Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 513 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fuelled by EA SPORTS IGNITE, FIFA 14 feels alive with players who think, move, and behave like world-class footballers, and dynamic stadiums that come to life. Players have four times the decision making ability and feel alive with human-like reactions, anticipation, and instincts. With 10Fuelled by EA SPORTS IGNITE, FIFA 14 feels alive with players who think, move, and behave like world-class footballers, and dynamic stadiums that come to life. Players have four times the decision making ability and feel alive with human-like reactions, anticipation, and instincts. With 10 times more animation depth and detail than previous consoles, FIFA 14 delivers the dynamic movements and biomechanics of the worlds best footballers. Players are agile and athletic as they plant, pivot and cut, and explode out of each step. The increased fidelity has a game-changing effect on gameplay. Plus, the artistry and athleticism of footballers will come to life with the addition of hundreds of new types of skills and hundreds of new behaviors. And for the first time ever, fans will feel the electricity of a living stadium as the emotions of new 3D crowds rise and fall around the stories on the pitch. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Dec 19, 2013
    91
    As comfortable as your fave Predators, but better to look at. A must-buy for footy fans. [Jan 2014, p.71]
  2. Dec 3, 2013
    90
    This is not only the most well-realised soccer simulation on the market, it's also one of the best launch titles available for Sony's next generation system.
  3. 90
    With FIFA 14, EA Sports has the reigns of the soccer industry firmly within its grasp, delivering a prominent title that will appease the large majority of fans of The Beautiful Game.
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    90
    FIFA 14 exudes polish from every pore. It’s a great all-rounder, able to entertain players of all abilities. Until Battlefield fixes its problems, there isn’t a better multiplayer game on PS4 either. Sports fan or no, there aren’t many more complete games you can pick up this launch window.
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    88
    FIFA 14 doesn’t take any major leaps forward, instead focusing on fine-tuning the major innovations the series has taken in the last couple of years.
  6. Jan 10, 2014
    85
    Next-gen FIFA is a step in a good direction, although it’s not that different from the FIFA 14 released for PC, X360 and PS3. New animations are visible throughout the whole match and the veterans will also appreciate new, more realistic ball physics. [01/2014, p.48]
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 for the PlayStation 4 and Xbox One is a step above it's peers. Whether you're scoring in front of a screaming Kop or eking out an unlikely cup victory, FIFA 14 produces special moments that will live in your memory long after you've put the controller down.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 93
  2. Negative: 39 out of 93
  1. Nov 17, 2013
    10
    Great game, I Love That. Living world, motion, graphic, FUT and of course license is awesome. I can't stop playing FIFA 14.FIFA 14 is better than ever
  2. Dec 5, 2013
    9
    Great! It's a total different game to PS3.
    The new engine is gorgeous!
    Fans now have life and the air ball more real! Unfortunately the
    Great! It's a total different game to PS3.
    The new engine is gorgeous!
    Fans now have life and the air ball more real!
    Unfortunately the saved tactics not begin in online matches.
    Expand
  3. Mar 17, 2014
    8
    Overall I like the game. I like the manager mode. What I don't like is the passing AI. Sometimes I try to pass the ball to a wing player butOverall I like the game. I like the manager mode. What I don't like is the passing AI. Sometimes I try to pass the ball to a wing player but the AI somehow sends the ball to the striker. It can be overly difficult too. Opposing defenders can make great tackles that I doubt their real life counterparts can make. Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2015
    6
    Far from a football simulator. The game its really huge, full of licensed leagues and teams, but the gameplay is full of problems.

    Playing
    Far from a football simulator. The game its really huge, full of licensed leagues and teams, but the gameplay is full of problems.

    Playing off-line is impossible in the "world-class" and "legendary" difficulties without get the feeling you are playing a 90's arcade football game.

    Playing on-line is also frustrating, because the game is full of easy tricks. For example, 90% of players will use Real Madrid and play a lob trough ball based game. It's really frustrating when in the middle of a very tough game, Modric suddenly make a supernatural lob trough ball pass to Ronaldo who find himself alone in front of the goal, and guess what, he scores.

    Years ago while playing PES 5, I remember that there were many ways to win a match, every team had weak points, but in FIFA 14 in top divisions its seems every single guy play the same game: a lobbed trough ball based game with Real Madrid.

    I know this game of game has its fans. FIFA became a massive game in terms of audience, its not a surprise that the gameplay will be based on easy goals and easy passes, that everybody who know one thing or two about the game would understand would never happen that easily in the real thing.

    After this frustrating experience, I decided to try FIFA 15 demo before buying it. After my first 5 games I realized that FIFA series went to a direction in this generation that is definitely NOT what I'm looking for in a football game. If you are looking for a realistic gameplay in a football game, you should avoid FIFA series for now.
    Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2013
    3
    Flabbergasted at the positive reviews I am seeing for this game. Firstly I have played every fifa title since fifa international on the megaFlabbergasted at the positive reviews I am seeing for this game. Firstly I have played every fifa title since fifa international on the mega drive so I consider that i know what I am talking about when it comes to these games. The presentation of this game is top notch, graphics, atmosphere etc. However the game play is garbage on every level. Where do I start? Players control the ball horribly, a simple pass and control can lead to the ball squirming yards away from a player and the opposition gaining control. Passes seem to lack pace and accuracy even when using world class playmaking midfielders. when you pass to a player that player will stand pedestrian and wait for a slow ball to arrive whilst a defender can move towards the ball and easily intercept. Players dont feel individual enough compared to previous fifas. Fifa has always kept a short leash on world class players so as not to make one or two teams viable but aside from a bit of extra pace or strength from ronaldo for example you don't get that sense that a world class player is in control.
    People are mentioning the fact that chipped through balls are broken and the only viable way of scoring and this is true, however i don't feel like this is the problem. the attacking side of the game is so gimped that it makes this tactic feel broken but thats only because the other elements of attacking are broken in my opinion. The control issues i mentioned are heightened while in the final third. Its as though when you reach the final third you reach a zone of death and quick touches are impossible. To pass to a striker, find a window of space and shoot is almost impossible because by the time you have controlled the ball a defender will have taken the ball off your toe.
    shooting itself is an absolute joke, clean through on goal used to be a 95% chance of scoring for a good player (as it should be) if the keeper isnt rushed out to leave an easy chip then i would say the keeper still has a very good chance of saving any shot. Keepers in this game are supermen and its a joke.
    That being said they will do strange stuff like making a catch from a corner and then dropping the ball in front of a striker for an easy tap in, just weird!
    There is one other exception where a striker is overpowered and thats headers from corners. I would say one in 4 corners goes in and the defending player can do nothing about this. Seems completeley random and no skill involved at all.
    Fouls are a joke also, just general unavoidable contact will result in a trip animation most of the time you have no control over this. This also happens in the penalty area somtimes and is extremely frustrating.

    One issue which might seem minor for some players are throw ins, THEY TAKE AGES. If a ball has come back onto a pitch or been lost a ball boy has to retrieve the ball before play can continue. realistic? yes. Do we want to wait for 30 seconds while the game clock ticks down to see a ball boy retrieve the ball? ABOLUTELY NOT!

    Another example of a lazy clone from EA, I was expecting fireworks from fifa in the next generation but this has left me very disappointed. Seems like a next gen cashgrab thats been rushed. I do somtimes wonder if they roll out poor software just so they can boast at how good a product is three years down the line when they've finally fixed the original game.
    Expand
  6. Jan 14, 2014
    1
    The graphics and presentation are all of the highest order but alas that seems to be all smoke and mirrors masking a sub-standard game. TheThe graphics and presentation are all of the highest order but alas that seems to be all smoke and mirrors masking a sub-standard game. The series peaked at FIFA 12 and since taking a more realistic approach has become increasingly sluggish and less enjoyable. This years product has crossed the line for me, I'm considering the unthinkable and switching to PES. If you play games for enjoyment and fun this is not the game for you: however if you're a fan of shouting at the T.V and hitting inanimate objects, enjoy! Expand
  7. Jun 14, 2014
    0
    by far one of the worst games of all time. even when you launch the game it says fifa 11, they didn't even bother to remove that. i swear toby far one of the worst games of all time. even when you launch the game it says fifa 11, they didn't even bother to remove that. i swear to god EASPORTS payd the reviewers to give this game such a high score. it's a **** disaster. seriously players becdome invisible, players teleport. corners are soo OP to the point that you want to take a knife and throw it at EASPORTS, players teleport randomly when you watch replays of the celebrating, corners are soo dumb that its litterely insane. modric catched up to me whit no stat card and i have biabiany. seriously the stats are **** its like the speed on the players cards don't even matter. penalties are pure luck. in fact everything in this game is pure luck. not to mention that it looks absolutely disasterous, especially the crowd, it looks like something from like 2001, and the corwd looks like 1996. seriously. i can't tell if the game is riddled with hackers or just pure aids. the PC version is even more buggy than the other versions. i hate how these sports games always gets away soo **** cheap, seriously id rather play big rigs: over the road racing, because at least that is fun. this is just whoever has the more aids wins. and you can have a bronze player with like all 90's physical stats high/low workrate and 80 ballcontrol and 50 dribling and like 70+ positioning and like 80+ finishing and shot power and like 70 heading accuracy and then he will litterely be the best player in the game. and i swear to god some players are just plain stupidly buggy. like benteke for instance, when you look at his card stats you would think he would be decent but no he is just plain broken, better than messi and ronaldo ingame Expand

See all 93 User Reviews