Fez PlayStation 4

Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Apr 14, 2014
    100
    Download it right away, and get ready to be wowed.
  2. Mar 27, 2014
    100
    As it remains, this is still one of the most charming, charismatic adventures you will have, leaving those who experience it with a smile across their face for the duration of their play.
  3. Play UK
    May 2, 2014
    95
    The perfect package of platforming, abstract thinking, and retro love. [Issue#243, p.60]
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    95
    Fez belongs in everyone’s collections. It’s one of the most stylish games of recent years and doesn’t lose its grip of you after your first step in the world. Playing with the 3D block world is still surprising and entertaining, even though the game is two years old by now.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 27, 2014
    90
    Mind-bending and impossible to put down, Fez will have you thinking outside the box. [May 2014, p79]
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    90
    Whilst there isn’t necessarily much of a traditional challenge to the game, working your way through the different worlds is so enjoyable that you’ll barely notice.
  7. Apr 15, 2014
    90
    Fez is a true masterpiece, and we are really pleased to have it on PlayStation 4 and PsVita.
  8. After 2 years of waiting, the indie legend is now on Playstation platforms. Not much have changed, but it's easier to play on a DualShock or PS Vita. Cross-buy feature is making this one a "must buy" title.
  9. 90
    Phil Fish has forced me to put more thought into playing a video game than I would have initially liked, but I feel like a better gamer for it. I used to think that the joy of exploration and unbridled sense of discovery was lost to the games of consoles past, but Fez has not only proven me completely wrong, but it has given me hope for the future.
  10. Apr 7, 2014
    90
    Fez was already a great game when it appeared on Xbox Live two years ago and this hasn't changed on PlayStation. It's still a challenging puzzle game with varied gameplay and a unique look. If you haven't played this before, you should definitely check it out.
  11. Apr 2, 2014
    90
    Stop what you are doing and buy it now.
  12. Mar 31, 2014
    90
    The PS4 version is smooth and runs perfectly in 1080p with 60fps, and the small additions implemented on the controller are a welcome extra. The game runs perfectly on Vita too, and with the cross-save functionality you can continue the adventure wherever you like.
  13. 90
    Fez is a resounding success, marrying a stunning score, innovative gameplay and a gorgeous art direction into a complete interwoven package. Little Gomez's journey is one of discovery and wonder and should rightfully find its home on PlayStation 4's across the land.
  14. Mar 28, 2014
    90
    It worked on 360 a few years back and it still is a masterpiece: Fez is a puzzling journey through time and space – charming, fascinating and very unique.
  15. Apr 7, 2014
    89
    Minor flaws aside, FEZ is a great game that's hard not to recommend. At least, it'll offer a few hours of fun puzzle platforming; at most, it'll give you a fresh outlook on our three dimensional world and open your mind to what more there could be.
  16. Sep 16, 2014
    85
    Fez is simply brilliant and intelligent. This game is difficult, but the satisfaction is assured thanks to clever puzzles and a wonderful level design.
  17. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    The game may never live down the notoriety of its designer but this is still one of the most entertaining and imaginative indie games of the last decade.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 495 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 47
  2. Negative: 9 out of 47
  1. Aug 15, 2014
    0
    The game is somewhat innovative but **** it's boring as hell, I can't believe this game has a high rating. Fez is such a pretentious modernThe game is somewhat innovative but **** it's boring as hell, I can't believe this game has a high rating. Fez is such a pretentious modern art piece of **** Full Review »
  2. Apr 12, 2014
    3
    This is the hipsters version of Paper Mario. Apparently this game was featured in some Indie Game movie and every fedora sporting, StarbucksThis is the hipsters version of Paper Mario. Apparently this game was featured in some Indie Game movie and every fedora sporting, Starbucks fanatic is talking about it. Please, excuse me while I hang myself by my PS4 controller cord. Oh darn, it's wireless. Full Review »
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    10
    I had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there itI had heard great things about Fez and I really had hoped for a ps3 version. I had no idea it was coming to ps4 but to my surprise there it was on the store. I instantly downloaded it and started a game with my 8 year old daughter and we were not disappointed.

    Fez is a beautifully crafted unique gem of a game. The graphics are in an 8 bit style with cutesy characters all rendered in stunning HD. The music and sound are enchanting and the gameplay is superb. You are tasked with finding gold cubes on each platform world all linked together through doors to other universes. But this is not just a simple platformer. You have to rotate the world 90 degrees at a time to see all angles of the structure you have to climb. So in order to solve puzzles you have to start thinking of all sides of the 360 degree world. It can at time get confusing but is very fun when you get the rhythm.

    I really enjoyed the game and my daughter loves the game too and has played through on her own as well. You can tell the developer has poured his heart and soul into perfecting the game, and it shows. A unique and beautiful game, I highly recommend it to all.
    Full Review »