flower PlayStation 4

flower Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 552 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The pioneers that brought you the PLAYSTATION Network title flOw are back with another concept that challenges traditional gaming conventions. Flower expands the team's tradition of delivering simple gameplay, accessible controls and a medium to explore emotional chords uncommon in videoThe pioneers that brought you the PLAYSTATION Network title flOw are back with another concept that challenges traditional gaming conventions. Flower expands the team's tradition of delivering simple gameplay, accessible controls and a medium to explore emotional chords uncommon in video games. In Flower, the surrounding environment, most often pushed to the background in games, is pulled to the forefront and becomes the primary "character." The player fades from an external and stressful world in the opening of this fresh and genuine game only for PS3, and journeys through beautifully vivid landscapes, changing the his surroundings and exploring nature along the way. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 11
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 11
  3. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    100
    The sheer simplicity of flower makes it a difficult game not to fall in love with. It’s a relaxing, calming, and curiously moving experience that has the power to change the way that you look at the outside world. Moreover, the improved motion sensors inside the DualShock 4 coupled with the enhanced horsepower of Sony’s fresh hardware breathe new life into the experience, ensuring that this former PS3 favourite blossoms all over again on the PS4.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    100
    For me, it’s like rediscovering an old friend who I'm delighted to find has actually gotten better with age.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    100
    It’s worth a replay if you’ve already got the PS3 version, and if you’ve never played it before, then there’s no prettier way to inaugurate your new console.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    90
    Four years after its initial release Flower didn’t lose one iota of its fascination and still captures you from the very beginning.
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 7, 2014
    90
    Embrace it like a comfortable pair of shoes. [Jan 2014, p.84]
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    90
    Flower is a unique game.
  7. Nov 13, 2013
    80
    Just as you might improperly dismiss Flower as "not a game," you might also improperly dismiss it for its brevity: You could easily finish in an hour, and that hour progresses at a relaxed pace, lulling you into security rather than pumping adrenaline into your nerves. But value is more than a simple price-to-minutes ratio, and I'd sooner revisit Flower's serenity than countless 50-hour grindfests.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 73
  2. Negative: 26 out of 73
  1. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Absolute beautiful game I know some people say its just a screensaver but then its the BEST screensaver ever this game has so much color andAbsolute beautiful game I know some people say its just a screensaver but then its the BEST screensaver ever this game has so much color and scenery for a 1 to 2 hour game the way the music and sound matches up with you getting more pedals is amazing get this game if you want to relax and have a good time Expand
  2. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    I am the type of person that thinks video games are a form of art. And this is the type of game that will lead the charge in getting videoI am the type of person that thinks video games are a form of art. And this is the type of game that will lead the charge in getting video games to be accepted as such. It is beautiful and tells a story about the terrible thing humans do, with out a single cut scene or word of dialogue. Which is more impressive than most games that require cut scenes and such to tell a story (don't get me wrong, those games are still really great- games like Bioshock and the Last of Us- but it's not as impressive). Sure it may not be as good as Journey, but it is still an amazing game. Expand
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    This great game makes it's way to the PS4 with enhanced graphics and motion controls. This is a game where you can pick up, play and admireThis great game makes it's way to the PS4 with enhanced graphics and motion controls. This is a game where you can pick up, play and admire the art rather than rushing to complete stages. Turning your petals on a dime is more achievable with the Dual Shock 4. If I had a gripe, it would be that there were no extra levels with the port to PS4. Game is also free for PS4 and Vita if previously purchased on PS3. Collapse
  4. May 14, 2016
    8
    Flower is a video game developed by Thatgamecompany and published by Sony Computer Entertainment. In Flower, the player controls the wind,Flower is a video game developed by Thatgamecompany and published by Sony Computer Entertainment. In Flower, the player controls the wind, blowing a flower petal through the air using the movement of the game controller. Flying close to flowers results in the player's petal being followed by other flower petals. Approaching flowers may also have side-effects on the game world, such as bringing vibrant color to previously dead fields or activating stationary windmills. The game features no text or dialogue, forming a narrative arc primarily through visual representation and emotional cues. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2014
    6
    It felt kind of cheesy. If I was high it would've been absolutely amazing, but otherwise it's just a bunch of pedals floating. I guess it justIt felt kind of cheesy. If I was high it would've been absolutely amazing, but otherwise it's just a bunch of pedals floating. I guess it just isn't for me though so I won't give it a horrible review, I could see how some people could like it. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2014
    2
    This game is incredibly boring; you spend 2 hours flying as a petal which takes more petals until you make everything pretty. It's barely aThis game is incredibly boring; you spend 2 hours flying as a petal which takes more petals until you make everything pretty. It's barely a game, and while it did stir emotions towards the end the experience felt shallow. It has absolutely no replay value, and there are far better ways to unwind. Looks pretty, but has no substance whatsoever. Expand
  7. Jul 15, 2016
    0
    Youre joking right? Maybe for someone who is on hard drugs, or autistic, then the game could be something interesting. But for the rest of us,Youre joking right? Maybe for someone who is on hard drugs, or autistic, then the game could be something interesting. But for the rest of us, who live normal interesting life, this title doesnt offer NOTHING. I would rather watch grass on my lawn grow (hint - better graphics than in praised "flower") than waste any time with this "game".

    #1 Best PS4 Game of 2013... This can't be right... Game that is not a game is the best game of the year on PS4! :D
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.