Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 207 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: UFC Ultimate Fighting Championship is a mixed martial arts fighting game that uses the new EA Sports Ignite engine. When players beat career mode on pro difficulty or higher, they will unlock Bruce Lee and can test his legacy against the best of the best in the UFC across four different weight classes. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 57
  2. Negative: 1 out of 57
  1. Take time to learn its ways, grasshopper, and this will become the most technical and rewarding MMA game you've ever faced. [August 2014, p75]
  2. Jun 23, 2014
    80
    EA Sports UFC is one for the MMA diehards, and while its learning curve feels like an endurance test at times, the game rewards perseverance with some very satisfying fights.
  3. Jun 23, 2014
    78
    Much like EA MMA before it, this feels like a solid foundation for a better game to be built upon down the line.
  4. Jun 19, 2014
    70
    I would recommend anyone with a little bit of interest in the sport and a lot of patience check out EA Sports UFC. There is a fun game in here somewhere -- it's just behind a lot of barriers.
  5. Jul 3, 2014
    70
    EA brings more depth and detail to its fighting game, though a fierce amount of glitches and framedrops keep it from gaining a legendary status. The absence of any kind of historical mode doesn't help much either.
  6. Jul 29, 2014
    65
    A reserved attempt that's largely entertaining, but struggles to keep you coming back for more. [Sept 2014, p.68]
  7. Jun 19, 2014
    47
    EA Sports UFC is form over function. It's all show, no go, a pretty fighter without the know-how to back it up in the octagon. The Ignite engine successfully delivers a game which makes casual observers double-take as they attempt to work out if they're watching the real thing or not, but anyone with the controller in their hand will know something is wrong.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 67
  2. Negative: 24 out of 67
  1. Jun 17, 2014
    10
    Most balanced online mode in a next generation console title. I can pick any fighter and use their abilities to my advantage and win. Once you get used to the controls, the game play is very well laid out and detailed. Amazing online modes, the belt ranking system is a winner. If you already know MMA, you will have the advantage in this game. Great job by EA Canada on Collapse
  2. Jun 17, 2014
    9
    great game. The most obvious thing, it looks brilliant. It plays great, controls take some getting used to, but once you do they feel good and natural. Roster could be bigger, but I think I saw somewhere that we might get free DLC fighters (I'd say unlikely cosindering it's EA). Submission system is not the best thing out there, but still better than wiggling thumb sticks. Overall, I love this game. Not perfect, but very well made Expand
  3. Jun 18, 2014
    8
    The game looks great but here's whats wrong and whats good. This comes from someone who loved Thq's UFC 3

    The Good

    +Graphics (Ofcourse)

    +Gameplay
    + Interface UI
    + Music
    + Off the Cage Punch/Kick
    + Submission Controls
    + Audio Tracks for (Brazilian, Spanish etc.)

    The Bad

    - Lack of SINGLE PLAYER Game Modes (There are no Title Defense, Title Run Mode, Tournament Mode, Ultimate Fight Mode, Event Mode)
    - Sound FX ( You can barely hear the shots even when you adjust the audio settings and they don't feel satisfying. Also there are glitches where the audio wont play or it plays for a while and then cuts off)
    - Cant mount an opponent after a Knockout
    - Fighters Moves are pretty much the same for every weight class.
    - Lack of Blood/Cuts ( How am I able to land a butt load of elbows and my opponent doesn't get cut? but my opponent can cut me by landing a single strike from the bottom of the ground.)
    - Create a Character lacking on Facial customization.
    - Commentators ( Rogan and Goldberg seem to have custom audio tracks for all the American Fighters but for everyone else they have generic audio tracks from UFC 3)
    Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2014
    6
    This game is alright. Nothing special. The graphics look nice, but the game play gets old reeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaalllllllllllllllly friggin' fast. If you can find it for $30 or $40 then I say go for it. $60? HELL NO! I'd say you should never really buy any sports games by EA (Madden NFL 25 sucked ass) but this looked promising. It was mediocre. Expand
  5. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Graphics are fairly good, everything else.. Well not so much. Every fighter feels the same, you can throw showtime kick after showtime kick. Every fighter is simply a hybrid of Jon Jones and Anthony Pettis. The game has maybe 7 diffrent takedowns and guess what? Yes every fighter can do them, it doesn't matter if you are a wrestler, judoka or white belt in taekwondo.

    UFC undisputed 2009 was better than this.
    Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2014
    4
    The game has awful controls and awful physics. I returned it the next day (bought it used from GameStop). The motions did not seem very real. Some guys look like they kicked with the speed of a Praying Mantis lol. Expand
  7. Sep 15, 2014
    0
    One of the worst MMA games every made. Period! Half-arsed controls put together just to send the game out in time. Feels absolutely incomplete. By no means UFC undisputed 3 was a perfect game but it towers over this crap by miles. Every fighter has the same moves?? Seriously? Ground game is pointless. You can parry a head kick??? What?? Who do you think you are? Bruce Lee? Absolutely dreadful. The only good about it are the graphics. Expand

See all 67 User Reviews