• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Apr 29, 2014
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Apr 29, 2014
    74
    Daylight's potency is diminished by repetition and distraction, but when you have the chance to become truly engrossed in its shadows, it can really pull you in and make you jump, especially if you’re wearing a pair of headphones.
  2. Apr 30, 2014
    72
    Daylight is gold when it comes to scares, but is merely sterling silver in the gameplay substance department. The price might be worth the risk, though.
  3. May 12, 2014
    70
    A Slender clone that actually gets things right... mostly.
  4. May 7, 2014
    70
    Tons of atmosphere, but little in the way of replayability.
  5. May 6, 2014
    67
    Daylight fulfills its purpose as an horror game, but doesn't offer many new mechanics and the story isn't surprising at all. If you haven't played Outlast, perhaps you'll find here the terrifying indie game you're looking for in PS4
  6. Jun 7, 2014
    60
    Horror with randomly-generated elements is well worth exploring, but this relies on many stale genre cliches. [July 2014, p.68]
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    60
    Daylight is a victim of its most-touted feature. When the random generated items and enemies work, every step carries a palpable sense of dread and unease. But the immersion’s lost when the player gets caught in an enemy spawning loop with too few flares is hard to get back. The story’s climax works better on paper, and bland visuals just make maze navigation aggravating.
  8. Apr 30, 2014
    59
    Thanks to the sound design Zombie Studios manage to create a nightmarish atmosphere. But in the end Daylight is no match for Slender or Outlast.
  9. Daylight is just another first-person horror game. But with its short story and weak graphical features (even with Unreal Engine 4), it lacks originality. If you are looking for real horror, you can find it somewhere else.
  10. I really wanted to like Daylight, and at a basic level it works; it’s just the execution that bogs it down. What the game sort of feels like is an early beta with a lot of small tweaks yet to be made to the gameplay, environments, UI and engine performance.
  11. 55
    Daylight tries hard to scare you with its soundscape and atmosphere, but unfortunately it treads an all too familiar haunting ground that leaves you sitting impassively in your seat rather than at the edge of it.
  12. An interesting concept, but the game's lack of control over the scares removes any possible creeping horror. [July 2014, p.92]
  13. Daylight wants to scare the pants off of you, but stumbles with the basics instead. Just play Outlast. [July 2014, p83]
  14. Jun 2, 2014
    50
    Ultimately, Daylight does manage to produce a few frightening scenarios thanks to the impressive audio, but it's a shame the story, gameplay, and environments aren't as well developed as the sound. The bones of something more chilling (and satisfying) are here, but there just isn't enough meat on them.
  15. May 20, 2014
    50
    If you get lucky with the level generation and don’t abuse the mechanics then there’s enough here for a playthrough with a few shocks that will only take a couple of hours – but the risk of an utterly duff experience is too high to recommend.
  16. May 2, 2014
    50
    Predictable, repetitive and dull, Daylight only manages to scare the player with its bugs, clunky level design and boring game flow. This is the horror movie that you have seen a hundred times. It's just not scary anymore.
  17. May 30, 2014
    49
    Daylight deserves credit for trying to spice up the first person horror genre, but its problems keep it from becoming anything more than an interesting experiment.
  18. Jun 11, 2014
    40
    If you want a real survival horror then find something else because this one is not worth your time.
  19. May 5, 2014
    40
    If you scare easily, the low asking price may entice you into a purchase but, for everyone else, Daylight represents a dull and missed opportunity for effective horror.
  20. May 7, 2014
    35
    The gameplay is uninspired and repetitive, the story is a mess, nobody will care about the protagonist, and the challenge is minimal. And the worst part? Nothing about this is scary. You’ll stumble across a few appropriately freaky parts but even those begin to dwindle with time. If you want frightening, play Outlast. Otherwise, save your money and wait for something else.
  21. May 20, 2014
    30
    Frighteningly boring.
  22. May 7, 2014
    30
    Daylight is just another copycat horror game; not terrible, just uninspired and incredibly dull. Its selling point will be its procedurally generated levels, but a game designed around replayability should at least be worth playing the first time.
  23. Apr 30, 2014
    30
    This is the horror game equivalent of one of those Asylum film straight to video releases. That it comes from some of the people responsible for Condemned is just depressing.
  24. Apr 29, 2014
    30
    The least hand-crafted horror game ever, whose legion of design missteps and tepid scares make the worst of an already clichéd set-up.
  25. Jun 21, 2014
    20
    Daylight is an utter mess of a game that never manages to build atmosphere or scare the player. Add in an atrocious script and voice acting and you have a game to avoid. [Issue#245, p.62]
  26. May 4, 2014
    20
    Horror games can be tricky to get right, but Daylight fails on virtually every front. It’s a shame to see such a promising product slump so spectacularly, but despite being a rather short affair, this is still a pain to play through.
  27. Jun 1, 2014
    10
    Flagrantly misapplying the PlayStation 4's freshly unveiled Unreal Engine 4, it looks like it was slapped together overnight, with a plethora of buggy annoyances from rough edges to muddy surface textures and glitchy lighting effects.
User Score
4.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 12
  2. Negative: 7 out of 12
  1. Apr 30, 2014
    7
    What I enjoy about Daylight is this, as that loading screen slowly moves along, I can hear my PS4 saying “Hey Boss, you have to check out this thing I made, I I I I I I I'm not even sure what it is exactly, all I know is that I made it myself. I did exactly what you told me to do. And I'm really excited about it!” And you kind of go “Awwww he's created a mediocre survival horror game, it's adorable. I'm going to hang it on my wall.” But jokes aside I always love wandering through the bland hallways computers make when they're randomly generating a large environment. The environments are very large and maze like, sprawling rooms filled with mostly nothing. And as you explore a feeling that you're being hunted, and could be attacked at any time. You don't know if the music is signalling an enemy or if it's just screwing with your head. I have to admit, it scared me. I scare easily. Amnesia is one of my favorite games of all time but I never got past the first actual enemy, I just watched the damn thing on youtube. This game left me extremely uneasy. Lots of suspense, not a lot of action. The encounters are brief, I just run away. The enemies can be a bit cheap. But it still terrified me, even though I'm really easy to terrify.... So I don't know man, I don't know. It's certainly not great, but a 3 is a bit harsh, I'd say it's a 6.5, but since they only allow 6 or 7 I'll give it a 7. Also I have grown to have an affection for Sarah. I think she is a wonderful idiot. She's like Adrienne in Phantasmagoria. Whenever she delivers one of her terribly acted lines I can't help but smirk. Her fear amuses me. Although sometimes we're on the exact same page, terrified. But here's the thing, I don't hate it. I'm sorry, if you hate this game so much you give it a 3 or a 0 I understand completely, but I just find it fun. I like wandering around the strange labyrinthine mazes the computer constructs. I enjoy listening to the game trying to make me go crazy with the music. I also like the enemies, they're actually pretty scary.... So whatever.... 7. Rate however you want, I can't save this game, but I'd be lying if I said I didn't enjoy it. Is it worth the 10 dollars I paid for it? Yes, many times over. But it's not a perfect Mona Lisa or anything, it's like a low grade bag of potato chips. And you know what else? The environments aren't bad either, they're pretty frightening, but also just, very interesting. It's par for the course for procedurally generated levels, but still I think the level design was actually kind of nice. Overall the environments are pretty good quality. I think it's neat. Graphics aren't half bad either. Not great, but not nearly as bad as people are saying. Haven't finished it yet, but so far it's been pretty enjoyable. If you're really into that sort of thing, maybe it's worth a look. Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2014
    0
    This has got to be one of the worst horror game I have ever played. It actually seems like it is a demo of an unfinished product to be honest. Kept hearing about this game since the next gen consoles arrived and this game is a huge pile of crap, a total disappointment. Avoid at all costs. Full Review »
  3. May 1, 2014
    4
    Not scary and boring,long loading times.... Outlast is a better game albeit I didn't find outlast very scary either.... I suggest waiting for The Evil Within , I have a very good feeling about that game. If you are thirsty for horror games and do not care abut graphics, I suggest you go back and play Silent Hill 1-3 or Resident Evil 1-3.....Amnesia is pretty good too..... I hope survival horror games make a comeback, but with lackluster titles as "Daylight" we still have a long way to go... I am glade to see more horror games coming out but this one I can not recommend. I didn't like Outlast either but a lot of other people seem to like it so I suggest trying that game out before buying this one, and if you do not like Outlast then you probably wont like this one either... Full Review »