Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1334 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Dec 2, 2013
    90
    It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feelsAbsolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    Another fantasticc addition to the allready great Battlefield series. Levolution adds so much more to the multiplayer and paired with theAnother fantasticc addition to the allready great Battlefield series. Levolution adds so much more to the multiplayer and paired with the fantastic frostbite 3 engine makes this the best FPS multiplayer around. Great Job Dice Expand
  3. Feb 24, 2015
    9
    I was a lucky soul who bought this game after 99% of the glitches we're fixed and I got it for a steal at $12. That was some of the best 12I was a lucky soul who bought this game after 99% of the glitches we're fixed and I got it for a steal at $12. That was some of the best 12 dollars I've spent on the PS4.

    It was the first shooter I got to play on the system and it was a great early display of what the console was capable of early, with the silky smooth frame rate, good shooting, and fun multiplayer.

    The multiplayer is fun, with TDM being my favorite mode, and the story isn't terrible either, this game gets a pretty good rating for me, and I feel like people should go and at least try it.
    Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2013
    7
    En ps3 le he dado un 4 y en este un 7 porque no he encontrado los fallos mas graves que tenia en ps3 como los bloqueos que para mi era loEn ps3 le he dado un 4 y en este un 7 porque no he encontrado los fallos mas graves que tenia en ps3 como los bloqueos que para mi era lo principal, en ps4 todavía y todo madera no se me ha bloqueado y he jugado 8 o 9 horas ya en multiplayer, otra cosa por la que creo que es mejor es porque solo he tenido que pagar 10€ para actualizar de la versión de ps3 a ps4 y así tengo los dos juegos solo por 10€ mas. Expand
  5. Mar 23, 2014
    6
    I will start by pointing out the obvious.... the single player campaign is completely pointless but that isnt why people buy battlefield. TheI will start by pointing out the obvious.... the single player campaign is completely pointless but that isnt why people buy battlefield. The multiplayer is much worse than BF3, the matches last less than 10 minutes and privately run servers are defiantly needed. Other bad points include the truly awful maps which have the defending bases 100 yards apart which ruins Rush the best game mode. elsewhere the terrible menus and lack of party/squad is enough to put you off. Became bored of the online after reaching a days playtime this compared to the 11 day play time which stretched over 2 years on bf3 means its a much worse game. The poor selection of release games means you will still probably want to pick this up if you want to play multiplayer with mates Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2015
    4
    This game is a mess to say the least. the visuals are awful, the lack of vehicles make this game a bad joke, i don't understand how peopleThis game is a mess to say the least. the visuals are awful, the lack of vehicles make this game a bad joke, i don't understand how people still buying this garbage, **** EA!
    Not as bad as cod aw, but still pretty ridiculous, the hitbox detection is one of the worst i saw, the gameplay mechanics are terrible, you have to cross the sea swimming because there is no boats or anything, map design is atrocious, the maps are too big for a small ammount of people, this game does not offer nothing new, there's nothing fresh, just recycling previous gameplay standars, and there you go, another copy and paste of game. Invisible walls and glitches are just part of this disaster.
    I really notice the lack of work and the lack of interest in the developers, the result of that is a BAD DESIGNED GAME, I heard terrible things about the campaign, i don't know that to think, a game with a very bad campaign is not worth buying
    PLEASE STAY AWAY OF THIS PIECE OF **** DON'T FEED THOSE RATS OF EA.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    This game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. TheThis game cannot be finished, is full of bugs, had to restart on mission of 1 hour because it got stuck at the end on the campaign mode. The plot of the campaign mode is **** written by a kid, the multiplayer is ok, but it keeps crashing and closing the game so is unusable. Not going to pay for more **** like this or call of duty. Expand

See all 333 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.