Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 856 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is an action blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    95
    Battlefield 4 is stout entry to the series and a strong addition to the PlayStation 4 launch lineup. As the first game to demonstrate the prowess of the Frostbite 3 engine, its explosive debut indicates a promising future for its technology. Gear up and strap in, Battlefield 4 sets the new standard for next-generation multiplayer.
  2. Feb 13, 2014
    91
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer FPS with wildly varied vehicles and interesting maps. [Jan 2014]
  3. It’s a shame DICE still treads the B-grade storytelling path with its single-player game, otherwise Battlefield 4 would be dangerously close to shooter perfection. [Christmas 2013, p67]
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    87
    Multiplayer as its best, but the campaign is a total disappointment.
  5. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    While featuring a mostly forgettable single player, the characteristics of multiplayer in Battlefield 4 works so well making the DICE title the reference in a competitive context, as well as a real game changer from a technical point of view.
  6. Nov 30, 2013
    80
    Battlefield 4 feels like more of a ‘true’ Battlefield game when compared to its predecessor, aping that sandbox arena fun that made 1942 such a hit. Thanks to the power of PlayStation 4, we finally have a PC Battlefield experience on a home console, and it’s pretty darn good.
  7. The issues aren’t ruinous, and in the case of the multiplayer more an inconvenience that EA needs to address than anything else – but it’s enough to take the shine off what should be one of the best shooters on PS4.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 85 out of 251
  1. Nov 14, 2013
    10
    Absolutely awesome startup to new ps4. Awesome graphics, awesome multiplayer, great perfomance. The new levolution system works and feels great, especially on flood zone. Ps. 1080р and 60 fps. 10/10. Expand
  2. Jan 22, 2014
    9
    Battlefield 4 is the pinnacle of the series. EA took everything they have learned from the previous games and used it to perfect this one. The story is thrilling and captivated me throughout the game. But the real gem of the battlefield series is the multilayer. It takes a bit of patience at first but one you get the hang of the game types it's amazing. My friends and I play as a team regularly.

    On another note. The game has it's bugs due to EA rushing it out early. With each update it gets better but it's not entirely fixed. EA is working on it currently and hopefully they will finish it soon.
    Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2013
    9
    Trolls are trying to bring this games user score down but BF4 is definitely one of the best launch games for the PS4. However, you'll just want to rent the game or borrow it from a friend if you only want to check out the campaign, this is a mainly a multiplayer game (this should be known by now though) Expand
  4. May 27, 2014
    7
    Graphics: 8.2 Sound: 8.2 Gameplay: 8.2 Fun/Story: 7

    Poor story and short single play. Great level design with some brilliant textures and
    effects but many many bugs (specially in multiplayer) and erros (i had to restart ir twice). It could have a much higher rate without this annoying problems. Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2014
    5
    Currently this game is terrible, 2+ years in development and is in worse condition than annually released games (Assassin's Creed). I'm a massive fan of BF, BF3 was amazing I though, I was hoping BF4 would follow in it's footsteps, but sadly it hasn't. The campaign isn't worth playing, has no story, thank god it has gorgeous graphics, but they still don't save the boring campaign. The MP, where to start? Bugs, bugs and even more bugs, the 0 HP is beyond annoying, if someone has 0 HP they should be dead, period. When doing a search for your favourite map and join it, it's ended before you start. This never happened in BF3, then you have to play maps you dislike. So far I'm really disappointed in DICE, I usually blame EA but 2 years is enough time, especially for a shooter. The map designs suck compared to BF3 too. I'm not a CoD fanboy just saying BF rubbish, I don't play CoD. Seriously think about it before buying this game, so far I regret buying it and Premium. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2014
    3
    I am USAF Retired. I thought it would be fun to play BF4. It's not. The game is owned by a a lot of kids who's only goal is to pad their stats. They also have control of Battle Log so if you make a comment against them you will be verbially torn to shreds (Same thing on mic). Personally I think the game has been hacked-----because of too many 60 and 70 to 1 Kill/Death ratios, and impossible shots.

    I'll never buy another game from this development team.
    Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    0
    Horrible "netcode" 30hz/10hz even with the CTE 30hz/30hz there are still plenty of wtf moments which lead to hackusations in every match.

    DLC campaign obviously more important than fixing the broken mess of crap DICE Sweden created.

    The campaign is a boring joke of hearing "RECKER, RECKER" a million times...
    Expand

See all 251 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4

    Hardware Review: Sony PlayStation 4 Image
    Published: November 13, 2013
    Sony's new PS4 console is the first out of the gate in the next-gen wars. Is the new hardware worth the $400 investment? Find out what reviewers are saying inside.