

    There is some fun challenges with community events and elite ships, but unless you have friends who play, you can feel rather isolated in a game that seems to want some form of co-op.

    Definitely recommend this game.
    Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2013
    0
    This game is disguised under an epic illusion. It seems the map is very big, but where most elements repeat.
    Too many repetitive side
    missions. And the main missions are very repetitive as well. In addition, the environment is very repetitive. Anyway, every thing is repetitive, making the game fatiguing.
    I remembered AC II was so enjoyable, while You never expect an experience as assassin in AC IV. This franchise has lost the soul of assassin. The only left is a coat. When I was playing the game, I always ask myself: why I have to wear like an assassin?
    The pirate part is not bad for me, but I am soon bored with flat sea face, and you will soon be bored with The naval battle under same pattern.
    This is a game, lack of soul, full of repetitive mechanism and will be forgotten soon.
    Never compare AC IV even with GTA V which is still 10 times better than AC IV in quality.
    IMO, The AC III and IV shouldn't be in Assassin's Creed franchise.
    Expand

See all 173 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.