Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 227 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four differentUFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four different weight classes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Take time to learn its ways, grasshopper, and this will become the most technical and rewarding MMA game you've ever faced. [August 2014, p75]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    EA Sports UFC is one for the MMA diehards, and while its learning curve feels like an endurance test at times, the game rewards perseverance with some very satisfying fights.
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    78
    Much like EA MMA before it, this feels like a solid foundation for a better game to be built upon down the line.
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    I would recommend anyone with a little bit of interest in the sport and a lot of patience check out EA Sports UFC. There is a fun game in here somewhere -- it's just behind a lot of barriers.
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    EA brings more depth and detail to its fighting game, though a fierce amount of glitches and framedrops keep it from gaining a legendary status. The absence of any kind of historical mode doesn't help much either.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    65
    A reserved attempt that's largely entertaining, but struggles to keep you coming back for more. [Sept 2014, p.68]
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    47
    EA Sports UFC is form over function. It's all show, no go, a pretty fighter without the know-how to back it up in the octagon. The Ignite engine successfully delivers a game which makes casual observers double-take as they attempt to work out if they're watching the real thing or not, but anyone with the controller in their hand will know something is wrong.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 70
  2. Negative: 25 out of 70
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Most balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once youMost balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once you get used to the controls, the game play is very well laid out and detailed. Amazing online modes, the belt ranking system is a winner. If you already know MMA, you will have the advantage in this game. Great job by EA Canada on Collapse
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    great game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good andgreat game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good and natural. Roster could be bigger, but I think I saw somewhere that we might get free DLC fighters (I'd say unlikely cosindering it's EA). Submission system is not the best thing out there, but still better than wiggling thumb sticks. Overall, I love this game. Not perfect, but very well made Expand
  3. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    Some would say you can't compare it Undisputed series because, you know, it's a different game but I simply cannot. I played more than 400Some would say you can't compare it Undisputed series because, you know, it's a different game but I simply cannot. I played more than 400 hours in THQ's series and even today I knockout some people on UFC3 after more than 1100 fights.

    THQ did what few companies have tried: a great mma game, both deep and enjoyable. They created an awesome gameplay with several game modes and have paid attention to details. Of course, they were not perfect and things like system damage was not that great, but overall the series was incredible with every game adding substantial changes (although it could be bigger improvements).

    EA tried to create a game to make us feel the fight. Nice. But we can't feel the fight when there are a lot of small things missing. Basically, there are just 2 game modes (fight now and career) and the latter is so shallow with no replay (plus: why so many ufc videos? After certain time, they get so boring). EA GameFace, one of its better features, it's terrible in this game -- you can't change hair and every person is unbelievable ugly. Why does that works on FN Champion and not on EA UFC? Mmm.

    The bottom line is: EA did right on things that THQ did wrong (or not great) and spoiled all things the previous games was already good at. I can't believe EA ruined a game that was almost already done. How come you can't use your retired fighter on Fight Now? Little things that separate a great game from a "ok" one.

    I'll probably play 20~30 hours before await for the next one.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2014
    6
    It was a good game don't get me wrong but there is so much to it. You have to spend so long mastering a character and all his moves, then someIt was a good game don't get me wrong but there is so much to it. You have to spend so long mastering a character and all his moves, then some one comes along with ko power and knocks you out. Other than that it is very fun the graphics are good and I like the career mode. Over all a good game that could have been better. Expand
  5. Jun 21, 2014
    5
    I don't know how anybody could say that EA UFC is the great game. Every negative aspect of UFC Undisputed series and EA MMA title comes intoI don't know how anybody could say that EA UFC is the great game. Every negative aspect of UFC Undisputed series and EA MMA title comes into play in this game. It's really the mixture of the negative things that previous experiencec in MMA games brought. EA Sports UFC on PS4 looks almost exactly like Fight Night Champion (2011) on X360 and PS3. And it feels a lot worse. The wooden so-called "physics" of UFC Undisputed that made fighters act like puppets is present, too. It looks like the engine doesn't model the speed, the power and weight of strikes real-time, it looks like it's just scripted insted. Heavyweights can eat 5 head-kicks in a row, you can hit your opponent with some brutal knees to the head 8-10 times in a row before he gets knocked out (and they defend quite poorly), and the all eat it like peanuts. Fighters also share the same move set, and Jon Jones performs, say, moves of Anthony Pettis, Alexander Gustafsson - moves of Jon Jones or (!!!) Bruce Lee etc. And the fighting styles has no meaning here anymore, like it would have in EA MMA. There's simply no difference. There is no point in the star roster of the UFC, they all act the same, no authenticity. It's like you play a custom created fighter wrapped in textures of Anderson Silva or any other fighter's appearance. People who enjoyed EA MMA waited for even better game but this time with the UFC roster. But EA Sports UFC is not, by any means, better than EA MMA. It hardly excels even the UFC Undisputed series. The career mode is also boring and repetitive, there is now training camps like those in EA MMA to make at least some differenct. It's like you perform the same sequence again and again, you don't have to do anything else than pressing X to continue and do the same boring drills. And you don't get to choose anything. Another major flaw of this game is the ground game. It's obviously underdeveloped and placed in the game only to check-out the check box in the list. Insanely frequent transition, one button to get up and set yourself free from the guard or clinch, no significant impact from the ground stiking, and the submission system is awful, simply awful. It's too easy for the defending player, and too dumb for the attacking one. You just have to lay there and wait for a flick of left stick to improve your position and tighten the submission. And if you'd play with the skilled players, the ground game loses its meaning completely, just like in EA MMA, when the player with the brilliant timing controlled you completely and you had no chance to get back up. In EA UFC the timing is unforgiving, so the situation is even worse. The only reason to buy this game there is to buy it for playing with friends mano-a-mano, and the friends who know what to do, not button-mashing all the way through. Except for that "here and there on the evenings" experience, the game has literally nothing to offer. It's just the arcade project that EA decided to make some quick buck with, riding the MMA and particularly UFC popularity. It just doesn't live up to any promises or expectations, and even besides that, it's dull, boring, and has nothing to do with the 2014 level of technical performance. Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    4
    The graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played theThe graphics are very impressive, with great character designs and build for the octagon and in the fighters animations. Having played the previous 2 incarnations from THQ, they were nothing if not easy to get into, but more difficult to master. This incarnation is the opposite, it aims for simplicity but misses the mark, changing the ideas and rules in enough ways to leave you frustrated while playing.

    The control of the characters themselves also feel forced and clunky, what you press does not always concur with the outcome on the screen, the ease of feel from the THQ incarnations is also absent. It feels slow and misses the required fluidity for a game such as this.

    It would seem that EA have taken some of the ideas from previous incarnations but have missed out on the vital part, the usability. The career mode, although cumbersome but thorough previously (again in the THQ generation), this time takes a lot to get through, very linear with little option to begin and worryingly frustrating and time consuming, not in the good way. The video cut scenes are to begin with a good segway of introduction, for main pieces that is but they are used to frequently throughout gameplay i.e. a video of Dana saying it is two 5 minutes rounds or the Ultimate Fighter sign in video format. Together leaving the feel disjointed and empty.

    In conclusion it is undoubtedly a beautiful game to look at but, be prepared for a lot of frustration and many many video scenes to look through.
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2014
    0
    My first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today andMy first UFC game was UFC undisputed 2010. As much as I like UFC, I used to like playing UFC games on my ps. I bought an EA UFC today and played it, hoping it should be better than the last game (THQ one). I was soooo wrong. The game sucks so much!!!!!!! Graphic is slightly better. I give you that but thats about it. The whole this was kind of slow, the interface is very uncomfortable, creating my own fighter is more arcadic than before. I keep all my games no matter how bad they are. I even have LA Noire even though I only played that crap for 10 minutes. EA UFC? I am so selling this piece of garbe first thing in tomorrow morning. My first language is Korean and am not so fluent in English but it didnt bother me living, chilling and studying in the United States. Now, I was fluent in English because I can't put my anger into smoother way to dis this stupid crap. EA @#$!ed it up! Expand

See all 70 User Reviews