Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 960 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 89 out of 269
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    PS4: 9.5 out of 10 if possible.

    Battlefield 4 is by far my favorite of any of the Battlefield games that I've played. The graphics look
    absolutely incredible, the campaign was okay, and the multiplayer is absolutely incredible.

    BF4's campaign story was just so-so in my opinion. While the gameplay itself was pretty fun, the story was lacking, and each level ended with a very over dramatic cutscene in which the character barely makes it out of a situation alive; these cutscenes occurred so frequently that it was almost unbearable by the time it got to the third mission. One thing I really liked was the scoring aspect they incorporated into the campaign. The scoring definitely made me want to try harder to get head shots and multi-kills, but still didn't quite make up for the mediocre story and the over dramatic cutscenes at the end of each level. Overall, the campaign was just okay and felt lacking in both story voice-acting, but the scoring aspects did make it slightly more enjoyable.

    That being said I've never really bought a Battlefield game for the story. As for the multiplayer, this may be one of my favorite online multiplayer experiences EVER. The 32 vs. 32 game types are absolutely insane! There are people and vehicles everywhere and stuff is constantly blowing up or getting gunned down. The maps are absolutely gorgeous and are the perfect size for the amount of players on them and each map is extremely different from the next. This Battlefield has incorporated A LOT more guns in this game then any of its predecessors that allows for literally billions of possible load outs. The leveling system is perfect in my opinion. I never felt as if I got something too soon or should have gotten a particular vehicle attachment or perk sooner. That being said I am constantly unlocking things every level just because there are literally thousands of things to unlock; so while I am unlocking things every game it's never overwhelming or unexpected.

    I personally have been very lucky and haven't experienced too many of the bugs and issues that many other players are having. I'll occasionally get kicked out of a game for no reason or have trouble connecting to a server but these occurrences are extremely rarely.

    Despite the online bugs and an okay campaign Battlefield 4 is by far one of the best shooters I've ever played and would recommend this game over ANY other Playstation 4 release title, hands down.
    Expand
  3. Feb 7, 2014
    9
    This games graphics are almost as good as killzones. It is a fantastic fps. I am not good at this game, I feel the lack of aim assist messes with me. My son and his friends are good at it though. I have heard of so many people having issues with this game but I havent had one. Expand
  4. Mar 20, 2014
    7
    Battlefield 4 improves upon every aspect of Battlefield 3, but is massively held back by bugs and server issues. I can barely ever play a game without consistent lag issues, and the game always feels like its going to explode, it's just too unstable. Expand
  5. Jan 22, 2014
    5
    Fans really want to dig the latest game -"if connection issues was fixed" etc. Fact is after two months and a couple of major updates, this is it. Dice, bf4-mp for ps4 is bumpy as a camels back and you should pay people for playing your beta. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2014
    3
    The servers do not work in Quick Match, the Conquest matches were offline the initial 3 weeks, and Origin/EA's customer support unattaching my gamertag to an Origin account that the Xbox One version automatically generated has been non existent after 3 weeks of tickets. The 2 weeks I've been able to play it so far? Lag Lag Lag.

    Honestly, this was the year I gave Battlefield 4 a chance and I will DEFINITELY never waste my money or my time on another garbage DICE purchase again.
    Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2014
    0
    After all this time, Battlefield 4 continues to haunt it's players. EA has proven that any company that they take over, will eventually be worse off than it was before. DICE, the once revered name in the industry, now carries with it, a permanent stain that no amount of time will not heal. Much like Bioware and countless others; they will never be whole again.

    The promise that this game had in the beginning, only makes the end result that much harder to suffer through. Countless bugs still plague the game to this day. A quick hop over to the BF4 forums will take you through a time warp that will make you stop and wonder- is this message board still active? Oh yes, these are new bugs.

    Each patch does bring with it many fixes- but for each step forward, brings another step back in a different direction. It is clear that something fundamental is flawed about the code, and not merely patch-fixable.

    With a game released on so many different platforms, and various modes, you'll often encounter someone who can play the game completely fine without issue. So much of what is broken is untraceable, and is clear, will never truly be fixed.

    The Battlefield series officially died with the release of BF4, and stormtrooper or not, nothing they do will ever bring me back.
    Expand

See all 269 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.