Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 321 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Contrast is a 2D/3D puzzle platformer in which you can shift between the striking 3D fantasy world and the mysterious 2D shadowscape.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Nov 13, 2013
    85
    Despite these setbacks, Contrast crafts an amazing world and continuously invents clever new ways for you to interact with it. The story is fantastic, bolstered by strong voice performances and a jazzy soundtrack that nails the mood. Few games can consistently grab your attention and wow you with each passing moment like Contrast can.
  2. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    It’s at its best when it marries its poignant story to its platforming, and at its weakest when it’s about moving boxes, but it rarely goes very long without showing us something worth playing.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    70
    Though short, Contrast can be replayed to get all the collectibles and is worth a look for the way the story and gameplay integrate, even if at times it's a little rough around the edges.
  4. 60
    Contrast is a low point in the PS4 launch line-up, but its frustrating gameplay and glitches are worth the uniquely fascinating story and aesthetics.
  5. Nov 28, 2013
    60
    It’s a game of light and shade, sure, but there’s a little too much of the former seeping through the cracks.
  6. Jan 3, 2014
    50
    Contrast could have been a great game, but it feels too rushed. The controls are stiff and the platform elements aren´t that challenging. And we aren´t even talking about the countless bugs we found in the game.
  7. Nov 22, 2013
    30
    Contrast is a mess. It’s ugly, tiresome, insipid and occasionally insulting. It aspires to be like other, better games, and wears that on its sleeve, but has nothing worthwhile to call its own.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 67
  2. Negative: 9 out of 67
  1. Nov 16, 2013
    10
    I unique game with really great puzzles and a new and interesting style of game play. It's nice to have a game you can take your time with andI unique game with really great puzzles and a new and interesting style of game play. It's nice to have a game you can take your time with and not have to play at a blistering speed of impossible hand/eye coordination talents. My entire family has really enjoyed playing this game. Collapse
  2. Dec 9, 2013
    8
    It is a charming story, with some serious flaws in the physical game and repetitive puzzles. It is a very interesting concept, but I thinkIt is a charming story, with some serious flaws in the physical game and repetitive puzzles. It is a very interesting concept, but I think that Compulsion Games could have done more. Expand
  3. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    If not for the weak controls and glitches that you will just get stuck in random situations, this a an class act for story telling.

    Almost
    If not for the weak controls and glitches that you will just get stuck in random situations, this a an class act for story telling.

    Almost every scene are wonderfully crafted except for the last chapter was forcefully created for "dragging" with meaningless "platformings" and infamous glitchy box puzzles... (Good for you if you got thru with one try.)

    Definite a worthy title of your time.
    Expand
  4. Jan 28, 2014
    7
    I wanted to give this game a 10. It is an amazing concept with a simply gorgeous art style! Unfortunately, there are far to many glitches thatI wanted to give this game a 10. It is an amazing concept with a simply gorgeous art style! Unfortunately, there are far to many glitches that makes some puzzles really frustrating and downright annoying. Putting down boxes always made my character get stuck for a few moments as she and the box tried to occupy the same space. Also, the story never made me really care or feel much of anything. Still, I would highly recommend this game since it is a truly unique experience. Expand
  5. Dec 10, 2013
    6
    interesting and impressive features and decent story but i found the game boring

    its style of platforming intigued me to play at first i
    interesting and impressive features and decent story but i found the game boring

    its style of platforming intigued me to play at first i stopped caring about the story halfway thru then the game just started to get really stale for me
    Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2013
    6
    I liked the art, the sound, story was pretty nice and it was quite an entertaining game. However, way too many bugs and glitches from beingI liked the art, the sound, story was pretty nice and it was quite an entertaining game. However, way too many bugs and glitches from being trapped in small spaces, boxes being lowered slowly to the ground, random character freezes during object interactions. I also did not like the fact that there are no people, only shadows (makes no sense anyway but in guess the protagonist is a shadow jumper) it is eerie and not in a good way, it feels hollow. It was a bit hand holdish in places too.

    That said I liked the concept and it isn't a bad game so in my view deserves more than 5. I think a 6 is fair. The game 'should have been" like the princess scene. That was fun. Like a 2d Cave style platformer

    I don't normally go back to games but given it is such a short game I may try and get all the trophies
    Expand
  7. Mar 10, 2014
    0
    Utterly horrible. Played it for a while, ghastly horrible game I wish it would never have even entered someone's head to create.

    It is
    Utterly horrible. Played it for a while, ghastly horrible game I wish it would never have even entered someone's head to create.

    It is just completely a non entity. As for a replacement for Drive club at release... I am astounded it made it in. Such a bad game. Don't even waste the band width downloading
    Expand

See all 67 User Reviews

Trailers